DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 8,628,280 to Ceroll et al (Ceroll).
Concerning claim 1, Ceroll discloses a router for use with a router table to cut workpieces, the router comprising:
an electric motor (at 102, see also column 7, lines 1-3);
a housing (112) containing the electric motor and having first and second opposite ends;
a shaft (106) operatively connected to the electric motor for being rotated by the electric motor; and
a chuck mounted on the shaft, the chuck being located adjacent the first end of the housing and configured for releasably attaching router bits to the shaft (column 6, line 55-67);
wherein the housing has a cooling air port (2194) defining a cooling air port opening into the housing at a location for supplying cooling air to the electric motor (column 25, lines 22-24), the cooling air port (2194) being disposed toward the second end of the housing from the chuck (see figure 21) and being configured to sealingly receive a hose (2192) for drawing cooling air from a location remote from the housing.
Concerning claim 6, Ceroll discloses the housing (112) includes an exterior body and the cooling air port (2194) includes a wall arranged to engage the hose (see figure 21).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,558,090 to Lagaly et al (Lagaly).
Concerning claim 1, Lagaly discloses a router for use with a router table to cut workpieces, the router comprising:
an electric motor (120);
a housing (110) containing the electric motor (120) and having first and second opposite ends;
a shaft (122) operatively connected to the electric motor (120) for being rotated by the electric motor; and
a chuck (130) mounted on the shaft, the chuck being located adjacent the first end of the housing and configured for releasably attaching router bits to the shaft (column 6, line 55-67);
wherein the housing has a cooling air port (E1 in the figure reproduced below) defining a cooling air port opening (144) into the housing (110) at a location for supplying cooling air to the electric motor (120), the cooling air port being disposed toward the second end of the housing (110) from the chuck (130) and being configured to sealingly receive a hose for drawing cooling air from a location remote from the housing (as it is capable of doing so since it is able to have some sort of hose attached).
Concerning claim 2, Lagaly discloses in figure 3 reproduced below the cooling air port is a first cooling air port (E1) and the hose is a first hose (the hose has not been positively claimed), the router further comprising a second cooling air port (E2) defining a second cooling air port opening (144) into the housing (110) at a location spaced from the first cooling air port (E1) for supplying cooling air to the electric motor (120), the second cooling air port (E2) being disposed toward the second end of the housing (110) from the chuck (130) and being configured to sealingly receive a second hose for drawing cooling air from a location remote from the housing (as it is capable of doing so since it is able to have some sort of hoses attached).
Concerning claim 6, Lagaly discloses in figure 3 reproduced below the housing (100) includes an exterior body and the cooling air port (E1, E2) includes a wall extending outward from the exterior body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagaly in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,487,629 to Watanabe (Watanabe).
Concerning claim 3, Lagaly does not disclose the first and second cooling air ports are circular in shape.
Watanabe discloses a router for use with a router table to cut workpieces, the router comprising
an electric motor (2),
a housing (1, 7) containing the electric motor (2) and having first and second opposite ends,
a shaft (2a) operatively connected to the electric motor (2) for being rotated by the electric motor,
a chuck (3) mounted on the shaft (2a), the chuck being located adjacent the first end of the housing and configured for releasably attaching router bits to the shaft,
wherein the housing has a cooling air port (13) defining a cooling air port opening (13a) into the housing (1, 7) at a location for supplying cooling air (30) the cooling air port (13) being disposed toward the second end of the housing (1, 7) from the chuck (3) and being configured to sealingly receive a hose (100) for drawing cooling air from a location remote from the housing;
wherein the first port (13) is circular in shape (see figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Lagaly such that the first and second ports (E1 and E2) are circular in shape (as opposed to its oval shape) as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation. Accordingly, such a shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). As seen in Watanabe, such a shape is well known in the art and also allows for inserting a circular hose into the ports and thus does not require any special mating features between the cooling air ports and the hoses.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ceroll.
Concerning claim 2, Ceroll does not disclose a second cooling air port.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Ceroll such that it has a second cooling air port as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation. Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to a second cooling air port. Accordingly, mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). An unexpected result is not produced since it merely increases the amount of cooling air to flow to the motor. It is noted that since the first cooling air port defines a port opening into the housing for supplying cooling air to the electric motor and is disposed toward the second end of the housing from the chuck and being configured to sealingly receive a hose for drawing cooling air from a location remote from the housing the duplicate second cooling air port would also read on these limitations (and inherently be at a location spaced from the first cooling air port).
Concerning claim 3, Ceroll does not disclose the first and second cooling air ports are circular in shape.
However, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to construct the apparatus of Ceroll such that the first and second cooling air ports are circular in shape as such determination would result during routine engineering practices and experimentation. Further, Applicant has not positively recited any criticality to the cooling air ports being circular. Accordingly, such a shape was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Applicant has provided no evidence that the circular shape is significant.
Concerning claim 4, Ceroll discloses in combination with the first hose (2194) sealingly attached to the first cooling air port (2194) whereby cooling air can be drawn from an end of the first hose (2194) remote from the cooling air port (2194) into the housing (112) for cooling the electric motor (at 102). While Ceroll does not disclose a second hose, in combination with the duplication of parts above it would discloses and in combination with the second hose sealingly attached to the second cooling air port whereby cooling air can be drawn from an end of the second hose remote from the housing for cooling the electric motor.
Concerning claim 5, Ceroll discloses, in combination with the duplication of parts above, the first and second hoses having fittings on the ends remote from the housing.
Conclusion
/Matthew Katcoff/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725
09/16/2026