DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19, and 20:
“…provide first threat level for the first individual…”
Indefinite because the claim does not recite what the first threat level represents (e.g., score, probability, likelihood), how it is derived, or from what input it is calculated. Functional limitations must be supported by structure in the specification, but the application fails to disclose, any algorithms, flowcharts, pseudo-code, etc. that offer structural support for this limitation. Additionally the ‘first threat level’ is not used within in the scope of the claims, nor the claim omits to whom the ‘first threat level’ is provided to.
“…send, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; send, to the access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual; receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data.”
Indefinite, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. The claim does not clarify how the synchronization is performed, nor how the synchronization process differentiate itself than just simply sending information such as access data to another peer device. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are:
which device/who (within the p2p synchronizations) is exactly sending to the one or other peer devices the first access control data entry
which device/who (within the p2p synchronization) is receiving by a second access control data.
which device/ who (within in the p2p synchronization) is receiving a second watchlist.
Claims 2-9 and 11-18 do not overcome rejection of their respective base claims that have been rejected above, and therefore rejected under the same grounds provided to claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 13, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), and Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1 ).
With respect to claim 1, Petersen teaches an individual monitoring system comprising: (¶0004-0009: The system comprises a client device and a server in communication with the client device via standard Internet protocols, wherein the server authenticates the client device to create a session, authorizes the client device to access the plurality of data streams using at least one ACL Group, wherein a WebSocket connection is created once the client device is both authenticated and authorized. Remote health monitoring requires compliance with the privacy and security requirements of HIPAA including authentication and authorization of a receiver to receive the data and the transmittance of the data over a secured connection.);
a watchlist data source configured to maintain a watchlist comprising watchlist data concerning individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: The web services server maintains look-up table of GUIDs to biometric data streams and combination thereof to allow subsequent connection by the web services client and the Secure WebSocket that the has returned to the web services client. );
the watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the individuals of interest; ( ¶0041-0042: As seen in Figure 2, the system 200 that utilizes the method 400 allows for requesting WebSocket for multiple patients which enables a one-to-many relationship between webservices and client and the biometric data streams (vital sign data group streams). This is valuable in clinical and medical settings where a medical professional may be monitoring many patients/users (of the wearable device that is detecting the biometric data for each of the patients/users), and would like all of the biometric data associated with all of the patients being monitored to be presented in one place on the web services client (e.g., the client browser that the medical professional is using) or otherwise aggregated to make processing of numerous data streams feasible. Further in ¶0049 the method includes maintaining by the server, a look-up table of a plurality of GUIDs that are each associated with a specific data stream request by each client device. I. In one embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprises a group stream that includes a plurality of individual vital sign data streams. In another embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprise a single individual vital sign data stream from a plurality of different users/patients.);
an access control system configured to maintain access control data concerning monitored individuals, (¶0003: In a first aspect, the method comprises authenticating the client device by the server to create a Session ID. The method further includes authorizing the client devices to access the plurality of data streams by the server using at least one Access Control List (ACL) Group, wherein a WebSocket connection is created between client device and server once client device is both authenticated and authorized);
the access control data comprising respective sets of subject data associated with respective individuals of the monitored individuals, the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; and (¶0037: For each patient/user and their respective biometric data stream that is associated with the request, the method 400 tests that retrieved ACL Groups associated with the requester, via step 403, and determines whether the retrieved ACL Groups authorized access to the specific biometric data steam of that patient, via step 404. The request can include any of a specific set of biometric data associated with only one patient, all of the biometric data associated with only one patient, a specific set of biometric data associated with a plurality of patients, and all of the biometric data associated with a plurality of patients.);
Petersen does not disclose:
biographic characteristics of monitored individuals;
It is noted that Petersen does teaches the access control data containing set biometric characteristics of biometric characteristics as seen in ¶0037, but Petersen does not disclose the access control data also comprises of biographic characteristics. However, Callahan teaches biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; ( ¶0191: As such, a collection biographic and biometric data can be thought of as a digital representation of the user's identity. In one particular implementation, such a collection of biographic and biometric information is encapsulated or packaged as a portable file or data structure. In one non-limiting implementation, the DID Document 2204 functions as a portable container or file for such biographic and biometric information. In one or more implementations, the DID Document 2204 is a data file, container, code or digital document that contains at least the metadata needed to interact with a remote authentication system that seeks to confirm a user's identity.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Callahan of access control data containing biographic characteristics of monitored individuals to the method of Petersen in order to overcome security vulnerabilities inherent in such user identity systems (Callahan: ¶0004-0005).
Petersen in view of Callahan does not disclose:
two or more peer devices configured to communicate with one another by way of peer-to-peer communication,
each of the peer devices associated with an operator, comprising a biometric sensor, and configured to perform the following operations:
obtain, from the watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest,
the first watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the first set of individuals of interest;
obtain, by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual;
However, Chang teaches two or more peer devices configured to communicate with one another by way of peer-to-peer communication, (¶0031-0033: Figure 1, depicts an example system for peer-peer identity verification. The system 100 may include one or more attesting devices 101, identification system electronic devices 102, and/or reader devices 103 that are operable to communicate with each other via one or more wired and/or wireless communication networks.);
each of the peer devices associated with an operator, (¶0004-0006: In a number of examples, the processor further executes the instructions to provide a reference to the attestation to the attesting device and the attestation to a reader device that communicates with the processor using the reference. In various examples, the request specifies a format for the attestation. In some examples, the attestation includes at least one of a license status of the person, an education status of the person, a certification status of the person, or an insurance status of the person. ) comprising a biometric sensor, and configured to perform the following operations: (¶0048-0049: The attestation device 101 may be any kind of device. The attesting device 101 may include one or more processors 105 and/or other processing units and/or controllers, one or more non-transitory storage media 106, one or more communication units 107, one or more health sensors, one or more biometric readers, one or more input and/or output components 108, and/or one or more other components. );
obtain, from the watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest, (¶0027: Identification systems may collect and/or verify information about identities of people and/or aspects. These identification systems may be configured to provide one or more attestations to one or more people and/or entities regarding such identities and/or identity information stored in associated with such identities. As further seen in ¶0060-0061, At operation 230, the electronic device may identify the person who submitted the request. Identifying the person may include using one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on. At operation 240, the electronic device may pull the specified information. The specified information may be pulled from one or more databases and/or other data stores. );
the first watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the first set of individuals of interest; (¶0047: The identification electronic device 102 may store identity information associated with identities of people (which may be verified identities, where the identities are verified as corresponding to the particular person named and/or where the identity information is verified as valid). The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to identity information and/or the health information using identification information that is associated with the identity information. The identification information may include biometric data, and one or more logins and/or passwords, authorization tokens, social media and/or other accounts, and so on. In various implementations, the identification system electronic device 102 may allow the person associated with an identity to control access to the identity information, the health information, and/or other information (such as payment account information, health information (such as medical records, HIPAA protected information in order to be compliant with various legal restrictions, and so on), contact information), and so on. The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to such information according to input received from the person );
obtain, by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual; ( ¶0046: As seen in Figure 1, the reader device 103 receives the attestation from the attesting device 101. In some examples, the reader device 103 receives a reference to the attestation from attesting device 101 and uses the reference to obtain the attestation from the identification electronic device 102 The steps are further illustrated in ¶0039: wherein the identification system electronic device 102 may verify that their information for a person; receive a request to generate an attestation for the person from the attesting device 101; upon identifying the person using information received from attesting 101 (such as one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on), generate the attestation using a portion of the identity information specified in the request’ and provide attestation.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the inclusion of two or more peer devices to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
Petersen in view of Callahan and Chang does not disclose:
determine, based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual; provide an indication of the first threat level for the first individual;
generate a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual;
However, Magi Shaashua teaches determine, based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, (¶0038: Figure 5 is a flowchart of a procedure 150 which is performed within the electronic environment 20 of Figure 1 to provide malicious identity profiles 84. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 stores unsuccessful authentication entries 80 in the database 26. As mentioned in Figure 2 and 3, the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 includes (i) descriptions 76 of failed attempts to authenticated users and (ii) biometric records 42 captured from users during the failed attempts to authenticate users. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 generates a set of malicious identity profiles 84 based on the descriptions 76 and the biometric records 42 of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 stored in the database 26. Each malicious identity profile 84 includes a profile biometric record 88 for comparison with new biometric records during new authentication attempts.)
