DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1: It must be determined whether the invention falls in one of the four statutory categories of invention. Claims 1 – 4 and 20 are directed towards a device and a medium, (machine), and claims 5 - 19 are directed towards a method, (process), which are statutory categories of invention.
Step 2a:
Prong 1: It must be determined whether the invention is directed to judicially recognized exception. Claim 1 is analyzed below with limitations indicating recitations of an abstract idea.
1. A device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the at least one processor executes the computer instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to: display a plurality of virtual items having virtual functions respectively in a virtual scene, the plurality of virtual items being individually accessible to a virtual object; and display a target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to a first trigger operation targeting at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the target virtual item being obtained by assembling the at least two virtual items into one, the target virtual item supporting a new virtual function, and the new virtual function of the target virtual item being different from the virtual function of each of the at least two virtual items alone.
The abstract idea is defined by the underlined portions exemplary claim 1, with substantially similar features found in claims 5 and 20. Dependent claims 2 – 4 and 6 - 19 further define the abstract idea or relate to the implementation of the abstract idea. The abstract idea is defined in at least the following grouping below:
Mental processes (observation, evaluation, judgment)
The claims are directed towards a series of steps which can practically be performed by one or more human, which fall into the category of mental processes, (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). More specifically, the claimed invention recites a gaming system comprising a plurality of virtual items in a virtual scene, wherein the claims further disclose assembling at least two virtual items into a single virtual item, wherein the newly assembled single virtual item comprises a new virtual function that is different from the two initial virtual items. The claims recite instructions with these features. Here, a human can observe a plurality of virtual items in a virtual scene, and then make the determination of which virtual items to combine to create a single virtual item that is favorable to the player. For example, in the event that a player is playing a shooter game, (e.g. Call of Duty), wherein a player collects materials, such as steel and fiberglass, while controlling a player character in a virtual scene, a player can observe the collected materials, and then determine what type of new weapon to craft by combining the collected materials.
The claims are also directed towards an abstract idea of rules for conducting a game which falls into the category of mental processes, (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). More specifically, the claimed invention recites a gaming system that presents a game to a player comprising a plurality of virtual items in a virtual scene, wherein the player is instructed to create a new virtual item with a new virtual function by combining at least of the plurality of virtual items. The claimed invention can be practically performed as mental process by a human managing virtual game items in a virtual game. A human take control the game items and make game determinations in their mind. For example, in the event that a player is playing a board game, nothing precludes a human from combining two items together to make a single item corresponding to rules of the board game.
Prong 2: Does the Claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception in to a practical application of the exception?
The claims recite a generic device and memory along with instructions that generate and present a plurality of virtual items in a virtual scene, wherein at least two virtual items are assembled together into one virtual item, which is viewed as no more than instructions to implement a judicial exception.
These additional limitations do not represent an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Nor do they apply the exception using a particular machine, (MPEP 2106.05(b)). Furthermore, they do not effect a transformation. (MPEP 2106.05(c)). Rather, these additional limitations amount to an instruction to “apply” the judicial exception using a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
Step 2b: It must be determined whether the claimed invention recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim language does recite an electronic device, memory, a processor, (claim 9), and an account that is associated with a user, however, viewed as a whole, these additional elements are indistinguishable from conventional computing elements known in the art, (See Yates et al. 2009/0327723 par. 0047 regarding combining game elements to make a new item as being known in the art). Therefore, the additional elements fail to supply additional elements that yield significantly more than the underlying abstract idea. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,251.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims are drawn towards the system and method claim versions of the parent 12,246,251, except the current claims does not disclose the limitation of the new virtual function of the new virtual object being realized without switching the virtual item. Therefore the current claims are a broader version of the parent claims regarding this feature, as shown in table below. Independent claims 5 and 20 includes similar language to that of independent claim 1, wherein dependent claims 2 – 4 and 6 - 19 include similar language as the dependent claims in the parent 12,246,251. Therefore the claims are not patentably distinct.
