DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US 20200351892) in view of Matsumura (US 2023/0171611).
2. As per claim 1, Yi teaches a method comprising: determining, by a wireless device, a default transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state list from a plurality of TCI state lists for a cell of a plurality of cells based on configuration parameters of the plurality of TCI state lists (Yi, ¶0173 “… default TCI …”); and receiving, based on the default TCI state list, at least one downlink signal via the cell (Yi, ¶0173 “… receive … based on a default TCI state …”. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art to determine default TCI state list and receive based on the default TCI state list to improve the performance of the communication system see Matsumura US 2023/0171611 for example ¶0009). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Yi and Matsumura as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improve the performance of the communication system.
3. Claims 9 and 15 are similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving configuration parameters of the plurality of TCI state lists, wherein each of the plurality of TCI state lists comprises one or more TCI states (Matsumura, Fig. 14 and related text).
5. Claims 10 and 16 are similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reason discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the configuration parameters indicate a priority value for at least one of the plurality of TCI state lists (Yi, ¶0195), and wherein the determining the default TCI state list comprises: determining the default TCI state list, from the plurality of TCI state lists, based on the priority value of the default TCI state list (Yi, ¶0195).
7. Claims 11 and 17 are similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reason discussed above.
8. As per claim 4, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one downlink signal comprises downlink control information (DCI) (Matsumura, ¶0034-0035), and wherein the DCI indicates a TCI codepoint indicating a TCI state pair comprising a downlink TCI state of the one or more TCI states and an uplink TCI state of the one or more TCI states, wherein the method further comprises: sending, based on the uplink TCI state, at least one uplink signal (Matsumura, ¶0158-0159).
9. Claims 12 and 18 are similarly analyzed as claim 4 for obviousness reason discussed above.
10. As per claim 5, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: sending one or more uplink signals based on the default TCI state list (Yi, ¶0172).
11. Claims 13 and 19 are similarly analyzed as claim 5 for obviousness reason discussed above.
12. As per claim 6, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the default TCI state list comprises a determination that the configuration parameters indicate a first TCI state list, of the plurality of TCI state lists, as the default TCI state list of the cell of the plurality of cells (Yi, ¶0173).
13. Claims 14 and 20 are similarly analyzed as claim 6 for obviousness reason discussed above.
14. As per claim 7, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one downlink signal comprises at least one of: a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH); a synchronization signal block (SSB); or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Yi, ¶0173).
15. As per claim 8, Yi in view of Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that the default TCI state list is applied before a time point of any TCI state indicated by downlink control information or a medium access control control element (Yi, ¶0173 0174).
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635