DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuter (US 10017025) and further in view of Geiger (US 20050269753).
In regards to claim 1, Reuter discloses an air management system (20, 120 or 220) for a vehicle having a body and plurality of wheels (col. 3 lines 37-39), the air management system comprising:
a reservoir tank (38) for storing compressed air and filling at least one air spring (22) of the vehicle; and a compressed air supply unit (24) for supplying the compressed air, comprising:
a compressed air port (50) to the reservoir tank (38) and to the at least one air spring (22)(see col. 4 lines 5-8 and 19); a vent port (52) to a venting environment; and
a piloted exhaust valve (28, 29) connected to the compressed air port and configured to vent the at least one air spring (22) through the vent port (52)(see col. 4 lines 3-11),
Reuter fails to disclose wherein the piloted exhaust valve having a piloted control port; wherein the reservoir tank is pneumatically connected to the piloted control port of the piloted exhaust valve, and is configured to provide a control pressure to the piloted control port to open the piloted exhaust valve during venting of the at least one air spring.
Geiger teaches a compressed air supply unit (12) comprising a compressed air port, a vent port (15) to a venting environment, a piloted exhaust valve (valve block 2, including valve 4, 16) connected to the compressed air port and configured to vent the at least one air spring through the vent port (15), the piloted exhaust valve having a piloted control port (48), and is configured to provide a control pressure to the piloted control port (48) to open the piloted exhaust valve during venting of the at least one air spring (valve block 2 containing a central 3/2 way directional control valve 4 which connects either the compressed air supply 12 or the air vent 15 to down steam the control valve 14, and air bellows valves 16, 18, 24, 42, 44, 46, each associated with air spring 20 and configured to provide pressure with the pressure sensor 22 via pressure line 20 between valve and air spring valves). Geiger teaches all valves may take the form of pneumatically pilot-operated solenoid valves see para. 0022-0023, to supply compressed air for the pilot operation, each control connection 48 of solenoid valves 4, 16, 18, 24, 44, and 46 connected to the air supply 12 via a pneumatic line 50. Further, Geiger teaches a pilot operated valve with a main flow path actuated by a separate pneumatic pilot pressure applied to a control connection 48 (a piloted control port) and the pilot pressure source is the system compressed air supply 12 connected with pneumatic pilot line 50.
Thereby, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to improve Reuter’s air management system with the improved control of high flow exhaust function Geiger teaches with the pneumatically pilot operated solenoid valves in an air suspension valve block. Geiger explains that the valves provide reliable actuation and allow the main flow paths to handle higher flow. Since both are known equivalents, replacing Reuters valve with a pilot operated high flow exhaust valve whose pilot port is fed from the existing compressed air source or reservoir is a predictable substitution.
In regards to claim 2, Reuter in view of Geiger teach in combination, wherein the compressed air supply unit (Reuter, 24) further comprises an exhaust valve connected to the piloted control port, and the reservoir tank is pneumatically connected to and selectively pressurizes the piloted control port of the piloted exhaust valve via the exhaust valve (Geiger teaches the pilot operated valves have a control connection 48 supplied with compressed air from supply 12 via a pneumatic line 50, the valves are solenoid operated and it is taught that valve block 2 includes a valve device to connect and disconnect the compressed air supply 12 and air vent 15 from various portions of the circuit via 3/2 and 2/2 way directional control valves 4, 14, 56, 58, see para. 0007). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art implementing Geiger’s pilot operated exhaust valve (as discussed in claim 1) into Reuters system to provide selectively pressurizing the piloted control port (48) of the piloted exhaust valve via the exhaust valve.
In regards to claim 3, Reuter and Geiger teach in combination, wherein the compressed air supply unit (Reuter 24) defines a reservoir port (64), the reservoir tank (38) is pneumatically connected to the reservoir port (64) through a reservoir airline (66), and the reservoir port is pneumatically connected to a control port of the exhaust valve through a pressure transfer line (as taught in Geiger see above).