Pending Claim 1:
Patented Claim 1:
1. A device comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein, when the at least one processor executes the computer instructions, the at least one processor is configured to cause the device to: display a plurality of virtual items having virtual functions respectively in a virtual scene, the plurality of virtual items being individually accessible to a virtual object; and display a target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to a first trigger operation targeting at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the target virtual item being obtained by assembling the at least two virtual items into one, the target virtual item supporting a new virtual function, and the new virtual function of the target virtual item being different from the virtual function of each of the at least two virtual items alone.
1. A method for displaying a virtual item, performed by an electronic device, the method comprising: displaying a virtual object in a virtual scene, the virtual object having a plurality of virtual items, the plurality of virtual items being equipped by or individually accessible to the virtual object and respectively having virtual functions; and displaying a virtual assembled item in the virtual scene in response to a first trigger operation targeting at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the virtual assembled item being obtained by combining the at least two virtual items into a target virtual item, the target virtual item supporting a new virtual function, the new virtual function of the target virtual item being different from the virtual function of each of the at least two virtual items alone, and the new virtual function of the target virtual item being realized without switching the target virtual item by the virtual object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 7, and 10 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Fallout 4.
Regarding claim 1, Fallout 4, hereinafter Fallot, discloses a device and method comprising a memory for storing computer instructions and at least one processor in communication with the memory, wherein, the at least one processor executes the computer instructions, (0:00 – 10:46 of Fallout, wherein fig. 1 below shows an example screenshot of the video game Fallout 4, which is viewed by the Examiner as the video game being played on a video game console, (e.g. Playstation), or a personal computer, which is viewed by the Examiner as being equivalent to a device comprising a memory for storing and executing computer instructions).
Fig. 1
Fallout further discloses displaying a plurality of virtual items having virtual functions in a virtual scene, the plurality of virtual items being individually accessible to a virtual object, (3:31 of Fallout, wherein as shown in fig. 2 below, wherein the Examiner views the requirements, “circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring” as being equivalent to a plurality of virtual items having virtual functions).
Fig. 2
Fallout further discloses displaying a target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to a first trigger operation targeting at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the target virtual item being obtained by assembling the at least two virtual items into one, (3:31 of Fallout, wherein shown in fig. 2 above, the Examiner views the displayed “Gauss Rifle” as being equivalent to a displayed target virtual item, and the requirements, (“circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring”), needed to create the rifle as being equivalent to at least two virtual items being obtained and assembled into one target virtual item). Fallout further discloses that the target virtual item supporting a new virtual function, and the new virtual function of the target virtual item being different from the virtual function of each of the at least two virtual items alone, (3:31 of Fallout and fig. 2 above, wherein the Examiner views the gun, (Gauss Rifle), being created from the required parts as being equivalent to a new virtual item supporting a new virtual function, wherein a gun has a different function compared to fiber optics and circuitry components).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Fallout discloses obtain the target virtual item in response to the first trigger operation; and display, in the virtual scene, the virtual object as equipped with the target virtual item, (3:31 and fig. 2, wherein the Examiner views the gun created by a user from the required parts as being equivalent to a displayed virtual object in a virtual scene in response to a trigger operation).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Fallout discloses transmit a combination instruction for the at least two virtual items to a server; and when the processor is configured to cause the device to display, in the virtual scene, that the virtual object is equipped with the target virtual item, the processor is configured to cause the device to: receive, from the server, a confirmation to the combination instruction; and in response to the confirmation, display, in the virtual scene, that the virtual object is equipped with the target virtual item, (3:31 of Fallout and fig. 2 above, wherein the Examiner views the gun, (Gauss Rifle), being created from the required parts as being equivalent to transmitting a combination instruction of at least two virtual items to create and display a target virtual object in a virtual scene).
Regarding claim 10, Fallout discloses transmitting operation information of the first trigger operation to a server in response to the first trigger operation, the operation information indicating to combine the at least two virtual items; and obtaining the target virtual item issued by the server based on the operation information, and displaying the target virtual item in the virtual scene, (3:31 of Fallout and fig. 2, wherein the Examiner views the created “Gauss Rifle” and the requirements, (“circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring”), needed to create the rifle as being equivalent to transmitting operation information of the first trigger operation to a server in response to the first trigger operation, the operation information indicating to combine the at least two virtual items; and obtaining the target virtual item).