a first threat level for the first individual; provide an indication of the first threat level for the first individual; (¶0039-0041: In step 154, the specialized apparatus 30 outputs the set of malicious identity profiles 84 to a set of authentication servers for use in subsequent authentication operations. Moreover, such malicious identity profiles 84 may be assigned suspicion scores 48 (e.g., via machine learning analytics) and such scores 48 may be used as input risk scores (or weights) in adaptive authentication operations which output aggregate risk scores indicating overall assessed risks of particular transactions.);
generate a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual; (¶0017-0030: As further seen in Figure 2, for creating, distributing and using the malicious identity profiles 32 of Figure 1. As best seen in Figure 2 the phases processes 60 are organized in a pipelined manner. The process includes a storage phase 62, a cross verification phase 64, a profile creation phase 66, a historical data collection phase 68, a score assignment phase 70, and a distribution and usage phase 72. In the distribution and usage phase 72, the malicious profiles 84 are provided to one or more authentication servers 24 for use in further authentication operations (generate a first access control data entry for the first individual). For example, the malicious profiles 84 may be fed back to the authentication server 24 that was the source of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 thus forming a feedback loop.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the threat level in relations with access control to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan and Chang in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua does not disclose:
send, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual;
send, to the access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual;
receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and
receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data.
However, Varanasi teaches send, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, (¶0015-0016: The techniques described herein address shortcomings of the prior art by providing synchronization method for more rapidly and accurately synchronizing extremely large lists without transmitting the list to a master device or to peer devices and without merging a complete list. For instance, in one conventional update method, the network appliances identify a single master appliance or a quorum of appliances that can take on the role of master, to synchronize with.);
first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; (¶0027: Figure 2 depicts a process flowchart depicting a network device authentication event. Referring, to Figure 2 each network security appliance incoming network traffic received from end user devices, e.g., when an end user device requests access to the private network (110) or to a specific service or protected resource (115) of the private network. In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. );
send, to the access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual; (¶0027-0029: In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. If the username is included in the user list, the username is made available for license enforcement, as shown in step (250) and the process ends. If the username is not included in the user list the username is added to the user list, as shown in step (240). );
receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and receive, by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data. (¶0029: After step (240) the username added to the user list is made available for license enforcement, step (250), and the newly entered user list record is optionally pushed to one or more other network appliances to be added to the user lists maintained thereby, as shown in step (260).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the peer device comprises a mobile communications device (Chang ¶0048-0050: The identification electronic 102 may be any kind of electronic device and/or cloud and/or other computing arrangement. Examples of such devices include, but are not limited to, one or more desktop computing devices, laptop computing devices, mobile computing devices, wearable devices, tablet computing devices, mobile telephones, kiosks and/or other stations, smart phones, printers, displays, vehicles, kitchen appliances, entertainment system devices, digital media players, and so on. Similarly, the attesting device 101 may be any kind of device. Likewise, the reader device 103 may be any kind of device.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the peer device comprises a mobile communication device to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
and the peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices is accomplished by way of wireless communication. (Varanasi ¶0018: A first end user device may be classified as local end user device (125). A local end user device (125) requests access to the private network (110) from within the private network, e.g. through a wired or wireless network appliance access point that is operating as a node of the private network (110). A second end user device may be classified as a remote end user device (120) which requests access to the private network from outside the private network, e.g. through a wired or wireless network appliance access point that is not operating as a node of the private network (110).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the watchlist data source comprises a database comprising the watchlist, and (Magi Shaashua ¶0011: The specialized apparatus 30 then outputs the malicious identity profiles 32 for use in subsequent user authentication (e.g., sending the malicious identity profiles 32 to the authentication server 24 in a feedback manner, storing the malicious identity profiles 32 in the database 26, distributing the malicious identity profiles 32 to other authentication servers such as the other devices 34, and so on);
wherein the access control system comprises a database comprising access control data entries and configured to store, in the database, data corresponding to the first access control data entry for the first individual. (Magi Shaashua ¶0023: In some arrangements, each suspicious profile 84 includes a description portion 86, a biometric record portion 88 which stores a profile biometric record, and an additional profile data portion 90. The description portion 86 of each suspicious profile 84 stores suspicious profile description data (e.g., a suitable authentication type such as multi-factor or adaptive authentication, the type of biometric, and so on).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the watchlist data source to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Varanasi in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
With respect to claim 10, Petersen teaches method for monitoring individuals, comprising: ( ¶0041-0042: The web services server maintains look-up table of GUIDs to biometric data streams and combination thereof to allow subsequent connection by the web services client and the Secure WebSocket that the has returned to the web services client. );
the watchlist data source maintaining a watchlist comprising watchlist data concerning individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: The web services server maintains a look-up table of GUIDs to biometric data streams and combinations thereof to allow subsequent connection web services client and the Secure WebSocket that has returned to the web services client.);
the watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: As seen in Figure 2, the system 200 that utilizes the method 400 allows for requesting WebSocket for multiple patients which enables a one-to-many relationship between webservices and client and the biometric data streams (vital sign data group streams). This is valuable in clinical and medical settings where a medical professional may be monitoring many patients/users (of the wearable device that is detecting the biometric data for each of the patients/users), and would like all of the biometric data associated with all of the patients being monitored to be presented in one place on the web services client (e.g., the client browser that the medical professional is using) or otherwise aggregated to make processing of numerous data streams feasible. Further in ¶0049 the method includes maintaining by the server, a look-up table of a plurality of GUIDs that are each associated with a specific data stream request by each client device. I. In one embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprises a group stream that includes a plurality of individual vital sign data streams. In another embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprise a single individual vital sign data stream from a plurality of different users/patients.);
the first watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the first set of individuals of interest, (¶0037: For each patient/user and their respective biometric data stream that is associated with the request, the method 400 tests that retrieved ACL Groups associated with the requester, via step 403, and determines whether the retrieved ACL Groups authorized access to the specific biometric data steam of that patient, via step 404. The request can include any of a specific set of biometric data associated with only one patient, all of the biometric data associated with only one patient, a specific set of biometric data associated with a plurality of patients, and all of the biometric data associated with a plurality of patients.);
the access control data comprising respective sets of subject data associated with respective individuals of the monitored individuals, the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; (¶0037: For each patient/user and their respective biometric data stream that is associated with the request, the method 400 tests that retrieved ACL Groups associated with the requester, via step 403, and determines whether the retrieved ACL Groups authorized access to the specific biometric data steam of that patient, via step 404. The request can include any of a specific set of biometric data associated with only one patient, all of the biometric data associated with only one patient, a specific set of biometric data associated with a plurality of patients, and all of the biometric data associated with a plurality of patients.);
