DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/04/2025 and 02/06/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Positive Statement regarding 35 U.S.C. 101: Claims 1-20 are determined to be eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claim 1, for example, at lines 9-11 recites "generate a virtual field of view using the video data of the one or more objects, the virtual field of view providing the environment view and detailed views of the one or more objects within the environment view.". It is given the weight of the description in the specification paragraph [0079] that the generated virtual field of view provides detailed views of the patient inside the patient environment. Because the claims recite specific, claimed steps and structural elements that produce tangible technical results, they are not directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are determined to be eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derenne et al. (US 2012/0075464 A1) (hereinafter, “Derenne”) in view of Wren et al. (US 2006/0284971 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Derenne discloses a system for remotely monitoring a patient in a patient environment (Abstract “A monitoring system includes a camera adapted to capture images and output signals representative of the images…A computer device processes the image signals and or depth signals from cameras and determines any one or more of the following: (a) whether a patient care protocol has been properly followed; (b) what condition a patient is in; (c) whether an infection control protocol has been properly followed; and (d) whether steps have been taken to reduce the risk of a patient from falling.”), the system comprising:
at least one processing device (Paragraph [0050] “electronic structure configured to carry out the logic and algorithms described herein, or any combination of these or other known devices capable of carrying out the logic and algorithms described herein. Such dedicated electronic structures may include any combination of one or more processors, systems on chip (SoC), field programmable gate arrays (FPGA), microcontrollers, discrete logic circuitry, software and/or firmware.”); and
at least one computer readable data storage device storing software instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing device (Paragraph [0050] “electronic structure configured to carry out the logic and algorithms described herein, or any combination of these or other known devices capable of carrying out the logic and algorithms described herein. Such dedicated electronic structures may include any combination of one or more processors, systems on chip (SoC), field programmable gate arrays (FPGA), microcontrollers, discrete logic circuitry, software and/or firmware.”), cause the at least one processing device to:
receive an environment view (the room or other environment in Paragraph [0038] equate to environment view) (Paragraph [0038] “Video monitoring system 20 is adapted to sense one or more conditions in a room or other environment, and/or to sense one or more actions undertaken by one or more persons in the room or other environment. The data gathered by the video monitoring system is processed by appropriate hardware and/or software to determine whether an alert or other type of notification should be forwarded to appropriate personnel”);
determine one or more objects (patients in the room Paragraph [0040] equate to the objects for monitoring) for monitoring in the environment view (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room”);
receive video data of the one or more objects (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room which is forwarded to appropriate personnel so that the risk of spreading infection either from or to the patient is reduced. In such embodiments, video monitoring system 20 may detect any one or more of the following conditions: (1) whether a clinician has washed his or her hands prior to approaching or touching a patient; (2) whether one or more sterile fields within the room are maintained and/or contaminated; (3) whether personal protection equipment is being used—such as masks, gowns, gloves, and the like—by personnel who enter the room; (4) whether objects within the room are mobile or stationary”), the video data captured by a camera positioned inside the patient environment (Paragraph [0003] “According to various aspects of the systems and methods of the present invention, improved patient care is accomplished through the use of one or more video cameras positioned within a patient's room in order to provide patient care assistance in one or more of a variety of different manners.”; Paragraph [0044] “any one or more of the video cameras 22 of system 20 may be a motion sensing device sold under the brand name Kinect.TM., or variations thereof, by Microsoft Corporation of Redmond, Wash., USA. The Kinect.TM. motion sensing device includes an RGB (red, green, blue) camera, a depth sensor, and a multi-array microphone.”; See Figure 2); and
[generate a virtual field of view] using the video data of the one or more objects (Paragraph [0057] “cameras 22 may be mounted to the walls, the ceiling, objects within a room, such as the hospital bed or other furniture, or in still other locations…each camera 22 may include zoom features that allow computer device 24, or another intelligent device, to control the zooming in and zooming out of the cameras 22 such that both close-up images and wider field of view images may be recorded, as desired.”),
the [virtual field of view] providing the environment view (patient room in Paragraph [0039] equate to the environment view) and detailed views (information gathered by the video monitoring system in Paragraph [0039]) of the one or more objects (patient in the room in Paragraph [0039]) within the environment view (Paragraph [0039] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather various information about the patient and the room in which the patient is located in order to alert appropriate personnel of any conditions that may increase the likelihood of the patient falling. Such information may include any one or more of the following types of information: (1) patient behavior and/or actions that may indicate that a patient is about to get out of a bed or chair; (2) clinician behavior and/or actions that detect when a clinician has entered or exited the patient's room; (3) the status of equipment settings, such as those associated with a bed or chair, which are useful in reducing the likelihood of a fall; and (4) assessments of a patient's gait that may indicate a greater potential for the patient falling…video monitoring system 20 may also provide remote broadcasting of video information to remote locations, such as a nurse's station, a nurse's mobile device, a website accessible to relatives of the patient. Appropriate alarms or alerts may also be generated by system 20 and forwarded to the appropriate healthcare personnel when conditions or actions are detected that increase the potential of a patient fall.”).
