DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a second threshold pressure difference” but does not recite a “first” threshold pressure difference, rendering the scope of the claim unclear. Note that while claim 5 does recite a “first threshold pressure difference,” claim 6 does not depend from claim 5 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second threshold pressure difference”" in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that while claim 6 recites “a second threshold pressure difference,” claim 7 does not depend from claim 6 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first threshold pressure difference”" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that while claim 5 recites “a first threshold pressure difference,” claim 7 does not depend from claim 5 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.
Similarly:
Claim 10 recites “a second threshold pressure difference” but does not recite a “first” threshold pressure difference, rendering the scope of the claim unclear. Note that while claim 9 does recite a “first threshold pressure difference,” claim 10 does not depend from claim 9 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second threshold pressure difference”" in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that while claim 10 recites “a second threshold pressure difference,” claim 14 does not depend from claim 10 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first threshold pressure difference”" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that while claim 9 recites “a first threshold pressure difference,” claim 14 does not depend from claim 9 and thus does not incorporate that limitation.\
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-11, and 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Muller et al. (US 2020/0370801 A1).
As per claim 1, Muller et al. disclose a lubricant management system for a Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration (HVACR) system, the lubricant management system comprising:
a compressor 4 including a plurality of lubricant inlet ports (at 180a, 186a, 184a) and a plurality of lubricant outlet ports (24, 27);
a first set of orifices comprising:
a first orifice adapted to receive lubricant via a first passageway 180 (orifice at the intersection of 18 and 180);
a second orifice (orifice at the intersection of 18 and 182) adapted to receive the lubricant via a flow regulating valve 20 disposed in a second passageway 182, wherein the first passageway and the second passageway are fluidly connected (at 18);
a second set of orifices (at 180a, 186a, 184a) adapted to receive the lubricant supplied by the first passageway 180 and the second passageway 182, the second set of orifices adapted to supply the received lubricant to each of the lubricant inlet ports of the compressor 4 (Fig. 2; etc.),
wherein the flow regulating valve is adapted to open to supply the lubricant based on the pressure difference between a first pressure region P1 and a second pressure region P3 of the HVACR system (para. 0031; etc.).
As pe claim 3, Muller et al. disclose wherein the first pressure P1 region is a region upstream of the first set of orifices and the flow regulating valve (Fig. 2).
As per claim 5, Muller et al. disclose wherein the flow regulating valve is adapted to open to supply the lubricant based on the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system exceeding a first threshold pressure difference (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 6, Muller et al. disclose wherein the flow regulating valve is adapted to open to supply the lubricant based on the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system falling below a second threshold pressure difference (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 7, Muller et al. disclose wherein the flow regulating valve is adapted to close based on the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system ranging between the second threshold pressure difference and the first threshold pressure difference (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 8, Muller et al. disclose a method for optimizing supply of a lubricant to a compressor of a Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration (HVACR) system, the method comprising: providing a lubricant management system comprising a compressor 4, a first set of orifices (at intersection of 18 and 180 and intersection of 18 and 182), a second set of orifices (at 180a,186a, 184a), and a flow regulating valve 20; and selectively actuating the flow regulating valve to open to supply lubricant based on the pressure difference between a first pressure region P1 and a second pressure region P3 of the HVACR system (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 9, Muller et al. disclose wherein selectively actuating the flow regulating valve to open to supply the lubricant comprises: determining whether the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system exceeds a first threshold pressure difference; and actuating the flow regulating valve to supply the lubricant (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 10, Muller et al. disclose wherein selectively actuating the flow regulating valve to open to supply the lubricant comprises: determining whether the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system falls below a second threshold pressure difference; and actuating the flow regulating valve to supply the lubricant (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
As per claim 11, Muller et al. disclose wherein the first pressure region is a region upstream of the first set of orifices and the flow regulating valve (Fig. 2).
As per claim 14, wherein the flow regulating valve is adapted to close based on the pressure difference between the first pressure region and the second pressure region of the HVACR system ranging between the second threshold pressure difference and the first threshold pressure difference (paras. 0031-0037; etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al..
As per claims 2 and 13, Muller et al. do not teach wherein the opening of the second orifice is greater than the opening of the first orifice. However, the relative sizing of components is considered a simple mechanical expedient arrived at through routine experimentation that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application for the purpose of optimizing respective flow volumes.
As per claims 4 and 12, Muller et al. does not disclose wherein the second pressure region P3 is a region downstream of each of the second set of orifices (Fig. 2). However, the orifice connections of Muller et al. are simply connection points and do not themselves affect the pressure of the fluid. As such, it would have been an obvious matter to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application involving a simple rearrangement of existing parts to move the pressure sensor P3 to a position downstream of the orifices without affecting the detected pressure value or the basic functioning of the system.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763