DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on May 4, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden.” (Remarks, p. 2). This is not found persuasive because the numerous configurations and variations presented would clearly result in a burdensome number of differing search queries related to each possible combination, variation, and distinction (See Restriction, p. 3). If Applicant believes that the enumerated species are not patentably distinct, Applicant should submit evidence showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy of Korean application number 10-2020-0132516, filed on October 14, 2020, and application number 10-2021-0000157, filed on January 4, 2021, have been received in the parent application, 18/019,884, and made of record here.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted on February 4, 2025, the IDS submitted on December 5, 2025, and the IDS submitted on March 23, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 of the claim recites “with respect to a first optical of the first camera device”. Please amend to recite “with respect to [[a]] the first optical axis direction of the first camera device” to maintain proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Patent Publication No. WO 2018/182204 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”; employing U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0405508 to Kim et al. as a translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a camera device comprising a printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 22, element 10; PCB, [0149], [0152], [0160]), and first and second camera devices disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., figs. 1 and 22; [0157], [0148]), wherein the first camera device comprises a base disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 1, element 430; [0160]), a cover member disposed on the base (e.g., fig. 1, element 100; [0159]), a bobbin disposed in the cover member (e.g., fig. 2, element 210a), first to third magnets disposed in the cover member (e.g., fig. 5, elements 320), a first coil configured to move the bobbin in a first optical axis direction of the first camera device (e.g., fig. 4, element 220a; [0165]), a second coil configured to move the bobbin in a first direction perpendicular to the first optical axis direction (e.g., fig. 6, element 423; [0227]), a third coil configured to move the bobbin in a second direction perpendicular to each of the first optical axis direction and the first direction (e.g., fig. 6, element 424; [0228]), and a substrate disposed on the base and electrically connected with the first to third coils (e.g., fig. 6, element 410; [00172]), wherein the cover member comprises a first lateral plate facing the second camera device (e.g., fig. 1, southeastern most side, inside facing northwest), a second lateral plate disposed opposite to the first lateral plate (e.g., fig. 1, northwestern most side, with inside facing southeast), and third and fourth lateral plates disposed opposite to each other (e.g., fig. 1, remaining sides), wherein the substrate (e.g., fig. 6, element 410) comprises a first terminal unit (e.g., fig. 6, element 412) coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., figs, 1, 6, and 22), and wherein the first terminal unit is disposed at a position corresponding with the first lateral plate of the cover member (e.g., fig. 1; the Examiner notes the use of the broad terminology “corresponding with” allows for broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the substrate comprises a second terminal unit coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 6, second indicator 412; also see fig. 21), and wherein the second terminal unit is disposed at a position corresponding with the second lateral plate of the cover member (e.g., figs. 6 and 21; the Examiner notes the use of the broad terminology “corresponding with” allows for broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 2, supra) including teaching wherein the first terminal unit is disposed opposite to the second terminal unit with respect to a first optical of the first camera device (e.g., figs. 1, 2, 6 and 21).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first terminal unit comprises a plurality of terminals coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 21), and wherein the plurality of terminals of the first terminal unit are overlapped with each other in a direction parallel to the first lateral plate of the cover member (e.g., fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein when viewed from above, the first terminal unit is hidden by the cover member and is not visible (e.g., fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first terminal unit of the substrate is disposed closest to the first lateral plate among the first to fourth lateral plates (e.g., fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 7 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the first magnet is disposed between the bobbin and the fourth lateral plate (e.g. fig. 2; [0171]), wherein the second magnet is disposed between the bobbin and the third lateral plate (e.g. fig. 2; [0180]), and wherein the third magnet is disposed between the bobbin and the second lateral plate (e.g. fig. 2; [0180]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 12 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1, supra) including teaching wherein the second camera device comprises a base disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 1, element 430; [0160]), a cover member disposed on the base of the second camera device (e.g., fig. 1, element 100; [0159]), a bobbin disposed in the cover member of the second camera device (e.g., fig. 2, element 210b), a magnet and a coil configured to move the bobbin of the second camera device (e.g., fig. 2, magnets 320 and coils of 420 corresponding to second bobbin 210b), and a first terminal unit electrically connected with the coil of the second camera device and coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 21), wherein the cover member of the second camera device comprises a first lateral plate facing the first lateral plate of the first camera device (e.g., fig. 2, northeastern side), a second lateral plate disposed opposite to the first lateral plate of the second camera device (e.g., fig. 2, southwestern side), and third and fourth lateral plates disposed opposite to each other (e.g., fig. 2, remaining sides), and wherein the first terminal unit of the second camera device is disposed at a position corresponding with the second lateral plate of the second camera device (e.g., figs. 2 and 21; the Examiner notes the use of the broad terminology “corresponding with” allows for broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching wherein the second camera device comprises a second terminal unit coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 6, second terminal unit 412), and wherein the second terminal unit of the second camera device is disposed at a position corresponding with the fourth lateral plate of the second camera device (e.g., figs. 2 and 21; the Examiner notes the use of the broad terminology “corresponding with” allows for broad interpretation).