DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-8, 10-12, 14, 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claims 5-6, 8, 10-12, 14, as drafted the claims generally recite “a reception mode” and a “transmission mode” without any further context or definition, which may potentially be vague regarding what the mode entails and effectively does not require any specific functions under broadest reasonable interpretation. It is strongly recommended the claims be amended to at least provide basic description of the modes (e.g. “a reception mode wherein the electronic device is configured to wirelessly receive power from the external electronic device”; “a transmission mode wherein the electronic device is configured to wirelessly transmit power to the external electronic device”) to avoid confusion.
Re claims 7, 18, the second paragraph should be amended: “transmit second driving power to [[an]] the external electronic device” since the element has already been introduced.
Re claim 8, the phrasing and grammar of the last paragraph is extremely confusing, and may also potentially be taken as an optional limitation. It is generally recommended that the claim may need to provide further context of when the electronic device would otherwise operate in a reception mode and a transmission mode (such as described in other dependent claims), before then further describing how if the other conditions are not met the electronic device enters the reception mode after a designated time.
See also the Conclusion below regarding further suggestions for amendments to claim language to avoid application of similar prior art under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AbuKhalaf (US2022/0006329) in view of Marson (US2017/0317536).
Re claim 1. AbuKhalaf teaches an electronic device (power transmitting and receiving device <18>, see AbuKhalaf: [0024], Fig. 1), comprising:
a power conversion circuit (inverter <86>) configured to perform an alternating current (AC)/DC power conversion operation (see AbuKhalaf: [0041], [0063], Figs. 1, 3);
a coil (coils <90>, see AbuKhalaf: [0041-0043], [0063], Figs. 1, 3) electrically or operatively connected to the power conversion circuit;
a motion sensor (see AbuKhalaf: [0068-0069], Figs. 1, 4-5 regarding devices capable of power transmitting and receiving device including accelerometer detecting bumping into other device) configured to detect a motion of the electronic device;
memory storing one or more computer programs (control circuitry <78>); and
one or more processors (control circuitry <78>) communicatively coupled to the memory and the converter, the power conversion circuit, or the motion sensor,
wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to (see AbuKhalaf: [0025-0026], Fig. 1 regarding control circuitry <78> including processors executing software stored in memory for the control functions of the system’s components):
identify an electromagnetic variation at at least one point in the electronic device (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], Figs. 1, 4-5 regarding device detecting presence of additional device also using electromagnetism-based sensors; see discussion below regarding obviousness of impedance-based detection),
identify a motion variation in the electronic device through the motion sensor based on the electromagnetic variation (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], Figs. 1, 4-5 regarding device detecting presence of additional device using subset of both the accelerometer and the electromagnetism-based sensor),
set a delay time (generally, time until device 1 sends digital ping) based on the motion variation exceeding a second reference value (see discussion below regarding obviousness of reference value), and
transmit first driving power (digital ping) to an external electronic device (the other device, e.g. device 2) through the coil according to an elapse of the delay time (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071], [0082], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A-B, 5 regarding device 1, based on initial detection of other device by the accelerometer and/or electromagnetic sensor, waiting for some delayed time until it sends a digital ping via its coil). See AbuKhalaf: [0024-0026], [0041-0043], [0063], [0069], [0071], [0082], [0087-0089], Figs. 1, 3-5, 10.
AbuKhalaf does not explicitly mention the device including a converter configured to perform a direct current (DC)/DC power conversion operation and electrically or operatively connected to the power conversion circuit, however Official Notice is hereby taken that it is very well-known in the art of wireless power transmission/reception devices for power conversion circuitry to further include DC/DC converters as needed to provide adjustment of DC voltage levels to sources/loads/batteries of the device which may operate at different voltage levels than the coil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of AbuKhalaf to incorporate a DC/DC converter as recited for purposes of providing known means to predictably adjust DC voltage level from the AC/DC conversion circuit to respective loads/sources/batteries of the device. Although AbuKhalaf generally discloses the accelerometer able to detect bumping into another device (see AbuKhalaf: [0069]), AbuKhalaf does not explicitly state the determination is made based on the motion variation exceeding a second reference value. Official Notice is hereby taken, however, that it is known in the art of motion sensors detecting a motion event for the determination to be made if the detected motion value exceeds some minimum threshold distinguishing the event from negligible motion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system of AbuKhalaf to have detection of bumping into the other device be when the accelerometer detection exceeds a second reference value for purposes of providing electronic logic means to predictably distinguish the motion event from negligible motion activity.