However, Derenne fails to teach generate a virtual field of view.
Wren teaches generate a virtual field of view (Paragraph [0030] “As shown in FIG. 5, it is also possible to construct a low detail panoramic output image 501 from previously acquired OD images of the scene. Then, a high detail PZT image 502 of just the event can be composited into the panoramic image 501, as shown.”; Examiner interprets output image 501 as the virtual field of view and image 502 as the environment view; See Figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne’s reference to include generate a virtual field of view taught by Wren’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the viewer with a context of the event in the scene as a whole as suggested by Wren (see Wren, [0030]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wren with Derenne to obtain the invention specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne discloses wherein determine the one or more objects for monitoring in the environment view is based on whether the objects are movable within the patient environment (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may detect any one or more of the following conditions: (1) whether a clinician has washed his or her hands prior to approaching or touching a patient; (2) whether one or more sterile fields within the room are maintained and/or contaminated; (3) whether personal protection equipment is being used—such as masks, gowns, gloves, and the like—by personnel who enter the room; (4) whether objects within the room are mobile or stationary...”).
Regarding claim 3, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne discloses wherein determine the one or more objects for monitoring in the environment view is based on a condition identified in the environment view (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may detect any one or more of the following conditions: (1) whether a clinician has washed his or her hands prior to approaching or touching a patient; (2) whether one or more sterile fields within the room are maintained and/or contaminated; (3) whether personal protection equipment is being used—such as masks, gowns, gloves, and the like—by personnel who enter the room; (4) whether objects within the room are mobile or stationary, and whether an alert should be issued to the appropriate personnel for proper cleaning of the object prior to its leaving and/or entering the room; and (5) whether areas within the room have been properly and/or completely cleaned.”).
Regarding claim 5, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: determine monitoring parameters for the one or more objects (Paragraph [0038] “A video monitoring system 20 according to a first embodiment is shown in FIG. 1. Monitoring system 20 includes one or more conventional video cameras 22 and/or other types of vision sensing or motion sensing equipment. Video monitoring system 20 is adapted to sense one or more conditions in a room or other environment, and/or to sense one or more actions undertaken by one or more persons in the room or other environment.”), the monitoring parameters including one or more of a region of interest (Paragraph [0061] “The detection of such people can be carried out in known manners, as would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In at least one embodiment, system 20 detects such people and generates a rudimentary skeleton 54 that corresponds to the current location of each individual detected by cameras 22… skeleton 54 includes points 58 that are intended to correspond to the individual's head, neck, shoulders, elbows, wrists, hands, trunk, hips, knees, ankles, and feet. In other embodiments, skeleton 54 may include fewer or less points 58 corresponding to other portions of a patient's body.”), a minimum resolution, a minimum field of view (Paragraph [0057] “each camera 22 may include zoom features that allow computer device 24, or another intelligent device, to control the zooming in and zooming out of the cameras 22 such that both close-up images and wider field of view images may be recorded, as desired.”), a movement tolerance, a minimum illumination, and a monitoring frequency (Examiner notes that the claim requires one or more of a region of interest, a minimum resolution, a minimum field of view, a movement tolerance, a minimum illumination, and a monitoring frequency).