Petersen does not disclose:
the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals;
It is noted that Peterson does teaches the access control data containing set biometric characteristics of biometric characteristics as seen in ¶0037, but Peterson does not disclose the access control data also comprises of biographic characteristics. However, Callahan teaches the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; ( ¶0191: As such, a collection biographic and biometric data can be thought of as a digital representation of the user's identity. In one particular implementation, such a collection of biographic and biometric information is encapsulated or packaged as a portable file or data structure. In one non-limiting implementation, the DID Document 2204 functions as a portable container or file for such biographic and biometric information. In one or more implementations, the DID Document 2204 is a data file, container, code or digital document that contains at least the metadata needed to interact with a remote authentication system that seeks to confirm a user's identity.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Callahan of access control data containing biographic characteristics of monitored individuals to the method of Peterson in order to overcome security vulnerabilities inherent in such user identity systems (Callahan: ¶0004-0005).
Peterson in view of Callahan does not disclose:
obtaining, by a peer device from a watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest,
communicating, the peer device configured to communicate with other peer devices by way of peer-to-peer communication, the peer device associated with an operator, comprising a biometric sensor;
obtaining, by the peer device by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual; determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual;
However, Chang teaches obtaining, by a peer device from a watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, (¶0027: Identification systems may collect and/or verify information about identities of people and/or aspects. These identification systems may be configured to provide one or more attestations to one or more people and/or entities regarding such identities and/or identity information stored in associated with such identities. As further seen in ¶0060-0061, At operation 230, the electronic device may identify the person who submitted the request. Identifying the person may include using one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on. At operation 240, the electronic device may pull the specified information. The specified information may be pulled from one or more databases and/or other data stores. ) first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest, (¶0047: The identification electronic device 102 may store identity information associated with identities of people (which may be verified identities, where the identities are verified as corresponding to the particular person named and/or where the identity information is verified as valid). The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to identity information and/or the health information using identification information that is associated with the identity information. The identification information may include biometric data, and one or more logins and/or passwords, authorization tokens, social media and/or other accounts, and so on. In various implementations, the identification system electronic device 102 may allow the person associated with an identity to control access to the identity information, the health information, and/or other information (such as payment account information, health information (such as medical records, HIPAA protected information in order to be compliant with various legal restrictions, and so on), contact information), and so on. The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to such information according to input received from the person );
communicating, the peer device configured to communicate with other peer devices by way of peer-to-peer communication, (¶0031-0033: Figure 1, depicts an example system for peer-peer identity verification. The system 100 may include one or more attesting devices 101, identification system electronic devices 102, and/or reader devices 103 that are operable to communicate with each other via one or more wired and/or wireless communication networks.);
the peer device associated with an operator, (¶0004-0006: In a number of examples, the processor further executes the instructions to provide a reference to the attestation to the attesting device and the attestation to a reader device that communicates with the processor using the reference. In various examples, the request specifies a format for the attestation. In some examples, the attestation includes at least one of a license status of the person, an education status of the person, a certification status of the person, or an insurance status of the person. ) comprising a biometric sensor; (¶0048-0049: The attestation device 101 may be any kind of device. The attesting device 101 may include one or more processors 105 and/or other processing units and/or controllers, one or more non-transitory storage media 106, one or more communication units 107, one or more health sensors, one or more biometric readers, one or more input and/or output components 108, and/or one or more other components. );
obtaining, by the peer device by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual; ( ¶0046: As seen in Figure 1, the reader device 103 receives the attestation from the attesting device 101. In some examples, the reader device 103 receives a reference to the attestation from attesting device 101 and uses the reference to obtain the attestation from the identification electronic device 102 The steps are further illustrated in ¶0039: wherein the identification system electronic device 102 may verify that their information for a person; receive a request to generate an attestation for the person from the attesting device 101; upon identifying the person using information received from attesting 101 (such as one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on), generate the attestation using a portion of the identity information specified in the request’ and provide attestation.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the inclusion of two or more peer devices to the method of Peterson in view of Callahan in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
Peterson in view of Callahan and Chang does not disclose:
determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual;
providing, by the peer device, an indication of the first threat level for the first individual; generating, by the peer device, a first access control data entry for the first individual,
the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual;
sending, by the peer device to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual;
However, Magi Shaashua teaches determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, (¶0038: Figure 5 is a flowchart of a procedure 150 which is performed within the electronic environment 20 of Figure 1 to provide malicious identity profiles 84. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 stores unsuccessful authentication entries 80 in the database 26. As mentioned in Figure 2 and 3, the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 includes (i) descriptions 76 of failed attempts to authenticated users and (ii) biometric records 42 captured from users during the failed attempts to authenticate users. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 generates a set of malicious identity profiles 84 based on the descriptions 76 and the biometric records 42 of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 stored in the database 26. Each malicious identity profile 84 includes a profile biometric record 88 for comparison with new biometric records during new authentication attempts.);
a first threat level for the first individual; providing, by the peer device, an indication of the first threat level for the first individual; (¶0039-0041: In step 154, the specialized apparatus 30 outputs the set of malicious identity profiles 84 to a set of authentication servers for use in subsequent authentication operations. Moreover, such malicious identity profiles 84 may be assigned suspicion scores 48 (e.g., via machine learning analytics) and such scores 48 may be used as input risk scores (or weights) in adaptive authentication operations which output aggregate risk scores indicating overall assessed risks of particular transactions.);
generating, by the peer device, a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual; (¶0017-0030: As further seen in Figure 2, for creating, distributing and using the malicious identity profiles 32 of Figure 1. As best seen in Figure 2 the phases processes 60 are organized in a pipelined manner. The process includes a storage phase 62, a cross verification phase 64, a profile creation phase 66, a historical data collection phase 68, a score assignment phase 70, and a distribution and usage phase 72. In the distribution and usage phase 72, the malicious profiles 84 are provided to one or more authentication servers 24 for use in further authentication operations (generate a first access control data entry for the first individual). For example, the malicious profiles 84 may be fed back to the authentication server 24 that was the source of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 thus forming a feedback loop.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the threat level in relations with access control to the method of Peterson in view of Callahan and Chang in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
Peterson in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua does not disclose:
sending, by the peer device to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual;
sending, by the peer device to an access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual, the access control system configured to maintain access control data concerning monitored individuals,
and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and
receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data.
