DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-20 and 23-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention (earplug with diver’s helmet), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/26. Though claims 23-26 are presented as new claims without being withdrawn, these claims have been withdrawn by the Examiner as being drawn to the non-elected Invention that features a diver’s helmet.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-17, 21, and 22, in the reply filed on 6/29/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: proper antecedent basis is required for the structure that creates an impedance mismatch with the fluid, the structure being vibrationally coupled to the earplug body, in claims 2, 3, 12, and 13.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, 7, 8, 14, 16, 17, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the fluid” in claim 2, line 5 should be amended to recite --a fluid--
“a fluid” in claim 4, line 2 should be amended to recite --fluid--
“a fluid” in claim 7, line 2 should be amended to recite --fluid--
“the pressure” in claim 7, line 3 should be amended to recite --pressure--
“the pressure” in claim 7, line 4 should be amended to recite --pressure--
“an first umbrella” in claim 8, line 7 should be amended to recite --a first umbrella--
“the first” in claim 8, line 11 should be amended to recite --the second--
“an second umbrella on a second side” in claim 8, line 14 should be amended to recite --a second umbrella on the second side--
“a fluid” in claim 14, line 2 should be amended to recite --fluid--
“a fluid” in claim 16, line 2 should be amended to recite --fluid--
“the pressure” in claim 16, line 3 should be amended to recite --pressure--
“the pressure” in claim 16, line 4 should be amended to recite --pressure--
“an first umbrella” in claim 17, line 7 should be amended to recite --a first umbrella--
“the first” in claim 17, line 11 should be amended to recite --the second--
“an second umbrella on a second side” in claim 17, line 14 should be amended to recite --a second umbrella on the second side--
“the ear canal side” in claim 22, line 3 should be amended to recite --an ear canal side--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the claim limitation “a structure to create an impedance mismatch with the fluid” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description fails to mention or describe this structure that creates an impedance mismatch with the fluid. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependence on claims 2 and 12.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, the claim recites “a microphone in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere” in lines 2-4 of each claim. While the instant disclosure describes a microphone in conjunction with the earplug, the specifics of the microphone being in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere has not been described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 10-13, 15, 16, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkins et al. US 7,740,104 B1 in view of Vlodaver et al. US 2011/0301572 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Parkins discloses a pressure-regulating earplug (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 1-4) comprising:
an earplug body 11’/26 having an external surface adapted for sealingly engaging an ear canal (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 12-17), the earplug body 11’/26 comprising a conduit configured to provide fluid communication with an external atmosphere and the ear canal (please see annotated fig. A below, which shows the conduit through which the external atmosphere and the ear canal are in fluid communication, when the pressure equalization valve 24 is open; conduit in this office action is being defined as “a means for transmitting or distributing”, as stated in Merriam-Webster); and
a sound blocking pressure regulator 24 in-line with the conduit (annotated fig. A; for the purposes of dependent claim 21, the pressure regulator is interpreted to further include all the internal components of the earplug of fig. 4 between faceplate 14’ and opening 25’ at the other end, as all of these components fall within the conduit between the external atmosphere and the inside of the ear canal and are thus along the pressure differential path), configured to be normally closed, preventing fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, and selectively open (col. 5, lines 1-11, the valve 24 opening to equalize pressure when a preset static pressure differential between the interior of earshell 11’ and ambient air is exceeded, but completely closed under normal conditions to form an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound), wherein the sound blocking pressure regulator 24 comprises:
a valve assembly 24 that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission (col. 5, lines 1-11, pressure regulator 24 is a valve that forms an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound).
Parkins is silent on the sound blocking pressure regulator being bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization.
However, Vlodaver teaches an earplug (fig. 22) comprising an analogous pressure regulator 178 that is bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly 180/182 configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization (fig. 22 and [0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, the leaflets 180/182 would be capable of opening in each direction at pressure differentials that are similar in magnitude if the preselected fluid pressures are chosen as such).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sound blocking pressure regulator of Parkins to be bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, as taught by Vlodaver, to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
annotated fig. A (adapted from fig. 4 of Parkins)
Regarding claim 2, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a first normally-closed passive valve 180 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction), wherein the first normally-closed passive valve 180 comprises a structure to create an impedance mismatch with the fluid (leaflet 180 would create an impedance mismatch with fluid attempting to pass through the valve when it is closed, because it forms a barrier to the natural flow of fluid), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the structure 180 being vibrationally coupled to the earplug body (figs. 22 and 23 and [0140], the leaflets 180/182 form a valve structure 178 that opens and closes under set fluid pressure differentials, indicating that when closed, the leaflets 180/182 form a seal with the surrounding earplug body; thus, since leaflets 180/182 are in direct, continuous contact with the earplug body, they are vibrationally coupled, as vibration in either component would transfer to the other), to form a fluid-tight seal when necessary beneath select fluid pressure differentials.