Regarding claim 8, which claim 1 is incarnated, Derenne discloses wherein the [virtual] field of view includes an avatar (skeleton 54 in Paragraph [0061] equates to an avatar representing the patient) representing positioning and movements of the patient in the patient environment (Paragraph [0061] “The detection of such people can be carried out in known manners, as would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art. In at least one embodiment, system 20 detects such people and generates a rudimentary skeleton 54 that corresponds to the current location of each individual detected by cameras 22… skeleton 54 includes points 58 that are intended to correspond to the individual's head, neck, shoulders, elbows, wrists, hands, trunk, hips, knees, ankles, and feet. In other embodiments, skeleton 54 may include fewer or less points 58 corresponding to other portions of a patient's body.”).
However, Derenne fails to teach a [virtual field of view].
Wren teaches generate a [virtual field of view] (Paragraph [0030] “As shown in FIG. 5, it is also possible to construct a low detail panoramic output image 501 from previously acquired OD images of the scene. Then, a high detail PZT image 502 of just the event can be composited into the panoramic image 501, as shown.”; Examiner interprets output image 501 as the virtual field of view and image 502 as the environment view; See Figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne’s reference to include a [virtual field of view] taught by Wren’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the viewer with a context of the event in the scene as a whole as suggested by Wren (see Wren, [0030]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wren with Derenne to obtain the invention specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Derenne discloses a method of remotely monitoring a patient in a patient environment (Abstract “A monitoring system includes a camera adapted to capture images and output signals representative of the images…A computer device processes the image signals and or depth signals from cameras and determines any one or more of the following: (a) whether a patient care protocol has been properly followed; (b) what condition a patient is in; (c) whether an infection control protocol has been properly followed; and (d) whether steps have been taken to reduce the risk of a patient from falling.”), the method comprising:
receiving an environment view of the patient environment (the room or other environment in Paragraph [0038] equate to environment view) (Paragraph [0038] “Video monitoring system 20 is adapted to sense one or more conditions in a room or other environment, and/or to sense one or more actions undertaken by one or more persons in the room or other environment. The data gathered by the video monitoring system is processed by appropriate hardware and/or software to determine whether an alert or other type of notification should be forwarded to appropriate personnel”);
determining one or more objects (patients in the room Paragraph [0040] equate to the objects for monitoring) for monitoring in the environment view (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room”);
receiving video data of the one or more objects (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room which is forwarded to appropriate personnel so that the risk of spreading infection either from or to the patient is reduced. In such embodiments, video monitoring system 20 may detect any one or more of the following conditions: (1) whether a clinician has washed his or her hands prior to approaching or touching a patient; (2) whether one or more sterile fields within the room are maintained and/or contaminated; (3) whether personal protection equipment is being used—such as masks, gowns, gloves, and the like—by personnel who enter the room; (4) whether objects within the room are mobile or stationary”), the video data captured by a camera positioned inside the patient environment (Paragraph [0003] “According to various aspects of the systems and methods of the present invention, improved patient care is accomplished through the use of one or more video cameras positioned within a patient's room in order to provide patient care assistance in one or more of a variety of different manners.”; Paragraph [0044] “any one or more of the video cameras 22 of system 20 may be a motion sensing device sold under the brand name Kinect.TM., or variations thereof, by Microsoft Corporation of Redmond, Wash., USA. The Kinect.TM. motion sensing device includes an RGB (red, green, blue) camera, a depth sensor, and a multi-array microphone.”; See Figure 2); and
[generating a virtual field of view] using the video data of the one or more objects Paragraph [0057] “cameras 22 may be mounted to the walls, the ceiling, objects within a room, such as the hospital bed or other furniture, or in still other locations…each camera 22 may include zoom features that allow computer device 24, or another intelligent device, to control the zooming in and zooming out of the cameras 22 such that both close-up images and wider field of view images may be recorded, as desired.”), the [virtual field of view] providing the environment view (patient room in Paragraph [0039] equate to the environment view) and detailed views (information gathered by the video monitoring system in Paragraph [0039]) of the one or more objects (patient in the room in Paragraph [0039]) within the environment view (Paragraph [0039] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather various information about the patient and the room in which the patient is located in order to alert appropriate personnel of any conditions that may increase the likelihood of the patient falling. Such information may include any one or more of the following types of information: (1) patient behavior and/or actions that may indicate that a patient is about to get out of a bed or chair; (2) clinician behavior and/or actions that detect when a clinician has entered or exited the patient's room; (3) the status of equipment settings, such as those associated with a bed or chair, which are useful in reducing the likelihood of a fall; and (4) assessments of a patient's gait that may indicate a greater potential for the patient falling…video monitoring system 20 may also provide remote broadcasting of video information to remote locations, such as a nurse's station, a nurse's mobile device, a website accessible to relatives of the patient. Appropriate alarms or alerts may also be generated by system 20 and forwarded to the appropriate healthcare personnel when conditions or actions are detected that increase the potential of a patient fall.”).
