DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2026 has been considered by the Examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on September 14, 2026. No claims have been amended, canceled and newly added. Claims 1-20 presented for the examination and remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannakis et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0304266 A1, (hereinafter Giannakis) in view of Scholtz et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0140326 A1, (hereinafter Scholtz).
Regarding claim 1.
Giannakis teaches, the system comprising:
one or more processors (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0006] one or more processors configured to execute program code to process the measurements of the electrical characteristic to compute an estimate of the electrical characteristic at each of the power buses within the power grid); and
a memory storing computer instructions, the computer instructions when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0006] a device includes memory to store measurements of an electrical characteristic from a plurality of measurement units (MUs) posited at a subset of alternating current (AC) electrical power buses within a power grid), to:
acquire network topology data of the power system (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0074] the power system state estimation (SE) is challenged by data integrity concerns arising due to "anomalous" measurements and further, Giannakis teaches in Para. [0160] about the exchanging local measurements nor local network topology); and
determine estimates of a plurality of states of the power system using the measurement data, the network topology data and a semidefinite relaxation formulation, the semidefinite relaxation formulation including a convex lower bound approximation of a rank function of an augmented state matrix (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0022] about the present disclosure leverages physical properties of AC power systems in order to develop polynomial-time SE algorithms, which offer the potential to find a globally optimal state estimate. Challenged by the nonconvexity in SE, the approaches herein may make use of a technique called semidefinite relaxation (SDR) to relax an otherwise nonconvex problem to a semidefinite programming (SDP) one and further, Giannakis teaches in Para. [0055] where the linear regression matrix .PHI..sub.m is constructed in accordance with the bus index m and line admittances,… The augmented SE problem (15) is still nonconvex due to the quadratic dependence of legacy measurements in the wanted state v…). While Giannakis teaches about the power measurement and topology as indicated above, Giannakis does not explicitly teach acquire, from remote terminal units, measurement data of a plurality of parameters of a power system.
However, Scholtz teaches acquire, from remote terminal units, measurement data of a plurality of parameters of a power system (Scholtz teaches in Para. [0026] in electrical power transmission and distribution system includes a plurality of substations, transmission and distribution lines, and other elements 102. A supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system 104 acquires input data from the various elements 102 via input/output (I/O) interfaces such as remote terminal units (RTUs) 106.).
Therefore, Giannakis and Scholtz are analogues arts and they are in the same field of endeavor as they both are directed to estimate the state measurements of the electrical power system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of acquiring input data from the various elements 102 via input/output (I/O) interfaces such as remote terminal units (RTUs) 106 ([0026]) as taught, by Scholtz into the teachings of Giannakis invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method effectively eliminates the reference angle from the measurement expressions by evaluating the angular differences to create a pseudo-measurement set.
Regarding claim 3.
Giannakis teaches wherein the plurality of parameters of the power system include at least one of: one or more active power flow parameters; one or more reactive power flow parameters; one or more power injection parameters; one or more voltage magnitude parameters; one or more voltage phase parameters; one or more current magnitude parameters; or one or more current phase parameters (Giannakis teaches in Fig. 1 and Para. [0021] power flow meters 16 and power injection meters 17 are example measurement units that provide measurement for various system variables at a selected subset of transmission lines 15 within power grid 12. Power flow meters 16 and power injection meters 17 transmit the measurements to energy management system 12 for estimation of system state variables, such as complex bus voltages, at all transmission lines for electrical buses 14 throughout power grid 12…, and further, Giannakis teaches in Para. [0024] and [0054] voltage phasor. Here, the claim lists features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. However, the prior art of record addressed at least three limitations which includes “power flow meters”, “power injection meters” and/or “voltage phasor” ).
Regarding claim 4.
Giannakis teaches wherein the plurality of states of the power system include voltage magnitudes and voltages phases of a plurality of buses of the power system (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0060] voltage magnitudes at 30 buses…, and 0.01 at voltage meters. Except for the reference bus phasor V.sub.ref=1, each bus had its voltage magnitude Gaussian distributed with mean 1 and variance 0.01, and its voltage angle uniformly distributed over [-.theta., .theta.]. Also, see Para. [0123]-[0124]).
