Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosokawa et al. (US 2007/0280725).
With respect to claim 1, Hosokawa et al. disclose a developing device (e.g., item(s) 5Y,M,C and/or K) containing a developer, the developing device comprising: a developing roller (e.g., item(s) 51Y,M,C and/or K) to bear the developer; a developer supplying rotator (e.g., item 55Ya) disposed opposite the developing roller (51), the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) to rotate in a predetermined direction to supply the developer onto the developing roller (51); a compartment (e.g., “developer container 54”) accommodating the developer supplying rotator (55Ya); a first developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the right side plate) supporting the developing roller (51) rotatably; a second developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the left side plate) supporting the developer supplying rotator (51) rotatably; and a sheet member (e.g., item(s) 80 and/or 82) to separate the developing roller (51) from the developer supplying rotator (55Ya), the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to form an enclosed space that contains the developer in the compartment, the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to be removed from the developing device (5), the first (right) developing side plate having a sheet opening (e.g., figs. 5A-C, the opening through which exists sheet 80 and/or 82) disposed opposite the second (left) developing side plate, the sheet opening through which a part of the sheet member (80 and/or 82) protrudes toward an outside of the developing device (as shown at least by figs. 5A-C).
With respect to claim 5, Hosokawa et al. further disclose wherein the sheet opening (e.g., figs. 5A-C, the opening through which exists sheet 80 and/or 82) includes a recess (e.g., figs. 5A-C, a recess through which exists sheet 80 and/or 82) disposed opposite the second (left) developing side plate (as shown at least by figs. 1-5).
With respect to claim 6, Hosokawa et al. further disclose further comprising a cushioning member (e.g., item 81) interposed between the first (right) developing side plate and the second (left) developing side plate.
With respect to claim 8, Hosokawa et al. further disclose wherein the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) includes a conveying screw including: a rotation shaft (as shown at least by figs. 5A-C by the shaft of item 55Ya); and a screw portion (as shown at least by figs. 5A-C by the screw of item 55Ya) wound around the rotation shaft, and wherein the conveying screw conveys the developer in an axial direction of the conveying screw (as shown at least by figs. 1-5).
With respect to claim 9, Hosokawa et al. further disclose further comprising: another conveying screw (e.g., item 55Yb) disposed below the conveying screw; a wall (e.g., “partition wall 77Y”) via which said another conveying screw (55Yb) is disposed opposite the conveying screw (55Ya); and a circulation path formed by the conveying screw and said another conveying screw, the circulation path through which the developer circulates (as shown at least by figs. 1-5).
With respect to claim 10, Hosokawa et al. further disclose further comprising: a lower developing case (e.g., “lower case 76Y”) supporting the conveying screw (55Ya) and said another conveying screw (55Yb) rotatably, the lower developing case (76Y) combined with the second (left) developing side plate; and an upper developing case (e.g., “upper case 75Y”) covering the developing roller (51Y), the upper developing case (75Y) combined with the lower developing case (76Y).
With respect to claim 11, Hosokawa et al. further disclose wherein the lower developing case (76Y) includes a mount attached with the sheet member.
With respect to claim 12, Hosokawa et al. further disclose further comprising a mount (e.g., item 81Y) attached with the sheet member (82Y), the mount (81Y) to be separated from the lower developing case (76Y).
With respect to claim 17, Hosokawa et al. disclose a process cartridge (e.g., item(s) 6Y,M,C and K) comprising: an image bearer (1) to bear a latent image; and a developing device (e.g., item(s) 5Y,M,C and/or K) combined with the image bearer (1) into a unit (as shown at least by fig. 2), the developing device to contain a developer, the developing device comprising: a developing roller (e.g., item(s) 5Y,M,C and/or K) to bear the developer; a developer supplying rotator (e.g., item 55Ya) disposed opposite the developing roller (51), the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) to rotate in a predetermined direction to supply the developer onto the developing roller (51); a compartment (e.g., “developer container 54”) accommodating the developer supplying rotator (55Ya); a first developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the right side plate) supporting the developing roller (51) rotatably; a second developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the left side plate) supporting the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) rotatably; and a sheet member (80 and/or 82) to separate the developing roller (51) from the developer supplying rotator (55Ya), the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to form an enclosed space that contains the developer in the compartment, the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to be removed from the developing device, the first (right) developing side plate having a sheet opening (e.g., figs. 5A-C, the opening through which exists sheet 80 and/or 82) disposed opposite the second (left) developing side plate, the sheet opening through which a part of the sheet member (80 and/or 82) protrudes toward an outside of the developing device (as shown at least by figs. 5A-C).
