DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in consideration of the Applicant’s response on August 19, 2026. Claims 1, 7, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 20 are amended by the Applicant. Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 13, 15 – 18, and 20, where Claims 1, 10, and 15 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot based on the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 4, 7 – 13, 15 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claims 1, 10, and 15 recite the broad recitation “a workflow-compliant action,” and the claim also recites “the workflow-compliant action satisfying the workflow sequence requirements” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In other words, the claimed workflow-complaint action that is received to further enable interaction with the browser-based application does not specify any type of requirement, whereas later in the claims the same workflow-compliant action is supposed to satisfy the workflow sequence requirements of the predefined workflow sequence. The bounds of this specific limitation are unclear.
The dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency on Claims 1, 10, and 15 and under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7 – 13, 15 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPub. 2021/067608 (hereinafter “Fleck”), in view of PGPub. 2017/0242567 (hereinafter “Lefor”).
2. Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 15, Fleck discloses a system for enforcing workflow compliance [Figs. 2 and 7], comprising:
a computing device comprising at least one processor, wherein a plurality of programming instructions, when operating on the at least one processor [Fig. 2; Para. 0031-38], causes the computing device to:
receive application data from a browser-based application [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; user input in a CRM application session within a web browser];
analyze the application data to detect workflow events, wherein the workflow events correspond to deviations from a predefined workflow sequence [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; identify if there is a problem with user input into a CRM app form being submitted; certain fields must be filled to continue registering new customer (predetermined workflow sequence)];
select notification content based on the detected workflow events, wherein the
notification content provides guidance for proceeding in accordance with the predefined workflow sequence [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; pop-up window provides a solution to the user];
cause display of the notification content in connection with the browser-based
application [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; pop-up window provides a solution to the user], wherein the notification content comprises a modal dialog that disables interactions with the browser-based application until a workflow-complaint action is received [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; pop-up window provides a solution to the user that resolves the detected error to continue the form submission]; and
validate subsequent user actions against workflow sequence requirements of the predefined workflow sequence until the workflow-compliant action is received [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; determine if user action results in successful outcome for the CRM app form].
Fleck, however, does not specifically disclose that the workflow-complaint action satisfies the workflow sequence requirements of the predefined workflow sequence.
Lefor discloses a system and method for generating a pop-up or modal dialog box when there is an unexpected or failed action [Figs. 1A, 1B, 2; Para. 0020]. Lefor further discloses that the user cannot proceed to interact with the main application until the user supplies the required information (the workflow-complaint action satisfies the workflow sequence requirements of the predefined workflow sequence) [Para. 0021]. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the teachings of Lefor with Fleck since both systems detect missing information within an application and trigger an alert to the user based on this detection. The combination would enable Fleck to provide clear notifications to the user of what is missing and required within the application prior to continuing with entering additional data within the application. The motivation to do so is to focus the user’s attention to the specific issues discovered for faster problem resolution (obvious to one skilled in the art).
3. Regarding Claims 2, 11, and 16, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 10, and 15. Fleck further discloses that the browser-based application is a customer relationship application [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; user input in a CRM application session within a web browser].
4. Regarding Claims 3, 12, and 17, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 10, and 15. Fleck further discloses that the workflow events comprise skipped or dismissed workflow steps [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; detect missing data in mandatory form fields for CRM app form].
5. Regarding Claims 4, 13, and 18, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 10, and 15. Fleck further discloses of:
retrieve enterprise-specific formatting rules from a database [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0080-81; solutions can be presented to the user via pop-ups, arrows, watermarks, and other indicators based on the problem]; and
format the notification content based on the enterprise-specific formatting rules [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0080-81; solutions can be presented to the user via pop-ups, arrows, watermarks, and other indicators based on the problem].
6. Regarding Claims 7 and 20, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 13. Fleck further discloses that validating subsequent user actions comprises:
monitoring user actions responsive to the displayed notification content [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81];
determining whether each monitored user action satisfies workflow requirements [Figs. 8-10; Para. 0077-81; determine if user action results in successful outcome for the CRM app form]; and
repeatedly displaying the notification content until the workflow-compliant action is detected [Para. 0077-81].
7. Regarding Claim 8, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Fleck further discloses that the workflow sequence requirements define mandatory steps that must be completed in a prescribed order [Para. 0077-81; CRM required fields must be completed prior to submitting the charm].
8. Regarding Claim 9, Fleck, in view of Lefor, discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Fleck further discloses that the system is further configured to store workflow events and associated user actions in a database for analysis of workflow compliance patterns [Para. 0075, 0079].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496