Regarding claim 4, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the first normally-closed passive valve 180 being configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal when pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere, the first pressure differential, by a first opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 180 would be capable of opening at a first threshold pressure differential in a first direction when the pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential, wherein a first normally-closed passive valve 180 and the second normally-closed passive valve 182 are disposed in parallel ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction; further, please see annotated fig. B below, which shows how the leaflets are situated next to each other in parallel as demonstrated by the parallel dashed lines), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 7, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal, the second pressure differential, by a second opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the second threshold pressure differential in the second direction when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 10, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the earplug body 126 comprising a flanged earplug (figs. 21 and 22 and [0135], ear canal engaging portion 126 has three disks/flanges 134/136/138), to increase the comfort and sealing ability of the earplug.
Regarding claim 11, Parkins discloses a pressure-regulating earplug (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 1-4) comprising:
an earplug body 11’/26 having an external surface adapted for sealingly engaging an ear canal (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 12-17), the earplug body 11’/26 comprising a conduit configured to provide fluid communication with an external atmosphere and the ear canal (annotated fig. A, which shows the conduit through which the external atmosphere and the ear canal are in fluid communication, when the pressure equalization valve 24 is open; conduit in this office action is being defined as “a means for transmitting or distributing”, as stated in Merriam-Webster); and
a sound blocking pressure regulator 24 in-line with the conduit (annotated fig. A; for the purposes of dependent claim 22, the pressure regulator is interpreted to further include all the internal components of the earplug of fig. 4 between faceplate 14’ and opening 25’ at the other end, as all of these components fall within the conduit between the external atmosphere and the inside of the ear canal and are thus along the pressure differential path), configured to be normally closed, preventing fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, and selectively open (col. 5, lines 1-11, the valve 24 opening to equalize pressure when a preset static pressure differential between the interior of earshell 11’ and ambient air is exceeded, but completely closed under normal conditions to form an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound), the sound blocking pressure regulator 24 comprises:
a valve assembly 24 that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission (col. 5, lines 1-11, pressure regulator 24 is a valve that forms an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound); and
a speaker 17 in fluidic communication with the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator 24 (col. 4, lines 24-28, sound generating transducer 17 (i.e., speaker); annotated fig. A, speaker 17 being in fluidic communication with the conduit on the ear canal side (i.e., downstream) of the valve 24).
Parkins is silent on the sound blocking pressure regulator being bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization.
However, Vlodaver teaches an earplug (fig. 22) comprising an analogous pressure regulator 178 that is bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly 180/182 configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization (fig. 22 and [0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, the leaflets 180/182 would be capable of opening in each direction at pressure differentials that are similar in magnitude if the preselected fluid pressures are chosen as such).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sound blocking pressure regulator of Parkins to be bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, as taught by Vlodaver, to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 12, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a first normally-closed passive valve 180 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction), wherein the first normally-closed passive valve 180 comprises a structure to create an impedance mismatch with the fluid (leaflet 180 would create an impedance mismatch with fluid attempting to pass through the valve when it is closed, because it forms a barrier to the natural flow of fluid), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 13, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the structure 180 being vibrationally coupled to the earplug body (figs. 22 and 23 and [0140], the leaflets 180/182 form a valve structure 178 that opens and closes under set fluid pressure differentials, indicating that when closed, the leaflets 180/182 form a seal with the surrounding earplug body; thus, since leaflets 180/182 are in direct, continuous contact with the earplug body, they are vibrationally coupled, as vibration in either component would transfer to the other), to form a fluid-tight seal when necessary beneath select fluid pressure differentials.
Regarding claim 14, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the first normally-closed passive valve 180 being configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal when pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere, the first pressure differential, by a first opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 180 would be capable of opening at a first threshold pressure differential in a first direction when the pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 15, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential, wherein a first normally-closed passive valve 180 and the second normally-closed passive valve 182 are disposed in parallel ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction; further, annotated fig. B, which shows how the leaflets are situated next to each other in parallel as demonstrated by the parallel dashed lines), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 16, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal, the second pressure differential, by a second opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the second threshold pressure differential in the second direction when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 21, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins further discloses the sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator further comprising a microphone 21 in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere (annotated fig. A and col. 4, lines 27-28, microphone 21 being in fluid communication with the external atmosphere via the conduit).
