DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 with regards to independent claim 19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to the previous rejection of claim 19 Applicant argues that the cited reference Rahman does not teach or disclose the claim limitations “wherein each data entry of the plurality comprises a key component comprising searchable metadata for distinguishing the data entry” and “detecting, via a computing device, a subset of confidential data entries based on the key component of each data entry of the subset; and storing, via the computing device, the subset of data entries in a confidential storage, wherein the confidential storage complies with a regulation governing the management of confidential health records.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees as Rahman in paragraph 0059 discloses that the exchanged data can include personal physiological data, thus the personal physiological data can read on the claimed key component that comprises searchable metadata for distinguishing the data entry. Paragraph 0060 further discloses “Some or all data captured may be personal, sensitive, or confidential and various techniques for providing secure storage and access may be implemented. For example, various types of security protocols and algorithms may be used to encode data stored or accessed by bands 104-112. Examples of security protocols and algorithms include authentication, encryption, encoding, private and public key infrastructure, passwords, checksums, hash codes and hash functions (e.g., SHA, SHA-1, MD-5, and the like), or others may be used to prevent undesired access to data captured by bands 104-112”, thus the personal physiological data (key component) can be securely stored based on the security protocols disclosed in paragraph 0060, thus storing, via the computing device, the subset of data entries in a confidential storage, wherein the confidential storage complies with a regulation governing the management of confidential health records (security protocols disclosed in paragraph 0060). Therefore the rejection of claim 19 is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al (pub #20120316406) in view of Messingher et al (pub # 20180260025) and further in view of Wood et al (pub # 20140238153).
Consider claim 19. Rahman et al teaches A method of managing health records using a wearable article (paragraph 0057, Using data gathered by bands 104-112, applications may be used to perform various analyses and evaluations that can generate information as to a person's physical (e.g., healthy, sick, weakened, or other states, or activity level), emotional, or mental state (e.g., an elevated body temperature or heart rate may indicate stress, a lowered heart rate and skin temperature, or reduced movement (excessive sleeping), may indicate physiological depression caused by exertion or other factors, chemical data gathered from evaluating outgassing from the skin's surface may be analyzed to determine whether a person's diet is balanced or if various nutrients are lacking, salinity detectors may be evaluated to determine if high, lower, or proper blood sugar levels are present for diabetes management, and others). Generally, bands 104-112 may be configured to gather from sensors locally and remotely). comprising
a flexible circuit, (Fig. 7A and paragraph 0089, band 700 includes framework 702, covering 704, flexible circuit 706).
the method comprising:
generating, via the wearable article, a plurality of data entries, (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0058, band 104 may capture (i.e., record, store, communicate (i.e., send or receive), process, or the like) data from various sources (i.e., sensors that are organic (i.e., installed, integrated, or otherwise implemented with band 104) or distributed (e.g., microphones on mobile computing device 115, mobile communications device 118, computer 120, laptop 122, distributed sensor 124, global positioning system ("GPS") satellites (in low, mid, or high earth orbit), or others, without limitation)) and exchange data with one or more of bands 106-112, server 114, mobile computing device 115, mobile communications device 118, computer 120, laptop 122, and distributed sensor 124.).
