DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the arms and cup shaft” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitation in claim 10 of “a hub” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted that applicant’s specification (Para. 0035) discloses: “the other of the arms, 128b in this example, may be mounted on a rotatable hub within the housing (not shown)”. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lynch (20110118041).
Regarding claim 10, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches a golf system for use at a cup on a green of a golf hole, the golf system comprising: a ball-catching golf cup device configured to be mounted at the cup on the green (Para. 0023, 0025), the ball-catching golf cup device comprising: a hub (105) (Para. 0022), a first arm (106) extending from the hub, a second arm (107) extending from the hub and forming an angle with the first arm.
It is noted that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “the arms together configured to catch a putted ball and guide the putted ball into the cup” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (See: Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See: Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
Regarding claim 16, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches the ball-catching golf cup device (Fig. 1, Part No. 100) is configured to be rotatable about 360 degrees to be positioned to face an incoming putted ball (Para. 0023, 0025).
It is note that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “configured to be rotatable about 360 degrees to be positioned to face an incoming putted ball” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches the first (106) and second (107) arms of ball-catching golf cup device are configured with a variable angle with respect to each other (Para. 0027) to be wider or narrower (Para. 0027).
It is note that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “to be wider and catch more putted balls or narrower and catch less putted balls” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (20030032491) in view of Lynch (20110118041).
Regarding claim 1, Graham (Figure 3) teaches a golf system, comprising: a golf hole comprising: a fairway (Fig. 3, Part No. 12) (Para. 0015), a first set of one or more tee boxes (Fig. 3, Part No. 28) (Para. 0022) at one end of the hole and spaced from the fairway (12), a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16); and a second set of one or more tee boxes (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) (Para. 0022) in the fairway and closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes (28).
Graham does not teach a ball-catching golf cup device configured to be mounted at the cup on the green, the ball-catching golf cup device comprising a pair of arms for guiding putted balls into the cup.
Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball-catching golf cup device (Fig. 1, Part No. 100) configured to be mounted at the cup on the green (Para. 0023, 0025), the ball-catching golf cup device comprising a pair of arms (Fig. 1, Part No. 107, 106) (Para. 0022-0023) for guiding putted balls into the cup.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Graham with a ball-catching golf cup device configured to be mounted at the cup on the green as taught by Lynch as a means of providing a golf hole on a green with a device that provides the golfer with an easily recognizable focal point at which to aim their stroke/shot (Lynch: Para. 0025).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches the second set of one or more tee boxes comprise a single tee box (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) positioned a distance (18p) (Para. 0022) from the green (though a specific distance is not disclosed).
The modified Graham does not teach a single tee box positioned 150 yards from the green.
It is noted that the prior art of Graham teaches placing different tee boxes at different positions/distances for the purpose of “providing a different level of difficulty for the user” (Graham: Para. 0022). It is noted that Graham teaches a single tee box positioned a distance (18p) (Para. 0022) from the green (though a specific distance is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a single tee box positioned 150 yards from the green as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches the second set of one or more tee boxes comprise a single tee box (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) positioned closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes (28).
The modified Graham does not teach a single tee box positioned between 25% and 75% closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes.
It is noted that the prior art of Graham teaches placing different tee boxes at different positions/distances for the purpose of “providing a different level of difficulty for the user” (Graham: Para. 0022). It is noted that Graham teaches a single tee box (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) positioned closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes (28) (though a specific distance is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a single tee box positioned between 25% and 75% closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches the second set of one or more tee boxes comprise a single tee box (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) positioned closer to the green (14) than the first set of one or more tee boxes (28).
The modified Graham does not teach a single tee box positioned 50% closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes.
It is noted that the prior art of Graham teaches placing different tee boxes at different positions/distances for the purpose of “providing a different level of difficulty for the user” (Graham: Para. 0022). It is noted that Graham teaches a single tee box (Fig. 3, Part No. 18) positioned closer to the green (14) than the first set of one or more tee boxes (28) (though a specific distance is not disclosed). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a single tee box positioned 50% closer to the green than the first set of one or more tee boxes as a means of finding optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (See: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16).
The modified Graham does not teach the ball-catching golf cup device is configured to be rotatable about 360 degrees to be positioned to face an incoming putted ball.
Lynch teaches the ball-catching golf cup device (Fig. 1, Part No. 100) is configured to be rotatable about 360 degrees to be positioned to face an incoming putted ball (Para. 0023, 0025).
It is note that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “configured to be rotatable about 360 degrees to be positioned to face an incoming putted ball” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a ball-catching golf cup device as taught by Lynch as a means of providing a golf hole on a green with a device that provides the golfer with an easily recognizable focal point at which to aim their stroke/shot (Lynch: Para. 0025).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16).
The modified Graham does not teach the arms of ball-catching golf cup device are configured with a variable angle with respect to each other to be wider and catch more putted balls or narrower and catch less putted balls.
