This is Non-Final Office Action in response to application filed on February 4, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the IDS filed on January 13, 2026 have been considered and entered into record. A copy of the signed or initialed IDS is hereby attached.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the claimed invention. The claims & only the claims form the metes & bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner's Notes are provided with the cited references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent & spirit of compact prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of mental process without significantly more. The claims recite “generating an energy utilization-based operation scheduling function based on power usage policy data for the data storage system; determining an operation for execution; determining energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data for the operation; performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation; and executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation
scheduling data”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the steps can be performed manually in human mind. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claim here merely uses the processor as a tool to perform the otherwise mental processes. See October Update at Section I(C)(ii). Thus, the limitations recite concepts that fall into the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas.
ANALYSIS under Revised Guidance of 2019 PEG:
Statutory Category:
The claims 1-20 are directed to one of the four statutory category (claims 1-89 a system or a machine, claim 19 a method or a process, and claim 20 a non-transitory computer readable medium).
Step 2A – Prong 1: Is there a Judicial Exception (e.g. abstract idea)? MPEP§§2106.04(II)(A)(1), 2106.04(a)(2).
Claim 1 recites, at its core, the limitations of generating a scheduling function based on policy data; determining an operation; determining input data; applying a function to generate scheduling data; and executing based on that result. These limitations can be characterized as collecting data, analyzing it, producing a result and acting on that results, which falls within mental processes (e.g. evaluation, decision-making, optimization), and certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g., resource or energy management and scheduling). Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea under step 2A, prong 1.
Step 2A – Prong 2: Is the abstract idea integrated into a practical application? MPEP§§2106.04(II)(A)(2), 2106.04(d).
Claim 1 recites additional elements such as “data storage system”, “processor,” and “memory”. These elements are generic computer components. The claim further recites an “energy utilization-based operation scheduling function,” which is purely functional (i.e., it lacks structural details and algorithmic specificity). The claim does not recite any improvement to storage architecture, any improvement to processor efficiency at a technical level, or specific mechanism for reducing energy usage (e.g., hardware control, or a caching strategy). Instead, the claim merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea, rather than improving the computer itself. Therefore, the claim does not provide meaningful integration into a practical application and fails to meet step 2A, prong 2.
Step 2B: significantly more or amounting to an incentive concept. MPEP§2106.05.
Claim 1 recites additional elements such as “processor,” “memory,” and “executing a function”. These elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional, and are described functionally rather than structurally. The claim does not recite a specific scheduling algorithm, any technical implementation detail (e.g., a queue structure, hardware signaling, or power- state transitions), or any a non-convention data structure or system architecture. Thus, the additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception and do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, the claim fails under step 2B because the mere implementation on a computer does not provide significantly more.
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the power usage policy data includes peak power threshold data that includes a peak power threshold magnitude for the data storage system, and wherein the peak power threshold magnitude is not exceeded during execution of the operation” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 3 recites “determining a plurality of operations for execution, wherein the plurality of operations includes the operation and at least one other operation that includes at least one of: at least one storage-formatted data generation operation…” abstract idea under step 2A(i) and “executing the plurality of operations in accordance with the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data over a temporal period” abstract idea under step 2A(ii). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein multiple ones of the plurality of operations scheduled for concurrent execution in the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data, wherein power consumed by the data storage system during at least one given time within the temporal period is based on an aggregation of power consumed to execute each of the multiple ones of the plurality of operations based on the multiple ones of the plurality of operations being executed concurrently at the at least one given time, and wherein the power consumed by the data storage system during the at least one given time does not exceed the peak power threshold magnitude based on execution the plurality of operations in accordance with the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 5 recites “wherein the peak power threshold data indicates a plurality of different peak power thresholds for a plurality of different time frames within a fixed cyclical time window, wherein the temporal period spans multiple ones of the plurality of time frames… generating the peak power threshold data based on selecting the plurality of different peak power thresholds for a plurality of different time frames” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein the peak power-based concurrent operation requirement data includes at least one of: a threshold maximum number of operations executing concurrently; a threshold maximum amount of data written across concurrently executing operations;…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 7 recites “generating a plurality of different peak power-based concurrent operation requirement data for a plurality of different time frames based on the power usage policy data; or performing an energy utilization estimation function upon operation parameter data..” extra solution activity under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 8 recites “wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes operation parameter data that includes at least one of: an operation type for the operation indicating one of a plurality of possible operation types, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated as a function of the operation type; operation priority data for the operation indicating one of a plurality of possible operation priority values…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 9 recites “wherein the data storage system is implemented via a plurality of computing devices of a data center, wherein power is delivered to the plurality of computing devices via at least one power distribution system that includes at least one power monitoring module…” abstract idea under step 2A(ii). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 10 recites “determining projected temporal power usage data, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes projected temporal power usage data” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 11 recites “generating peak power trend data based on historical energy utilization data generated based on power meter measurement data generated via the at least one power monitoring module during execution of a plurality of previously executed operations, wherein the peak power trend data indicates at least one of: at least one cyclically occurring peak power time frame…” abstract idea under step 2A(ii). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 12 recites “determining current scheduled operation data indicating a plurality of other energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for a plurality of other operations” abstract idea under step 2A(i) and “generating the projected temporal power usage data based on the plurality of other energy utilization-based operation scheduling data of the current scheduled operation data; updating the current scheduled operation data as updated current scheduled operation data …” abstract idea under step 2A(ii). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 13 recites “performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 14 recites “an operation execution scheduled start time, wherein executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes initiating execution of the operation at the operation execution scheduled start time; an operation execution scheduled time window, wherein executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes executing the operation within the operation execution scheduled time window” abstract idea under step 2A(i) and “computing device node assignment data or operation execution scheduled ordering data…” abstract idea under step 2A(ii). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 15 recites “wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes sub-operation data for the operation that indicates at least one of: a set of sub-operations included in the operation; an execution flow of the set of sub-operations corresponding to execution of the operation…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 16 recites “wherein the data storage system implements a data Lakehouse platform storing a plurality of records of at least one table across a plurality of files in accordance with an open table format…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 17 recites “reading at least one of the plurality of records from at least one of the plurality of files in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data; or writing at least one of the plurality of files to include a new set of records of the plurality of records…” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Dependent claim 18 recites “reading at least one table metadata of the set of table metadata in conjunction with performing the operation or generating at least one table metadata of the set of table metadata in conjunction with performing the operation” abstract idea under step 2A(i). Therefore, the claimed elements fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 19 and claim 20 rejected due to the similar analysis of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carston et al. (US 2011/0320434 A1) in view of Gatson et al. (US 2016/0370843 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Carston discloses a data storage system comprising:
at least one processor (processor 120 of Fig.1 and ¶[0030], Carston); and
at least one memory (memory 126 of Fig.1, Carston) storing operational instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations that include:
generating an energy utilization-based operation scheduling function based on power usage policy data for the storage system (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston, i.e., creating utilization function based on usage cost, for example, charge a premium for power usage during peak hours, but charge a reduced rate for power usage during off-peak hours “power usage policy data”);
determining an operation for execution (¶[0040]-[0041], Carston, i.e., determining estimate a power consumption value for each database operation for execution);
determining energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., determining energy’s price schedule data for consumption’s operation).
performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., performing specified functions).
To clarify the language of “performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation,” although as stated above the Carston disclose the feature performing data generation energy operation functions (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston).
However, Gatson discloses performing the storage-formatted data generation operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0131], Gatson) and generating a plurality of storage-formatted data structures from a plurality of records for storage based on executing the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, having both Carston and Gatson before them to apply energy utilization-based operation scheduling function Gatson into Carston, as taught by Gatson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate managing access control file into Takaoka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently generating an operation energy utilization estimation function based on energy utilization data and operation execution data to provide computational estimation to predict the cost similar data execution.
