DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 02/04/2025 is acknowledged
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the temperature". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Forsthuber (US Pat No. 6,094,933), hereinafter referred to as Forthuber.
Re claim 1, Forthuber teaches a thermal protection module (Fig 2) comprising:
a first heat transfer element (28) having:
a first shell (37) defining a first cavity (34), the first cavity sealed and filled with a first medium (e.g. abstract, “at least one storage space (34) for an ice storage medium”); and
a first fluid passageway (30) extending through the first cavity (see e.g. Fig 2-4), the first fluid passageway having a first tunnel wall (structure of pipe 30) that defines a first tunnel (30; where the refrigerant flows) extending therethrough, the first tunnel fluidly sealed separate from the first cavity (C5-lns 5-10, “Sealing and attachment take place preferably by means of a flexible toothed seal 45 on connecting branch 44 and/or an additional seal by means of O-ring 43 or a sealing agent on the faces of refrigerant pipes 30”; further, the examiner notes that is implicit that no mix happens within the refrigerant and water).
Re claim 2, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 1, further comprising a second heat transfer element (see Fig 2, 28 in the upper middle vs the upper left one) spaced apart from the first heat transfer element to define a gap therebetween (see Fig 2), the second heat transfer element having:
a second shell (37 of the upper middle) defining a second cavity (34 of the upper middle), the second cavity filled with a second medium (e.g. abstract, “at least one storage space (34) for an ice storage medium” of the upper middle); and
a second fluid passageway (30 of the upper middle) extending through the second cavity (see e.g. Fig 2-4), the second fluid passageway having a second tunnel wall (structure of pipe 30) that defines a second tunnel (30; where the refrigerant flows) extending therethrough, the second tunnel fluidly sealed from the second cavity (C5-lns 5-10, “Sealing and attachment take place preferably by means of a flexible toothed seal 45 on connecting branch 44 and/or an additional seal by means of O-ring 43 or a sealing agent on the faces of refrigerant pipes 30”; further, the examiner notes that is implicit that no mix happens within the refrigerant and water).
Re claim 3, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 2, wherein the first medium and the second medium are a phase-change material (the examiner notes that ice is a phase change material).
Re claim 7, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 1, wherein the first tunnel wall of the first fluid passageway has a plurality of fins (33) projecting radially outwardly therefrom into the first cavity (34) of the first shell (e.g. Fig 9).
Re claim 9, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 1, wherein the first medium is a phase-change material (ice is a phase-change material) having a first state in which the first medium is solid (e.g. ice) and a second state in which the first medium is liquid (e.g. water), the first medium tuned to transition from the first state to the second state at a desired temperature (transitional temperature).
Claim(s) 1, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kleen (US Pat No. 2,499,736), hereinafter referred to as Kleen.
Re claim 1, Kleen teaches a thermal protection module (Fig 1-3) comprising:
a first heat transfer element (e.g. 16) having:
a first shell (shell of 16) defining a first cavity (see cavity in Fig 1-3), the first cavity sealed and filled with a first medium (e.g. C3-lns 40-45, “the accumulated cold of the ice in the chamber 16 will hold the temperature of the cargo space”); and
a first fluid passageway (12) extending through the first cavity (see e.g. Fig 1-3), the first fluid passageway having a first tunnel wall (structure of 12) that defines a first tunnel (12) extending therethrough, the first tunnel fluidly sealed separate from the first cavity (C5-lns 1-3, “vaporizable refrigerant In its hermetically closed circuit”).
Re claim 9, Kleen teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 1, wherein the first medium is a phase-change material (ice is a phase-change material) having a first state in which the first medium is solid (e.g. ice) and a second state in which the first medium is liquid (e.g. water), the first medium tuned to transition from the first state to the second state at a desired temperature (transitional temperature).
Re claim 10, Kleen teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 9, wherein the first fluid passageway is a heat pipe (e.g. C2-lns 40-50, “a hermetically closed tube or circuit having a liquefying (condensing) zone or chamber 1 I outside the cargo space, a vaporizing zone or chamber 12 in thermal relation with the cargo space, and an Intermediate connecting section 13”), the heat pipe filled with a fluid (e.g. C5-lns 20-25, “Where the refrigerant is ammonia”) that evaporates at temperature that is lower than the temperature that the first medium transitions from the first state to the second state (the examiner notes that ammonia evaporates at a lower temperature than 320F).