Regarding claim 22, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins further discloses the sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator further comprising a microphone 21 in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere (annotated fig. A and col. 4, lines 27-28, microphone 21 being in fluid communication with the external atmosphere via the conduit).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkins et al. US 7,740,104 B1 in view of Vlodaver et al. US 2011/0301572 A1 further in view of George et al. US 2016/0151206 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins in view of Vlodaver is silent on the first opening threshold being a pressure differential from about 0.1 psi to about 1.5 psi.
However, George teaches an earplug 1 with a valve 58 (fig. 5) having an opening threshold at a pressure differential from about 0.1 psi to about 1.5 psi ([0102], valve 58 can interrupt fluid flow until the pressure differential exceeds a preselected differential with amplitude in a range of 0 kpa to about 50 kpa, or 0 psi to ~7.25 psi, which includes the range of 0.1-1.5 psi).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the valve assembly opening threshold of Parkins in view of Vlodaver to be at a pressure differential from about 0.1 psi to about 1.5 psi, as taught by George, which is prima facie obvious since the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art (please see MPEP 2144.05 I., “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)”), and further to enhance the regulation of the fluid flow of the conduit ([0007]), thereby allowing the pressure in the ear canals of the user to be adjusted to alleviate user discomfort ([0106]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkins et al. US 7,740,104 B1 in view of Vlodaver et al. US 2011/0301572 A1 further in view of Banco et al. US 2019/0038393 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Parkins in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins in view of Vlodaver is silent on the sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator comprising any of silicone, fluorosilicone, fluoroelastomer, perfluoroelastomer, nitrile, ethylene propylene, natural rubber, butyl, polyisoprene, or any combination thereof.
However, Banco teaches a two-way valve assembly 16 for a medical device (fig. 2 and [0087]) comprising any of silicone, fluorosilicone, fluoroelastomer, perfluoroelastomer, nitrile, ethylene propylene, natural rubber, butyl, polyisoprene, or any combination thereof ([0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the pressure regulator of Parkins in view of Vlodaver to comprise any of silicone, fluorosilicone, fluoroelastomer, perfluoroelastomer, nitrile, ethylene propylene, natural rubber, butyl, polyisoprene, or any combination thereof, as taught by Banco, which is prima facie obvious due to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (please see MPEP 2144.07, In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), "selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious"; in this instance, the selection of these materials to make a two-way valve for use on the human body that has been made of this material prior to the invention is obvious).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 8 and 17, the prior art of record when applied alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious wherein the valve assembly further comprises: a flange dividing the conduit; a first normally-closed passive valve located at the flange, the first normally-closed passive valve comprising: at least a first orifice passing through the flange; and an first umbrella on a first side of the flange and configured to normally seal the at least a first orifice at the first side of the flange and selectively unseal the at least a first orifice when pressure on a second side of the flange exceeds pressure at the first side of the flange by the first pressure differential; and a second normally-closed passive valve located at the flange, the first normally-closed passive valve comprising: at least a second orifice passing through the flange; and an second umbrella on a second side of the flange and configured to normally seal the at least a second orifice at the second side of the flange and selectively unseal the at least a second orifice when pressure on the first side of the flange exceeds pressure at the second side of the flange by the second pressure differential, in combination with all other features recited in the claim.
Parkins in view of Vlodaver is the closest prior art combination of record and discloses the subject matter of independent claims 1 and 11. However, Parkins and Vlodaver fail to disclose or teach in combination the limitations of claims 8 and 17, as the valve assembly taught by Vlodaver features hemicylindrical leaflets 180 and 182 rather than umbrella valves at a first and second side of a flange. Furthermore, no other reference to date has been found in the prior art that would be able to properly modify Parkins in view of Vlodaver to address its deficiencies.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 21, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,245,917 B2 in view of Parkins et al. US 7,740,104 B1 further in view of Vlodaver et al. US 2011/0301572 A1.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the patent claims the entirety of the claim except for the pressure regulator being a sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator, configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, the pressure regulator comprising a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, wherein the valve assembly acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission.
