DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings as submitted by Applicant on 02/04/2025 have been accepted.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1, 4-7, 11, and 12 have been amended. Claims 2 and 8 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1,3-7,and 9-12 are rejected herein. The rejection of the pending claims is hereby made final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 101 is found to be persuasive. The rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 101 is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 102 in view of the applied prior art of record is found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Segawa et al (US 2014/0107833) in view of Perry et al (US 2014/0040075).
Regarding claim 1, the prior art discloses an information processing device comprising: one or more hardware processors and configured to: assign each of a plurality of orders including first identification information for identifying one or more types of products, to one of a plurality of batches (see at least paragraph [0045] to Segawa et al); calculate, for each of the plurality of batches, a first workload of a first system including a system that processes products of the first , and a second workload of a second system including a system that processes the products of the first identification information included in the corresponding batch by a second size (see at least paragraph [0017] to Segawa et al).
Segawa et al does not appear to explicitly disclose identification information included in the corresponding batch by a first size that indicates a number of products to be processed, the second size indicating a number of products to be processed and being the first size; and modify the orders included in the plurality of batches, so that the first workload of the first system and the second workload of the second system are leveled between the plurality of batches, wherein the first system is a picking system comprising at least one picking robot that picks products by the first size, and the second system is a sorting system that sorts, by the second size, the products picked by the picking system by the first size, or the first system is a sorting system that sorts, by the first size, the products, and the second system is a loading system that loads, by the second size, the products sorted by the sorting system by the first size.
However, Perry et al discloses a system and method of selection and organization of customer orders in preparation for distribution operations order fulfillment, wherein identification information included in the corresponding batch by a first size that indicates a number of products to be processed, the second size indicating a number of products to be processed and being the first size (see at least paragraph [0054] to Perry et al); and modify the orders included in the plurality of batches, so that the first workload of the first system and the second workload of the second system are leveled between the plurality of batches (see at least paragraph [0081] to Perry et al), wherein the first system is a picking system comprising at least one picking robot that picks products by the first size (see at least paragraph [0037] to Perry et al), and the second system is a sorting system that sorts, by the second size (see at least paragraph [0007] to Perry et al, “item sortation equipment”), the products picked by the picking system by the first size (see at least paragraph [0037] to Perry et al), or the first system is a sorting system that sorts, by the first size, the products (see at least paragraph [0007] to Perry et al, “item sortation equipment”), and the second system is a loading system that loads, by the second size, the products sorted by the sorting system by the first size (see at least paragraph [0005] to Perry et al, wherein some solutions may automate the collection of order items through robots or other means).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). The examiner submits that the combination of the teaching of the picking and sorting system and method, as disclosed by Segawa et al and the system and method of selection and organization of customer orders in preparation for distribution operations order fulfillment as taught by Perry et al, in order to optimize the selection of orders for processing that facilitate the efficient processing of such orders while meeting delivery requirements (see at least paragraph [0008] to Perry et al), could have been readily and easily implemented, with a reasonable expectation of success. As such, the aforementioned combination is found to be obvious to try, given the state of the art at the time of filing.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to modify the orders included in the batches, by performing an exchange process of exchanging one or more of the orders included in a first batch included in the plurality of batches and one or more of the orders included in a second batch included in the plurality of batches so that a difference of the first workload between the first batch and the second batch and a difference of the second workload between the first batch and the second batch are reduced when the exchange process is performed (see at least paragraph [0076] and [0095] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the first system includes a first subsystem that processes the products of the first identification information included in the batch by the first size, and a second subsystem that processes the products of the first identification information included in the batch by a third size, the third size indicating a number of products to be processed and being the first size, and the one or more hardware processors (see at least paragraph [0067] to Segawa et al) are configured to: calculate, for each of the plurality of batches, a third workload of the first subsystem and a fourth workload of the second subsystem when the products of the first identification information included in the batch are distributed to and processed in the first subsystem and the second subsystem (see at least paragraph [0017] to Segawa et al); and distribute, for each of the plurality of batches, the products of the first identification information included in the batch to the first subsystem and the second subsystem, so that the third workload and the fourth workload are leveled(see at least paragraph [0043],[0045], and [0103] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the third size is smaller than the first size, and the one or more hardware processors are configured to: distribute first products other than second products defined as an object to be processed by the second subsystem to the first subsystem, and distribute the second products to the second subsystem, among the products of the first identification information included in the batch; and redistribute, when the fourth workload is greater than the third workload, some of the second products to the first subsystem (see at least paragraphs [0062]-[0064] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 4, wherein the first subsystem is a system that picks the products of the first identification information included in the batch by the first size, and the second subsystem is a system that picks the products of the first identification information included in the batch by the third size (see at least paragraph [0045] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to: calculate, as the first workload, a value obtained by dividing number of the first size included in the batch by number of the first size processed by the first system per unit time; and calculate, as the second workload, a value obtained by dividing number of the second size included in the batch by number of the second size processed by the second system per unit time (see at least paragraph [0045] and [0072] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to determine, among the plurality of batches, a candidate for a batch to which the plurality of orders are to be assigned based on a processing deadline of the orders, and determine, among the plurality of batches, a batch to which the plurality of orders are to be assigned, by repeating a process of determining the candidate so that more orders including the same first identification information are included in the candidate (see at least paragraphs [0043] and [0080] to Segawa et al).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more hardware processors are configured to output first output information including second identification information for identifying, for each of the orders, a batch to which the corresponding order is assigned among the plurality of batches (see at least paragraph [0072] to Segawa et al).
Claims 11 and 12 each contain recitations substantially similar to those addressed above and, therefore, are likewise rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The examiner has considered all references listed on the Notice of References Cited, PTO-892.
The examiner has considered all references cited on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted by Applicant, PTO-1449.
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/TALIA F CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627