Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on February 04, 2025.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), which the certified copy has been placed in the file of the record.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 12/30/2025 and 02/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5.Drawings submitted on 02/04/2025 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17-18 should be dependent from claim 16 because it properly align with the elements that are recited therein. Otherwise, applicant should correct all the antecedent basis informalities such as “the first voltage limiting circuit”, “the first controllable switch”, “the second controllable switch” and “the control terminal” respectively. For the purpose of this examination, examiner believes that claims 17-18 should be dependent on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4,6,13,15,17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (a)(2) as being anticipated by Saliva “ 20240072674”.
In re to claim 1, Saliva discloses a power supply control circuit (voltage supply circuit 112) for an isolated switching circuit (Figs. 1-6: isolated power converter 100) isolated power converter includes , comprising: a first voltage output circuit (Fig.6: D1, D6, C2 and C3) configured to receive a first auxiliary winding voltage (voltage ‘VP2’ across the first auxiliary winding P2, see parag. 0015) from a first auxiliary winding of the isolated switching circuit (P2) , and to provide a first voltage indicating (VCC1) an input voltage of the isolated switching circuit based on the first auxiliary winding voltage (see parag.0025);
a second voltage output circuit (D2 and C4) configured to receive a second auxiliary winding voltage (a voltage ‘VP3’ across the second auxiliary winding P3 of the transformer 102, see prag. 0015) from a second auxiliary winding of the isolated switching circuit (P3) , and to provide a second voltage (VCC2) indicating an output voltage of the isolated switching circuit based on the second auxiliary winding voltage (see prag.0023) ; and
a power supply voltage output circuit (voltage supply selector 201) coupled to the first voltage output circuit (Fig.2-5: D1& C2-C3 ) and the second voltage output circuit (C4 and D2) , wherein the power supply voltage output circuit (201) is configured to provide a power supply voltage (VCC) based on the first voltage and the second voltage (VCC1 and VCC2) .
In re to claim 4, Saliva discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the first voltage output circuit comprises: a first switch (D1) coupled between the first auxiliary winding (P2) of the isolated switching circuit and an output terminal of the first voltage output circuit (Figs. 1-5: VCC1) ; and a first capacitor (C3) coupled between the output terminal of the first voltage output circuit (C3 is coupled to VCC1 through C2) and a primary ground (ground ).
In re to claim 6, Saliva discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the second voltage output circuit (D2 and C4) comprises: a third switch (D2) coupled between the second auxiliary winding (P3) of the isolated switching circuit and an output terminal of the second voltage output circuit (VCC2) ; and a second capacitor (C4) coupled between the output terminal of the second voltage output circuit (VCC2) and primary ground (ground).
In re to claim 13, Saliva discloses an isolated switching circuit (Figs. 1-6: an isolated power converter 100), comprising: a transformer (102) having a primary winding (P1) , a secondary winding (S1) , a first auxiliary winding (P2) and a second auxiliary winding (P3) ; a first primary switch Q1) coupled between an input terminal of the isolated switching circuit (Vin) and a switching terminal (Vpri) ;
a second primary switch (Q2) coupled between the switching terminal (Vpri) and a primary ground (ground) ;
a resonant capacitor (C1) coupled in series with the primary winding (P1) ;a switching control circuit (controller 102) configured to control the first primary switch and the second primary switch (Q1 and Q2) ; and
a power supply control circuit (voltage supply selector 201) configured to provide a power supply voltage to the switching control circuit (VCC) , wherein the power supply control circuit (201) comprises:
a first voltage output circuit (Fig.6: D1, D6, C2 and C3) configured to receive a first auxiliary winding voltage (voltage ‘VP2’ across the first auxiliary winding P2, see prag.0015) and to provide a first voltage indicating (VCC1) an input voltage of the isolated switching circuit based on the first auxiliary winding voltage (see parag.0025);
a second voltage output circuit (D2 and C4) configured to receive a second auxiliary winding voltage (a voltage ‘VP3’ across the second auxiliary winding P3 of the transformer 102, see prag. 0015 ) and to provide a second voltage (VCC2) indicating an output voltage of the isolated switching circuit based on the second auxiliary winding voltage (see prag.0023) ; and
a power supply voltage output circuit (voltage supply selector 201) coupled to the first voltage output circuit (Fig.2-5: D1& C2 ) and the second voltage output circuit (C4 and D2) , wherein the power supply voltage output circuit is configured to provide a power supply voltage (VCC) based on the first voltage and the second voltage (VCC1 and VCC2) .
In re to claim 15, Saliva discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the second voltage output circuit (D2 and C4) comprises: a third switch (D2) coupled between the second auxiliary winding (P3) and an output terminal of the second voltage output circuit (VCC2) ; and a second capacitor (C4) coupled between the output terminal of the second voltage output circuit (VCC2) and primary ground (ground).