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 12, supra) including teaching first and second image sensors disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., [0149-153]), a first lens coupled with the bobbin of the first camera device and disposed at a position corresponding to the first image sensor (e.g., figs. 1 and 22; [0149-153], [0163]), and a second lens coupled with the bobbin of the second camera device and disposed at a position corresponding to the second image sensor (e.g., figs. 1 and 22; [0149-153], [0163]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 11, supra) including teaching an optical device comprising a main body (e.g., [0143-146]), the camera device of claim 1 disposed on the main body e.g., [0143-146]), and a display disposed on the main body and configured to output an image by the camera device e.g., [0143-146]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a camera device comprising a printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 22, element 10; PCB, [0149], [0152], [0160]), and first and second camera devices disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., figs. 1 and 22; [0157], [0148]), wherein the first camera device comprises a base disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 1, element 430; [0160]), a cover member disposed on the base (e.g., fig. 1, element 100; [0159]), a bobbin disposed in the cover member (e.g., fig. 2, element 210a), first to third magnets disposed in the cover member (e.g., fig. 5, elements 320), first to third coils configured to interact with the first to third magnets (e.g., fig. 4, element 220a; [0165]; fig. 6, element 423; [0227]; fig. 6, element 424; [0228]), and a substrate disposed on the base and electrically connected with the first to third coils (e.g., fig. 6, element 410; [00172]), wherein the base comprises a first lateral surface facing the second camera device (e.g., fig. 1, southeasternmost side, inside facing northwest), wherein the substrate comprises a first terminal unit (e.g., fig. 6, element 412) coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., figs, 1, 6, and 22; [0157], [0148]), and wherein the first terminal unit is disposed on the first lateral surface of the base (e.g., figs, 1, 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 16, supra) including teaching wherein the substrate comprises a second terminal unit coupled with the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 6, second indicator 412; also see fig. 21), wherein the base comprises a second lateral surface opposite to the first lateral surface (e.g., figs. 1 and 2), and wherein the second terminal unit is disposed on the second lateral surface of the base (e.g., figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 18 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 16, supra) including teaching wherein when viewed from above, the first terminal unit is hidden by the cover member and is not visible (e.g., fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 19 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 16, supra) including teaching wherein the cover member comprises a first lateral plate facing the second camera device visible (e.g., fig. 1), a second lateral plate disposed opposite to the first lateral plate visible (e.g., fig. 1, side opposite first), and third and fourth lateral plates disposed opposite to each other (e.g., fig. 1, remaining sides), and wherein the first terminal unit of the substrate is disposed closest to the first lateral plate among the first to fourth lateral plates (e.g., fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a camera device comprising a printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 22, element 10; PCB, [0149], [0152], [0160]), and first and second camera devices disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., figs. 1 and 22; [0157], [0148]), wherein the first camera device comprises a base disposed on the printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 1, element 430; [0160]), a cover member disposed on the base (e.g., fig. 1, element 100; [0159]), a bobbin disposed in the cover member (e.g., fig. 2, element 210a), a magnet (e.g., fig. 5, element 320) and a coil configured to move the bobbin (e.g., fig. 4, element 220a; [0165]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. WO 2020/076029 A1 to Min et al. (hereinafter “Min”; employing U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0035173 as a translation).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 2, supra) except for being found by the Examiner to expressly disclose the camera device comprising a gyro sensor disposed on the printed circuit board, wherein the gyro sensor, the first camera device and the second camera device are disposed on an upper surface of the printed circuit board.
Nevertheless, Min discloses a similar camera device and teaches a gyro sensor disposed on a printed circuit board (e.g., fig. 39, gyro 820), and where the gyro sensor and the camera device are disposed on an upper surface of the printed circuit board (e.g. fig. 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Min with the device as taught by Kim in order to provide rotation angular velocity information due to movement and employ it in motion correction and optical stabilization.
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Min teach all of the limitations of claim 8 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 8, supra) including teaching wherein the gyro sensor can be disposed closest to the fourth lateral plate among the first to fourth lateral plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the gyro sensor on a side adjacent to the terminal unit side, resulting in a disposition closest the fourth lateral plate, so as not to interfere with terminal connectivity or spacings between camera units.
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Min teach all of the limitations of claim 10 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 9, supra) except for expressly disclosing wherein a shortest distance between the gyro sensor and first terminal unit is greater than a shortest distance between the gyro sensor and the second terminal unit.
Nevertheless, the placement of the gyro sensor can be considered a matter of design choice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have located the gyro sensor closer to the second terminal if that is the terminal of choice for information output.
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Min teach all of the limitations of claim 11 (see the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 9, supra) except for expressly disclosing wherein a shortest distance between the gyro sensor and the fourth lateral plate is shorter than a size of the gyro sensor in a corresponding direction.
Nevertheless, the placement of the gyro sensor can be considered a matter of design choice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have located the gyro sensor as close to the image sensor as possible to save real estate on the printed circuit board and more closely determine the effect of movement experienced by the image sensor(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,627,384 to Zhang et al. teaches an example of a similar dual camera unit.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0057233 to Chang et al. teaches an example of a similar dual camera unit.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0364444 to Park et al. teaches an example of a camera unit with multiple terminal units.
Contact
/GARY C VIEAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638