However, Varanasi teaches sending, by the peer device to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, (¶0015-0016: The techniques described herein address shortcomings of the prior art by providing synchronization method for more rapidly and accurately synchronizing extremely large lists without transmitting the list to a master device or to peer devices and without merging a complete list. For instance, in one conventional update method, the network appliances identify a single master appliance or a quorum of appliances that can take on the role of master, to synchronize with.);
first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; (¶0027: Figure 2 depicts a process flowchart depicting a network device authentication event. Referring, to Figure 2 each network security appliance incoming network traffic received from end user devices, e.g., when an end user device requests access to the private network (110) or to a specific service or protected resource (115) of the private network. In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. );
sending, by the peer device to an access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual, the access control system configured to maintain access control data concerning monitored individuals, (¶0027-0029: In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. If the username is included in the user list, the username is made available for license enforcement, as shown in step (250) and the process ends. If the username is not included in the user list the username is added to the user list, as shown in step (240). );
and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data. (¶0029: After step (240) the username added to the user list is made available for license enforcement, step (250), and the newly entered user list record is optionally pushed to one or more other network appliances to be added to the user lists maintained thereby, as shown in step (260).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Peterson in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the peer device comprises a mobile communications device and (Chang ¶0048-0050: The identification electronic 102 may be any kind of electronic device and/or cloud and/or other computing arrangement. Examples of such devices include, but are not limited to, one or more desktop computing devices, laptop computing devices, mobile computing devices, wearable devices, tablet computing devices, mobile telephones, kiosks and/or other stations, smart phones, printers, displays, vehicles, kitchen appliances, entertainment system devices, digital media players, and so on. Similarly, the attesting device 101 may be any kind of device. Likewise, the reader device 103 may be any kind of device.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the peer device comprises a mobile communication device to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
the peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices is accomplished by way of wireless communication. (Varanasi ¶0018: A first end user device may be classified as local end user device (125). A local end user device (125) requests access to the private network (110) from within the private network, e.g. through a wired or wireless network appliance access point that is operating as a node of the private network (110). A second end user device may be classified as a remote end user device (120) which requests access to the private network from outside the private network, e.g. through a wired or wireless network appliance access point that is not operating as a node of the private network (110).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the watchlist data source comprises a database comprising the watchlist, and (Magi Shaashua ¶0011: The specialized apparatus 30 then outputs the malicious identity profiles 32 for use in subsequent user authentication (e.g., sending the malicious identity profiles 32 to the authentication server 24 in a feedback manner, storing the malicious identity profiles 32 in the database 26, distributing the malicious identity profiles 32 to other authentication servers such as the other devices 34, and so on);
wherein the access control system comprises a database comprising access control data entries and configured to store, in the database, data corresponding to the first access control data entry for the first individual. . (Magi Shaashua ¶0023: In some arrangements, each suspicious profile 84 includes a description portion 86, a biometric record portion 88 which stores a profile biometric record, and an additional profile data portion 90. The description portion 86 of each suspicious profile 84 stores suspicious profile description data (e.g., a suitable authentication type such as multi-factor or adaptive authentication, the type of biometric, and so on).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the watchlist data source to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Varanasi in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
With respect to claim 19, Petersen teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising program instructions stored thereon that are executable by a processor to cause the following operations (¶0057-0058: Furthermore, embodiments may take the form of a computer program product accessible from a computer-usable or computer-readable medium providing program code for use by or in connection with a computer or any instruction execution system. For the purposes of this description, a computer-usable or computer-readable medium can be any apparatus that can contain, store, communicate, propagate, or transport the program for use by or in connection with the instruction execution system, apparatus, or device. The medium may be an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, semiconductor system (or apparatus or device), or a propagation medium (non-transitory).) for monitoring individuals: ( ¶0002: The remote monitoring of physiological data or vital signs of an individual using wearable sensor devices must adhere to the privacy and security requirements of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). );
the watchlist data source maintaining a watchlist comprising watchlist data concerning individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: The web services server maintains look-up table of GUIDs to biometric data streams and combination thereof to allow subsequent connection by the web services client and the Secure WebSocket that the has returned to the web services client. );
the watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: As seen in Figure 2, the system 200 that utilizes the method 400 allows for requesting WebSocket for multiple patients which enables a one-to-many relationship between webservices and client and the biometric data streams (vital sign data group streams). This is valuable in clinical and medical settings where a medical professional may be monitoring many patients/users (of the wearable device that is detecting the biometric data for each of the patients/users), and would like all of the biometric data associated with all of the patients being monitored to be presented in one place on the web services client (e.g., the client browser that the medical professional is using) or otherwise aggregated to make processing of numerous data streams feasible. Further in ¶0049 the method includes maintaining by the server, a look-up table of a plurality of GUIDs that are each associated with a specific data stream request by each client device. I. In one embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprises a group stream that includes a plurality of individual vital sign data streams. In another embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprise a single individual vital sign data stream from a plurality of different users/patients.);
the first watchlist data comprising respective sets of biometric characteristics associated with respective individuals of the first set of individuals of interest, ( ¶0041-0042: As seen in Figure 2, the system 200 that utilizes the method 400 allows for requesting WebSocket for multiple patients which enables a one-to-many relationship between webservices and client and the biometric data streams (vital sign data group streams). This is valuable in clinical and medical settings where a medical professional may be monitoring many patients/users (of the wearable device that is detecting the biometric data for each of the patients/users), and would like all of the biometric data associated with all of the patients being monitored to be presented in one place on the web services client (e.g., the client browser that the medical professional is using) or otherwise aggregated to make processing of numerous data streams feasible. Further in ¶0049 the method includes maintaining by the server, a look-up table of a plurality of GUIDs that are each associated with a specific data stream request by each client device. I. In one embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprises a group stream that includes a plurality of individual vital sign data streams. In another embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprise a single individual vital sign data stream from a plurality of different users/patients.);
the access control system configured to maintain access control data concerning monitored individuals, (¶0003: In a first aspect, the method comprises authenticating the client device by the server to create a Session ID. The method further includes authorizing the client devices to access the plurality of data streams by the server using at least one Access Control List (ACL) Group, wherein a WebSocket connection is created between client device and server once client device is both authenticated and authorized);
the access control data comprising respective sets of subject data associated with respective individuals of the monitored individuals, the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; (¶0037: For each patient/user and their respective biometric data stream that is associated with the request, the method 400 tests that retrieved ACL Groups associated with the requester, via step 403, and determines whether the retrieved ACL Groups authorized access to the specific biometric data steam of that patient, via step 404. The request can include any of a specific set of biometric data associated with only one patient, all of the biometric data associated with only one patient, a specific set of biometric data associated with a plurality of patients, and all of the biometric data associated with a plurality of patients.);
Petersen does not disclose:
the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals;
It is noted that Petersen does teaches the access control data containing set biometric characteristics of biometric characteristics as seen in ¶0037, but Petersen does not disclose the access control data also comprises of biographic characteristics. However, Callahan teaches the sets of subject data comprising biometric characteristics and biographic characteristics of monitored individuals; ( ¶0191: As such, a collection biographic and biometric data can be thought of as a digital representation of the user's identity. In one particular implementation, such a collection of biographic and biometric information is encapsulated or packaged as a portable file or data structure. In one non-limiting implementation, the DID Document 2204 functions as a portable container or file for such biographic and biometric information. In one or more implementations, the DID Document 2204 is a data file, container, code or digital document that contains at least the metadata needed to interact with a remote authentication system that seeks to confirm a user's identity.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Callahan of access control data containing biographic characteristics of monitored individuals to the method of Petersen in order to overcome security vulnerabilities inherent in such user identity systems (Callahan: ¶0004-0005).