However, Derenne fails to teach generating a virtual field of view.
Wren teaches generating a virtual field of view (Paragraph [0030] “As shown in FIG. 5, it is also possible to construct a low detail panoramic output image 501 from previously acquired OD images of the scene. Then, a high detail PZT image 502 of just the event can be composited into the panoramic image 501, as shown.” Examiner interprets output image 501 as the virtual field of view and image 502 as the environment view; See Figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne’s reference to include generating a virtual field of view taught by Wren’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the viewer with a context of the event in the scene as a whole as suggested by Wren (see Wren, [0030]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wren with Derenne to obtain the invention specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10 (drawn to a method), claim 10 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 10, and all the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 11 (drawn to a method), claim 11 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 11, and all the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 13 (drawn to a method), claim 13 is rejected the same as claim 5 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 5 are equally applicable to the claim 13, and all the other limitations similar to claim 5 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 16 (drawn to a method), claim 16 is rejected the same as claim 8 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 8 are equally applicable to the claim 16, and all the other limitations similar to claim 8 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 17, Derenne discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage media including computer readable instructions which, when read and executed by a computing device (Paragraph [0050] “electronic structure configured to carry out the logic and algorithms described herein, or any combination of these or other known devices capable of carrying out the logic and algorithms described herein. Such dedicated electronic structures may include any combination of one or more processors, systems on chip (SoC), field programmable gate arrays (FPGA), microcontrollers, discrete logic circuitry, software and/or firmware.”), cause the computing device to:
receive an environment view (the room or other environment in Paragraph [0038] equate to environment view) (Paragraph [0038] “Video monitoring system 20 is adapted to sense one or more conditions in a room or other environment, and/or to sense one or more actions undertaken by one or more persons in the room or other environment. The data gathered by the video monitoring system is processed by appropriate hardware and/or software to determine whether an alert or other type of notification should be forwarded to appropriate personnel”);
determine one or more objects (patients in the room Paragraph [0040] equate to the objects for monitoring) for monitoring in the environment view (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room”);
receive video data of the one or more objects (Paragraph [0040] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather information about the patient and the patient's room which is forwarded to appropriate personnel so that the risk of spreading infection either from or to the patient is reduced. In such embodiments, video monitoring system 20 may detect any one or more of the following conditions: (1) whether a clinician has washed his or her hands prior to approaching or touching a patient; (2) whether one or more sterile fields within the room are maintained and/or contaminated; (3) whether personal protection equipment is being used—such as masks, gowns, gloves, and the like—by personnel who enter the room; (4) whether objects within the room are mobile or stationary”), the video data captured by a camera positioned inside the patient environment (Paragraph [0003] “According to various aspects of the systems and methods of the present invention, improved patient care is accomplished through the use of one or more video cameras positioned within a patient's room in order to provide patient care assistance in one or more of a variety of different manners.”; Paragraph [0044] “any one or more of the video cameras 22 of system 20 may be a motion sensing device sold under the brand name Kinect.TM., or variations thereof, by Microsoft Corporation of Redmond, Wash., USA. The Kinect.TM. motion sensing device includes an RGB (red, green, blue) camera, a depth sensor, and a multi-array microphone.”; See Figure 2); and
[generate a virtual field of view] using the video data of the one or more objects (Paragraph [0057] “cameras 22 may be mounted to the walls, the ceiling, objects within a room, such as the hospital bed or other furniture, or in still other locations…each camera 22 may include zoom features that allow computer device 24, or another intelligent device, to control the zooming in and zooming out of the cameras 22 such that both close-up images and wider field of view images may be recorded, as desired.”),
