DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,244,077. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain substantially similar subject matter (see chart below).
Claims 2-13 and 15-19 are also rejected as being dependent on claims 1 and 14, and may also correspond to claims 2-12 and 14-19 of the ‘077 patent.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,244,077
1. A system comprising: a frame; a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame; at least one antenna electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range; and a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame, creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm, wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
1. A system comprising: a frame; a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame; and at least one antenna electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range, wherein the frame includes a plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations to which electrical current is routable, each of the locations radiating at different frequencies, wherein a specified location of the frame is selected from the plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations on the frame, such that electrical current is routed to the selected specified location on the frame, the specified location being selected on the frame to act as a parasitic arm that provides constructive interference within the specified frequency range, and wherein electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to the selected location on the frame to create the parasitic arm, such that the parasitic arm radiates in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to at least two different portions of the frame to create a dual parasitic arm having multiple resonances.
14. A mobile electronic device comprising: a frame; a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame; at least one antenna electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range; and a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame, creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm, wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
13. A mobile electronic device comprising: a frame; a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame; and at least one antenna electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range, wherein the frame includes a plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations to which electrical current is routable, each of the locations radiating at different frequencies, wherein a specified location of the frame is selected from the plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations on the frame, such that electrical current is routed to the selected specified location on the frame, the specified location being selected on the frame to act as a parasitic arm that provides constructive interference within the specified frequency range, and wherein electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to the selected location on the frame to create the parasitic arm, such that the parasitic arm radiates in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to at least two different portions of the frame to create a dual parasitic arm having multiple resonances.
20. A method of manufacturing comprising: providing a frame; mounting a printed circuit board (PCB) to the frame; electrically connecting at least one antenna to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range; and providing a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame, creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm, wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
20. A method of manufacturing comprising: providing a frame; mounting a printed circuit board (PCB) to the frame; and electrically connecting at least one antenna to the PCB via an antenna feed, wherein the antenna is to operate within a specified frequency range, wherein the frame includes a plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations to which electrical current is routable, each of the locations radiating at different frequencies, wherein a specified location of the frame is selected from the plurality of separate, electrically isolated locations on the frame, such that electrical current is routed to the selected specified location on the frame, the specified location being selected on the frame to act as a parasitic arm that provides constructive interference within the specified frequency range, and wherein electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to the selected location on the frame to create the parasitic arm, such that the parasitic arm radiates in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to at least two different portions of the frame to create a dual parasitic arm having multiple resonances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “insufficiently long” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “insufficiently long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Although the specified length and/or specified frequency range are given some definition and boundaries within the specification, the “insufficient” length of the antenna to operate within the specified frequency range is not defined such that one can reasonably interpret that limitation since evidence as to even what a “sufficient” length may be considered since a shorter (or insufficient) length antenna would still function. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the length of the antenna within the prior art below as being “insufficiently long” in comparison to a much larger antenna that is larger than the entire device and such that it operates and may be considered to overachieve in its radiation performance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamagajo et al. (US 2019/0341675).
In regards to claim 1, Yamagajo discloses of a system comprising: a frame (for example 55); a printed circuit board (PCB, for example 505, see Paragraphs 0049-0053) mounted to the frame (55); at least one antenna (for example see 110) electrically connected to the PCB (505) via an antenna feed (for example 111), wherein the antenna (110) is to operate within a specified frequency range (the antenna may operate in a specified range such as the examples given in Paragraphs 0058-00590, 0079, 0087-0094); and a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame (55), creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm (for example see Figs 11-13, different portions of the frame 55 create the dual parasitic arm, and Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100), wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range (for example see Paragraphs 0079, 0091-0094).
In regards to claim 6, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 1, wherein the specified frequency range in which the antenna is to operate is lower than a maximum frequency that is providable by the antenna (see range examples given in Paragraphs 0058-00590, 0079, 0087-0094).
In regards to claim 7, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 6, wherein the antenna (110) is shorter than a maximum specified length (110 is shorter than the entire length of the device which may be considered the specified length).
In regards to claim 10, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 1, wherein the dual parasitic arm of the antenna is configured to create the at least two different resonances within an ultrahigh frequency band (see examples in Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100, ranges may be considered ultrahigh in light of Applicant’s specification).
In regards to claim 11, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 1, wherein the antenna (110)) is configured to operate in a plurality of frequency bands (see examples in Figs 3-7, 11-13, 15-18 and Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100).
In regards to claim 12, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 11, wherein the antenna is configured to operate within the plurality of frequency bands and within an ultrahigh frequency band (see examples in Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100, ranges may be considered ultrahigh in light of Applicant’s specification).
In regards to claim 13, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 1, wherein the electrical current flowing to the antenna (see 210) is routed to at least three different portions of the frame (55) to create a triple parasitic arm having a plurality of resonances (for example see Figs 15-18).