Regarding claim 2, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the power usage policy data includes peak power threshold data that includes a peak power threshold magnitude for the database system (¶[0077]-[0078] and [0080], Gatson), and wherein the peak power threshold magnitude is not exceeded during execution of the storage-formatted data generation operation based on execution the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0077]-[0078] and [0080], Gatson).
Regarding claim 3, Carston/Gatson combination discloses at least one other storage-formatted data generation operation; at least one query operation (¶[0043]-[0046], Carston, i.e., at least query operation); at least one rebuilding operation; at least one ingress operation (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson); or at least one migration operation; performing the storage-formatted data generation operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon a plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data for the generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the plurality of database operations (¶[0043]-[0046], Carston); executing the plurality of database operations in accordance with the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data over a temporal period (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson), wherein the peak power threshold magnitude is not exceeded during the temporal period based on execution the plurality of database operations in accordance with the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0082], Gatson, i.e., policy based on thresholds).
Regarding claim 4, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein multiple ones of the plurality of database operations scheduled for concurrent execution in the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0022]-[0025],[0034] and [0050], Gatson), wherein power consumed by the database system during at least one given time within the temporal period is based on an aggregation of power consumed to execute each of the multiple ones of the plurality of database operations based on the multiple ones of the plurality of database operations being executed concurrently at the at least one given time (¶[0022]-[0025],[0034] and [0050], Gatson), and wherein the power consumed by the database system during the at least one given time does not exceed the peak power threshold magnitude based on execution the plurality of database operations in accordance with the plurality of energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0022]-[0025],[0034] and [0050], Gatson).
Regarding claim 5, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the peak power threshold data indicates a plurality of different peak power thresholds for a plurality of different time frames within a fixed cyclical time window, wherein the temporal period spans multiple ones of the plurality of time frames (¶[0022]-[0025],[0034] and [0050], Gatson), and wherein no peak power threshold magnitude for any of the multiple ones of the plurality of time frames is exceeded during temporal period based on execution the plurality of database operations in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0034], [0050] and [0082], Gatson) and generating the peak power threshold data based on selecting the plurality of different peak power thresholds for a plurality of different time frames based on power pricing data indicating different pricing of power usage (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston, i.e., creating utilization function based on usage cost, for example, charge a premium for power usage during peak hours, but charge a reduced rate for power usage during off-peak hours).
Regarding claim 6, Carston/Gatson combination discloses generating peak power-based concurrent operation requirement data based on the power usage policy data, wherein the peak power-based concurrent operation requirement data (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston) includes at least one of: a threshold maximum number of operations executing concurrently (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston); a threshold maximum amount of data written across concurrently executing operations (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston); a threshold maximum amount of data read across concurrently executing operations; a threshold maximum number of computing device nodes participating across concurrently executing operations (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston); a threshold maximum number of tables accessed across concurrently executing operations; a threshold maximum number of storage clusters involved across concurrently executing operations (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston); a threshold maximum drive utilization at a given time; a threshold maximum processor utilization at the given time (¶[0047], [0050] and [0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 7, Carston/Gatson combination discloses generating peak power-based concurrent operation requirement data based on the power usage policy data (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston), or performing an energy utilization estimation function upon operation parameter data for the operation to generate energy utilization estimate data generated for the operation, and wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated as a function of the energy utilization estimate data (¶[0043]-[0046] and [0052], Carston).
Regarding claim 8, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes operation parameter data that includes at least one of: an operation type for the operation indicating one of a plurality of possible operation types, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated as a function of the operation type (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0052], Carston) or computing device data indicating a set of computing devices involved in executing the operation, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated as a function of the computing device data (¶[0060]-[0061], Gatson).
Regarding claim 9, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the data storage system is implemented via a plurality of computing devices of a data center, wherein power is delivered to the plurality of computing devices via at least one power distribution system that includes at least one power monitoring module, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes current power meter measurement data generated via the at least one power monitoring (¶[0043]-[0046] and [0052], Carston); and wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated based on the current power meter measurement data (¶[0043]-[0046] and [0052], Carston).