Petersen in view of Callahan does not disclose:
obtaining, by a peer device from a watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest,
communicating, the peer device configured to communicate with other peer devices by way of peer-to-peer communication, the peer device associated with an operator, comprising a biometric sensor; obtaining, by the peer device by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device,
first biometric data for a first individual; determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual;
However, Chang teaches obtaining, by a peer device from a watchlist data source by way of a client-server communications network, (¶0027: Identification systems may collect and/or verify information about identities of people and/or aspects. These identification systems may be configured to provide one or more attestations to one or more people and/or entities regarding such identities and/or identity information stored in associated with such identities. As further seen in ¶0060-0061, At operation 230, the electronic device may identify the person who submitted the request. Identifying the person may include using one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on. At operation 240, the electronic device may pull the specified information. The specified information may be pulled from one or more databases and/or other data stores. );
first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest, (¶0047: The identification electronic device 102 may store identity information associated with identities of people (which may be verified identities, where the identities are verified as corresponding to the particular person named and/or where the identity information is verified as valid). The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to identity information and/or the health information using identification information that is associated with the identity information. The identification information may include biometric data, and one or more logins and/or passwords, authorization tokens, social media and/or other accounts, and so on. In various implementations, the identification system electronic device 102 may allow the person associated with an identity to control access to the identity information, the health information, and/or other information (such as payment account information, health information (such as medical records, HIPAA protected information in order to be compliant with various legal restrictions, and so on), contact information), and so on. The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to such information according to input received from the person );
communicating, the peer device configured to communicate with other peer devices by way of peer-to-peer communication, (¶0031-0033: Figure 1, depicts an example system for peer-peer identity verification. The system 100 may include one or more attesting devices 101, identification system electronic devices 102, and/or reader devices 103 that are operable to communicate with each other via one or more wired and/or wireless communication networks.);
the peer device associated with an operator, (¶0004-0006: In a number of examples, the processor further executes the instructions to provide a reference to the attestation to the attesting device and the attestation to a reader device that communicates with the processor using the reference. In various examples, the request specifies a format for the attestation. In some examples, the attestation includes at least one of a license status of the person, an education status of the person, a certification status of the person, or an insurance status of the person. ) comprising a biometric sensor; obtaining, by the peer device by way of the biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual; (¶0048-0049: The attestation device 101 may be any kind of device. The attesting device 101 may include one or more processors 105 and/or other processing units and/or controllers, one or more non-transitory storage media 106, one or more communication units 107, one or more health sensors, one or more biometric readers, one or more input and/or output components 108, and/or one or more other components. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the inclusion of two or more peer devices to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
Petersen in view of Callahan and Chang does not disclose:
determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual;
providing, by the peer device, an indication of the first threat level for the first individual; generating, by the peer device, a first access control data entry for the first individual,
the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual;
However, Magi Shaashua teaches determining, by the peer device based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, (¶0038: Figure 5 is a flowchart of a procedure 150 which is performed within the electronic environment 20 of Figure 1 to provide malicious identity profiles 84. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 stores unsuccessful authentication entries 80 in the database 26. As mentioned in Figure 2 and 3, the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 includes (i) descriptions 76 of failed attempts to authenticated users and (ii) biometric records 42 captured from users during the failed attempts to authenticate users. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 generates a set of malicious identity profiles 84 based on the descriptions 76 and the biometric records 42 of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 stored in the database 26. Each malicious identity profile 84 includes a profile biometric record 88 for comparison with new biometric records during new authentication attempts.)
a first threat level for the first individual; providing, by the peer device, an indication of the first threat level for the first individual; (¶0039-0041: In step 154, the specialized apparatus 30 outputs the set of malicious identity profiles 84 to a set of authentication servers for use in subsequent authentication operations. Moreover, such malicious identity profiles 84 may be assigned suspicion scores 48 (e.g., via machine learning analytics) and such scores 48 may be used as input risk scores (or weights) in adaptive authentication operations which output aggregate risk scores indicating overall assessed risks of particular transactions.);
generating, by the peer device, a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual; (¶0017-0030: As further seen in Figure 2, for creating, distributing and using the malicious identity profiles 32 of Figure 1. As best seen in Figure 2 the phases processes 60 are organized in a pipelined manner. The process includes a storage phase 62, a cross verification phase 64, a profile creation phase 66, a historical data collection phase 68, a score assignment phase 70, and a distribution and usage phase 72. In the distribution and usage phase 72, the malicious profiles 84 are provided to one or more authentication servers 24 for use in further authentication operations (generate a first access control data entry for the first individual). For example, the malicious profiles 84 may be fed back to the authentication server 24 that was the source of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 thus forming a feedback loop.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the threat level in relations with access control to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan and Chang in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua does not disclose:
sending, by the peer device to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual;
sending, by the peer device to an access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual,
and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data.
