DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“pressing member” in claim 1;
“pressing urging member” in claim 1; and
“counter-urging member” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamada (US 7,080,836 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hamada discloses a sheet conveying device comprising: a first roller (5,7) and a second roller (4,6) that constitute a pair of conveying rollers rotatably disposed opposite each to convey a sheet; and at least one pressing portion 11 that presses the first roller toward the second roller at a position inward of opposite end parts of the pair of conveying rollers along an axial direction, wherein the pressing portion includes: a pressing member 13 that contacts the first roller from a side thereof opposite from the second roller; and a pressing urging member 12 that urges the pressing member toward the second roller, and the first roller has a step portion 7 that is formed in an outer circumferential part of the first roller all over a circumference thereof, the step portion having an outer diameter smaller than an outer diameter of a contact region 5 with the second roller, the step portion being contacted by the pressing member.
Regarding claim 2, Hamada discloses the sheet conveying device according to claim 1, wherein the pressing portion 11 is disposed at a middle of the pair of conveying rollers along the axial direction. See, e.g., Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 3, Hamada discloses the sheet conveying device according to claim 1, wherein with the pressing urging member 12 the pressing portion 11 urges the pressing member 13 upstream of a center axis of the second roller (4,6) in a sheet conveyance direction. See, e.g., Fig. 3a.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada.
Regarding claim 4, Hamada discloses everything claimed, except Hamada lacks the disclosure of the first roller being a driving roller that rotates by being fed with a driving force, and the second roller being a driven roller that rotates by following the first roller by staying in contact with the first roller. Hamada teaches the first roller being a follower roller, and the second roller being a driving roller. Col. 5, lines 1-12. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the first roller be a driving roller that rotates by being fed with a driving force, and the second roller be a driven roller that rotates by following the first roller by staying in contact with the first roller, as an obvious reversal of parts, in order to fit the transmission appropriately into the device.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada in view of Suzuki (US 2022/0162025 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hamada lacks the explicit disclosure of an image forming apparatus comprising the sheet conveying device according to claim 1. Suzuki teaches the use of an image forming device and image reading device together on a single body, in order to both scan and print documents. Suzuki, par. 24. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to add an image forming device to the device of Hamada, in order to both scan and print documents.
Regarding claim 7 the device of Hamada as modified by Suzuki above comprises the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the pair of conveying rollers (Hamada, 5,7 and 4,6) is a pair of registration rollers that conveys the sheet while correcting skewed conveyance of the sheet. These rollers function to correct skew, as a skewed sheet entering the nip would deskew upon the leading edge touching the nip and encountering resistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Hamada does not disclose everything claimed, including
a bush member that is supported on the body frame so as to be movable along a radial direction of the first roller, the bush member rotatably supporting the second roller; and a counter-urging member that urges the bush member in such a direction that the second roller comes closer to the first roller
in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jeong (US 2007/0069456 A1) and Yang (US 2022/0162024 A1) disclose roller pairs biased together.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759