In re to claim 17, Saliva discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the first voltage limiting circuit (Fig. 6; Zener Z1 and resistor R2 ) comprises: a first zener diode (Z1) coupled between the primary ground (G) and the control terminal of the first controllable switch (G_Q3 of Q3) ; and
a first protection resistor (R2) coupled between an output terminal of the second voltage output circuit (VCC2) and the control terminal of the first controllable switch (G_Q3).
In re to claim 19 , Saliva discloses a method for providing a power supply voltage for an isolated switching circuit (Figs. 1-6: providing VCC to controller 102 for isolated power converter 100), wherein the isolated switching circuit has a primary circuit (converter stage 108 on the left side of transformer 102) , a secondary circuit (116 on right side of 102) and a transformer (102) having a primary winding (P1) , a secondary winding (S1) , a first auxiliary winding (P2) and a second auxiliary winding (P3) , the method comprising:
receiving a first auxiliary winding voltage (voltage ‘VP2’ across the first auxiliary winding P2, see prag.0015) from the first auxiliary winding (P1), and providing a first voltage (provide first voltage VCC1 to the supply selector 201 ) indicating an input voltage of the isolated switching circuit based on the first auxiliary winding voltage (see parag.0025);;
receiving a second auxiliary winding voltage from the second auxiliary winding (a voltage ‘VP3’ across the second auxiliary winding P3 of the transformer 102, see prag. 0015 ), and providing a second voltage (provide second voltage VCC2 to selector 201) indicating an output voltage isolated switching circuit based on the second auxiliary winding voltage (see prag.0023); and providing the power supply voltage (VCC is providing to controller 102) based on the first voltage and the second voltage (VCC1 and VCC2) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saliva “ 20240072674” in a view of Li “20180294668”.
In re to claim 5, Saliva discloses (Figs. 1-6) wherein the first voltage output circuit (D1, D6 and C2-C3) but fails to disclose a current limiting circuit coupled in series with the first switch.
However, Li discloses transformer circuit (Figs.2-3) having first power supply circuit 11 comprise a resistor R1, diode and transistor T1 are coupled in series.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the isolated power converter of Saliva to include a resistor coupled in series with switch as taught by Li because resistor is configured to limit and regulate the flow of electrical current in a circuit to protect sensitive parts such as T1, thus improve the efficiency of the power supply.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-3,7-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is objected to because the prior art fail to disclose or suggest a power supply control circuit including the limitation of “….a second switch coupled between a primary ground and the second terminal of the first auxiliary winding capacitor…”
Claim 7 is objected to because the prior art fail to disclose or suggest a power supply control circuit including the limitation of “…a first controllable switch having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first controllable switch is coupled to the power supply capacitor and the second terminal of the first controllable switch is coupled to the first voltage output circuit to receive the first voltage; a first voltage limiting circuit configured to receive the second voltage, and to provide a first control voltage to the control terminal of the first controllable switch based on the second voltage; a second controllable switch having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second controllable switch is coupled to the power supply capacitor and the second terminal of the second controllable switch is coupled to the second voltage output circuit to receive the second voltage; and a second voltage limiting circuit configured to receive the first voltage, and to provide a second control voltage to the control terminal of the second controllable switch based on the first voltage.”
Claim 14 is objected to because the prior art fail to disclose or suggest a power supply control circuit including the limitation of “….a second switch coupled between the primary ground and the second terminal of the first auxiliary winding capacitor..”
Claim 16 is objected to because the prior art fail to disclose or suggest a power supply control circuit including the limitation of “….a first controllable switch having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first controllable switch is coupled to the power supply capacitor and the second terminal of the first controllable switch is coupled to the first voltage output circuit to receive the first voltage; a first voltage limiting circuit configured to receive the second voltage, and to provide a first control voltage to the control terminal of the first controllable switch based on the second voltage; a second controllable switch having a first terminal, a second terminal and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second controllable switch is coupled to the power supply capacitor and the second terminal of the second controllable switch is coupled to the second voltage output circuit to receive the second voltage; and a second voltage limiting circuit configured to receive the first voltage, and to provide a second control voltage to the control terminal of the second controllable switch based on the first voltage; wherein when the first voltage provided by the first voltage output circuit is greater than a first limiting voltage, the second control voltage is equal to the first limiting voltage, and when the first voltage provided by the first voltage output circuit is less than the first limiting voltage, the second control voltage is equal to the first voltage; and when the second voltage provided by the second voltage output circuit is greater than a second limiting voltage, the first control voltage is equal to the second limiting voltage, and when the second voltage provided by the second voltage output circuit is less than the second limiting voltage, the first control voltage is equal to the second voltage, wherein the first limiting voltage is less than the second limiting voltage.”
Claim 3 is dependent on claim 2, thus is also objected to because of its dependency.
Claims 8-12 are dependent on claim 7, thus are also objected to because of their dependency.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 19, thus is also objected to because of its dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fan “20220103078” the present invention generally relates to electronic circuits, and more particularly but not exclusively, to interleaved switching converters with quasi-resonant control and control methods therein.
Wang “20210184584” the present invention relates generally to electrical circuits, and more particularly, relates to power converters including a bias voltage supply circuit, and methods of supplying a bias supply voltage.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838