However, Varanasi teaches sending, by the peer device to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, (¶0015-0016: The techniques described herein address shortcomings of the prior art by providing synchronization method for more rapidly and accurately synchronizing extremely large lists without transmitting the list to a master device or to peer devices and without merging a complete list. For instance, in one conventional update method, the network appliances identify a single master appliance or a quorum of appliances that can take on the role of master, to synchronize with.);
first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; (¶0027: Figure 2 depicts a process flowchart depicting a network device authentication event. Referring, to Figure 2 each network security appliance incoming network traffic received from end user devices, e.g., when an end user device requests access to the private network (110) or to a specific service or protected resource (115) of the private network. In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. );
sending, by the peer device to an access control system in response to determining a connection with the access control system and by way of a client-server communication network, the first access control data entry for the first individual, (¶0027-0029: In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. If the username is included in the user list, the username is made available for license enforcement, as shown in step (250) and the process ends. If the username is not included in the user list the username is added to the user list, as shown in step (240). );
and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second access control data; and receiving, by the peer device by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with one or more other of the peer devices, second watchlist data. (¶0029: After step (240) the username added to the user list is made available for license enforcement, step (250), and the newly entered user list record is optionally pushed to one or more other network appliances to be added to the user lists maintained thereby, as shown in step (260).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1), and Connell II et al. (US PGPub No.20170302661 A1).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the watchlist comprises a biometrics-enabled watchlist (BEWL), and the first watchlist data corresponds to at least a portion of the BEWL.
However, Connell II teaches wherein the watchlist comprises a biometrics-enabled watchlist (BEWL), and the first watchlist data corresponds to at least a portion of the BEWL. (¶0079-0080: In this embodiment, the database 613 contains, for example a list of individuals on a watchlist. Embodiments of the invention use multiple biometrics profile each of which have been compressed or created using different techniques at least or according to different criteria. By using multiple biometric profiles, or a “richer biometric profile”, the invention improve the accuracy of watchlist matching, reduces the number of false positives and false negatives that plague biometric-based lists, while concurrently maintaining the anonymity of the target individuals and reducing storage and processing requirements as compared to traditional biometric-based security systems. Further in Figure 7, shows screening candidate is matched against the set of database records, as stated in ¶0081, The process starts, 701, as the individual approaches the checkpoint and detailed biometrics of the screening candidate, aka suspect, are obtained, step 703. In step 704, optionally a weakened biometric representation is created. In step 705, the suspect's detailed biometrics are compared against the weakened biometric representations of members of one or more blacklists stored in database 713.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Connell II with regarding watchlist comprises a biometric-enabled watchlist, and first watchlist corresponds to at least a portion of BEWL to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to improve the accuracy of watchlist matching (Connell II: ¶0079).
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), but does not disclose teaches wherein the watchlist comprises a biometrically enabled watchlist (BEWL), and the first watchlist data corresponds to at least a portion of the BEWL.
However, Connell II teaches wherein the watchlist comprises a biometrically enabled watchlist (BEWL), and the first watchlist data corresponds to at least a portion of the BEWL. (¶0079-0080: In this embodiment, the database 613 contains, for example a list of individuals on a watchlist. Embodiments of the invention use multiple biometrics profile each of which have been compressed or created using different techniques at least or according to different criteria. By using multiple biometric profiles, or a “richer biometric profile”, the invention improve the accuracy of watchlist matching, reduces the number of false positives and false negatives that plague biometric-based lists, while concurrently maintaining the anonymity of the target individuals and reducing storage and processing requirements as compared to traditional biometric-based security systems. Further in Figure 7, shows screening candidate is matched against the set of database records, as stated in ¶0081, The process starts, 701, as the individual approaches the checkpoint and detailed biometrics of the screening candidate, aka suspect, are obtained, step 703. In step 704, optionally a weakened biometric representation is created. In step 705, the suspect's detailed biometrics are compared against the weakened biometric representations of members of one or more blacklists stored in database 713.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Connell II with regarding watchlist comprises a biometric-enabled watchlist, and first watchlist corresponds to at least a portion of BEWL to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to improve the accuracy of watchlist matching (Connell II: ¶0079).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1), and Beedu et al. (US PGPub No. 20200310931-A1).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises: transmitting, by a receiving peer device to a sending peer device, a query for data; and transmitting, by the sending peer device to the receiving peer device responsive to the query, data.
However, Beedu teaches wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises: transmitting, by a receiving peer device to a sending peer device, a query for data; (¶0081: Figure 6A, illustrate aspects pertaining to invoking synchronization protocol at any source peery to distribute global entity modifications to one or more remote peers. In some embodiments, peers performs a retrieval to determine the outcome of the foregoing entity modification. For example, a source peer can determine the outcome of the operations (e.g., updates to the local entity table) by querying the remote peer. In other embodiments, and ash show, a synchronization message indicating the outcome of the entity modification (e.g., entity synchronization) issued to the source peer from the remote peer (step 614). );
and transmitting, by the sending peer device to the receiving peer device responsive to the query, data. (¶0081: For example, if the entity modification is implemented and the corresponding updates are applied to the local instances of the sync tracking data structures, a synchronization message indicating a successful synchronization at the remote peer is issued.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Beedu with regarding to peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises a query for data to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to reduces the demand for computer memory and data storage, reduces network bandwidth usage, and reduces the demand for inter-component communication in computing environment (Beedu: ¶0040).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), but does not disclose wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises: transmitting, by a receiving peer device to a sending peer device, a query for data; and transmitting, by the sending peer device to the receiving peer device responsive to the query, data.
However, Beedu teaches wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises: transmitting, by a receiving peer device to a sending peer device, a query for data; (¶0081: Figure 6A, illustrate aspects pertaining to invoking synchronization protocol at any source peery to distribute global entity modifications to one or more remote peers. In some embodiments, peers performs a retrieval to determine the outcome of the foregoing entity modification. For example, a source peer can determine the outcome of the operations (e.g., updates to the local entity table) by querying the remote peer. In other embodiments, and ash show, a synchronization message indicating the outcome of the entity modification (e.g., entity synchronization) issued to the source peer from the remote peer (step 614). );
and transmitting, by the sending peer device to the receiving peer device responsive to the query, data. (¶0081: For example, if the entity modification is implemented and the corresponding updates are applied to the local instances of the sync tracking data structures, a synchronization message indicating a successful synchronization at the remote peer is issued.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Beedu with regarding to peer-to-peer synchronization between peer devices comprises a query for data to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to reduces the demand for computer memory and data storage, reduces network bandwidth usage, and reduces the demand for inter-component communication in computing environment (Beedu: ¶0040).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1), and Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20120096186-A1).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but not wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization of data between peer devices is accomplished without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network.
