DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The drawings were received on September 23, 2026. These drawings are acceptable. The drawing objection of June 23, 2026, has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of claim 8 has rendered the 112(b) rejection as moot. The 112(b) rejection of June 23, 2026, has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed September 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see responses below.
Regarding claim 1, examiner has carefully considered applicant’s argument that the references Sharp, Poupitch, and Meyer all fail to disclose all features of the amended claim 1. This argument has been found not persuasive because during patent examination all claims are examined based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language consistent with the specification (MPEP 2111). Therefore, a cut-out that is a slot extending lengthwise in the view of plane P can be interpreted as:
the cut-out between the hook-like member (24 of Sharp) and the flexible arm (40 of Sharp) when viewed from the perspective of figures 2, 4, 6, or 8 of Sharp;
the cut-out between the shank legs (42 and 44 of Meyer) when viewed from the perspective of figure 1 of Meyer; or
the cut-out between the free shank section (26 of Poupitch) and the rigid shank section (24 of Poupitch) when viewed from the perspective of figure 2 or 5 of Poupitch.
Similarly, a first portion extending from the opening towards a free end of the second end can be interpreted as:
the cut-out side of the hook-like member (24) of Sharp;
the cut-out side of the leg portion (48) of Meyer; or
the cut-out side of the free shank section (26) of Poupitch.
The second portion connected to the first portion and extending towards the first end to the bottom of the cut out can be interpreted as:
the flexible arm (40) of Sharp;
the shank leg (44) of Meyer; or
the free shank portion (26) of Poupitch.
The rejection of dependent claims 2-8 stands since the rejection of independent claim 1 stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharp et al. (US 3954243 A).
Annotated Figure 1 of Sharp
Annotated Figure 4 of Sharp
Regarding claim 1, Sharp discloses a pin (10, fastener) extending along a longitudinal axis (annotated figure 1 of Sharp) between a first end (12, head) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (70, shelf means) and a second end (30, free end) intended to be engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in a second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play (column 3, lines 3-6),
wherein the second end (30, free end) has a cut-out (figure 2) delimiting an unmoving part (26, rib) and a flexible part (40, flexible arm) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (30, free end) transversely to the longitudinal axis (annotated figure 1 of Sharp),
wherein the cut-out (figure 2) is configured so as to have, in a view of a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (40, flexible arm),
wherein the cut-out is a slot extending lengthwise (column 2, lines 60-64), in the view of the plane P, between an opening and a bottom, and
wherein, in the view of the plant P, the cut-out has, along a length of the cut-out, a first portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) extending from the opening towards a free end of the second end (30, free end) and a second portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) connected to the first portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) and extending towards the first end (12, head) to the bottom of the cut-out (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Sharp discloses that the second portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) is connected to the first portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) by a curved portion (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sharp discloses that the cut-out is configured so that the first portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) and the second portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) define an angle α (annotated figure 4 of Sharp), the bisector of which is materialized by the longitudinal axis of the pin (annotated figure 1 of Sharp).
Regarding claim 5, Sharp discloses that the second end (30, free end) has at least one flat section (26b, rib embodiment) extending over the unmoving part (26, rib) and over the flexible part (40, flexible arm) (column 4, lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 6, Sharp discloses that the first end (12, head) of the pin (10, fastener) is fastened to the first part (70, shelf means) and the second end (30, free end) of the pin (10, fastener) is engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (40, flexible arm) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force which causes a clamping force (column 3, lines 23-33) to be applied by the second end (30, free end) to the second part (60, support panel).
Regarding claim 7, Sharp discloses that the first end (12, head) of the pin (10, fastener) and the first part (50, hook element) are constituted by the same part (figure 4), the second end (30, free end) of the pin (10, fastener) being engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (40, flexible arm) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force which causes a clamping force (column 3, lines 37-47) to be applied by the second end (30, free end) to the second part (60, support panel).
Annotated Figure 8 of Sharp
Regarding claim 8, as best understood Sharp discloses that the second end (30, free end) has a diametrical dimension d1 (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) defined between a peripheral surface of the unmoving part (26, rib) and a peripheral surface of the flexible part (40, flexible arm) when a free portion of the flexible part (40, flexible arm) is in a rest position (figure 1), said peripheral surfaces defining a dimension d2 (column 3, lines 24-27) when the free portion is in a stressed position (figure 8), the pin (10, fastener) being dimensioned such that the dimension d1 (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) is greater than a dimension d3 (annotated figure 8 of Sharp) of a diameter of the recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), and such that the dimension d2 is equal to said dimension d3 (annotated figure 8 of Sharp).