the [virtual field of view] providing the environment view (patient room in Paragraph [0039] equate to the environment view) and detailed views (information gathered by the video monitoring system in Paragraph [0039]) of the one or more objects (patient in the room in Paragraph [0039]) within the environment view (Paragraph [0039] “video monitoring system 20 may be used to gather various information about the patient and the room in which the patient is located in order to alert appropriate personnel of any conditions that may increase the likelihood of the patient falling. Such information may include any one or more of the following types of information: (1) patient behavior and/or actions that may indicate that a patient is about to get out of a bed or chair; (2) clinician behavior and/or actions that detect when a clinician has entered or exited the patient's room; (3) the status of equipment settings, such as those associated with a bed or chair, which are useful in reducing the likelihood of a fall; and (4) assessments of a patient's gait that may indicate a greater potential for the patient falling…video monitoring system 20 may also provide remote broadcasting of video information to remote locations, such as a nurse's station, a nurse's mobile device, a website accessible to relatives of the patient. Appropriate alarms or alerts may also be generated by system 20 and forwarded to the appropriate healthcare personnel when conditions or actions are detected that increase the potential of a patient fall.”.
However, Derenne fails to teach generate a virtual field of view.
Wren teaches generate a virtual field of view (Paragraph [0030] “As shown in FIG. 5, it is also possible to construct a low detail panoramic output image 501 from previously acquired OD images of the scene. Then, a high detail PZT image 502 of just the event can be composited into the panoramic image 501, as shown.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne’s reference to include generate a virtual field of view taught by Wren’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the viewer with a context of the event in the scene as a whole as suggested by Wren (see Wren, [0030]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wren with Derenne to obtain the invention specified in claim 17.
Regarding claim 18 (drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage media), claim 18 is rejected the same as claim 2 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 2 are equally applicable to the claim 18, and all the other limitations similar to claim 2 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 19 (drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage media), claim 19 is rejected the same as claim 3 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 3 are equally applicable to the claim 19, and all the other limitations similar to claim 3 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claims 4, 6, 12, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derenne et al. (US 2012/0075464 A1) (hereinafter, “Derenne”) in view of Wren et al. (US 2006/0284971 A1) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above; and further in view of Cohan et al. (US 2023/0157550 A1) (hereinafter, “Cohan”).
Regarding claim 4, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne and Wren both fail to teach wherein determine the one or more objects for monitoring in the environment view is based on data acquired from an electronic health record system.
Cohan teaches wherein determine the one or more objects for monitoring in the environment view is based on data acquired from an electronic health record system (Paragraph [0042] “the group of facial features can be assigned to the subject and a record that identifies the subject can be created. In those cases, the biometric monitoring subsystem 130 generates an association between the group and the subject. The biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can then obtain identification data pertaining to the subject from a data repository...The biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can use the identification data (e.g., electronic medical record ID) to retain values of a vital sign of the subject within an electronic health record of the subject. In some embodiments, the subject detection module 210 (FIG. 2 ) can assign a group of facial features to a subject, either anonymously or identifiably (i.e., recorded identification data).”; Paragraph [0043] “By assigning a subgroup of facial features to a subject in a digital image corresponding to a frame, the biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can determine multiple regions of interest within the digital image…the biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can determine respective regions of interest.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne in view of Wren to include wherein determine the one or more objects for monitoring in the environment view is based on data acquired from an electronic health record system taught by Cohen’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to determine respective regions of interest and determine values of vital signs by analyzing the regions of interest as suggested by Cohan (see Cohan, Paragraph [0043-0044]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Cohan with Derenne and Wren to obtain the invention specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne and Wren both fail to teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: determine a physiological parameter measurement based on the video data; and display the physiological parameter measurement in the virtual field of view.
