DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second part (20) and recess (21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: measurement e of figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "free portion" in lines 18 and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharp et al. (US 3954243 A).
Annotated Figure 1 of Sharp
Annotated Figure 4 of Sharp
Regarding claim 1, Sharp discloses a pin (10, fastener) extending along a longitudinal axis (annotated figure 1 of Sharp) between a first end (12, head) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (70, shelf means) and a second end (30, free end) intended to be engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in a second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play (column 3, lines 3-6),
wherein the second end (30, free end) has a cut-out (figure 2) delimiting an unmoving part (26, rib) and a flexible part (40, flexible arm) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (30, free end) transversely to the longitudinal axis (annotated figure 1 of Sharp), the cut-out (figure 2) being configured so as to have, in a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (40, flexible arm), the cut-out having a first portion extending from an opening towards a free end (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) of the second end (30, free end) and a second portion connected to the first portion (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) and extending towards the first end (12, head) as far as a bottom of the cut-out (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Sharp discloses that the second portion is connected to the first portion by a curved portion (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Sharp discloses that the cut-out is configured so that the first and the second portion define an angle α (annotated figure 4 of Sharp), the bisector of which is materialized by the longitudinal axis of the pin (annotated figure 1 of Sharp).
Regarding claim 5, Sharp discloses that the second end (30, free end) has at least one flat section (26b, rib embodiment) extending over the unmoving part (26, rib) and over the flexible part (40, flexible arm) (column 4, lines 60-64).
Regarding claim 6, Sharp discloses that the first end (12, head) of the pin (10, fastener) is fastened to the first part (70, shelf means) and the second end (30, free end) of the pin (10, fastener) is engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (40, flexible arm) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force which causes the clamping forces (column 3, lines 23-33) applied by the second end (30, free end) to the second part (60, support panel).
Regarding claim 7, Sharp discloses that the first end (12, head) of the pin (10, fastener) and the first part (50, hook element) are constituted by the same part (figure 4), the second end (30, free end) of the pin (10, fastener) being engaged in a recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (40, flexible arm) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force which causes the clamping forces (column 3, lines 13-20) applied by the second end (30, free end) to the second part (60, support panel).
Annotated Figure 8 of Sharp
Regarding claim 8, as best understood Sharp discloses that the second end (30, free end) has a diametrical dimension d1 (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) defined between a peripheral surface of the unmoving part (26, rib) and a peripheral surface of the flexible part (40, flexible arm) when the free portion is in a rest position (figure 1), said peripheral surfaces defining a dimension d2 (column 3, lines 24-27) when the free portion is in a stressed position (figure 8), the pin (10, fastener) being dimensioned such that the dimension d1 (annotated figure 4 of Sharp) is greater than a dimension d3 (annotated figure 8 of Sharp) of a diameter of the recess (62, aperture) in the second part (60, support panel), and such that the dimension d2 is equal to said dimension d3 (annotated figure 8 of Sharp).
Examiner notes that the figures may not be perfectly to scale, but the disclosure of the reference outlines the difference in the dimensions needed.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poupitch (US 2596940 A).
Annotated Figure 2 of Poupitch
Regarding claim 1, Poupitch discloses a pin (2, fastening device) extending along a longitudinal axis (42) between a first end (20, head portion) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (48, panel) and a second end (36, pilot end) intended to be engaged in a recess (52, openings) in a second part (44, pad), with a fit without mechanical play,
wherein the second end (36, pilot end) has a cut-out (figure 1) delimiting an unmoving part (32, tubular section) and a flexible part (26, free shank section) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (36, pilot end) transversely to the longitudinal axis (42), the cut-out being configured so as to have, in a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch), the cut-out having a first portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) extending from an opening towards a free end of the second end (36, pilot end) and a second portion connected to the first portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) and extending towards the first end (20, head portion) as far as a bottom of the cut-out.
Regarding claim 4, Poupitch discloses that the free end of the second end (36, pilot end) forms a point (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) extending along the longitudinal axis (42) of the pin (2, fastening device), said point being interposed between a hooking portion (annotated figure 2 of Poupitch) via which it is connected to the unmoving part (32, tubular section), and a free portion (26, free shank section) capable of moving between a rest position (figure 2) and a stressed position (figure 5).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meyer (US 3693494 A).
Regarding claim 1, Meyer discloses a pin (20, fastener) extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end (30, head) intended to be rigidly connected to a first part (22, sheet) and a second end (32, shank portion) intended to be engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in a second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play,
wherein the second end (32, shank portion) has a cut-out (figure 1) delimiting an unmoving part (42, shank leg) and a flexible part (44, shank leg) and passing through, from end to end, the second end (32, shank portion) transversely to the longitudinal axis, the cut-out being configured so as to have, in a plane P containing the longitudinal axis, a projection whose general shape is asymmetrical (figure 1), the cut-out having a first portion extending from an opening towards a free end of the second end (32, shank portion) and a second portion connected to the first portion (figure 1) and extending towards the first end (30, head) as far as a bottom of the cut-out (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Meyer discloses that the second portion is connected to the first portion by a curved portion (column 2, lines 55-57).
Regarding claim 3, Meyer discloses that the cut-out is configured so that the first and the second portion define an angle α (angle of V-shaped shank portion (32)), the bisector of which is materialized by the longitudinal axis of the pin (20, fastener).
Regarding claim 4, Meyer discloses that the free end of the second end (32, shank portion) forms a point (46, shank bight) extending along the longitudinal axis of the pin (20, fastener), said point (46, shank bight) being interposed between a hooking portion (50, stop portion) via which it is connected to the unmoving part (42, shank legs), and a free portion (48, leg portion) capable of moving between a rest position and a stressed position (column 2, lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 5, Meyer discloses that the second end (32, shank portion) has at least one flat section (figure 2) extending over the unmoving part (42, shank leg) and over the flexible part (44, shank leg).
Regarding claim 6, Meyer discloses that the first end (30, head) of the pin (20, fastener) is fastened to the first part (22, sheet) and the second end (32, shank portion) of the pin (20, fastener) is engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (44, shank leg) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force (column 1, lines 61-67) which causes the clamping forces applied by the second end (32, shank portion) to the second part (24, panel).
Regarding claim 7, Meyer discloses that the first end (30, head) of the pin (20, fastener) and the first part (38, 40, beads) are constituted by the same part, the second end (32, shank portion) of the pin (20, fastener) being engaged in a recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), with a fit without mechanical play, such that the flexible part (44, shank leg) is forced to deform and generate a resilient return force (column 1, lines 61-67) which causes the clamping forces applied by the second end (32, shank portion) to the second part (24, panel).
Regarding claim 8, Meyer discloses that the second end (32, shank portion) has a diametrical dimension d1 defined between a peripheral surface of the unmoving part (42, shank leg) and a peripheral surface of the flexible part (44, shank leg) when the free portion (48, leg portion) is in a rest position (figure 1, unassembled position), said peripheral surfaces defining a dimension d2 when the free portion (48, leg portion) is in a stressed position (figure 1, assembled position), the pin (20, fastener) being dimensioned such that the dimension d1 is greater than a dimension d3 of a diameter of the recess (28, aperture) in the second part (24, panel), and such that the dimension d2 is equal to said dimension d3 (figure 1, assembled position).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ziehm et al. (US 20100172691 A1) teaches a spacing device holding two components together.
Heinrichs et al. (US 20190186523 A1) teaches a fastening clip.
Znamirowski (US 3727271 A) teaches a fastener for joining two structural layers.
Takahashi (US D293880 S) displays a spacer and securing unit.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677