wherein each data entry of the plurality comprises a key component comprising searchable metadata for distinguishing the data entry; (paragraph 0059, bands 104-112 may be configured to share data with each other or with an intermediary facility, such as a database, website, web service, or the like, which may be implemented by server 114. In some embodiments, server 114 can be operated by a third party providing, for example, social media-related services. Bands 104-112 and other related devices may exchange data with each other directly, or bands 104-112 may exchange data via a third party server, such as a third party like Facebook.RTM., to provide social-media related services. Examples of third party servers include servers for social networking services, including, but not limited to, services such as Facebook.RTM., Yahoo!IM.TM., GTalk.TM., MSN Messenger.TM., Twitter.RTM. and other private or public social networks. The exchanged data may include personal 20 physiological data and data derived from sensory-based user interfaces ("UI"). Server 114, in some examples, may be implemented using one or more processor-based computing devices or networks, including computing clouds, storage area networks ("SAN"), or the like. As shown, bands 104-112 may be used as a personal data or area network (e.g., "PDN" or "PAN") in which data relevant to a given user or band (e.g., one or more of bands 104-112) may be shared. As shown here, bands 104 and 112 may be configured to exchange data with each other over network 102 or indirectly using server 114. Users of bands 104 and 112 may direct a web browser hosted on a computer (e.g., computer 120, laptop 122, or the like) in order to access, view, modify, or perform other operations with data captured by bands 104 and 112. For example, two runners using bands 104 and 112 may be geographically remote (e.g., users are not geographically in close proximity locally such that bands being used by each user are in direct data communication), but wish to share data regarding their race times (pre, post, or in-race), personal records (i.e., "PR"), target split times, results, performance characteristics (e.g., target heart rate, target VO.sub.2 max, and others), and other information.
detecting, via a computing device, a subset of confidential data entries based on the key component of each data entry of the subset; (paragraph 0060, Some or all data captured may be personal, sensitive, or confidential).
and storing, via the computing device, the subset of data entries in a confidential storage, wherein the confidential storage complies with a regulation governing the management of confidential health records. (paragraph 0060, Some or all data captured may be personal, sensitive, or confidential and various techniques for providing secure storage and access may be implemented. For example, various types of security protocols and algorithms may be used to encode data stored or accessed by bands 104-112. Examples of security protocols and algorithms include authentication, encryption, encoding, private and public key infrastructure, passwords, checksums, hash codes and hash functions (e.g., SHA, SHA-1, MD-5, and the like), or others may be used to prevent undesired access to data captured by bands 104-112.
Rahman et al does not specifically disclose and a value component associated with electrical parameters generated by a deformable conductor of the flexible circuit
However in an analogous art Messingher et al teaches and a value component associated with electrical parameters (paragraph 0153, a circuit for detecting pressure on a glove interface object, in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. In the illustrated embodiment, R.sub.R is a reference resistor, R.sub.P1 is a first resistor for a first pressure point, R.sub.P2 is a second resistor for a second pressure point, R.sub.PN is a n.sup.th resistor for a n.sup.th pressure point, A0 is an analog output, and 5V is a 5V power supply. Each of the pressure point resistors is a variable resistor whose resistance varies by pressure applied).
generated by a deformable conductor of the flexible circuit (Paragraph 0156, Conductive pads are located on the fingertips and the palm region of the glove interface object 600. In the illustrated embodiment, a conductive pad 602 is located on the tip of the thumb, a conductive pad 604 is located on the tip of the index finger, and a conductive pad 606 is located on the tip of the middle finger, etc. A conductive pad 608 is located on the palm of the glove interface object 600. In some embodiments, the conductive pads are defined by a conductive fabric. However, in other embodiments, any conductive material suitable for providing a conductive surface on a glove interface object may be utilized. In preferred embodiments, the conductive material is flexible and deformable).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Rahman et al with the method of Messingher et al for the purpose of enabling a user to interact with an interactive application such as a video game (Messingher et al paragraph 0010).
Rahman et al in view of Messingher et al does not specifically disclose that the conductor of the flexible circuit is a “fluid-phase” conductor as required by the claim language. However Wood et al in at least paragraph 0041 discloses an elastic strain sensor 100 that is formed from a flexible elastic substrate material 102 by molding or etching to form elongated microchannels 110 and loop portions 120. The microchannels 110 and the loop portions 120 can be filled with a conductive liquid 130 and the strain on the sensor 120 can be determined from changes in the electrical resistance of the conductive liquid 130 as the elastic material and the conducting liquid are stretched. The microchannels 110 and loop portions 120 can read on traces that are made from a deformable, fluid-phase conductor (conductive liquid 130). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the strain sensor of Wood et al with the invention of Rahman et al in view of Messingher et al in order to provide a skin that can be applied to robotic or orthopedic applications where joint position and motion sensing is needed (Wood et al paragraph 0015).
