DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/31/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the hose apparatus of Invention Group I in the reply filed on 9/10/2026 in response to the requirement for restriction mailed 7/10/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that Invention Groups I and II are not separate inventions and that all of the figures are associated with Group I. This argument is not found persuasive because Claims 1-9 are drawn to a hose apparatus and Claims 10-14 are drawn to a coupler. The hose apparatus of Claim 1 is claimed as comprising a flexible water hose, a gas hose, an inlet hose end connector, an outlet hose end connector, and an outer jacket, without claiming a “coupler”. The coupler of Claim 10 is claimed as comprising an inlet end an outlet end, a fluid passageway, a gas passageway, and an outlet sealing surface, without positively reciting a “hose apparatus”. Therefore, the hose apparatus of Invention Group I and the coupler of Invention Group II appear to be separate inventions that do not share the same special technical feature, as noted in the requirement for restriction mailed 7/10/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “116” (See Fig. 1), “6” (See Fig. 2), “9” (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 6), “10” (See Fig. 2 and Fig. 6), “20” (See Fig. 3A and Fig. 6), “21” (See Fig. 6),
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-4, and 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 Line 6, “said water and gas inlet ends” should be revised to “said water inlet end and said gas inlet end” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 1 Line 7, “said water and gas outlet ends” should be revised to “said water outlet end and said gas outlet end” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 1 Lines 9-10, “said water and gas inlet ends” should be revised to “said water inlet end and said gas inlet end” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 1 Lines 15-16, “said water and gas outlet ends” should be revised to “said water outlet end and said gas outlet end” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 3 Lines 3-4, “said flexible gas hose” should be revised to “said gas hose” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 4 Lines 2-3, “said flexible gas hose” should be revised to “said gas hose” to ensure using terminology consistent with what is used elsewhere throughout the claims.
In Claim 8 Lines 1-2, “said first and second air hose tubes” should be revised to “said first air hose tube and said second air hose tube” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 8 Line 2, “define first and second air hose diameters” should be revised to “define a first air hose diameter and a second air hose diameter” to ensure clarity in the claim.
In Claim 9 Lines 1-2, “said first and second air hose tubes” should be revised to “said first air hose tube and said second air hose tube” to ensure clarity in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because Lines 15-17 state “an outlet hose end connector attached to said water and gas outlet ends, said second hose end connector having a third passageway” and there is improper antecedent basis for “said second hose end connector” in the claim. It is not clear if “said second hose end connector” is the same as the “outlet hose end connector” in Line 15 or if it is a different connector. For the purpose of examination, Claim 1 Lines 15-17 will be interpreted to state “an outlet hose end connector attached to said water and gas outlet ends, said outlet hose end connector having a third passageway”. Furthermore, each instance of “second hose end connector” in Claims 6-7 will be interpreted as “outlet hose end connector”.
Claims 2-9 depend from Claim 1, therefore Claims 4-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite because Claim 1 is indefinite.
Claim 2 is also indefinite because Lines 1-3 state “wherein each of said flexible water hose and said gas hose are constructed of material which is supple and that will return to its original shape after bending” and the term “supple” is a relative term. Paragraph 0029 of the Specification merely states “The gas hose 3 must be supple enough to bend 1800 and still spring back to its original shape to prevent damage to the gas hose 3 due to repeated bending and folding for storage”. Thus, the term “supple” is not explicitly defined by the claim and the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree. It is not clear what maximum flexural modulus or other flexibility property is required for the flexible water hose and gas hose to each qualify as being “supple”. For the purpose of examination, Claim 2 Lines 1-3 will be interpreted to state “wherein each of said flexible water hose and said gas hose are constructed of material that will return to its original shape after bending”.
Claim 3 is also indefinite because Lines 2-4 state “wherein said nozzle adapter includes a nozzle sealing surface facing toward said flexible gas hose to receive and seal said gas inlet end thereagainst” and it is not clear how the nozzle adaptor can have a nozzle sealing surface that the gas inlet end seals against, since the nozzle adaptor is attached to the outlet hose end connector. Fig. 2 shows the nozzle adaptor #8 on an opposite side of the hose apparatus from the gas inlet end #34. For the purpose of examination, Claim 3 Lines 2-4 will be interpreted to state “wherein said nozzle adapter includes a nozzle sealing surface facing toward said flexible gas hose”.
Claims 4-9 depend from Claim 2, therefore Claims 4-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite because Claim 2 is indefinite.
Claim 4 is also indefinite because Lines 1-4 state “wherein said outlet hose end connector includes an outlet sealing surface facing away from said flexible gas hose to receive and seal said outlet sealing surface and said nozzle sealing surface together” and there is improper antecedent basis for “said nozzle sealing surface” in the claim. It is not clear if a nozzle sealing surface was intended to be previously recited or if Claim 4 is intended to depend from a different claim. For the purpose of examination, Claim 4 Lines 1-4 will be interpreted to state “wherein said outlet hose end connector includes an outlet sealing surface facing away from said gas hose to receive and seal said outlet sealing surface and a nozzle sealing surface together”.
Claims 5-6 depend from Claim 4, therefore Claims 5-6 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being indefinite because Claim 4 is indefinite.
Claim 5 is also indefinite because Lines 1-3 state “wherein said inlet hose end connector and said nozzle adapter each define a convex surface to enlarge said inlet and outlet sealing surfaces” and there is improper antecedent basis for “said nozzle adapter” and “said inlet and outlet sealing surfaces”. No nozzle adaptor or inlet sealing surface was previously recited in the claim. It is not clear if a nozzle adaptor was intended to be previously recited or if Claim 5 is intended to depend from a different claim. It is not clear if an inlet sealing surface is the same as the “first sealing surface” in Claim 1 or if it something else. For the purpose of examination, Claim 5 Lines 1-3 will be interpreted to state “wherein said inlet hose end connector defines a convex surface to enlarge the first sealing surface and a nozzle adapter of the hose apparatus defines a convex surface to enlarge said outlet sealing surface”.
Claim 6 is also indefinite because Lines 2-4 state “wherein said first and second hose end connectors each include at least two locking cam surfaces disposed equidistantly about said first and second hose end connectors” and there is improper antecedent basis for “said first and second hose end connectors” in the claim. It is not clear if “said first and second hose end connectors” apply to the inlet hose end connector and the outlet hose end connector, or if they apply to different connectors. For the purpose of examination, Claim 6 Lines 2-4 will be interpreted to state “wherein said inlet hose end connector and said outlet hose end connector each include at least two locking cam surfaces disposed equidistantly about said inlet hose end connector and said outlet hose end connector”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 2006/0005880 A1 to Baker et al. (“Baker”).
As to Claim 1, Baker discloses a hose apparatus (See #100 in Fig. 1), connectable to an air supply supplying a gas (#110, See Paragraph 0029), and a water supply supplying water (#116, See Paragraph 0028), said hose apparatus comprising:
a flexible water hose (#12, See Paragraph 0030) extending between a water inlet end and a water outlet end (See WI and WO in Annotated Fig. 1);
a gas hose (#26) extending between a gas inlet end and a gas outlet end (See GI and GO in Annotated Fig. 1), wherein said water and gas inlet ends are disposed adjacent each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0033), and said water and gas outlet ends are disposed adjacent each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0033);
an inlet hose end connector (#30 in Fig. 1. See Paragraph 0035 disclosing that #30 and #42 are similar. #30 is oriented with GI and WI as shown in Annotated Fig. 1) attached to said water and gas inlet ends (See Annotated Fig. 1), said inlet hose end connector having a first passageway (#40A) to receive the water into said hose apparatus independently of the gas (See Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph 0038) and a second passageway (#40B) to receive the gas into said hose apparatus independently of the water (See Figs. 1-2 and Paragraph 0039), wherein said first passageway is separated from said second passageway (See Fig. 2);
an outlet hose end connector (#42 in Fig. 1. See Paragraph 0035 disclosing that #30 and #42 are similar. Annotated Fig. 1 shows the orientation of #42 with WO and GO) attached to said water and gas outlet ends (See Annotated Fig. 1), said second hose end connector having a third passageway (#30C) to allow the water to pass out of said hose apparatus independently of the gas (See Paragraph 0044) and a fourth passageway (#36) to allow the gas to pass out of said hose apparatus independently of the water (See Paragraph 0044), wherein said third passageway is separated from said fourth passageway (See Annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2); and
an outer jacket made of weather-resistant material (See OJ in Annotated Fig. 1 and Paragraph 0034. The jacket #24 in Fig. 4 surrounds #12 and #26 and is made of a fire hose material that resists weather at least to some extent), surrounding both said flexible water hose and said gas hose (See Annotated Fig. 1 and See Fig. 4 and Paragraph 0034), collectively; wherein said inlet hose end connector includes a first sealing surface facing away from said gas hose to receive and seal said gas inlet end thereagainst (See S1 in Annotated Fig. 1 and See Fig. 2. The first sealing surface is on #30 and faces away from #26 that is within #10. The first sealing surface S1 receives and seals against #36).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 1 above, Baker further discloses wherein each of said flexible water hose and said gas hose are constructed of material which is supple and that will return to its original shape after bending (See Paragraphs 0030 and 0033. Both the flexible water hose and the gas hose are made of flexible materials that are capable of returning to their original shape after some bending).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 1 above, Baker further discloses the hose apparatus including a nozzle adapter (See NA in Annotated Fig. 1, the nozzle adapter is an end portion of #42, which attaches to nozzle #112) removably securable to said outlet hose end connector (See Fig. 2 and Paragraph 0037, the nozzle adapter NA is threadedly secured to #40 of #42), wherein said nozzle adapter includes a nozzle sealing surface (#30A) facing toward said flexible gas hose to receive and seal said gas inlet end thereagainst (See Fig. 3).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 2 above, Baker further discloses wherein said outlet hose end connector includes an outlet sealing surface facing away from said flexible gas hose to receive and seal said outlet sealing surface and said nozzle sealing surface together (See a lower end of #40 in Fig. 2 that faces away from #26 and seals #40 against nozzle sealing surface #30A).
As to Claim 5, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 2 above, Baker further discloses wherein said inlet hose end connector and said nozzle adapter each define a convex surface to enlarge said inlet and outlet sealing surfaces (See Fig. 2. #30A has an outer rounded surface on both the inlet hose end connector and the nozzle adapter that is convex and has a thickness that effectively enlarges the first sealing surface and the second sealing surface).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 2 above, Baker further discloses wherein said first and second hose end connectors each include at least two locking cam surfaces disposed equidistantly about said first and second hose end connectors, respectively, to lock said hose apparatus to the water supply and a fire hose nozzle, respectively (See Fig. 1 and See multiple male threads that surround #30B in Fig. 3 that are equivalent to surfaces that lock and mate with corresponding threads that are equivalent to cam surfaces capable of locking with female threads on the water supply and fire hose nozzle).
As to Claim 7, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 2 above, Baker further discloses wherein said second hose end connector defines a first air hose tube (#32C) in fluid communication with said gas hose (See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0037) and a second air hose tube (#30F) fixedly secured to said first air hose tube providing the gas downstream (See Fig. 3 and Paragraph 0037).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 7 above, Baker further discloses wherein said first and second air hose tubes define first and second air hose diameters such that said second air hose diameter is larger than said first air hose diameter to reduce turbulence in the gas as it moves out of said gas hose (See Figs. 2-3, the diameter of #30F is larger than the diameter of #32C. Such a diameter transition at least reduces turbulence of gas to some extent as air travels from #26 to #32C to #30F to #34).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the hose apparatus of Baker as applied to Claim 8 above, Baker further discloses wherein said first and second air hose tubes are axially offset from each other (See Fig. 3. The air tubes #32C and #30F share a same central axis, with #30F being axially offset below #32C along a shared central axis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited Form PTO-892.
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 October 6, 2026