In regards to claim 14, Yamagajo discloses of a mobile electronic device comprising: a frame (for example 55); a printed circuit board (PCB, for example 505, see Paragraphs 0049-0053) mounted to the frame (55); at least one antenna (for example 110) electrically connected to the PCB (505) via an antenna feed (for example 111), wherein the antenna (110) is to operate within a specified frequency range (the antenna may operate in a specified range such as the examples given in Paragraphs 0058-00590, 0079, 0087-0094); and a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame (55), creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm (for example see Figs 11-13, different portions of the frame 55 create the dual parasitic arm, and Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100), wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range (for example see Paragraphs 0079, 0091-0094).
In regards to claim 15, Yamagajo discloses of the mobile electronic device of claim 14, wherein the at least two different portions of the frame (55) to which electrical current is routed are selected to ensure that the dual parasitic arm provides constructive interference within the specified frequency range (for example see Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100).
In regards to claim 16, Yamagajo discloses of the mobile electronic device of claim 14, further comprising a chassis (for example housing 500A) that is electrically connected to the frame (55, see Fig 1 and Paragraphs 0047, 0050).
In regards to claim 17, Yamagajo discloses of the mobile electronic device of claim 16, wherein the electrical current flowing to the antenna is routed to both the chassis (505) and the frame (55) to create the dual parasitic arm, such that the chassis and the frame comprise the dual parasitic arm (see Figs 1, 3-7, 11-13, 15-18 and Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100).
In regards to claim 19, Yamagajo discloses of the mobile electronic device of claim 14, wherein the antenna (110) operates within the specified frequency range for which the antenna's length is insufficiently long without implementing frequency tuners (the antenna may operate in a specified range such as the examples given in Paragraphs 0058-00590, 0079, 0087-0094 with no included tuners).
In regards to claim 20, Yamagajo discloses of a method of manufacturing comprising: providing a frame (for example 55); mounting a printed circuit board (PCB, for example 505, see Paragraphs 0049-0053) to the frame (55); electrically connecting at least one antenna (for example 110) to the PCB (505) via an antenna feed (for example 111), wherein the antenna (110) is to operate within a specified frequency range (the antenna may operate in a specified range such as the examples given in Paragraphs 0058-00590, 0079, 0087-0094); and providing a dual parasitic arm in which electrical current is routed to at least two different portions of the frame (55), creating at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm (for example see Figs 11-13, different portions of the frame 55 create the dual parasitic arm, and Paragraphs 0067-0068, 0079, 0091-0094, 0099-0100), wherein the at least two different resonances in the dual parasitic arm radiate in conjunction with the antenna, providing constructive interference in the specified frequency range (for example see Paragraphs 0079, 0091-0094).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamagajo et al. (US 2019/0341675) in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0198975).
In regards to claim 9, Yamagajo discloses of the system of claim 1 as found within the explanation above.
However, Yamagajo does not explicitly disclose of wherein the antenna is printed on a dielectric material and is positioned on a periphery portion of the frame.
Chen discloses of a system comprising a frame (for example 120); a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame (120, see Paragraph 0026); at least one antenna (for example 140) electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed (for example 130); wherein the antenna (140) operates within a specified frequency range for which the antenna’s length is insufficiently long (for example see Paragraphs 0037-0038); wherein electrical current flowing to the antenna (130) is routed to a least a portion of the frame (120) to create a parasitic arm (including 190, see Paragraph 0035); wherein a dielectric material is positioned on a periphery portion of the frame (120, see Paragraphs 0026, 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a dielectric material on a periphery portion of the frame as taught by Chen for providing a portion of the frame that is insulated and non-conductive to the current.
In regards to claim 18, Yamagajo discloses of the mobile electronic device of claim 14 as found within the explanation above.
However, Yamagajo does not explicitly disclose of wherein the parasitic arm in the frame is L-shaped or S-shaped.
Chen discloses of a system comprising a frame (for example 120); a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted to the frame (120, see Paragraph 0026); at least one antenna (for example 140) electrically connected to the PCB via an antenna feed (for example 130); wherein the antenna (140) operates within a specified frequency range for which the antenna’s length is insufficiently long (for example see Paragraphs 0037-0038); wherein electrical current flowing to the antenna (130) is routed to a least a portion of the frame (120) to create a parasitic arm (including 190, see Paragraph 0035); wherein the parasitic arm in the frame is L-shaped (for example see 190 in Figs 1-2, 4A-4C) or S-shaped (see Paragraph 0045, the shapes are not limited to the examples illustrated, therefore, S-shaped is a possible configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the parasitic arm in an L-shape or S-shape as taught by Chen for providing improving and increasing the frequency resonant paths of the antenna device to achieve a more desired radiation operation of the antenna device.
Conclusion
/JASON M CRAWFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844