However, Chang (US-20120096186-A1) teaches wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization of data between peer devices is accomplished without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network. (¶0007-0008: The invention is directed to a method for peer to peer signal synchronization, and P2P wireless communication device and system using same. The P2P wireless communication devices may be synchronized with each other without the network architecture to be created in advanced and without the use of the server. A first P2P wireless communication device, having an effective range, is controlled to act as a master device. At least one second P2P wireless communication device, located in the effective range, is paired and connected with the first P2P wireless communication device. The first P2P wireless communication device broadcasts a synchronization signal when the first P2P wireless communication device acts as the master device. The at least one second P2P wireless communication device is switched to the master device and broadcasts the synchronization signal after the at least one second P2P wireless communication device receives the synchronization signal. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization being without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to save bandwidth and offers increase flexibility to the system (Chang: ¶0007).
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization of data between peer devices is accomplished without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network.
However, Chang (US-20120096186-A1) teaches wherein the peer-to-peer synchronization of data between peer devices is accomplished without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network. (¶0007-0008: The invention is directed to a method for peer to peer signal synchronization, and P2P wireless communication device and system using same. The P2P wireless communication devices may be synchronized with each other without the network architecture to be created in advanced and without the use of the server. A first P2P wireless communication device, having an effective range, is controlled to act as a master device. At least one second P2P wireless communication device, located in the effective range, is paired and connected with the first P2P wireless communication device. The first P2P wireless communication device broadcasts a synchronization signal when the first P2P wireless communication device acts as the master device. The at least one second P2P wireless communication device is switched to the master device and broadcasts the synchronization signal after the at least one second P2P wireless communication device receives the synchronization signal. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization being without transmission of the data to a server of a client-server-based communications network to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to save bandwidth and offers increase flexibility to the system (Chang: ¶0007).
Claims 7, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1), and Katmor et al. (US PGPub No. 0220210173-A1).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but does not disclose wherein the indication of the first threat level for the first individual comprises an action to be taken by a first operator associated with the peer device.
However, Katmor teaches wherein the indication of the first threat level for the first individual comprises an action to be taken by a first operator associated with the peer device. (¶0036: Figure 1 illustrates an example network environment 100 in which a zero-trust network access may be deployed. In one embodiment, the context is derived from security posture information received from one or more of the client, the network, network devices, peer devices, and the object at issue. The system 106 may determine a risk score of the access request based on the security posture information and approves the access request of the client if the risk score of the access request is less than a threshold.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Katmor with regarding first threat level for the first individual comprises an attack to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to decrease cyber risk and exposure to cyber threats (Katmor: ¶0004).
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, Varanasi, and Katmor teaches the system of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the action to be taken comprises providing the first individual with access to one or more resources or opportunities. (Katmor: ¶0046: Figure 2 illustrates functional modules of a zero-trust network access (ZTNA) system 202. The system 202 may process access requests to an object based on the criticality level associated with the object and the determined risk score. For example, if the object is a general information portal, which is not critical or relates to low-clearance level, the system 202 may allow access even if the requesting device is of mediate risk. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Katmor with regarding first threat level for the first individual comprises an attack to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to decrease cyber risk and exposure to cyber threats (Katmor: ¶0004).
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, and Varanasi teaches the method of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), but does not disclose wherein the indication of the first threat level for the first individual comprises an action to be taken by a first operator associated with the peer device.
However, Katmor teaches wherein the indication of the first threat level for the first individual comprises an action to be taken by a first operator associated with the peer device. (¶0036: Figure 1 illustrates an example network environment 100 in which a zero-trust network access may be deployed. In one embodiment, the context is derived from security posture information received from one or more of the client, the network, network devices, peer devices, and the object at issue. The system 106 may determine a risk score of the access request based on the security posture information and approves the access request of the client if the risk score of the access request is less than a threshold.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Katmor with regarding first threat level for the first individual comprises an attack to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to decrease cyber risk and exposure to cyber threats (Katmor: ¶0004).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Callahan et al. (US PGPub No.20200036707-A1), Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1), Katmor et al. (US PGPub No. 0220210173-A1), and Brakob et al. (US PGPub No.20230005345 A1).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, Varanasi, and Katmor teaches the system of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), but does not disclose wherein the action to be taken comprises detaining the first individual.
However, Brakob teaches wherein the action to be taken comprises detaining the first individual. (¶0050: The quantity of case files in the watch list can vary based on one or more factors, such as a business of the particular retail store, a severity or threat level associated with each of the ranked case files in the candidate list. As a result, a digestible watch list can be generated. A digestible watch list can be used by in-store employees to more easily and effectively monitor customers and apprehend the guests or customer who pose the greatest security threat to the retail store, its employees, and/or other guests.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Brakob with regarding to detaining the first individual to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to mitigate potential security threats (Brakob: ¶0002).
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, Varanasi, and Katmor teaches the method of claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above), but does not disclose wherein the action to be taken comprises detaining the first individual.
However, Brakob teaches wherein the action to be taken comprises detaining the first individual. (¶0050: The quantity of case files in the watch list can vary based on one or more factors, such as a business of the particular retail store, a severity or threat level associated with each of the ranked case files in the candidate list. As a result, a digestible watch list can be generated. A digestible watch list can be used by in-store employees to more easily and effectively monitor customers and apprehend the guests or customer who pose the greatest security threat to the retail store, its employees, and/or other guests.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Brakob with regarding to detaining the first individual to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to mitigate potential security threats (Brakob: ¶0002).
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, Magi Shaashua, Varanasi, and Katmor teaches the method of claim 16 (see rejection of claim 16 above), wherein the action to be taken comprises providing the first individual with access to one or more resources or opportunities. (Katmor: ¶0046: Figure 2 illustrates functional modules of a zero-trust network access (ZTNA) system 202. The system 202 may process access requests to an object based on the criticality level associated with the object and the determined risk score. For example, if the object is a general information portal, which is not critical or relates to low-clearance level, the system 202 may allow access even if the requesting device is of mediate risk. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Katmor with regarding first threat level for the first individual comprises an attack to the method of Petersen in view of Callahan, Chang, and Magi Shaashua in order to decrease cyber risk and exposure to cyber threats (Katmor: ¶0004).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen et al. (US Pat No. 10212165-B1) in view of Chang et al. (US PGPub No. 20240340339-A1), Magi Shaashua et al. (US Pat No. 9509688-B1), and Varanasi et al. (US Pat No. 11356448-B1).
