DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2009/0073344 A1) in view of Mather et al. (US 2009/0040426 A1) and Hara et al. (US 2003/0227768 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a backlight (see abstract of Lee et al.) comprising:
a light source (130; figure 1);
a light guide plate (140; figure 1) including an end face that serves as an incident surface of light from the light source (130), and a plate surface that serves as an emission surface of the light (top portion of 140);
a first prism sheet (162; figure 2) overlapping with the light guide plate (see figure 1 and 2 where 162 is a part of 161 and overlaps the light guide 140), the first prism sheet (162) including a flat surface (see bottom surface of 162 in at least figure 2) directly facing the plate surface (top surface of 140; see figures 1-3), the first prism sheet (162) including a first prism surface (164; figure 2) on a side opposite to the flat surface (162; figure 2), the first prism surface (164; figure 2) including first grooves (see figure 2), the first grooves (grooves of 164) being adjacent in a first direction (see figure 2 and 3) and extending in a second direction (see figure 2 and 3), the first direction and the second direction being perpendicular (see figures 2 and 3);
and a second prism sheet (163; figure 2) overlapping with the first prism sheet (162; figure 2), the second prism sheet (163; figure 2) including a second prism surface (165; figure 2) directly facing the first prism surface (162; figure 2), the second prism sheet (163; figure 2) including a flat surface (see top surface of 163 in at least figure 2) on a side opposite to the second prism surface (163; figure 2), the second prism surface (163; figure 2) including second grooves (165; see figure 2), the second grooves being adjacent in the first direction and extending in the second direction (see figure 2 where grooves 165 are adjacent in the first direction and extending in a second direction.),
wherein each of the first grooves (164; see figure 3) and the second grooves is a V-groove (165; see figure 3),
wherein each of the first grooves (164) includes a pair of first inclined surfaces (see figure 3), and each of the second grooves includes a pair of second inclined surfaces (see figure 3; inclined surfaces of 165) and wherein a first external angle between the pair of first inclined surfaces is equal to or greater than a second external angle between the pair of second inclined surfaces (see paragraph [0065] where a first angle is 69 degrees and a second angle is 67 degrees which is smaller than the first angle).
Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein, in light distribution characteristics on a first vertical plane spreading in the first direction and a vertical direction that is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction, peaks of luminous intensity are observed in two directions excluding the vertical direction.
Mather et al. teaches wherein, in light distribution characteristics on a first vertical plane spreading in the first direction and a vertical direction that is perpendicular to both the first direction and the second direction (see figure 6h where the light emitting from light source 21 extends in 3 different directions), peaks of luminous intensity are observed in two directions excluding the vertical direction (see figure 6h).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee et al. to include a light distribution characteristic as taught by Mather et al. to provide an output intensity profile that provides increased intensity at the intended viewing directions to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0154] of Mather et al.).
Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first external angle and the second external angle differ by at least 20 degrees and at most 40 degrees.
Hara et al. teaches a first external angle and a second external angle differ by at least 20 degrees and at most 40 degrees (see paragraph [0034] where the first and second angle ranges differ by at least 20-40 degrees).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee et al. to include a first and second external angle that differ by at least 20 degrees and at most 40 degrees as taught by Hara et al. to provide an output intensity that would achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0038] of Hara et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al. further teaches the backlight according to claim 3, wherein the pair of first inclined surfaces are of plane-symmetry (see left and right surfaces of grooves 164 in at least figure 2) , the pair of second inclined surfaces are of plane-symmetry (see light and right surfaces of grooves 165 in at least figure 2), and a reference plane of the plane-symmetry is a second vertical plane spreading in the vertical direction and the second direction (see at least figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. further teaches the backlight according to claim 1, wherein the light source (130; figure 1) is adjacent to the light guide plate (140) in the second direction (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. and Hara et al. teaches the backlight according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a third prism sheet, the third prism sheet including a bottom surface directly facing the flat surface of the second prism sheet, the third prism sheet including a third prism surface on a side opposite to the bottom surface, the third prism surface including third grooves, the third grooves extending in the first direction and being adjacent in the second direction.
Mather et al. teaches comprising a third prism sheet (prism structure 3; figure 6e), the third prism sheet including a bottom surface directly facing the flat surface of the second prism sheet (prism structure 2), the third prism sheet (prism structure 3; figure 6e) including a third prism surface on a side opposite to the bottom surface, the third prism surface including third grooves (see prism structures 3), the third grooves extending in the first direction and being adjacent in the second direction (see figure 6e).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the backlight of Lee et al. to include a third prism sheet as taught by Mather et al. to form an optical arrangement for directing light into angular ranges so that a desired illumination output is achieved (see paragraph [0146] of Mather et al.)
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. and Hara et al. teaches the backlight according to claim 1, but Lee et al. does not explicitly teach wherein an angle in the vertical direction is 0 degrees, and angles in the two directions are an angle of +30 degrees or more and an angle of -30 degrees or less.
Mather et al. teaches wherein an angle in the vertical direction is 0 degrees, and angles in the two directions are an angle of +30 degrees or more and an angle of -30 degrees or less (see paragraph [0127] and figure 6h).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee et al. an angle in a vertical direction that is 0 degrees and angles in two directions that are +30 degrees or more and -30 degrees or less as taught by Mather et al. to provide an output intensity profile that provides increased intensity at the intended viewing directions to achieve a desired illumination output (see paragraph [0154] of Mather et al.).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. further teaches a display device comprising: the backlight according to claim 1, and a display panel (LCD panel 110; paragraph [0029] and figures 1-3) in an arrangement that enables incidence of the light emitted from the backlight into a rear (LCD panel 110 is arranged in a manner to receive incidence of light from backlight into a rear thereof; see figure 1-3 where position of LCD panel is shown).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2009/0073344 A1) in view of Mather et al. (US 2009/0040426 A1) and Hara et al. (US 2003/0227768 A1) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Hur et al. (US 2014/0009718 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. and Hara et al. teaches the backlight according to claim 7, but Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. is silent about wherein the light source includes a pair of light sources, and the pair of light sources are adjacent to both sides of the light guide plate in the second direction.
Hur et al. teaches a wherein the light source includes a pair of light sources (51; see figure 2 where 51 is on a left and right side of light guide 40) and the pair of light sources are adjacent to both sides of the light guide plate (40; figure 2) in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lee et al. a pair of light sources as taught by Hur et al. as an alternative design choice to achieve a desired illumination output.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2009/0073344 A1) in view of Mather et al. (US 2009/0040426 A1) and Hara et al. (US 2003/0227768 A1) as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2006/0197888 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. modified by Mather et al. and Hara et al. teaches the backlight according to claim 9, but do not explicitly teach further comprising a dual brightness enhancement film directly facing the third prism surface of the third prism sheet.
Huang et al. teaches a brightness enhancement film (brightness enhancement diffuser; claim 7 and 8 of Huang et al.) directly facing the third prism surface of the third prism sheet (see figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the backlight of Lee et al. to include a brightness enhancement film as taught by Huang et al. to maintain optical performance and image quality of the display device (see paragraph [0030] of Huang et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, and 7-12 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claim 1. Applicant amended claim 1 to include the limitations from cancelled claims 2, 3, 5 and 6. A new reference, Hara et al., teaches the limitations of the amended claim. See rejection above.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875