Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-4 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, term “the flow path” is believed to be in error for - - the tubular flow path - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and its dependents, it is unclear whether the claimed projection area and the claimed protruding portion refers to i) the same component/portion of the at least one fuel nozzle, or ii) two different components/portions of the at least one fuel nozzle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkowski 20100323309 in view of Baumann 20170198914.
Regarding claim 1, Barkowski teaches the invention as claimed: A burner assembly (1, Fig. 1), comprising a plurality of burners (2s) for mixing fuel (17) and air (10, see Fig. 9 and [0054 and 0060]),
wherein each of the plurality of burners (each 2) includes:
at least one fuel nozzle (20) for injecting the fuel (17, see Fig. 9); and
a tubular flow path (a tubular flow path having inlet 8 and outlet 9 as show in Fig. 9 and having a tubular shape as shown in Fig. 1) forming a mixing passage (annotated Fig. 9) into which the fuel (17) injected from the at least one fuel nozzle (20) and the air (10) are introduced from an inlet (8) of the flow path (per [0021], the nozzle 20 may be disposed immediately upstream from the inlet 8 in Fig. 9 as demonstrated in annotated Fig. 9),
wherein, in an axial view of the mixing passage from an upstream side of the mixing passage (interpreted as an axially side of the mixing passage in the cross-sectional view as marked in annotated Fig. 9), the at least one fuel nozzle (20) for supplying the fuel (17) to the mixing passage (annotated Fig. 9) is disposed around the periphery (an inner periphery, see annotated Fig. 9) of the flow path (the tubular flow path having inlet 8 and outlet 9 as show in Fig. 9) so that a projection area (the at least one fuel nozzle 20 has a body that is radially projected from stem 19, see annotated Fig. 9) of the at least one fuel nozzle (20) does not overlap with the mixing passage (because in the cross-sectional view as shown in Fig. 9, i) the fuel nozzle 20 per [0021] is located immediately upstream from inlet 8 of the flow path as demonstrated in annotated Fig. 9, i.e., the body of the at least one fuel nozzle does not overlap with mixing passage in the axial direction; and ii) the body of the fuel nozzle 20 demonstrated in annotated Fig. 8 does not overlap with a portion of the mixing passage in the radial direction relative to the center axis 5, see annotated Fig. 9),
wherein the at least one fuel nozzle (20) includes a protruding portion (interpreted as “the projection area”, which is the body of 20 in annotated Fig. 9) protruding upstream (because the body of 20 has an axial height) of the inlet (8) of the flow path in a flow direction of the air (flow direction of 10, see Fig. 9) and at least one fuel injection hole (where fuel 17 is injected from 20).
Barkowski does not teach at least one fuel injection hole formed on a side surface of the protruding portion, and wherein a top surface of the protruding portion, which is the upstream end surface of the protruding portion in the flow direction of the air, includes a convex curved surface.
However, Baumann teaches at least one fuel nozzle (42, see Figs. 13B and 14G) includes a protruding portion (the body of 42, see Figs. 13B and 14G) protruding upstream (because the body of 42 has an axial height, see Fig. 14G) in a flow direction of the air (flow direction of 20, see Fig. 14G) and at least
one fuel injection hole (4) formed on a side surface (a bottom side surface, see annotated Fig. 14G) of the protruding portion (the body of 42), and wherein a top surface (annotated Fig. 14G) of the protruding portion (the body of 42), which is the upstream end surface of the protruding portion in the flow direction of the air (the flow direction of 20, see Fig. 14G), includes a convex curved surface (at the rounding corner of the top surface, see annotated Fig. 14G and [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Barkowski with Baumann’s protruding portion, such that
at least one fuel injection hole formed on a side surface of the protruding portion, and wherein a top surface of the protruding portion, which is the upstream end surface of the protruding portion in the flow direction of the air, includes a convex curved surface (the modification is to modify the shape of Barkowski’s protruding portion to the shape of Baumann’s protruding portion)
in order to intensify and improve mixing effect based on high turbulence by injecting fuel into the vortices substantially tangentially with respect to the vortex street (Baumann, [0082 and 0011]).