However, Parkins teaches a pressure-regulating earplug (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 1-4) comprising: a sound blocking pressure regulator 24 (annotated fig. A), configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal (col. 5, lines 1-11, the valve 24 opening to equalize pressure when a preset static pressure differential between the interior of earshell 11’ and ambient air is exceeded, but completely closed under normal conditions to form an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound), wherein the sound blocking pressure regulator 24 comprises: a valve assembly 24 that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission (col. 5, lines 1-11, pressure regulator 24 is a valve that forms an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the pressure regulator of the patent to be configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, the pressure regulator comprising a valve assembly that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission, as taught by Parkins, to protect the wearer from damage to the ear canal from loud sounds.
The patent in view of Parkins is silent on the sound blocking pressure regulator being bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization.
However, Vlodaver teaches an earplug (fig. 22) comprising an analogous pressure regulator 178 that is bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly 180/182 configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization (fig. 22 and [0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, the leaflets 180/182 would be capable of opening in each direction at pressure differentials that are similar in magnitude if the preselected fluid pressures are chosen as such).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sound blocking pressure regulator of the patent in view of Parkins to be bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, as taught by Vlodaver, to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 2, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a first normally-closed passive valve 180 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction), wherein the first normally-closed passive valve 180 comprises a structure to create an impedance mismatch with the fluid (leaflet 180 would create an impedance mismatch with fluid attempting to pass through the valve when it is closed, because it forms a barrier to the natural flow of fluid), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 3, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the structure 180 being vibrationally coupled to the earplug body (figs. 22 and 23 and [0140], the leaflets 180/182 form a valve structure 178 that opens and closes under set fluid pressure differentials, indicating that when closed, the leaflets 180/182 form a seal with the surrounding earplug body; thus, since leaflets 180/182 are in direct, continuous contact with the earplug body, they are vibrationally coupled, as vibration in either component would transfer to the other), to form a fluid-tight seal when necessary beneath select fluid pressure differentials.
Regarding claim 4, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the first normally-closed passive valve 180 being configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal when pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere, the first pressure differential, by a first opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 180 would be capable of opening at a first threshold pressure differential in a first direction when the pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 5, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 6, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential, wherein a first normally-closed passive valve 180 and the second normally-closed passive valve 182 are disposed in parallel ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction; further, please see annotated fig. B, which shows how the leaflets are situated next to each other in parallel as demonstrated by the parallel dashed lines), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 7, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal, the second pressure differential, by a second opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the second threshold pressure differential in the second direction when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 9, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
The patent further claims the entirety of the claim (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the earplug body 126 comprising a flanged earplug (figs. 21 and 22 and [0135], ear canal engaging portion 126 has three disks/flanges 134/136/138), to increase the comfort and sealing ability of the earplug.
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 of the patent claims the entirety of the claim except for the pressure regulator being a sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator, configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, the pressure regulator comprising a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, wherein the valve assembly acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission; and a speaker in fluidic communication with the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator.
However, Parkins teaches a pressure-regulating earplug (fig. 4 and col. 5, lines 1-4) comprising: a sound blocking pressure regulator 24 (annotated fig. A), configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal (col. 5, lines 1-11, the valve 24 opening to equalize pressure when a preset static pressure differential between the interior of earshell 11’ and ambient air is exceeded, but completely closed under normal conditions to form an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound), wherein the sound blocking pressure regulator 24 comprises: a valve assembly 24 that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission (col. 5, lines 1-11, pressure regulator 24 is a valve that forms an airtight seal preventing transmission of any sound); and a speaker 17 in fluidic communication with the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator 24 (col. 4, lines 24-28, sound generating transducer 17 (i.e., speaker); annotated fig. A, speaker 17 being in fluidic communication with the conduit on the ear canal side (i.e., downstream) of the valve 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the pressure regulator of the patent to be configured to attenuate noise communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, the pressure regulator comprising a valve assembly that acoustically seals when closed to minimize sound transmission, and a speaker in fluidic communication with the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator, as taught by Parkins, to protect the wearer from damage to the ear canal from loud sounds.
The patent in view of Parkins is silent on the sound blocking pressure regulator being bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization.