Although AbuKhalaf generally suggests that the device may detect presence of the other device using other electromagnetism based sensors (see AbuKhalaf: [0069]), AbuKhalaf does not explicitly discuss use of impedance based sensing. Marson, however, teaches that it is known in the art inductive power transmission systems using electromagnetism based sensors to detect nearby objects/other power transmission system devices that the detection may be performed by identifying an impedance variation at at least one point in the electronic device, based on the impedance variation exceeding a first reference value (see Marson: [0034-0035], [0044], [0084-0088], [0094-0101], Figs. 2-3, 16 regarding detection and distinguishing of nearby object/valid receiver by determining if complex impedance of the detection coils are above a corresponding threshold). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of AbuKhalaf such that the electromagnetism-based sensors for detecting nearby device be implemented/substituted or additionally include the specific impedance-based object detection system taught by Marson for purposes of providing known, equivalent, electromagnetism-based sensor means for detecting proximate devices in a wireless power transmission system, also providing further benefits of enabling the system to distinguish between foreign objects and receiver/power transmission system components (see Marson: [0084-0088], [0094-0101], Figs. 2-3, 16).
Re claim 2. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine the delay time according to the motion variation (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071], [0082], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A-B, 5 regarding time until transmitting ping by either device 1 or device 2 affected by when accelerometer detects bumping into the other device; note the claim does not specify particular manner of determining).
Re claim 3. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a battery (battery <94>, see AbuKhalaf: [0043], Fig. 1) operatively connected to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify a charging level of the battery, and determine the delay time according to the charging level (see AbuKhalaf: [0102-0103], [0110] regarding determining battery charge level to determine the role of the device as transmitter or receiver, e.g. default receiver if battery has no charge, and AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071], [0082], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A-B, 5 regarding different amount of time until device sends ping depending on if it defaulted to a power receiver or power transmitter role).
Re claims 4-5. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify an output voltage provided from the power conversion circuit to the converter during the delay time; wherein the one or more computer programs further comprise include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: operate in a reception mode, based on the output voltage exceeding a reference voltage (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071-0072], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A, 5 regarding device 1 detecting a power field of ping from device 2 during the time before device 1 would send a ping, and operating as a receiver based thereon; although AbuKhalaf in view of Marson does not explicitly disclose the ping/power field detection being based on power conversion circuit output voltage being above a reference voltage, Official Notice is hereby taken that it is known in the art of wireless power transmission systems for a ping to be detected/recognized based on AC/DC converter output voltage being above a given level, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ping detection of AbuKhalaf in view of Marson in this manner for purposes of providing known means to predictably detect a ping signal is being received from a valid and proximate device).
Re claim 6. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify an output voltage provided from the power conversion circuit to the converter during a first time interval after transmitting the first driving power, and operate in a reception mode, based on the output voltage exceeding a reference voltage (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071-0072], [0077-0082], Figs. 4A-B, 10 regarding device 2 able to send initial ping, and then subsequently swap roles and receive a ping and operate as power receiver; see discussion of claims 4-5 regarding obviousness of ping detection by output voltage above reference voltage).
Re claim 7. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: transmit second driving power to an external electronic device through the coil based on maintaining a state in which the output voltage is the reference voltage or less during the first time interval after transmitting the first driving power, and identify the output voltage provided from the power conversion circuit to the converter during the first time interval after transmitting the second driving power (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071-0072], [0077-0082], [0114-0115], Figs. 4A-B, 5, 10 regarding device entering power transfer phase afterward without receiving ping, and generally able to repeatedly swap modes and thus detect further pings later potentially; see discussion of claims 4-5 regarding obviousness of ping detection by output voltage above reference voltage).
Re claim 8. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 7, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: repeat transmitting the second driving power and identifying the output voltage, based on maintaining the state in which the output voltage is the reference voltage or less during the first time interval after transmitting the second driving power, and operate in a reception mode, based on whether a mode of the electronic device is a transmission mode or the reception mode not being determined, for a designated time from a time when the first driving power is transmitted (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071-0072], [0077-0082], [0110], [0114-0115], Figs. 4A-B, 5, 10 regarding device entering power transfer phase afterward and generally able to repeatedly swap modes, including operation to default to receiving mode based on various factors).
