DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the removable clips supporting a surface of the string trimmer must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,525. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,525 teaches a removable shield comprising a flexible shield wall and a shield closure device having a vertical panel (the parallel channels in claim 2) and a horizontal lip (the floor of claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, it is unclear what kind of surface of the string trimmer the clips support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blevins (6,327,782).
Regarding claim 7, teaches a shield closure for a shield attachment for a string trimmer comprising:
a vertical wall panel 26 having one or more elongated slots in a surface thereof;
a channel (section receiving element 24) positioned at a bottom of the vertical wall panel, wherein a length of the channel is at least the same as or is greater than a width of the vertical wall panel; and
a cradle (39, 44) positioned on top of the vertical wall panel wherein the cradle has a cavity along a length thereof and a textured surface for increasing a coefficient of friction along the length of the cavity.
See Figs. 1, 4, 5, and 7.
Regarding claim 8, a flexible shield wall 24 is best seen in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 9, the flexible shield wall received in the channel is best seen in Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins (6,327,782) in view of Macedonio et al. (2016/0262306), hereinafter Macedonia.
Regarding claim 1, Blevins teaches an assembly for a string trimmer with trimmer head for cutting tall grass or weed substantially as claimed except for the limitations in the bolded texts, the assembly comprising:
a removable shield having a flexible shield wall 24 having a first end and a second end with a length extending therebetween;
a shield closure device 26 comprising a vertical panel and a horizontal lip for supporting and closing the first end and second of the removable shield; and
wherein the shield forms a perimeter ring providing an interior space when coupled to the shield closure, and when installed on the string trimmer, the trimmer head is within the interior space.
See Figs. 1, 4, and 5.
Blevins does not teach the shield closure device “closing the first end and second of the removable shield; and wherein the shield forms a perimeter ring providing an interior space when coupled to the shield closure, and when installed on the string trimmer, the trimmer head is within the interior space”. In other words, the shield fully surrounds the trimmer head.
Macedonio teaches an assembly for a string trimmer having a removable shield 16fully covering a trimmer head. See Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the shield and the shield closure device on Blevins fully surrounding the trimmer head as taught by Macedonio for trimming process that requires fully enclosing the trimmer head.
Regarding claim 2, the shield closuring device in Fig. 5 comprises multiple channels.
Regarding claim 3, a handle cradle (39, 44) is best seen in Figs. 1 and 7 in Blevins.
Regarding claim 4, a cradle top (top section of element 44) is best seen in Fig. 7 in Blevins.
Regarding claim 5, a channel (in section 35) extending along the shield closure is best seen in Fig. 5 in Blevins.
Regarding claim 6, a clip (in section 35) is best seen in Fig. 5 in Blevins.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shields for a string trimmer of general interest are cited in form PTO-892.
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724