Consider claim 21. Rahman et al further teaches The method of claim 19, wherein the key component comprises a geo-location stamp (paragraph 0082, location data 510).
and a device-identifying stamp, (paragraph 0061, By evaluating captured data such as motion data from an accelerometer, biometric data such as heart rate, skin galvanic response, and other biometric data, and using analysis techniques, both long and short-term (e.g., software packages or modules of any type, without limitation), a user may have a unique pattern of behavior or motion and/or biometric responses that can be used as a signature for identification. Identifying the user using the device can read on identifying the device).
and wherein detecting the subset of confidential data entries comprises determining, via the computing device, that the geo-location stamp of each data entry of the subset identifies a doctor's office or a hospital (paragraph 0085, Here, band 539 may also be configured for medical purposes and related-types of data such as heart rate monitoring data 560, respiratory monitoring data 562, body temperature data 564, blood sugar data 566, chemical protein/analysis data 568, patient medical records data 570, and healthcare professional (e.g., doctor, physician, registered nurse, physician's assistant, dentist, orthopedist, surgeon, and others) data 572).
and that the device-identifying stamp of each data entry of the subset identifies the wearable article. (paragraph 0083, band 519 may be configured to capture types (i.e., categories) of data such as heart rate/pulse monitoring data 520, blood oxygen saturation data 522, skin temperature data 524, salinity/emission/outgassing data 526, location/GPS data 528, environmental data 530, and accelerometer data 532. As an example, a runner may use or wear band 519 to obtain data associated with his physiological condition (i.e., heart rate/pulse monitoring data 520, skin temperature, salinity/emission/outgassing data 526, among others), athletic efficiency (i.e., blood oxygen saturation data 522), and performance (i.e., location/GPS data 528 (e.g., distance or laps run), environmental data 530 (e.g., ambient temperature, humidity, pressure, and the like), accelerometer 532 (e.g., biomechanical information, including gait, stride, stride length, among others), thus the wearable article can be identified based on the type of data that it collects i.e., a heart rate monitor or an acceleramoter).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al (pub #20120316406) in view of Messingher et al (pub # 20180260025) further in view of Wood et al (pub # 20140238153) and further in view of Bachoura (pub # 20230108369).
Consider claim 20. Rahman et al in view of Messingher et al and further in view of Wood et al does not specifically disclose The method of claim 19, wherein the confidential storage is a non-fungible token hosted on a blockchain network.
However Bachoura teaches wherein the confidential storage is a non-fungible token hosted on a blockchain network. (paragraph 0012, Patient healthcare records can be stored as a non-fungible token (NFT) on the blockchain).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system and method of Rahman et al in view of Messingher et al and further in view of Wood et al with the system and method of Bachoura to allow for a “uniqueness” and help prevent duplication of patient healthcare records (Bachoura paragraph 0012).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-13, 15-18 and 22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider independent claim 1. The prior art of record does not teach or render obvious, in combination with all of the other limitations of the claim A computer-implemented method of autonomously dispositioning data generated by a wearable article in compliance with multiple application-specific requirements, the method comprising: predefining, via a processor, one or more rules by which data generated by a wearable article should be managed, wherein the one or more rules comprise definition of a triggering event and associate the triggering event with a first repository of a plurality of repositories as a destination for data generated after initiation of the triggering event; receiving, via the processor, data associated with motions of the wearable article, wherein the data comprises information associated with electrical parameters generated by a flexible circuit of the wearable article that vary with the motions of the wearable article, wherein the flexible circuit comprises a trace made from a deformable, fluid-phase conductor; detecting, via the processor, an initiation of the triggering event; and responsive to detecting the initiation of the triggering event, managing, via the processor, subsequent data generated by the wearable article, including data associated with varying electrical parameters, in accordance with the predefined one or more rules, including transmitting the subsequent data to the first repository; and when the initiation of the triggering event is not detected, managing, via the processor, data generated by the wearable article according to a default setting, including transmitting the data to a second repository of the plurality of repositories, wherein the second repository is different from the first repository.
Independent claim 13 is allowed for the same reasons as set forth in the independent claim 1.
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624