Re claim 9. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: transmit the first driving power to the external electronic device through the coil according to an elapse of a default time, based on the motion variation being the second reference value or less (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071], [0082], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A-B, 5 regarding time until transmitting ping by either device 1 or device 2 after some default time if device detected by a subset of the detection means, i.e. just the impedance detection and not the accelerometer; note the claim does not specify any difference/relation between default time and delay time, nor specify particular combination of conditions relating to impedance variation and motion variation values).
Re claim 10. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify an output voltage provided from the power conversion circuit to the converter for the default time, and operate in a reception mode, based on the output voltage exceeding a reference voltage (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0071-0072], [0087-0089], Figs. 4A, 5 regarding device 1 detecting a power field of ping from device 2 during the time before device 1 would send a ping, and operating as a receiver based thereon; see discussion of claims 4-5 regarding obviousness of pin detection by output voltage above reference voltage).
Re claim 11. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: operate in a transmission mode, based on identifying a packet provided from the external electronic device according to the transmission of the first driving power (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0072-0073], [0087-0089], [0114], Figs. 4A, 5, 10 regarding device acting as transmitter receiving configuration packet after sending ping and then operating to transfer power subsequently).
Re claim 12. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: operate in a reception mode, based on identifying an event related to pause of wireless charging, after controlling the electronic device to operate in a transmission mode (see AbuKhalaf: [0069], [0078-0079], [0087-0089], [0114], Figs. 4A, 5, 10 regarding device acting as transmitter receiving swap request packet/event and changing to receiving mode in response).
Re claim 13. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a sensing pattern disposed in a central portion of the coil; and a sensing circuit configured to detect an impedance variation in the sensing pattern, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: identify the impedance variation in the sensing pattern as the impedance variation at the at least one point through the sensing circuit (see Marson: [0034-0035], [0044], [0084-0088], [0094-0101], Figs. 2-3, 16 regarding detection coils arranged in pattern in center of inductive transmitting coil, and detection and distinguishing of nearby object/valid receiver by determining if complex impedance of the detection coils are above a corresponding threshold).
Re claim 14. AbuKhalaf in view of Marson teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a first end of the converter is connected to the power conversion circuit (see discussion of claim 1 above regarding obviousness of limitation), wherein the electronic device further comprises a switch connected to a second end of the converter, and wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: control the switch according to whether the electronic device operates in a transmission mode or a reception mode (see AbuKhalaf: [0041-0043], [0063-0064], Fig. 1 regarding inverter and rectifier for transmitting/receiving including respective switch components and operated to disable/enable respectively depending on transmitting/receiving mode).
Re claim 15, the claim recites a method performed by an electronic device comprising the same components operated in the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore overcomes the cited prior art of record by the same reasoning applied above.
Re claims 16-18, the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claims 3, 6-7, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Re claim 19, the claim recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage media including program instructions to operate an electronic device comprising the same components in the same manner as recited in claim 1, and therefore overcomes the cited prior art of record by the same reasoning applied above.
Re claim 20, the further recited limitations essentially correspond to the limitations recited in claims 3, and are therefore rejected by the same reasoning applied above.
Conclusion
In summary, it is recommended Applicant address the noted Objections and consider the cited prior art of record which generally suggests an electronic device with combined motion sensing and external device detection capabilities which will send a ping after different times depending on interaction with the other external device is known in the art. Furthermore, use of impedance detection for detecting the external device would appear known and obvious. It is recommended that Applicant amend the claims such that the invention is sufficiently described to distinguish from similar prior art of record. In particular, it is recommended that Applicant fully recite the different conditions and operations that occur based on the different combination of results of the impedance detection and the motion detection as can be seen in the flowchart of Fig. 7 and differences in timing of Figs. 9-10 (e.g., “in response to the impedance variation exceeding a first reference value and the motion variation being equal or below a second reference value, transmit first driving power to an external electronic device through the coil after an elapse of a default time, and in response to the impedance variation exceeding the first reference value and the motion variation exceeding the second reference value, transmit the first driving power to the external electronic device through the coil after an elapse of a delay time greater than the default time”). Such recitation which clearly requires the motion variation and lack thereof to affect the amount of time until first driving power is transmitted, or other specific recitation of how the electronic device changes timing/decision to function as power transmitter/receiver differently than the cited prior art would potentially be able to distinguish from similar prior art of record. Applicant is cautioned claim language is given broadest reasonable interpretation, and may contact the examiner to discuss possible amendments or the office action as appropriate.
/DAVID A SHIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836