With respect to claim 18, Hosokawa et al. disclose an image forming apparatus (100) comprising: an image bearer (1) to bear a latent image; and a developing device (e.g., item(s) 5Y,M,C and/or K) to be removed from the image forming apparatus (100), the developing device to contain a developer, the developing device including: a developing roller (e.g., item(s) 5Y,M,C and/or K) to develop the latent image formed on the image bearer with the developer; a developer supplying rotator (e.g., item 55Ya) disposed opposite the developing roller (51), the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) to rotate in a predetermined direction to supply the developer onto the developing roller (51); a compartment (e.g., “developer container 54”) accommodating the developer supplying rotator (55Ya); a first developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the right side plate) supporting the developing roller (51) rotatably; a second developing side plate (e.g., figs 5A-C, the left side plate) supporting the developer supplying rotator (55Ya) rotatably; and a sheet member (80 and/or 82) to separate the developing roller (51) from the developer supplying rotator (55Ya), the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to form an enclosed space that contains the developer in the compartment, the sheet member (80 and/or 82) to be removed from the developing device, the first (right) developing side plate having a sheet opening (e.g., figs. 5A-C, the opening through which exists sheet 80 and/or 82) disposed opposite the second (left) developing side plate, the sheet opening through which a part of the sheet member protrudes toward an outside of the developing device (as shown at least by figs. 5A-C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa et al. (US 2007/0280725) in view of Miyabe et al. (US 2003/0228171).
With respect to claims 2-4, Hosokawa et al. disclose the developing device according to claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the developing roller (51) includes a magnet (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 35, 43, 44) the first developing side plate including a magnet positioner to position the magnet in the circumferential direction of the magnet (as discussed at least in paragraph(s) 35, 43, 44 and/or as shown at least by figs. 5A-C), but does not specifically disclose including a plurality of magnetic poles arranged in a circumferential direction of the magnet.
With further respect to claims 2 and 3, Miyabe et al. teach including a plurality of magnetic poles arranged in a circumferential direction of the magnet (as discussed at least in paragraph 229).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement magnetic poles arranged in a circumferential direction of the magnet of Miyabe et al. for the magnet of Hosokawa et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in developing a latent image on a photoconductor.
With further respect to claim 4, Hosokawa et al. are silent with regards to the details of the sheet and therefore do not disclose further comprising a seal mounted on the first developing side plate, the seal to seal the sheet opening before and after the sheet member is removed from the developing device.
With further respect to claim 4, Miyabe et al. teach a seal (e.g., item(s) 25, 33 and/or 33a) mounted on the first (left ) developing side plate (as discussed at least in paragraph 140), the seal (25, 33, and/or 33a) to seal the sheet opening before and after the sheet member (24) is removed from the developing device (as discussed at least in paragraphs 140-143 and/or as shown at least by figs. 7-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the seal of Miyabe et al. in the developing device of Hosokawa et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in sealing the developing device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa et al. (US 2007/0280725) in view of Fukui et al. (US 2021/0397122).
With respect to claim 7, Hosokawa et al. disclose the developing device according to claim 6 (as discussed above), but does not disclose wherein the cushioning member includes a urethan.
With further respect to claim 7, Fukui et al. teach a urethan cushioning member (as discussed at least in paragraph 1081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the cushioning member of Hosokawa et al. urethan as taught by Fukui et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in cushioning.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa et al. (US 2007/0280725) in view of Komatsu et al. (US 11029640).
With respect to claims 13-15, Hosokawa et al. disclose the developing device according to claim 1 (as discussed above), but do not discuss the transmission and therefore do not disclose further comprising: a first gear; an idler gear meshing with the first gear; and a second gear meshing with the idler gear, wherein the developing roller includes a rotation shaft mounting the first gear, and wherein the developer supplying rotator includes a rotation shaft mounting the second gear.
With further respect to claim 14, Hosokawa et al. further disclose wherein on a cross section perpendicular to an axial direction of the rotation shaft of one of the developing roller (51) and the developer supplying rotator (55Ya), the sheet member (82) is disposed in a space enclosed by the developing roller (51), the developer supplying rotator (55Ya), and where an imaginary idle roller meshing with both would go (as shown at least by figs. 1-5), but do not disclose the transmission scheme and therefore do not disclose an idler gear meshing with a first gear on a developing roller shaft and a second gear on a developer supplying rotator shaft.
With further respect to claims 13-15, Komatsu et al. teach a first gear (e.g., fig. 8A, item 710 and/or 711); an idler gear (e.g., item 715, 715A and/or 715B) meshing with the first gear (710 and/or 711); and a second gear (e.g., item 713) meshing with the idler gear (e.g., item 715, 715A and/or 715B), wherein the developing roller (71) includes a rotation shaft mounting the first gear (fig. 4, item 710 and/or 711), and wherein the developer supplying rotator (e.g., item 75A) includes a rotation shaft mounting the second gear (713).
With respect to claim 15, Hosokawa et al. do not disclose the transmission scheme and therefore do not disclose wherein an outer diameter of the idler gear is smaller than an outer diameter of each of the first gear and the second gear.
With further respect to claim 15, Komatsu et al. teach wherein an outer diameter of the idler gear (715, 715A and/or 715B) is smaller than an outer diameter of each of the first gear (710 and/or 711) and the second gear (713).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use a transmission scheme of Komatsu et al. to transmit rotational force through a developing device of Hosokawa et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in transmitting rotational drive force.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa et al. (US 2007/0280725) in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2007/0025755).
With respect to claim 16, Hosokawa et al. disclose the developing device according to claim 1 (as discussed above), but is silent with regards to the transparency of the sheet and therefore does not disclose wherein the sheet member includes a sheet made of a transparent resin material.
With further respect to claim 16, Ishikawa et al. teach a flat sheet made of transparent resin material (as discussed at least in paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the sheet of Hosokawa et al. of transparent rein material as taught by Ishikawa et al. at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in containing marking material within a desired space.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW