Drawings
The drawings are objected to because poor quality and difficult to recognize the details.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8-9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “into a hollow fold (125) in a second bending step” should be changed to “into the hollow fold (125) in a second bending step”.
Claim 8 should be re-written as following:
A sheet bending method for producing the hollow fold (125) on the sheet (103) with the swivel bending machine of claim 1, comprising steps of:
(A) Placing the sheet (103) with the sheet section (115), which is initially to be pre-bent to the acute angle, on the lower beam (101) of the swivel bending machine (100),
(B) clamping of the sheet between the upper beam (105) having the wedge- shaped bending edge (107) and the lower beam (101),
(C) bending of the sheet section (115) protruding between the upper beam and the lower beam by means of the bending beam (109) in the first bending step along the wedge-shaped bending edge (107) to the acute angle,
(D) moving the wedge-shaped bending edge (107) out of the sheet section (115) pre-bent to the acute angle, and
(E) further bending of the sheet section (115) in the second bending step into the hollow fold (125) by further swiveling of the bending beam (109), while the sheet (103) is fixed against the lower beam (101) by means of the wedge-shaped bending edge (107).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “a movement device (111)” should be changed to “the movement device (111)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The lack of clear transitional phrases in independent claim 1 render the claims indefinite as it cannot clearly be determined where the preamble ends and the body of the claim starts. See MPEP 2111.03.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the sheet section" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, in line 12 the phrase “the sheet section (115) pre-bent to an acute angle” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “the sheet section (115) pre-bent to an acute angle” is the same as or different from “bending the sheet section (115) of the sheet (103) protruding be-tween the upper beam and the lower beam in a first bending step along the wedge-shaped bending edge (107) to an acute angle” that recited in lines 7-9 of the same claim 1; and it is unclear if “an acute angle” is the same as or different from “an acute angle” that recited in lines 9-10 of the same claim 1.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “the sheet section (115) pre-bent to an acute angle” is the same as “bending the sheet section (115) of the sheet (103) protruding be-tween the upper beam and the lower beam in a first bending step along the wedge-shaped bending edge (107) to an acute angle” that recited in lines 7-9 of the same claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, in line 14 the phrase “the sheet section (115) pre-bent into an acute angle” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “an acute angle” is the same as or different from “an acute angle” that recited in lines 9-10 of the same claim 1.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted “an acute angle” is the same as or different from “an acute angle” that recited in lines 9-10 of the same claim 1.
Claims 2-11 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “a plurality of bending edges” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a plurality of bending edges” is the same as or different from “a wedge-shaped bending edge” that recited in claim 1 which claim 4 depends from.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination, the Examiner interpreted ““a plurality of bending edges” is the same as “a wedge-shaped bending edge” that recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hershberger (US20200122211A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hershberger discloses a swivel bending machine (abstract and fig.1: (100)) for producing a hollow fold on a sheet (fig.3: (218)) with:
- a lower beam (fig.3: (213)) for supporting the sheet,
- an upper beam (fig.3: (214)) with a wedge-shaped bending edge for clamping the sheet between the upper beam and the lower beam,
- a rotatable or pivotable bending beam (fig.3: (223) and (224)) for bending the sheet section of the sheet (103) protruding be-tween the upper beam and the lower beam in a first bending step along the wedge-shaped bending edge to an acute angle (fig.6A), and
- a movement device (fig.3: (262)) for moving the wedge-shaped bending edge out of the sheet section pre-bent to an acute angle,
wherein the swivel bending machine is set up to further bend the sheet section (115) pre-bent into an acute angle into a hollow fold (125) in a second bending step with further actuation of the bending beam between the bending beam and the lower beam, while the sheet is fixed against the lower beam by the wedge-shaped bending edge (figs.5-6; paragraphs 0034-0037 and 0044).
Regarding claim 2, Hershberger discloses wherein the movement device comprises a displacement device for linearly pulling out the wedge- shaped bending edge (fig.3 and paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 5, Hershberger discloses wherein the bending beam comprises a bending bar (fig.3: (223) and (224)) for bending the sheet section.
The method steps recited in claims 8-10 would be met during the normal
operation of the apparatus disclosed by Mitchell et al. They are inherent method of use of Hershberger machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershberger (US20200122211A1) in view of Shigeru (JPS6420915U attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 3-4, Hershberger does not disclose wherein the movement device comprises a rotating device for turning out or swiveling out the wedge-shaped bending edge; and wherein the rotating device comprises a plurality of bending edges.
Shigeru teaches a bending machine comprising:
a movement device comprises a rotating device for turning out or swiveling out a wedge-shaped bending edge; and wherein the rotating device comprises a plurality of bending edges (page 1).
Both of the prior arts Hershberger and Shigeru are related to a bending machine;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movement device of the apparatus of Hershberger to have a rotating device for turning out or swiveling out the wedge-shaped bending edge; and wherein the rotating device comprises a plurality of bending edges as taught by Shigeru, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
Claims 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hershberger (US20200122211A1) in view of Kutschker (US20050160781A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, Hershberger does not disclose wherein the bending bar or the bending beam comprises a crowning; and wherein a deflection of the bending beam during the bending is compensated by a crowning.
Kutschker teaches a bending machine comprising:
a bending beam comprises a crowning for uniformly producing the hollow fold; and wherein the rotating device comprises a plurality of bending edges
Both of the prior arts Hershberger and Kutschker are related to a bending machine;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hershberger to have a crowning as taught by Kutschker, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having wherein the bending bar or the bending beam comprises a crowning; and wherein a deflection of the bending beam during the bending is compensated by a crowning.
Regarding claim 7, Hershberger discloses wherein the bending bar (fig.3: (223) and (224)) has a profile which is vertically crowned in the longitudinal direction of the machine (fig.3).
Therefore, the modification of Ikebuchi in view of LI teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725