Regarding claim 6.
Giannakis teaches wherein the semidefinite relaxation formulation is convex (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0005] wherein processing the measurements of the electrical characteristic comprises applying semidefinite relaxation…, semidefinite programming model to compute a convex minimization as a solution for the estimates of the electrical characteristic.).
Regarding claim 7.
Giannakis teaches wherein the semidefinite relaxation formulation includes one or more constraints that are linearly related to the plurality of states of the power system, the one or more constraints including at least one of: an equality constraint related to voltage parameters of the power system; an equality constraint related to current parameters of the power system; an equality constraint related phase parameters of the power system; or an equality constraint related to line admittance parameters of the power system (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0162] as well as real and reactive power flow levels at the lines marked by the squares,... There are three overlapping areas, which correspond to the equality constraints enforced in (11.B). Here, the claim lists features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art and thus, the prior art of record Giannakis teaches the limitation “an equality constraint related to voltage parameters of the power system”)).
Regarding claim 9.
Giannakis teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to: determine, based on the estimates of the plurality of states of the power system, whether the power system is operating in normal operation conditions (Giannakis teaches in Para. [0073] the operational conditions of grid transmission networks is of paramount importance to facilitate system control and optimization tasks, including security analysis and economic dispatch with security constraints. An important monitoring task for power systems is accurate estimation of the system operation state).
Regarding claim 11.
Claim 11 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 1 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 13.
Claim 13 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 3 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 14.
Claim 14 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 4 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 16.
Claim 16 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 6 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17.
Claim 17 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 7 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19.
Claim 19 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 9 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannakis in view of Scholtz further in view of Ley et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0305551 A1, (hereinafter Ley).
Regarding claim 2. Giannakis in view of Scholtz teaches the system of claim 1.
Giannakis in view of Scholtz does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to acquire the measurement data in real time or near real time.
However, Let teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to acquire the measurement data in real time or near real time (Ley teaches in Para. [0008] a control circuit configured to receive power system data from one or more sub-systems and devices of the power system connected to a common DC power bus; and control, in real-time,…, wherein the control system is configured to, in real-time, restrict a rate of increase or decrease in power injected to the AC connected load to a specified percent per second (%/s) (i.e., note that here the power injection to the AC connected devices in a real-time to increase or decrease the power indicates the measurement data). Also, see [Abstract], Para. [0007], [0026] and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of the power system connected to a common DC power bus; and control, in real-time ([0026]) as taught, by Ley into the teachings of Giannakis in view of Scholtz invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure the reliability of the power system, such that operational efficiency of the power system is ensured. Ensures efficient usage of the sophisticated reverse power relays to prevent the excess current from entering the grid.
Regarding claim 12.
Claim 12 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 2 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannakis in view of Scholtz further in view of Zhang et al. CN 104063852 A, (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 5. Giannakis in view of Scholtz teaches the system of claim 1.
Giannakis in view of Scholtz does not explicitly teach wherein the convex lower bound approximation is based on a convex envelope of the rank function of the augmented state matrix, the convex envelope defined in terms of a nuclear norm of the augmented state matrix.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the convex lower bound approximation is based on a convex envelope of the rank function of the augmented state matrix, the convex envelope defined in terms of a nuclear norm of the augmented state matrix (Zhang teaches in the [Abstract] adopting the nuclear norm exponent and logarithm approximation of the tensor rank is defined, converting it into convex function…, introducing a series of auxiliary variable to replace the expansion matrix and the constraint condition into the augmented Lagrangian function using Lagrange multiplier method…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of adopting the nuclear norm exponent and logarithm approximation of the tensor rank converting it into convex function…, ([Abstract]) as taught, by Zhang into the teachings of Giannakis in view of Scholtz invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the method enables determining high-dimensional data internal recovery structure.
Regarding claim 15.
Claim 15 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 5 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannakis in view of Scholtz further in view of Hua et al. CN 117613808 A, (hereinafter Hua).
Regarding claim 8. Giannakis in view of Scholtz teaches the system of claim 1.