Examiner notes that the figures may not be perfectly to scale, but the disclosure of the reference outlines the difference in the dimensions needed.
Claims 1, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poupitch (US 2596940 A).
Annotated Figure 2 of Poupitch
Regarding claim 1, Poupitch discloses a pin (2, fastening device) extending along a longitudinal axis (42) between a first end (20, head portion) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (48, panel) and a second end (36, pilot end) intended to be engaged in a recess (52, openings) in a second part (44, pad), with a fit without mechanical play,
wherein the second end (36, pilot end) has a cut-out (figure 1) delimiting an unmoving part (32, tubular section) and a flexible part (26, free shank section) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (36, pilot end) transversely to the longitudinal axis (42),
wherein the cut-out being configured so as to have, in a view of a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch),
wherein the cut-out is a slot extending lengthwise (figure 5), in the view of the plane P, between an opening (tip of 26, free shank section) and a bottom (36, entering end), and
wherein, in the view of the plane P, the cut-out has, along a length of the cut-out, a first portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) extending from the opening towards a free end of the second end (36, pilot end) and a second portion connected to the first portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) and extending towards the first end (20, head portion) to the bottom of the cut-out.
Regarding claim 4, Poupitch discloses that the free end of the second end (36, pilot end) forms a point (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) extending along the longitudinal axis (42) of the pin (2, fastening device), said point (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) being interposed between a hooking portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) via which the point (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) is connected to the unmoving part (32, tubular section), and a free portion (26, free shank section) capable of moving between a rest position (figure 2) and a stressed position (figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, Poupitch discloses the cut-out has a constant width over at least part of the length (figure 5).
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 3693494 A).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer discloses a pin (20, fastener) extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end (30, head) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (22, sheet) and a second end (32, shank portion) intended to be engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in a second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play,
wherein the second end (32, shank portion) has a cut-out (figure 1) delimiting an unmoving part (42, shank leg) and a flexible part (44, shank leg) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (32, shank portion) transversely to the longitudinal axis,
wherein the cut-out is configured so as to have, in a view of a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (figure 1),
wherein the cut-out is a slot extending lengthwise (figure 1), in the view of the plane P, between an opening (tip of 48, leg portion) and a bottom (46, shank bight), and
wherein, in the view of the plane P, the cut-out has, along a length of the cut-out, a first portion extending from the opening towards a free end of the second end (32, shank portion) and a second portion connected to the first portion (figure 1) and extending towards the first end (30, head) to the bottom of the cut-out (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer discloses that the second portion is connected to the first portion by a curved portion (column 2, lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer discloses that the cut-out is configured so that the first portion and the second portion define an angle α (angle of V-shaped shank portion (32)), the bisector of which is materialized by the longitudinal axis of the pin (20, fastener).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer discloses that the free end of the second end (32, shank portion) forms a point (46, shank bight) extending along the longitudinal axis of the pin (20, fastener), said point (46, shank bight) being interposed between a hooking portion (50, stop portion) via which the point (46, shank bight) is connected to the unmoving part (42, shank legs), and a free portion (48, leg portion) capable of moving between a rest position and a stressed position (column 2, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer discloses that the second end (32, shank portion) has at least one flat section (figure 2) extending over the unmoving part (42, shank leg) and over the flexible part (44, shank leg).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer discloses that the first end (30, head) of the pin (20, fastener) is fastened to the first part (22, sheet) and the second end (32, shank portion) of the pin (20, fastener) is engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (44, shank leg) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force (column 1, lines 61-67) which causes a clamping force to be applied by the second end (32, shank portion) to the second part (24, panel).
Regarding claim 7, Meyer discloses that the first end (30, head) of the pin (20, fastener) and the first part (38, 40, beads) are constituted by the same part, the second end (32, shank portion) of the pin (20, fastener) being engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (44, shank leg) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force (column 1, lines 61-67) which causes a clamping force to be applied by the second end (32, shank portion) to the second part (24, panel).
Regarding claim 8, Meyer discloses that the second end (32, shank portion) has a diametrical dimension d1 defined between a peripheral surface of the unmoving part (42, shank leg) and a peripheral surface of the flexible part (44, shank leg) when a free portion (48, leg portion) of the flexible part (44, shank leg) is in a rest position (figure 1, unassembled position), said peripheral surfaces defining a dimension d2 when the free portion (48, leg portion) is in a stressed position (figure 1, assembled position), the pin (20, fastener) being dimensioned such that the dimension d1 is greater than a dimension d3 of a diameter of the recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), and such that the dimension d2 is equal to said dimension d3 (figure 1, assembled position).
Regarding claim 9, Meyer discloses the cut-out has a constant width over at least part of the length (figure 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677 /JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677