However, Vlodaver teaches an earplug (fig. 22) comprising an analogous pressure regulator 178 that is bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly 180/182 configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization (fig. 22 and [0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, the leaflets 180/182 would be capable of opening in each direction at pressure differentials that are similar in magnitude if the preselected fluid pressures are chosen as such).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the sound blocking pressure regulator of the patent in view of Parkins to be bidirectional and comprising: a valve assembly configured to automatically open at a first pressure differential and a second pressure differential, wherein the first pressure differential and the second pressure differential are substantially similar in magnitude and opposite in direction enabling bidirectional pressure equalization, as taught by Vlodaver, to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 12, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a first normally-closed passive valve 180 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction), wherein the first normally-closed passive valve 180 comprises a structure to create an impedance mismatch with the fluid (leaflet 180 would create an impedance mismatch with fluid attempting to pass through the valve when it is closed, because it forms a barrier to the natural flow of fluid), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 13, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the structure 180 being vibrationally coupled to the earplug body (figs. 22 and 23 and [0140], the leaflets 180/182 form a valve structure 178 that opens and closes under set fluid pressure differentials, indicating that when closed, the leaflets 180/182 form a seal with the surrounding earplug body; thus, since leaflets 180/182 are in direct, continuous contact with the earplug body, they are vibrationally coupled, as vibration in either component would transfer to the other), to form a fluid-tight seal when necessary beneath select fluid pressure differentials.
Regarding claim 14, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the first normally-closed passive valve 180 being configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal when pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere, the first pressure differential, by a first opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 180 would be capable of opening at a first threshold pressure differential in a first direction when the pressure within the ear canal exceeds pressure within the external atmosphere), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 15, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the valve assembly 178 further comprising a second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to automatically open by at least the first pressure differential or the second pressure differential, wherein a first normally-closed passive valve 180 and the second normally-closed passive valve 182 are disposed in parallel ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the first pressure differential in the first direction and the second pressure differential in the second direction; further, annotated fig. B, which shows how the leaflets are situated next to each other in parallel as demonstrated by the parallel dashed lines), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 16, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Vlodaver further teaches the second normally-closed passive valve 182 configured to permit a fluid communication between the external atmosphere and the ear canal, when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal, the second pressure differential, by a second opening threshold ([0140], leaflets 180/182 forming valve structure 178 are resilient and allows the valve structure 178 to open in either direction under a preselected fluid pressure and close below the preselected fluid pressure; thus, leaflet 182 would be capable of opening at the second threshold pressure differential in the second direction when the pressure within the external atmosphere exceeds the pressure within the ear canal), to regulate the pressure based on the pressure inside the ear canal and in the external environment using a single valve assembly.
Regarding claim 21, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins further teaches the sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator further comprising a microphone 21 in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere (annotated fig. A and col. 4, lines 27-28, microphone 21 being in fluid communication with the external atmosphere via the conduit), to allow the wearer to communicate while wearing the earplug.
Regarding claim 22, the patent in view of Parkins further in view of Vlodaver discloses the claimed invention as discussed above.
Parkins further teaches the sound blocking bidirectional pressure regulator further comprising a microphone 21 in fluidic communication with one or both of the conduit on an ear canal side of the pressure regulator and the external atmosphere (annotated fig. A and col. 4, lines 27-28, microphone 21 being in fluid communication with the external atmosphere via the conduit), to allow the wearer to communicate while wearing the earplug.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 17, the prior art of record when applied alone or in combination neither anticipates nor renders obvious wherein the valve assembly further comprises: a flange dividing the conduit; a first normally-closed passive valve located at the flange, the first normally-closed passive valve comprising: at least a first orifice passing through the flange; and an first umbrella on a first side of the flange and configured to normally seal the at least a first orifice at the first side of the flange and selectively unseal the at least a first orifice when pressure on a second side of the flange exceeds pressure at the first side of the flange by the first pressure differential; and a second normally-closed passive valve located at the flange, the second normally-closed passive valve comprising: at least a second orifice passing through the flange; and an second umbrella on a second side of the flange and configured to normally seal the at least a second orifice at the second side of the flange and selectively unseal the at least a second orifice when pressure on the first side of the flange exceeds pressure at the second side of the flange by the second pressure differential. Parkins in view of Vlodaver is the closest prior art of record and discloses the base claims 1 and 11, as detailed above. However, Parkins in view of Vlodaver is silent on the structure of the valve assembly as specifically claimed in claims 8 and 17. Furthermore, no other reference to date has been found in the prior art that would be able to properly modify Parkins in view of Vlodaver to address its deficiencies.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements and address the Double Patenting Rejection above, or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786