Re claim 11, Kleen teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 10, wherein the heat pipe is entirely sealed (e.g. C2-lns 40-50, “a hermetically closed tube or circuit having a liquefying (condensing) zone or chamber 1 I outside the cargo space, a vaporizing zone or chamber 12 in thermal relation with the cargo space, and an Intermediate connecting section 13”),
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forthuber, in view of Toyomatsu (US Pat No. 3,280,586), hereinafter referred to as Toyomatsu.
Re claim 4, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 2. Forthuber does not explicitly teach the limitation of comprising a first manifold that receives a respective first end of each of the first fluid passageway and the second fluid passageway, the first tunnel in fluid communication with the second tunnel through the first manifold.
However, Toyomatsu teaches a thermal protection module comprising a first and second heat transfer element (left 4 and right 4); the thermal protection module comprising a first manifold (manifold next to 12, see Fig 2) that receives a respective first end (top end for left 4 and right 4) of each of a first fluid passageway (8 connected to 10 for left 4) and a second fluid passageway (8 connected to 10 for right 4), a first tunnel (8 for left 4) in fluid communication with a second tunnel (8 for left 4) through the first manifold (see Fig 2).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Forthuber and integrated a first manifold that receives a respective first end of each of the first fluid passageway and the second fluid passageway, the first tunnel in fluid communication with the second tunnel through the first manifold, as taught by Toyomatsu, in order to have a uniform low temperature (see Toyomatsu C1-lns 20).
Re claim 5, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 4. Toyomatsu further teaches the limitation of comprising a second manifold (19) that receives a respective second end (bottom end for left 4 and right 4) of each of the first fluid passageway and the second fluid passageway, the first tunnel in fluid communication with the second tunnel through the second manifold (see Fig 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forthuber, in view of Ruffo (DE 2161288), hereinafter referred to as Ruffo.
Re claim 6, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 4. Forthuber does not teach the limitation of wherein the first heat transfer element includes a first end cap and a second end cap opposite the first end cap, the first end cap and the second end cap enclosing the first cavity.
However, Ruffo teaches a thermal protection module comprising a first end cap (3’) and a second end cap (3’’) opposite the first end cap, the first end cap and the second end cap enclosing a first cavity (see Fig 1-3).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Forthuber and integrated wherein the first heat transfer element includes a first end cap and a second end cap opposite the first end cap, the first end cap and the second end cap enclosing the first cavity, as taught by Toyomatsu, in order to have an input for the medium and a vent.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forthuber, in view of Movick (US Pat No. 4,171,721), hereinafter referred to as Movick.
Re claim 8, Forthuber teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 4. Forthuber does not teach the limitation of wherein the first fluid passageway includes a second tunnel wall extending coaxially through the first tunnel wall such that the second tunnel wall defines a supply tunnel therethrough and the first tunnel wall defines a return tunnel with the second tunnel wall, the supply tunnel and the return tunnel in fluid communication with each other.
However, Movick teaches a thermal protection module (20) comprising a first fluid passageway (pathway for 54-57) includes a second tunnel wall (34) extending coaxially through a first tunnel wall (53) such that the second tunnel wall defines a supply tunnel therethrough and the first tunnel wall defines a return tunnel with the second tunnel wall, the supply tunnel and the return tunnel in fluid communication with each other (see Fig 1).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Forthuber and integrated wherein the first fluid passageway includes a second tunnel wall extending coaxially through the first tunnel wall such that the second tunnel wall defines a supply tunnel therethrough and the first tunnel wall defines a return tunnel with the second tunnel wall, the supply tunnel and the return tunnel in fluid communication with each other, as taught by Movick, in order to save more installation space.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forthuber, in view of Movick (US Pat No. 4,171,721), hereinafter referred to as Movick.
Re claim 12, Kleen teaches the thermal protection module according to claim 10. Kleen does not explicitly teach the limitation of wherein the fluid in the heat pipe is n-butane. However, the examiner takes Official Notice that the fact of using nbutane as a heat pipe fluid, for the purpose of having a low toxicity fluid, falls within the realm of common knowledge as obvious mechanical expedient. Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kleen and integrated wherein the fluid in the heat pipe is n-butane, for the purpose of having a low toxicity fluid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 3/6/2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763