DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-11, 13-20, and 23-30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 appears to be lacking punctuation (a comma) at the end of the preamble. For example, it is recommended that Claim 3 is amended to “The quick-connection assembly of claim 1,”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 4-11, 13-20, and 23-30 are similarly objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-21, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the airframe, fuselage, or payload enclosure” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “an airframe, a fuselage, or a payload enclosure”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 12 and 21 are similarly rejected. Claims 3-11, 13-20, and 23-30 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 1 recites “a first mechanical connector portion configured to be coupled to a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle, wherein the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle is a panel assembly that includes interconnected panels forming part of the airframe, fuselage, or payload enclosure…”. This limitation is indefinite because “a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle” has not been positively claimed, for example, Examiner notes that claim 1 relates to “a quick-connection assembly”… “configured to be coupled to a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle…”, which includes functional language (“configured to be coupled to…”) and does not positively claim the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle. It is unclear how limiting the quick-connection assembly in relation to the structure of the portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle, such as “a panel assembly that includes interconnected panels…” serves to further limit the claim. What features of the quick-connection assembly and first mechanical connector portion make the connector portion “configured to be coupled to…interconnected panels…”, for example? Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of examination, the first mechanical connector portion is interpreted as needing to be “capable of” coupling to the claimed portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle. Claim 12 and 21 are similarly rejected. Claims 3-11, 13-20, and 23-30 fail to cure the deficiency.
Claim 3 recites “the first mechanical connector portion is configured to be coupled to a frame assembly of the unmanned aerial vehicle.” This is indefinite because parent claim 1 requires the first mechanical connector portion “is configured to be coupled to…a panel assembly that includes interconnected panels…”, and it is unclear how the first mechanical portion can be configured to be coupled to a frame assembly in addition to the interconnected panels. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 23 is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-13, 15-21, 23-24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kozlenko et al. (US 20240228076 A1), hereafter Kozlenko.
Regarding Claim 1, Kozlenko discloses a quick-connection assembly (Fig. 9) comprising:
a first mechanical connector portion (926, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle (exterior of 100, Fig. 4, additionally see para. [0114], examiner notes 926 is analogous to bottom attachment interface 234 which is coupled to exterior of 100), wherein the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle is a panel assembly (panels surrounding exterior of 100, Figs. 1, 2, and 4) that includes interconnected panels forming part of the airframe, fuselage, or payload enclosure of the unmanned aerial vehicle (panels forming the exterior of 100, Fig. 4, which includes panels covering 120, 124, and elements of housing 302, for example, making the first mechanical connector portion capable of this function);
a second mechanical connector portion (bottom of 900 including 946, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to an unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0112]);
wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are configured to be releasably mechanically couplable, thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably mechanically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113]-[0114], “removably coupled”).
Regarding Claim 3, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1 wherein the first mechanical connector portion is configured to be coupled to a frame assembly of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Fig. 2 and para. [0094], “bottom attachment surface 236 may be…integrally formed with, a portion of the housing 302 of the UAV 100”, examiner notes the housing of the UAV would be inherently coupled, even if indirectly, to the frame of the UAV, rendering Kozlenko’s first mechanical connector portion clearly capable of this function).
Regarding Claim 4, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1 wherein the first mechanical connector portion and/or the second mechanical connector portion includes one or more of:
a hook and latch system;
a magnetic fastener system (para. [0122], “magnets”);
a suction cup mount system;
a clamp and grip fastener system;
a quick-release pin / fastener system;
a rail and track mounting system (para. [0122], ‘rail systems”);
a threaded and bolt-on bracket system (para. [0122], “bolts, screws”); and
an interlocking / snap-fit system (para. [0122], “press-fit”).
Regarding Claim 6, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory is configured to utilized for one or more of:
high voltage power line maintenance;
firefighting;
disaster relief;
park-and-takeoff intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance;
construction;
contested logistics;
agricultural spraying;
personnel deployment;
casualty evacuation;
medical evacuation;
drone swarm deployment;
robotic systems testing;
infrared / camera reconnaissance (para. [0123], “IR attachment may include one or more cameras…to provide panoramic view of an environment surrounding the UAV”);
anti-drone lasers;
target lasing; and
RF jamming.
Regarding Claim 7, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory includes one or more of:
a visible light camera (para. [0123], “visible light camera”);
a thermal imaging camera;
a lighting system (para. [0119], “spotlight attachment”);
a weapon system;
a laser system;
a cargo bin / net;
a cable-based deployment system;
a rescue basket;
a plurality of swarm drones;
a fire retardant deployment system; and
an aerosol discharge system.
Regarding Claim 8, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1 further comprising:
a first electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (connector port 950, Fig. 9);
a second electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (connector 922, Fig. 9);
wherein the first electrical connector portion and the second electrical connector portion are configured to be releasably electrically couplable (para. [0113]), thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably electrically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113] and [0115]).