Lynch teaches the arms (107, 106) of the ball-catching golf cup device (Fig. 1, Part No. 100) are configured with a variable angle with respect to each other (Para. 0027) to be wider or narrower (Para. 0027).
It is note that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “configured with a variable angle with respect to each other to be wider and catch more putted balls or narrower and catch less putted balls” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a ball-catching golf cup device as taught by Lynch as a means of providing a golf hole on a green with a device that provides the golfer with an easily recognizable focal point at which to aim their stroke/shot (Lynch: Para. 0025).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16).
The modified Graham does not teach at least one of the arms or cup shaft are collapsible so that the arms and cup shaft align parallel to each other.
Lynch teaches the arms (107, 106) of the ball-catching golf cup device (Fig. 1, Part No. 100) are configured with a variable angle with respect to each other (Para. 0027) to be wider or narrower (Para. 0027).
It is note that the prior art of Lynch is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “configured with a variable angle with respect to each other to be wider and catch more putted balls or narrower and catch less putted balls” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a ball-catching golf cup device as taught by Lynch as a means of providing a golf hole on a green with a device that provides the golfer with an easily recognizable focal point at which to aim their stroke/shot (Lynch: Para. 0025).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham in view of Lynch, further in view of Duganne (2041119).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16).
The modified Graham does not teach the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a ferrule for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup.
Duganne (Figures 1-5) teaches the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a ferrule (Fig. 2, Part No. 2) for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup (Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 41-50; Page 2, Col. 1, Lines 14-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a ferrule for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup as taught by Duganne as a means of mounting a golf ball guide apparatus over a golf cup using a ferrule (Duganne: Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 41-50; Page 2, Col. 1, Lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Graham (Figure 3) teaches a green (Fig. 3, Part No. 14) (Para. 0015) at a second end of the hole, the green comprising a cup (16).
The modified Graham does not teach the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a mounting bracket for mounting to a conventional golf pin seated within the cup.
Duganne (Figures 1-5) teaches the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a mounting bracket (Fig. 3, Part No. 5) (Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 5-8).
It is noted that the prior art of Duganne is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “for mounting to a conventional golf pin seated within the cup” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (See: Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See: Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Graham with a mounting bracket as taught by Duganne as a means of providing a golf ball guide apparatus with a bracket located over a golf cup (Duganne: Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 5-8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of Johnson (5320355).
Regarding claim 11, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches the first and second arms (106, 107) comprises a members having straight sections to catch and dampen putted balls.
Lynch does not teach the first and second arms comprises a tubular members.
It is noted that the claim recitation of “the first and second arms comprises a tubular members” is directed to the shape of the first and second arms. Changing the shape of the arms of Lynch would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a means of mere design choice (See: In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), where the court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant). As an alternative rejection, the prior art of Johnson is being used to teach the claimed tubular members.
Johnson (Figures 1-3) teaches the first and second arms (12, 14) comprises a tubular members (Col. 2, Lines 9-12) having straight sections.
It is noted that the prior art of Johnson is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “to catch and dampen putted balls” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lynch with the first and second arms comprises tubular members as taught by Johnson as a means of as a means of providing guide arms of a golf shot training apparatus with a tubular shape (Johnson: Col. 2, Lines 9-12).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of Duganne (2041119).
Regarding claim 14, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball-catching golf cup device configured to be mounted at the cup on the green (Para. 0023, 0025).
Lynch does not teach the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a ferrule for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup.
Duganne (Figures 1-5) teaches the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a ferrule (Fig. 2, Part No. 2) for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup (Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 41-50; Page 2, Col. 1, Lines 14-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lynch with a ferrule for mounting the ball-catching golf cup device at a bottom of the cup as taught by Duganne as a means of mounting a golf ball guide apparatus over a golf cup using a ferrule (Duganne: Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 41-50; Page 2, Col. 1, Lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 15, Lynch (Figures 1-5) teaches a ball-catching golf cup device configured to be mounted at the cup on the green (Para. 0023, 0025).
Lynch does not teach the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a mounting bracket for mounting to a pin seated within the cup.
Duganne (Figures 1-5) teaches the ball-catching golf cup device comprises a mounting bracket (Fig. 3, Part No. 5) (Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 5-8).
It is noted that the prior art of Duganne is fully capable of performing the claim recitation of “for mounting to a conventional golf pin seated within the cup” as the recited limitation is directed to the intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (See: Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See: Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lynch with a mounting bracket as taught by Duganne as a means of providing a golf ball guide apparatus with a bracket located over a golf cup (Duganne: Page 1, Col. 2, Lines 5-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record (Graham (20030032491), Lynch (20110118041), Duganne (2041119), Johnson (5320355), Potter (6923730), Tucker (6001033)) does not teach the recitation in claim 12 of “at least one of the first and second arms comprise: a ramp, a track, and rear wall, wherein the ramp is configured to catch and feed putted balls into the track, the rear wall is configured to redirect putted balls into the track, and the track is sloped to direct putted balls into the cup”.
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711