Regarding claim 11, Fallout discloses playing an item combination animation in response to the first trigger operation, the item combination animation being an animation in which the virtual object combines the at least two virtual items into the target virtual item, (3:31 - 3:38 of Fallout and fig. 2, wherein the Examiner views the displaying of the gun and required parts as being equivalent to item combination animation in response to a first trigger operation).
Regarding claim 12, Fallout discloses wherein the at least two virtual items are shooting items, and after displaying the target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to the first trigger operation targeting the at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the method further comprises: displaying a first launch function control of the target virtual item in the virtual scene; and in response to a trigger operation on the first launch function control, controlling the virtual object to simultaneously launch projectiles of the at least two virtual items which are assembled in the target virtual item, (3:31- 3:34 of Fallout and fig. 2, wherein the Examiner views the two guns, (Gauss Rifle and Gamma Gun), as being equivalent at least two virtual items being shooting items that have shooting or launch functions).
Regarding claim 13, Fallout discloses wherein the at least two virtual items comprise a shooting item and a throwing item, and after displaying the target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to the first trigger operation targeting the at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the method further comprises: displaying a second launch function control and a throwing function control of the target virtual item in the virtual scene; in response to a trigger operation on the second launch function control, controlling the virtual object to launch a projectile of the shooting item; and in response to a trigger operation on the throwing function control, controlling the virtual object to throw the throwing item, (1:24 and 3:31 of Fallout, fig. 2 and fig. 3 below, wherein the Examiner views the grenade shown in fig. 3 and the gun shown in fig. 2 as being equivalent to at least virtual items comprising a throwing and shooting item comprising launch and throwing functions).
Fig. 3
Regarding claim 14, Fallout discloses wherein the at least two virtual items comprise a shooting item and a cold weapon item, and after displaying the target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to the first trigger operation targeting the at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the method further comprises: displaying a third launch function control and a confrontation function control of the target virtual item in the virtual scene; in response to a trigger operation on the third launch function control, controlling the virtual object to launch a projectile of the shooting item; and in response to a trigger operation on the confrontation function control, controlling the virtual object to fight using the cold weapon item, (3:43 and 3:31 of Fallout, fig. 4 below and fig. 2 above, wherein the Examiner views the bladed weapon shown in fig. 4 below as being equivalent to a cold weapon item and the gun shown in fig. 2 above as being equivalent to a shooting item, wherein the items disclose a launching and confrontation functions).
Fig. 4
Regarding claim 15, Fallout discloses wherein the at least two virtual items comprise a shooting item and a special ammunition, and after displaying the target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to the first trigger operation targeting the at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items, the method further comprises: displaying a fourth launch function control and a fifth launch function control of the target virtual item in the virtual scene; in response to a trigger operation on the fourth launch function control, controlling the virtual object to launch a projectile of the shooting item; and in response to a trigger operation on the fifth launch function control, controlling the virtual object to launch the special ammunition by using the shooting item, (3:31- 3:34 of Fallout and fig. 2, wherein the Examiner views the two guns, (Gauss Rifle and Gamma Gun), as being equivalent at least two virtual items being shooting items, with the Gamma Gun comprising special ammunition).
Regarding claim 19, Fallout discloses wherein each of the plurality of virtual items has a corresponding interaction function, the corresponding interaction function being utilized by the virtual object to interact with another virtual object in the virtual scene; and the target virtual item has a new interaction function different from interaction functions of the at least two virtual items, (3:31 of Fallout and fig. 2 above, wherein the Examiner views the “Gauss Rifle” as being equivalent to a target virtual item comprising a new interaction function that is different from the interaction functions of at least two virtual such as the requirements, (“circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallout 4.