Regarding claim 10, Carston/Gatson combination discloses determining projected temporal power usage data, wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes projected temporal power usage data (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston).
Regarding claim 10, Carston/Gatson combination discloses performing an energy utilization estimation function upon operation parameter data for the storage-formatted data generation operation to generate energy utilization estimate data for the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080], Gatson), wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes the energy utilization estimate data generated for the storage-formatted data generation operation, and wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data is generated as a function of the energy utilization estimate data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 11, Carston/Gatson combination discloses generating peak power trend data based on historical energy utilization data generated based on power meter measurement data generated via the at least one power monitoring module during execution of a plurality of previously executed operations, wherein the peak power trend data indicates at least one of: at least one cyclically occurring peak power time frame (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston), at least one peak power magnitude range (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); and generating the projected temporal power usage data based on the peak power trend data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 12, Carston/Gatson combination discloses determining current scheduled operation data indicating a plurality of other energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for a plurality of other operations; generating the projected temporal database power usage data based on the plurality of other energy utilization-based operation scheduling data of the current scheduled operation data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); updating the current scheduled operation data as updated current scheduled operation data based on the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); determining a second storage-formatted data generation operation for execution, generating updated projected temporal database power usage data based on the updated current scheduled operation data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); generating second energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the second storage-formatted data generation operation based on the updated projected temporal database power usage data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); and executing the second storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the second energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 13, Carston/Gatson combination discloses performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for a corresponding one of the plurality of parallelized operation instances (¶[0043]-[0044] and [0052], Carston), wherein the each computing device node executes a corresponding one of the plurality of parallelized operation instances based on the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the corresponding one of the plurality of operation instances in conjunction with energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for other corresponding parallelized operation instances of other ones of the plurality of other operations (¶[0043]-[0044] and [0052], Carston).
Regarding claim 14, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes at least one of: an operation execution scheduled start time, wherein executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes initiating execution of the operation at the operation execution scheduled start time (¶[0043]-[0044] and [0052], Carston, i.e., start time and end time window) an operation execution scheduled time window, wherein executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes executing the operation within the operation execution scheduled time window (¶[0043]-[0044] and [0052], Carston) operation execution scheduled ordering data, wherein executing the operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes execution of the operation relative to execution of a plurality of other operations in accordance with the scheduled ordering data of the operation relative to the scheduled ordering data of the plurality of other operations (¶[0043]-[0044] and [0052], Carston).
Regarding claim 15, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data includes sub-operation data for the storage-formatted data generation operation that indicates at least one of: a set of sub-operations included in the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0038]-[0039], [0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); an execution flow of the set of sub-operations corresponding to execution of the storage-formatted data generation operation; or sub-operation parameter data for each of the set of sub-operations (¶[0038]-[0039], [0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); wherein the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes at least one of: a plurality of sub-operation execution scheduled start times for the plurality of sub-operations of the storage-formatted data generation operation, wherein executing the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes initiating execution of each of the plurality of sub-operations at a corresponding one of the plurality of sub-operation execution scheduled start times (¶[0038]-[0039], [0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson); or a plurality of sub-operation execution scheduled time windows for the plurality of sub-operations of the storage-formatted data generation operation, wherein executing the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data includes execution of each of the plurality of sub-operations within a corresponding one of the plurality of sub-operation execution time windows (¶[0038]-[0039], [0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 16, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein the data storage system implements a data Lakehouse platform storing a plurality of records of at least one table across a plurality of files in accordance with an open table format (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson).
Regarding claim 17, Carston/Gatson combination discloses wherein executing the operation includes at least one of: reading at least one of the plurality of records from at least one of the plurality of files in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data; or writing at least one of the plurality of files to include a new set of records of the plurality of records of the at least one table in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0050]-[0051], Gatson, TABLE 1 and read/write).