In regard to claim 4, Reuter and Geiger teach in combination wherein the air management system further comprises a manifold block (see Reuter, 26), which pneumatically connects the at least one air spring (22), the compressed air port (50) and the reservoir tank (38); and the reservoir tank is pneumatically connected to a control port of the exhaust valve via the manifold block (26)(see fig.1).
In regard to claim 5, Reuter and Geiger teach in combination wherein the manifold block (26) comprises a boost valve (39) and defines a boost outlet port (65), the compressed air supply unit (24) defines a boost inlet port (81), and the reservoir tank (38) is pneumatically connected to the control port of the exhaust valve (as taught by Geiger see above) via the boost valve (39), the boost outlet port (65) and the boost inlet port (81).
In regards to claim 7, Reuter and Geiger in combination teach wherein the manifold block comprises an exhaust control valve (Geiger valve block 2 with directional control valve 14) and defines a first exhaust port (towards the vent 15); and the compressed air supply unit (12) defines a second exhaust port (see Geiger fig.1), and in combination, the reservoir tank is pneumatically connected (Reuter’s tank 38 providing pneumatic connection) to the control port of the exhaust valve (48, as discussed above claim 1) via the exhaust control valve (14), the first exhaust port, and the second exhaust port. Absent criticality, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Reuter’s manifold block to include the layout Geiger teaches before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success in the manifold’s arrangement including a first and second exhaust port.
In regards to claim 8, Reuter and Geiger in combination teach wherein the compressed air supply unit (24) further comprises an exhaust valve (Geiger’s 3/2 directional valve) connected to the piloted exhaust valve (28,29), and the reservoir tank (38) is pneumatically connected to, independently of the exhaust valve, the piloted control port (Geiger 48) of the piloted exhaust valve. (See combination disclosed above). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reuter such that the compressed air supply unit includes an exhaust valve connected to the venting valve while also providing a dedicated pilot pressure feed from the reservoir tank to the piloted control port of the piloted exhaust valve as taught by Geiger’s separate pilot supply line to the control connection to ensure reliable and rapid actuation of the piloted exhaust valve during venting.
In regards to claim 9, Reuter and Geiger in combination teach wherein the air management system further comprises a manifold block (Reuter 26), which pneumatically connects the at least one air spring (22), the compressed air port (50) and the reservoir tank (38); and the reservoir tank (38)is pneumatically connected to, independently of the exhaust valve, the piloted control port of the piloted exhaust valve via the manifold block (Geiger teaches routing pilot pressure through a valve block/manifold circuit to a control connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Reuter and route the reservoir to pilot connection via the manifold block of Reuter to simplify and consolidate fittings while reducing leak paths.
In regards to claim 10, Reuter and Geiger teach wherein the manifold block (26) comprises a boost valve (valve 39) and defines a boost outlet port (65), the compressed air supply unit (24) defines a boost inlet port (81), and the reservoir tank (38) is pneumatically connected to, independently of the exhaust valve, the piloted control port of the piloted exhaust valve (Geiger’s pilot control connection 48) via the boost valve (39), the boost outlet port (65) and the boost inlet port (81). Reuter provides a pneumatic path for the reservoir pressure can be communicated through the manifold blocks boost valve through the defined outlet and inlet port between the manifold and the supply unit, therefore independently of the exhaust valve.
In regards to claim 11, Reuter and Geiger teach wherein the exhaust valve is a three-way two-position valve which has a control port being blocked off, or the exhaust valve is a two-way two-position valve. Geiger teaches 3/2 way and 2/2 way valves for venting downstream lines as common directional valve types. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have further modified Reuter with the known improvement technique substituting well known equivalent valve types for selectively connecting / disconnecting a line to pressurize or vent a line as Geiger teaches with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regards to claim 13, Reuter and Geiger teach further comprising: a central air line (Reuter line 63) disposed between the at least one air spring (22) and the compressed air port (50) and fluidly connected to the least one air spring (22) and the compressed air port (50); at least one spring air line (60) extending between the central air line (63) and the at least one air spring (22); and at least one suspension valve (30) disposed along the at least one spring air line (60) for selectively allowing and preventing air from flowing between the at least one air spring and the central air line (see Reuter col. 4 lines 30-50).