Giannakis in view of Scholtz does not explicitly teach wherein the network topology data includes one or more states of one or more circuit breakers or circuit switches.
However, Hua teaches wherein the network topology data includes one or more states of one or more circuit breakers or circuit switches (Hua teaches [on page 5, the third paragraph, lines 3-7] determining…, according to the electric energy quality data and topology structure data, and planning the data transmission path between the intelligent breaker and other intelligent breakers and also Hua teaches [on page 5, the eighth paragraph, lines 1-3] the calibration value of the set current value is determined according to the protection current value in the power quality data and the protocol between the first processor and the second processor and further, Hua teaches [on page 7, the seventh paragraph, lines 2-10] the first processor controls the additional protection function of the intelligent breaker, the second processor controls the basic protection function of the intelligent breaker and controls the switch state of the breaker main body…, and includes the intelligent circuit breaker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the teachings of using a topology structure data, and planning the data transmission path between the intelligent breaker and other intelligent breakers or circuit breakers ([on page 5, the third paragraph, lines 3-7]) as taught, by Hua into the teachings of Giannakis in view of Scholtz invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the breaker controls the basic protection function and the additional protection function by two processors, reduces the processing load and power consumption of the single processor and improves the response speed.
Regarding claim 18.
Claim 18 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 8 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giannakis in view of Scholtz further in view of Mestha et al. 2018/0260561 A1, (hereinafter Mestha).
Regarding claim 10. Giannakis in view of Scholtz teaches the system of claim 9.
Giannakis in view of Scholtz does not explicitly teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured, upon determining that the power system is not operating in normal operation conditions, to perform at least one of: generate one or more alert signal indicative of one or more abnormal operation conditions; adjust one or more parameters of the power system; or modify a network topology of the power system.
However, Mestha teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured, upon determining that the power system is not operating in normal operation conditions, to perform at least one of: generate one or more alert signal indicative of one or more abnormal operation conditions; adjust one or more parameters of the power system; or modify a network topology of the power system (Mestha teaches in Para. [0021] sensor data, signals sent to actuators, and auxiliary equipment, intermediary parameters that are not direct sensor signals and/or control logical(s)… The abnormal space data source 120 might store, for each of the data source nodes 130, a series of abnormal values that represent an abnormal operation of the electric power grid (e.g., when the system is experiencing a cyber-attack). Here, the claim lists features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art and thus, the prior art of record Mestha discloses the limitation of “generate one or more alert signal indicative of one or more abnormal operation”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of generating one or more alert signal to detect the abnormal operation of the power system ([0021]) as taught, by Mestha into the teachings of Giannakis in view of Scholtz invention. One would have been motivated to do so in order to the system allows the decision boundary to be constructed using dynamic models and to enable early detection of vulnerabilities, thus allowing an operator to restore the power grid to normal operation in a timely fashion. The system protects the electric power grid from malicious intent in an automatic and accurate manner.
Regarding claim 20.
Claim 20 incorporates substantively all the limitation of claim 10 in a method form and is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to argument
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant merely argues that the prior art of record Giannakis in view of Scholtz does not teach the claimed limitations. For example, Applicant argues that the prior art of record Giannakis at paragraph [0022] discloses the use of semidefinite relaxation, but does not disclose, teach, or suggest "a convex lower bound approximation of a rank function of an augmented state matrix".
Giannakis at paragraph [0055] discloses an "augmented SE [state estimation] problem (15)". However, in the context of Giannakis's paragraph [0055], the SE problem is "augmented" according to a weighted least squares (WLS) cost function and log-likelihood based on phasor measurement unit (PMU) data. Moreover, Giannakis proceeds to disclose that the augmented SE problem (15) "is still nonconvex". Thus, Giannakis at paragraph [0055] does not disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed "augmented state matrix" or the claimed "convex lower bound approximation"…In addition, Giannakis fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the claimed “convex lower bound approximation of a rank function”. Starting at paragraph [0037] Giannakis introduces the concept of "rank constraints" in connection with setting the rank equal to 1 (see Giannakis at equation (7b)). This theme of setting the rank equal (or approximately equal) to 1 applies throughout Giannakis' disclosure. For example, at paragraph [0044], Giannakis discloses that "the novel SE formulation (8)" is evaluated using a "rank-1 constraint". Further, at paragraph [0046], even in response to "relaxing the rank constraint" (see Giannakis at paragraph [0044]), Giannakis discloses how the "solution" of "the SDP problem (10)...may have rank greater than 1, which makes it necessary to recover a feasible estimate" (in other words, Giannakis discloses that the solution is infeasible with rank greater than 1). In turn, Giannakis applies a "rank-one approximation" (again constraining the rank to be equal to 1)... (Remarks. Pages 6-7).