With respect to claim 20, Petersen teaches system for monitoring individuals, comprising: (¶0004-0009: The system comprises a client device and a server in communication with the client device via standard Internet protocols, wherein the server authenticates the client device to create a session, authorizes the client device to access the plurality of data streams using at least one ACL Group, wherein a WebSocket connection is created once the client device is both authenticated and authorized. Remote health monitoring requires compliance with the privacy and security requirements of HIPAA including authentication and authorization of a receiver to receive the data and the transmittance of the data over a secured connection.);
the first watchlist data comprising biometric characteristics for the first set of individuals of interest; ( ¶0041-0042: As seen in Figure 2, the system 200 that utilizes the method 400 allows for requesting WebSocket for multiple patients which enables a one-to-many relationship between webservices and client and the biometric data streams (vital sign data group streams). This is valuable in clinical and medical settings where a medical professional may be monitoring many patients/users (of the wearable device that is detecting the biometric data for each of the patients/users), and would like all of the biometric data associated with all of the patients being monitored to be presented in one place on the web services client (e.g., the client browser that the medical professional is using) or otherwise aggregated to make processing of numerous data streams feasible. Further in ¶0049 the method includes maintaining by the server, a look-up table of a plurality of GUIDs that are each associated with a specific data stream request by each client device. I. In one embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprises a group stream that includes a plurality of individual vital sign data streams. In another embodiment, the plurality of data streams comprise a single individual vital sign data stream from a plurality of different users/patients.);
Petersen does not disclose:
a peer device configured to perform the following operations: obtaining, from a watchlist data source, first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest,
obtaining, by way of a biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual;
However, Chang teaches a peer device configured to perform the following operations: obtaining, from a watchlist data source, (¶0027: Identification systems may collect and/or verify information about identities of people and/or aspects. These identification systems may be configured to provide one or more attestations to one or more people and/or entities regarding such identities and/or identity information stored in associated with such identities. As further seen in ¶0060-0061, At operation 230, the electronic device may identify the person who submitted the request. Identifying the person may include using one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on. At operation 240, the electronic device may pull the specified information. The specified information may be pulled from one or more databases and/or other data stores. ) first watchlist data concerning a first set of individuals of interest, (¶0047: The identification electronic device 102 may store identity information associated with identities of people (which may be verified identities, where the identities are verified as corresponding to the particular person named and/or where the identity information is verified as valid). The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to identity information and/or the health information using identification information that is associated with the identity information. The identification information may include biometric data, and one or more logins and/or passwords, authorization tokens, social media and/or other accounts, and so on. In various implementations, the identification system electronic device 102 may allow the person associated with an identity to control access to the identity information, the health information, and/or other information (such as payment account information, health information (such as medical records, HIPAA protected information in order to be compliant with various legal restrictions, and so on), contact information), and so on. The identification system electronic device 102 may control access to such information according to input received from the person );
obtaining, by way of a biometric sensor of the peer device, first biometric data for a first individual; ( ¶0046: As seen in Figure 1, the reader device 103 receives the attestation from the attesting device 101. In some examples, the reader device 103 receives a reference to the attestation from attesting device 101 and uses the reference to obtain the attestation from the identification electronic device 102 The steps are further illustrated in ¶0039: wherein the identification system electronic device 102 may verify that their information for a person; receive a request to generate an attestation for the person from the attesting device 101; upon identifying the person using information received from attesting 101 (such as one or more digital representations of biometrics that may be compared against stored biometric data, passwords and/or other credentials that may be compared against stored credentials, and so on), generate the attestation using a portion of the identity information specified in the request’ and provide attestation.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chang with regards to the inclusion of two or more peer devices to the method of Petersen in order to better reliability in identifying and authenticating of people and securely accesses stored information associated with biometric data (Chang: ¶0029).
Petersen in view of Chang does not disclose:
determining, based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, a first threat level for the first individual; generating, a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual;
sending, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; and sending, to an access control system, the first access control data entry for the first individual.
However, Magi Shaashua teaches determining, based on comparison of the first biometric data for the first individual to the biometric characteristics of the first watchlist data, (¶0038: Figure 5 is a flowchart of a procedure 150 which is performed within the electronic environment 20 of Figure 1 to provide malicious identity profiles 84. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 stores unsuccessful authentication entries 80 in the database 26. As mentioned in Figure 2 and 3, the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 includes (i) descriptions 76 of failed attempts to authenticated users and (ii) biometric records 42 captured from users during the failed attempts to authenticate users. In step 152, the specialized apparatus 30 generates a set of malicious identity profiles 84 based on the descriptions 76 and the biometric records 42 of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 stored in the database 26. Each malicious identity profile 84 includes a profile biometric record 88 for comparison with new biometric records during new authentication attempts.);
a first threat level for the first individual; (¶0039-0041: In step 154, the specialized apparatus 30 outputs the set of malicious identity profiles 84 to a set of authentication servers for use in subsequent authentication operations. Moreover, such malicious identity profiles 84 may be assigned suspicion scores 48 (e.g., via machine learning analytics) and such scores 48 may be used as input risk scores (or weights) in adaptive authentication operations which output aggregate risk scores indicating overall assessed risks of particular transactions.);
generating, a first access control data entry for the first individual, the first access control data entry for the first individual comprising an indication of the first biometric data for the first individual; (¶0017-0030: As further seen in Figure 2, for creating, distributing and using the malicious identity profiles 32 of Figure 1. As best seen in Figure 2 the phases processes 60 are organized in a pipelined manner. The process includes a storage phase 62, a cross verification phase 64, a profile creation phase 66, a historical data collection phase 68, a score assignment phase 70, and a distribution and usage phase 72. In the distribution and usage phase 72, the malicious profiles 84 are provided to one or more authentication servers 24 for use in further authentication operations (generate a first access control data entry for the first individual). For example, the malicious profiles 84 may be fed back to the authentication server 24 that was the source of the unsuccessful authentication entries 80 thus forming a feedback loop.); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Magi Shaashua with regards to the threat level in relations with access control to the method of Petersen in view of Chang in order to prevent fraudulence and intruders attempts against the system (Magi Shaashua: ¶0004-0005).
Petersen in view of Chang and Magi Shaashua does not disclose:
sending, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; and sending, to an access control system, the first access control data entry for the first individual.
However, Varanasi teaches sending, to one or more other of the peer devices by way of peer-to-peer synchronization with the one or more other of the peer devices, (¶0015-0016: The techniques described herein address shortcomings of the prior art by providing synchronization method for more rapidly and accurately synchronizing extremely large lists without transmitting the list to a master device or to peer devices and without merging a complete list. For instance, in one conventional update method, the network appliances identify a single master appliance or a quorum of appliances that can take on the role of master, to synchronize with.);
first access control data comprising the first access control data entry for the first individual; (¶0027: Figure 2 depicts a process flowchart depicting a network device authentication event. Referring, to Figure 2 each network security appliance incoming network traffic received from end user devices, e.g., when an end user device requests access to the private network (110) or to a specific service or protected resource (115) of the private network. In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. );
and sending, to an access control system, the first access control data entry for the first individual. (¶0027-0029: In most cases this means the end user provides a registered username and password, or other digital secure access token, identifier, or the like, as shown in step (210) of Figure 2. If the username is included in the user list, the username is made available for license enforcement, as shown in step (250) and the process ends. If the username is not included in the user list the username is added to the user list, as shown in step (240). );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Varanasi with regarding peer-to-peer synchronization to the method of Petersen in view of Chang and Magi Shaashua in order to increase the overall computational efficiency and improving the overall power consumption of the system (Varanasi: ¶0016).
Conclusion
/T.P.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2437 /MENG LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437