In regards to claim 18, Reuter and Geiger teach in combination wherein the reservoir tank (Reuter 38) is an external tank located outside of the compressed air supply unit (24) an although Reiter as combined, fails to explicitly teach the reservoir tank has a volume of 7 to 16 liters. However, as the volume of the tank is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the tank size in order to meet various capacity needs, the precise volume of the tank would have been considered a result effective variable by a person of ordinary skill in the art. As such, absent criticality, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the volume of the reservoir tank to obtain desired degree of bypassing of the top layer of the catalyst bed (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Gardner). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for the reservoir tank volume of 7 to 16 liters, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reuter (US 10017025) and Geiger (US 20050269753), as applied above, and further in view of Reuter ‘679 (US 20230122679).
In regards to claim 14, Reuter and Geiger in combination teach, further comprising: a reservoir air line (66) extending between the reservoir tank (38) and the central air line (63) but fail to teach a first reservoir valve and a second reservoir valve that are disposed along the reservoir air line, each of the first and second reservoir valves having an orifice for allowing air to pass therethrough, and each of the reservoir valves selectively allowing air to pass through the reservoir valve between the reservoir tank and the central air line.
However, ‘679 teaches a similar system with an improvement technique, a reservoir air line (see fig.9) extending between a tank (310) and a central air line (to the manifold 338) and a first reservoir valve (350) and a second reservoir valve (352) that are disposed along the reservoir air line (see fig 9), each of the first and second reservoir valves (350,352) having an orifice for allowing air to pass therethrough (orifices 344, 348), and each of the reservoir valves selectively allowing air to pass through the reservoir valve between the reservoir tank and the central air line (at least one valve is selectively providing fluid communication between the reservoir port 312 and the manifold 338). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Reuter further in view of ‘679 with a reasonable expectation of success, the reservoir airline including reservoir valves for selectively allowing air to pass therethrough so as to balance pressure and allow relatively high airflow rates there through (see para. 0067).
In regards to claim 15, Reuter in view of Geiger and ‘679 teach wherein the compressed air supply unit (24) comprises a compressor (compressor) for providing compressed air to the reservoir tank (38) and having at least one compressor stage, and defines a boost inlet port (81); and the air management system further comprises a boost valve (39) between the reservoir air line (66) and a boost air line (83) which is connected to the boost inlet port (81) for allowing air from the reservoir tank to pass to the compressor via the boost inlet port (81).
In regards to claim 16, Reuter in combination teaches further comprising: an electronic control unit (44) electrically connected to each of the at least one suspension valve (30) and the first and second reservoir valves (as taught by ‘679) for selectively opening and closing each of them (selectively opening and closing valves for controlling the air management system); and a pressure sensor (42) electrically coupled to the electronic control unit (44) and connected to the central air line (63) for reading a pressure of the at least one air spring (22, see Reuter).
In regards to claim 17, Reuter in combination teaches a dryer (40) coupled to the compressed air port (50) for reducing moisture in air supplied by the compressed air supply unit before the air enters the reservoir tank (38) and the at least one air spring (22); and a dryer isolation valve (36) disposed in-line with the compressed air port (50) for allowing the central air line to be isolated from the dryer (see Reuter Col. 6 lines 11-59). Reuter fails to explicitly teach disposed inside the compressed air supply unit, however, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date for the dryer to be disposed in the compressed air supply unit with a reasonable expectation of success, rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art, and an internal dryer assembly would be a predictable design choice for reduced packaging and assembly with no change to Reuter’s air management system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for a list of relevant air management systems to that claimed.
/C.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/PAUL N DICKSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614