Regarding claim 16, Fallout, as stated above, discloses combining at least two virtual items to create one virtual item, (3:31 of Fallout, wherein shown in fig. 2 above, the Examiner views the displayed “Gauss Rifle” as being equivalent to a displayed target virtual item, and the requirements, (“circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring”), needed to create the rifle as being equivalent to at least two virtual items being obtained and assembled into one target virtual item), however, Fallout is silent upon disclosing separating the one virtual item to obtain the at least two virtual items. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate the one virtual item to obtain the two virtual items after combining the parts to make one virtual item, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167). It has also been held that making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art. (In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 17, Fallout, as stated above, discloses combining at least two virtual items to create one virtual item, but is silent upon disclosing separating the one virtual item to obtain the at least two virtual items. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate the one virtual item to obtain the two virtual items, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167). It has also been held that making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art. (In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 18, Fallout, as stated above, discloses an animation in response to combining virtual, however, as stated above, Fallout is silent upon disclosing separating the one virtual item to obtain the at least two virtual items. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to separate the one virtual item to obtain the two virtual items, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167). It has also been held that making parts separable involves only routine skill in the art. (In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Claims 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallout 4 as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Voss (U.S. 2016/0283097).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Fallout discloses displaying a plurality of virtual items, (3:31 of Fallout, wherein as shown in fig. 2 below, wherein the Examiner views the requirements, “circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring” as being equivalent to a plurality of virtual items), however, Fallout is silent on disclosing displaying the plurality of virtual items in response to a pinch operation. In a related art, Voss discloses an electronic device (“the depicted mobile electronic device”, par. 0025), that displays a plurality of items, (“Each item, image or video, is displayed as at thumbnail, with a caption, a duration, and a possible group count, par. 0051), wherein Voss teaches that the electronic device may be implemented on a video game system, (“the depicted mobile electronic device is a mobile phone 100, the invention may equally be implemented on any number of devices, such as music players, cameras, tablets, global positioning navigation systems etc. A mobile phone typically includes the ability to send and receive phone calls and text messages, interface with the Internet either through the cellular network or a local wireless network, take pictures and videos, play back audio and video content, and run applications such as word processing, programs, or video games”, par. 0025), wherein Voss further discloses displaying items in response to a pinch operation, (“Pinching items together combines all items”, par. 0055), wherein this is viewed in combination with Fallout as meeting the claim limitation of display the target virtual item in the virtual scene in response to a pinch operation on the display controls of the at least two virtual items.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pinch operation teachings of Voss into the art disclosed by Fallout in order to provide better gaming control and customization by mimicking real-world handling of physical objects.
Regarding claim 8, Fallout discloses combining at least virtual items together to create a single virtual item, (3:31 of Fallout, wherein shown in fig. 2 above, the Examiner views the displayed “Gauss Rifle” as being equivalent to a displayed target virtual item, and the requirements, (“circuitry”, “fiber optics”, “gear”, “screw”, and “spring”), needed to create the rifle as being equivalent to at least two virtual items being obtained and assembled into one target virtual item), however, Fallout is silent upon disclosing a drag operation. In a related art, Voss as cited above, discloses Voss discloses an electronic device, wherein Voss teaches that the electronic device may be implemented on a video game system, (“the depicted mobile electronic device is a mobile phone 100, the invention may equally be implemented on any number of devices, such as music players, cameras, tablets, global positioning navigation systems etc. A mobile phone typically includes the ability to send and receive phone calls and text messages, interface with the Internet either through the cellular network or a local wireless network, take pictures and videos, play back audio and video content, and run applications such as word processing, programs, or video games”, par. 0025), wherein Voss further discloses a drag operation on at least two items, (“Dragging and dropping items onto other items may be used to combine the items into a group”, par. 0055), wherein the Examiner views this in combination with Fallout as being equivalent to the claim limitation of a drag operation on the at least two virtual items of the plurality of virtual items making the at least two virtual items being in contact with each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made combine the drag operation teachings of Voss into the art disclosed by Fallout in order to provide more natural and responsive feel to the game allowing players to move items smoothly.
Conclusion
/E.M.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715