Regarding claim 18, Carston/Gatson combination discloses reading at least one table metadata of the set of table metadata in conjunction with performing the operation for at least one corresponding table of the plurality of tables in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0051]-[0052], Gatson); or generating at least one table metadata of the set of table metadata in conjunction with performing the operation for at least one corresponding table of the plurality of tables in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶ [0060]-[0061] and [0080]-[0082], Gatson).
Regarding claim 19, Carston disclose a method for execution by at least one processor of a data storage system (Fig.1 and ¶[0030], Carston), comprising:
generating an energy utilization-based operation scheduling function based on power usage policy data for the storage system (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston, i.e., creating utilization function based on usage cost, for example, charge a premium for power usage during peak hours, but charge a reduced rate for power usage during off-peak hours “power usage policy data”);
determining an operation for execution (¶[0040]-[0041], Carston, i.e., determining estimate a power consumption value for each database operation for execution);
determining energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., determining energy’s price schedule data for consumption’s operation).
performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., performing specified functions).
To clarify the language of “performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation,” although as stated above the Carston disclose the feature performing data generation energy operation functions (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston).
However, Gatson discloses performing the storage-formatted data generation operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0131], Gatson) and generating a plurality of storage-formatted data structures from a plurality of records for storage based on executing the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, having both Carston and Gatson before them to apply energy utilization-based operation scheduling function Gatson into Carston, as taught by Gatson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate managing access control file into Takaoka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently generating an operation energy utilization estimation function based on energy utilization data and operation execution data to provide computational estimation to predict the cost similar data execution.
Regarding claim 20, Carston discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprises: at least one memory section that stores operational instructions that, when executed by at least one processing module that includes a processor and a memory (Fig.1 and ¶[0030], Carston), causes the at least one processing module to perform operations that include: generating an energy utilization-based operation scheduling function based on power usage policy data for the storage system (¶[0043] and [0050]-[0051], Carston, i.e., creating utilization function based on usage cost, for example, charge a premium for power usage during peak hours, but charge a reduced rate for power usage during off-peak hours “power usage policy data”);
determining an operation for execution (¶[0040]-[0041], Carston, i.e., determining estimate a power consumption value for each database operation for execution);
determining energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., determining energy’s price schedule data for consumption’s operation).
performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston, i.e., performing specified functions).
To clarify the language of “performing the operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the operation,” although as stated above the Carston disclose the feature performing data generation energy operation functions (¶[0043]-[0044], Carston).
However, Gatson discloses performing the storage-formatted data generation operation energy utilization-based operation scheduling function upon the energy utilization-based operation scheduling input data to generate energy utilization-based operation scheduling data for the storage-formatted data generation operation (¶[0131], Gatson) and generating a plurality of storage-formatted data structures from a plurality of records for storage based on executing the storage-formatted data generation operation in accordance with the energy utilization-based operation scheduling data (¶[0034] and [0131], Gatson).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, having both Carston and Gatson before them to apply energy utilization-based operation scheduling function Gatson into Carston, as taught by Gatson. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate managing access control file into Takaoka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to efficiently generating an operation energy utilization estimation function based on energy utilization data and operation execution data to provide computational estimation to predict the cost similar data execution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Martin et al. (US 12284197 B1) disclose reducing amounts of data ingested into a data warehouse.
Dhuse et al. (US 20220382751 A1) disclose query execution utilizing probabilistic indexing.
Sharma et al. (US 20210042280 A1) disclose hardware acceleration pipeline with filtering engine for column-oriented database management systems with arbitrary scheduling functionality.
Kondiles et al. (US 20220043690 A1) discloses parallelized segment generation via key-based subdivision in database systems.
Saito et al. (US 20190146468 A1) disclose operation assistance device and operation assistance method.
Ferris et al. (US 20120131174 A1) disclose systems and methods for identifying usage histories for producing optimized cloud utilization.
/HANH B THAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163
April 15, 2026