Regarding Claim 9, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 8 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide electrical power to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 8 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide one or more control signals to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0129], “communication between the…attachment…and…the UAV” and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 8 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion includes one or more of:
a JST GH connector;
a QS8 connector;
a serial bus connector;
a parallel bus connector;
a USB connector (para. [0085], “universal serial bus (USB) connector”); and
an RJ45 connector.
Regarding Claim 12, Kozlenko discloses a quick-connection assembly (Fig. 9) comprising:
a first mechanical connector portion (926, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle (exterior of 100, Fig. 4, additionally see para. [0114], examiner notes 926 is analogous to bottom attachment interface 234 which is coupled to exterior 100);
a second mechanical connector portion (bottom of 900 including 946, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to an unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0112]), wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are configured to be releasably mechanically couplable, thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably mechanically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113]-[0114], “removably coupled”); and
wherein the first mechanical connector portion is configured to be coupled to a panel assembly that includes interconnected panels forming part of the airframe, fuselage, or payload enclosure of the unmanned aerial vehicle (panels forming the exterior of 100, Fig. 4, which includes panels covering 120, 124, and elements of housing 302, for example, making the first mechanical connector portion capable of this function).
Regarding Claim 13, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 12 wherein the first mechanical connector portion and/or the second mechanical connector portion includes one or more of:
a hook and latch system;
a magnetic fastener system (para. [0122], “magnets”);
a suction cup mount system;
a clamp and grip fastener system ;
a quick-release pin / fastener system;
a rail and track mounting system (para. [0122], ‘rail systems”);
a threaded and bolt-on bracket system (para. [0122], “bolts, screws”); and
an interlocking / snap-fit system (para. [0122], “press-fit”).
Regarding Claim 15, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 12 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory is configured to utilized for one or more of:
high voltage power line maintenance;
firefighting;
disaster relief;
park-and-takeoff intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance;
construction;
contested logistics;
agricultural spraying;
personnel deployment;
casualty evacuation;
medical evacuation;
drone swarm deployment;
robotic systems testing;
infrared / camera reconnaissance (para. [0123], “IR attachment may include one or more cameras…to provide panoramic view of an environment surrounding the UAV”);
anti-drone lasers;
target lasing; and
RF jamming.
Regarding Claim 16, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 12 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory includes one or more of:
a visible light camera (para. [0123], “visible light camera”);
a thermal imaging camera;
a lighting system (para. [0119], “spotlight attachment”);
a weapon system;
a laser system;
a cargo bin / net;
a cable-based deployment system;
a rescue basket;
a plurality of swarm drones;
a fire retardant deployment system; and
an aerosol discharge system.
Regarding Claim 17, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 12 further comprising:
a first electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (connector port 950, Fig. 9);
a second electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (connector 922, Fig. 9);
wherein the first electrical connector portion and the second electrical connector portion are configured to be releasably electrically couplable, thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably electrically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113]), thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably electrically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113] and [0115]).
Regarding Claim 18, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 17 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide electrical power to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 17 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide one or more control signals to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0129], “communication between the…attachment…and…the UAV” and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 20, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 17 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion includes one or more of:
a JST GH connector;
a QS8 connector;
a serial bus connector;
a parallel bus connector;
a USB connector (para. [0085], “universal serial bus (USB) connector”); and
an RJ45 connector.
Regarding Claim 21, Kozlenko discloses a quick-connection assembly comprising:
a first mechanical connector portion (926, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to a portion of an unmanned aerial vehicle (exterior of 100, Fig. 4, additionally see para. [0114], examiner notes 926 is analogous to bottom attachment interface 234 which is coupled to exterior of 100), wherein the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle is a panel assembly that includes interconnected panels forming part of the airframe, fuselage, or payload enclosure of the unmanned aerial vehicle (panels forming the exterior of 100, Fig. 4, which includes panels covering 120, 124, and elements of housing 302, for example, making the first mechanical connector portion capable of this function);
a second mechanical connector portion (bottom of 900 including 946, Fig. 9) configured to be coupled to an unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (900, Fig. 9, and para. [0112]), wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are configured to be releasably mechanically couplable, thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably mechanically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113]-[0114], “removably coupled”);
a first electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the portion of the unmanned aerial vehicle (connector port 950, Fig. 9); and
a second electrical connector portion configured to be coupled to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (connector 922, Fig. 9), wherein the first electrical connector portion and the second electrical connector portion are configured to be releasably electrically couplable (para. [0113]), thus enabling the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory to be releasably electrically attachable to the unmanned aerial vehicle (para. [0113] and [0115]).