Regarding claim 3, Barkowski further teaches wherein the plurality of burners includes a first burner (annotated Fig. 1), and a second burner (annotated Fig. 1) having the mixing passage (formed by the flow path having inlet 8 and outlet 9, see Fig. 9) that is closest to the mixing passage of the first burner (because the first burner and the second burner are located adjacent to each other without additional burner disposed therebetween, see annotated Figs. 1 and 9),
wherein a flow path wall (the portion of housing 6 forming the first burner) forming the flow path (having inlet 8 and outlet 9 as shown in Fig. 9) of the first burner (see annotated Figs. 1 and 9) and a flow path wall (the portion of housing 6 forming the second burner) forming the flow path (having inlet 8 and outlet 9 as shown in Fig. 9) of the second burner (see annotated Figs. 1 and 9) share a partition portion (annotated Figs. 1 and 9) that separates the mixing passage of the first burner from the mixing passage of the second burner (see annotated Figs. 1 and 9), and
wherein a thickness (annotated Fig. 9) of the partition portion decreases (see annotated Fig. 9) upstream in the flow direction of the air (the flow direction of 10) in an upstream end portion (the largened portion in annotated Fig. 9) of the partition portion in the flow direction of the air (see annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Barkowski further teaches wherein, when a cross-section (C-C, see annotated Fig. 1) of the partition portion (annotated Figs. 1 and 9) passing through a center (annotated Fig. 1) of the inlet (8) of the flow path (having inlet 8 and outlet 9, see Fig. 9) of the first burner (annotated Figs. 1 and 9) and a center (annotated Fig. 1) of the inlet (8) of the flow path (having inlet 8 and outlet 9, see Fig. 9) of the second burner (annotated Figs. 1 and 9) and taken along a central axis (annotated Fig. 9) of the flow path of the first burner (annotated Fig. 9) is defined as a first cross-section (the C-C taken as shown in annotated Fig. 1 results a cross-sectional view as shown in annotated Fig. 9), an upstream end surface (which is the upstream end surface of the largened portion in annotated Fig. 9) of the partition portion in the flow direction of the air (direction of 10) includes a convex curved line (annotated Fig. 9) in the first cross-section (the cross-sectional view as shown in annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Barkowski further teaches a gas turbine combustor (having combustion chamber 18, see Fig. 9 and [0039]), comprising: the burner assembly (1, Fig. 1), a combustion liner (a combustion liner is required to form the combustion chamber 18 in Fig. 9 and [0039]) forming a space (combustion chamber 18) in which a flame is formed downstream of the burner assembly (1 in Fig. 1, also see [0039 and 0065]).
Regarding claim 8, Barkowski further teaches a gas turbine (per [0024], burner assembly 1 is in a gas turbine), comprising: a compressor (in order to provide compressed air 10 to burners 2, see Fig. 9 and [0040]); a gas turbine combustor (having combustion chamber 18, see Fig. 9 and [0039]) configured to be supplied with air (the compressed air 10) compressed by the compressor and fuel (17), and produce a combustion gas by combusting the fuel (in order to drive the turbine of the gas turbine, see [0024]); and a turbine (of the gas turbine per [0024]) driven by the combustion gas produced by the gas turbine combustor (having combustion chamber 18, see Fig. 9 and [0039]), wherein the gas turbine combustor is the gas turbine combustor (having combustion chamber 18, see Fig. 9 and [0039]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 5-6 are allowed.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Regarding claim 2, the prior arts of record itself or in combination does not teach in combination with the other limitations of claim 2, “… wherein the plurality of burners includes a first burner, and a second burner having the mixing passage that is closest to the mixing passage of the first burner, wherein the mixing passage of the first burner and the mixing passage of the second burner are separated by a partition portion, wherein, in an axial view of the mixing passage from an upstream side of the mixing passage, the at least one fuel nozzle for supplying the fuel to the mixing passage is disposed radially outward of the mixing passage, wherein the at least one fuel nozzle includes a protruding portion protruding upstream of the inlet of the flow path in a flow direction of the air, …”, which requires the at least one fuel nozzle of each of the plurality of burners locate axially beyond and radially outward from the inlet of the mixing passage of the respective burner of the plurality of burners.
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts of record itself or in combination does not teach in combination with the other limitations of claim 5, “… wherein the protruding portion of the first fuel nozzle is disposed adjacent to the partition portion, wherein the protruding portion of the second fuel nozzle is disposed adjacent to the partition portion on an opposite side of a plane including the first cross-section from the protruding portion of the first fuel nozzle, and wherein a height of the partition portion increases as approaching the protruding portion of the first fuel nozzle from the first cross-section”, which requires the partition portion disposed between the protruding portion of the first fuel nozzle of the first burner and the protruding portion of the second fuel nozzle of the first burner has a concave shape in a cross-section that is perpendicular to the claimed first cross-section.
Claim 6 is allowable because claim 6 depends on the allowable independent claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 and entered 05/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, on pp. 8-9, “…However, it is first noted that the fuel nozzle 20 of Barkowski is a component that is interposed inside the region through which the air flow passes. … However, Applicant respectfully submits that this is interpretation of Barkowski is incorrect because it treats the positional relationship of the objects as a mere deviation of their center points. In this regard, Applicant notes that even if the nozzle body of Barkowski is offset from the center, the nozzle body is still physically interposed within the air inflow path (projection plane) toward the inlet of the flow path”.
Examiner does not agree because:
i) Barkowski teaches the fuel nozzle as claimed, “in an axial view of the mixing passage from an upstream side of the mixing passage, the at least one fuel nozzle for supply the fuel to the mixing passage is disposed around the periphery of the flow path so that a projection area of the at least one fuel nozzle does not overlap with the mixing passage”, which is interpreted as: in the axial upstream side of the cross-section view as shown in Barkowski’s Fig. 9, Barkowski’s at least one fuel nozzle 20 per [0021] is located immediately upstream from the inlet 8 of the flow path, and thus, the body of the at least one fuel nozzle 20 does not overlap with mixing passage in the axial direction; and the body of the at least one fuel nozzle 20 is located radially offset from the portion of the mixing passage as demonstrated in annotated Fig. 9, i.e., the body of the at least one fuel nozzle 20 does not overlap with the portion of mixing passage in the radial direction;
ii) the claim language does not require the fuel nozzle a) is disposed outside of the region through which air flow passes and b) is disposed in order to not overlap with the entire mixing passage; and
iii) it is noted, “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims”, in this case, the certain features that Applicant argues that the reference fails to teach is not claimed in the rejected claim.
Conclusion
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741