In response to the above Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. First the prior art of record Giannakis expressly teaches the claimed limitations as recited in the claimed language. Second, the prior art of record Giannakis’s use of rank-1 constraint addresses a specific operational scenario and does not express any criticism or discouragement toward employing a convex lower bound approximation of a rank function more broadly and further, Giannakis focuses on enforcing or approximating rank constraints (e.g., setting rank equal to 1 or dealing with feasibility when rank exceeds 1). Third, the prior arts of record Giannakis and Scholtz do not criticize or discourage one of ordinary skill ion the art from following the path indicated, or lead in a divergent direction of the Applicant’s claimed language and also “the Federal Circuit’s discussion in ICON also makes clear that if the reference does not teach that a combination is undesirable, then it cannot be said to teach away. An assessment of whether a combination would render the device inoperable must not "ignore the modifications that one skilled in the art would make to a device borrowed from the prior art." Id. at 1382, 83 USPQ2d at 1752. Therefore, the prior art of record Giannakis under reasonable claimed interpretation approach addressed the claimed limitation as presented now and the above arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant also argues that, the subject application specifically discloses Giannakis' approach as being insufficient. Applicant's disclosure at paragraph [0079] describes a "first approach" of replacing a nonlinear equality constraint...with a positive semidefinite constraint and a rank constraint" and then "[d]ropping the rank constraint" (see Applicant's disclosure at formulations (5) and (6)), which corresponds to Giannakis' approach. Applicant's disclosure proceeds to identify deficiencies of this approach: "[t]he first method or approach represented by the formulation (6) does not guarantee that the matrix V has rank equal to 1... [n]one of the methods or approaches corresponding to the formulations (5) and (6) provides a proper relaxation of the original SE problem... [these7 formulations] cannot handle any constraint that is linearly dependent on the voltage variable v" (see Applicant's disclosure at paragraphs [0081-0082]). Accordingly, Applicant's claimed system and method include a "convex lower bound approximation" that relaxes the "rank function of an augmented state matrix" to overcome the insufficiencies of approaches such as those disclosed by Giannakis. Scholtz is relied on in the Office Action as allegedly teaching to "acquire, from remote terminal units, measurement data of a plurality of parameters of a power system". Without conceding to that assertion, Applicant submits that Scholtz fails to cure the factual deficiencies of Giannakis as set forth above. For at least the foregoing reasons, claims 1 and 11 are not disclosed, taught, or suggested by Giannakis in view of Scholtz. Claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 19 each require all the limitations of claim 1 or 11 and are not disclosed, taught, or suggested by Giannakis for at least the same reasons. (Remarks. Pages 7-8).
In response to the above arguments because the Examiner believes that the prior art of record Giannakis in view of Scholtz disclosing a purported deficiency in a prior art method within the specification does not negate what the prior art actually teaches a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA). Giannakis still provides a recognized mathematical technique in the field of power system (state estimation/optimization), and modifying or utilizing it remains within the purview of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, the secondary prior art of record Scholtz is not necessarily being cited to “cure the mathematical deficiencies” of Giannakis in the way Applicant’s argument implies, but rather to supply specific claimed limitations (such as acquiring measurement data from remote terminal units). A combination of references does not require that each reference fix the other’s theoretical limitations, but rather that a POSITA would have been motivated to combine their teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837F.2d 1071,5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Similarly, the above response to independent claim 1 applies to independent claim 11 as well.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERHANU SHITAYEWOLDETSADIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455