Regarding Claim 23, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the first mechanical connector portion is configured to be coupled to a frame assembly of the unmanned aerial vehicle (Fig. 2 and para. [0094], “bottom attachment surface 236 may be…integrally formed with, a portion of the housing 302 of the UAV 100”, examiner notes the housing of the UAV would be inherently coupled, even if indirectly, to the frame of the UAV, rendering Kozlenko’s first mechanical connector portion clearly capable of this function).
Regarding Claim 24, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the first mechanical connector portion and/or the second mechanical connector portion includes one or more of:
a hook and latch system;
a magnetic fastener system (para. [0122], “magnets”);
a suction cup mount system;
a clamp and grip fastener system ;
a quick-release pin / fastener system;
a rail and track mounting system (para. [0122], ‘rail systems”);
a threaded and bolt-on bracket system (para. [0122], “bolts, screws”); and
an interlocking / snap-fit system (para. [0122], “press-fit”).
Regarding Claim 26, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory is configured to utilized for one or more of:
high voltage power line maintenance;
firefighting;
disaster relief;
park-and-takeoff intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance;
construction;
contested logistics;
agricultural spraying;
personnel deployment;
casualty evacuation;
medical evacuation;
drone swarm deployment;
robotic systems testing;
infrared / camera reconnaissance (para. [0123], “IR attachment may include one or more cameras…to provide panoramic view of an environment surrounding the UAV”);
anti-drone lasers;
target lasing; and
RF jamming.
Regarding Claim 27, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory includes one or more of:
a visible light camera (para. [0123], “visible light camera”);
a thermal imaging camera;
a lighting system (para. [0119], “spotlight attachment”);
a weapon system;
a laser system;
a cargo bin / net;
a cable-based deployment system;
a rescue basket;
a plurality of swarm drones;
a fire retardant deployment system; and
an aerosol discharge system.
Regarding Claim 28, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide electrical power to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0077]).
Regarding Claim 29, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion are configured to provide one or more control signals to the unmanned aerial vehicle accessory (para. [0129], “communication between the…attachment…and…the UAV” and Fig. 13).
Regarding Claim 30, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21 wherein the first electrical connector portion and/or the second electrical connector portion includes one or more of:
a JST GH connector;
a QS8 connector;
a serial bus connector;
a parallel bus connector;
a USB connector (para. [0085], “universal serial bus (USB) connector”); and
an RJ45 connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozlenko as applied to above, and further in view of Herlihy et al. (US 20240411707 A1), hereafter Herlihy.
Regarding Claim 5, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 1, wherein the first mechanical connect portion and the second mechanical connect portion are decouplable (para. [0115]).
While Kozlenko discloses remote control of the first and second mechanical connector portions (para. [0132]-[0134]), Kozlenko is silent about wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are remotely decouplable.
Herlihy teaches remotely decoupling (para. [0042], “release…peripheral device 552 in response to a command (e.g., from a remote control)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second mechanical connector portions of Kozlenko to be remotely decouplable, as taught by Herlihy, with a reasonable expectation of success, so the unmanned aerial vehicle can be adapted to carry a payload that can be dropped in response to a command (Herlihy, para. [0020]), for device or supply delivery, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 12.
Kozlenko is silent about wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are remotely decouplable.
Herlihy teaches remotely decoupling (para. [0042], “release…peripheral device 552 in response to a command (e.g., from a remote control)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second mechanical connector portions of Kozlenko to be remotely decouplable, as taught by Herlihy, with a reasonable expectation of success, so the unmanned aerial vehicle can be adapted to carry a payload that can be dropped in response to a command (Herlihy, para. [0020]), for device or supply delivery, for example.
Regarding Claim 25, Kozlenko discloses the quick-connection assembly of claim 21.
Kozlenko is silent about wherein the first mechanical connector portion and the second mechanical connector portion are remotely decouplable.
Herlihy teaches remotely decoupling (para. [0042], “release…peripheral device 552 in response to a command (e.g., from a remote control)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first and second mechanical connector portions of Kozlenko to be remotely decouplable, as taught by Herlihy, with a reasonable expectation of success, so the unmanned aerial vehicle can be adapted to carry a payload that can be dropped in response to a command (Herlihy, para. [0020]), for device or supply delivery, for example.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon a new interpretation of the prior art, and therefore does not rely on the same elements applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 5, 14, and 25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s argument on Pg. 16 of Remarks:
“Applicant’s first and second mechanical connector portions are different from the lugs of Herlihy…the lugs are not attached to the equivalent part or part of the UAV, rather they are attached to the MRD 550, which is then attached by additional mechanical connections to the UAV.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, Herlihy is only used to teach the “remotely decouplable” feature, not the structure of the first or second connector portions. Therefore, Examiner maintains that Kozlenko in view of Herlihy teaches the combined limitations of Claims 5, 14, and 25.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA L. GORDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642