Cohan teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: determine a physiological parameter measurement based on the video data (Paragraph [0058] “the biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can include a vital sign generation module 220 that can transform a time series from time domain to frequency domain by applying a suitable transformation to the time series. The vital sign generation module 220 also can select a frequency resulting from such a transformation, and can convert the frequency to suitable units in order to determine a value of a vital sign. A technique to apply the transformation can be retained in the analysis library 230. The magnitude criterion also can be retained in the analysis libraries 230. In some embodiments, techniques retained in the analysis libraries to determine values of vital signs can be tuned in nearly real-time by an end-user.”); and
display the physiological parameter measurement in the virtual field of view (Paragraph [0064] “the biometric monitoring subsystem 130 can send values of respective vital signs to a display device 140 upon determining those values. The values can be sent by means of a communication architecture 145. In response, the display device 140 can present a user interface (UI) 150. The UI 150 can include multiple visual elements representative of monitored subjects and values of vital signs.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne in view of Wren to include wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: determine a physiological parameter measurement based on the video data; and display the physiological parameter measurement in the virtual field of view taught by Cohen’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to monitor vital signs in real-time as suggested by Cohan (see Cohan, Paragraph [0052]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Cohan with Derenne and Wren to obtain the invention specified in claim 6.
Regarding claim 12 (drawn to a method), claim 12 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 12, and all the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 14 (drawn to a method), claim 14 is rejected the same as claim 6 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 6 are equally applicable to the claim 14, and all the other limitations similar to claim 6 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 20 (drawn to a non-transitory computer readable storage media), claim 20 is rejected the same as claim 4 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 4 are equally applicable to the claim 20, and all the other limitations similar to claim 4 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Derenne et al. (US 2012/0075464 A1) (hereinafter, “Derenne”) in view of Wren et al. (US 2006/0284971 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above; and further in view of Rothschild et al. (US 2017/0229149 A1) (hereinafter, “Rothschild”).
Regarding claim 7, which claim 1 is incorporated, Derenne and Wren both fail to teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: display controls to rewind one or more of the detailed views of the one or more objects within the environment view for viewing a trigger event.
Rothschild teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: display controls to rewind one or more of the detailed views of the one or more objects within the environment view for viewing a trigger event (Paragraph [0085] “the video would be permanently recording in a loop system which uses a reserved memory space, recording for a predetermined time period, and then, automatically erasing the video, where n represents the selected minutes in the loop and E is the event which prevents the recorded loop of n minutes being erased, and triggers both the real time transmission of the visible state or actions of the monitored person to the monitoring party, as well as the ability to rewind, in order for the monitoring party to be able to review the physical manifestation leading up to E. The trigger mechanism for E could be, for example, the occurrence of biometric data outside the predefined range, or the notification of another anomaly such as a fall alert”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date to modify Derenne in view of Wren to include wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processing device, further cause the at least one processing device to: display controls to rewind one or more of the detailed views of the one or more objects within the environment view for viewing a trigger event taught by Rothschild’s reference. The motivation for doing so would have been to only provide only the critical event and the time preceding the event to a third-party; therefore respecting the privacy of the individual as suggested by Rothschild (see Rothschild, Paragraph [0085]).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements described above by known methods with no change to the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Rothschild with Derenne and Wren to obtain the invention specified in claim 7.
Regarding claim 15 (drawn to a method), claim 15 is rejected the same as claim 7 and the arguments similar to that presented above for claim 7 are equally applicable to the claim 15, and all the other limitations similar to claim 7 are not repeated herein, but incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johnson et al. (US 2022/0280075 A1) discloses a monitoring system for receiving video frames including wide area views of a patient area and a region of interest within the area.
Vadamalayan et al. (US 11,354,863 B2) discloses a video surveillance system for receiving a video data stream from a surveillance camera in a monitored region via a cloud network.
Pekander et al. (US 9,918,637 B2) discloses a system for monitoring patient physiological data by receiving and processing identification data to obtain a patient monitoring device identity and to compare said identity with the stored known identity.
/UROOJ FATIMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676