DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishi et al (JP H04-292348).
Regarding claim 1, Ishi discloses a sheet conveying apparatus comprising:
a first roller (101) that is rotatably supported on a body frame (e.g. lower guide 107) of an apparatus body;
a second roller (102) that is disposed so as to face the first roller to constitute a pair of conveying rollers;
a bush member (105) that is supported on the body frame so as to be movable along a radial direction of the first roller, the bush member rotatably supporting the second roller;
an urging member (106) that urges the bush member in such a direction that the second roller approaches the first roller; and
a conveyance guide member (108) that guides a sheet that is conveyed to a nip portion in the pair of the conveying rollers,
wherein the conveyance guide member is fitted to a rotation shaft of the second roller, the conveyance guide member being movable between a guiding position in which the conveyance guide member guides the sheet, and a retracted position in which the conveyance guide member is retracted from the guiding position, the conveyance guide member contacting, in the retracted position, the body frame so as to move the bush member against an urging force of the urging member in such a direction that the second roller separates from the first roller (e.g. as shown in figures 18-21 and described in the background).
Regarding claim 2, Ishi discloses the conveyance guide member has a pair of bearing portions (109) that are rotatably fitted one to each end of the rotation shaft of the second roller, the bearing portions are shaped as an eccentric cam having in an outer circumferential part thereof a small diameter portion and a large diameter portion, and in the guiding position, the small diameter portion comes close to the body frame to make the second roller contact the first roller under the urging force of the urging member, and in the retracted position, the large diameter portion contacts the body frame to make the second roller separate from the first roller against the urging force of the urging member (as shown in figures 18-21 and described in the background).
Regarding claim 4, Ishi discloses lifting up the sheet nipped in the nip portion in the pair of the conveying rollers lets the conveyance guide member move from the guiding position to the retracted position so that the second roller separates from the first roller (e.g. the prior art is capable of being moved if the sheet is lifted against the spring force of 106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishi et al in view of Ishikawa (US Pat No 9,592,975).
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that Ishi fails to disclose a cover that is openable or closable. However, Ishikawa discloses a similar conveyance device including a cover (32) which is openable and closable relative to the conveyance device, Further, Ishikawa discloses that the cover interacts with the rollers/guides such that from an open to closed position, the cover causes the guides to be placed back into a functional position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Ishi with the teachings of Ishikawa such that a cover is provide to enable easy access through the shell of the overall apparatus to the location of the jam.
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that Ishi is silent to the type of apparatus the conveyance device is used. However, Ishikawa discloses a similar conveyance apparatus for forming images on sheet with an image forming unit (6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Ishi with the teachings of Ishikawa to achieve the predictable result of printing on the sheets as they are conveyed, while allowing removal of jammed sheets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features believed to be pertinent to the applicant’s claimed invention.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619