DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,11,12,15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimishima (US 20210211021).
Regarding claim 1, Kimishima teaches:
A stator plate (3, Figs 1-13) configured to be used for at least two speed configurations, comprising:
a plurality of openings (by 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80) for insertion of fasteners, for fixing respective portions (14a-d) of the stator plate (3) to an electrical device (abstract);
wherein the openings are selectable (Figs 1, 13 show them being selectable), dependent on a speed configuration;
wherein the openings (by 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80) include:
a first set configured (any combination of 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80) for a first speed configuration, and
a second set (another combination of 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80) configured for a second speed configuration;
wherein the first and second sets are different (one may choose any combination to have 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80 being different).
Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments. Kimishima does not explicitly teach selecting fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention with fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 2/1 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, wherein the first speed configuration is a three speed configuration, or a five speed configuration, or a seven speed configuration; and the second speed configuration is a two speed configuration, or a four speed configuration, or a six speed configuration, or an eight speed configuration.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes to enable wherein the first speed configuration is a three speed configuration, or a five speed configuration, or a seven speed configuration; and the second speed configuration is a two speed configuration, or a four speed configuration, or a six speed configuration, or an eight speed configuration, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention wherein the first speed configuration is a three speed configuration, or a five speed configuration, or a seven speed configuration; and the second speed configuration is a two speed configuration, or a four speed configuration, or a six speed configuration, or an eight speed configuration.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 3/1 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes (as Kimishima teaches the use of lobes 14a-d, Fig 13)) wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 4/1 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, wherein: the first set is configured for a three lobed rotor and the second set is configured for a four lobed rotor.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes (as Kimishima teaches the use of lobes 14a-d, Fig 13)) wherein: the first set is configured for a three lobed rotor and the second set is configured for a four lobed rotor, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention wherein: the first set is configured for a three lobed rotor and the second set is configured for a four lobed rotor.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 5/1 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configuration.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of (as Kimishima teaches the use of teeth 3T and windings 5, Fig 2) further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configurationr, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configuration.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 6/1 Kimishima teaches wherein the openings include at least one common opening which is included in each of the first set and the second set (Fig 13, opening for rotor).
Regarding claim 7/1 Kimishima teaches wherein the openings include at least two common openings which are spaced apart by 120° or less angularly around the center of the stator plate (Fig 13)
Regarding claim 8/1 Kimishima teaches wherein an angular distribution of the openings is angularly asymmetric around a center of the stator plate, wherein angles between neighboring openings, with respect to the center, include a first angle and second angle which are unequal (Fig 13).
Regarding claim 11/1 Kimishima teaches wherein the openings are holes extending through the stator plate (Figs 1,2,13).
Regarding claim 12/1 Kimishima teaches further comprising: an aperture in a body; and a plurality of ears which project radially outwardly from the body; wherein each of the openings are through a corresponding ear.
Regarding claim 15, Kimishima teaches:
A stator assembly (abstract, Figs 1-13), comprising:
a stack of the stator plates (3),
the stator plates each including a plurality of openings for insertion of fasteners (by 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80),
for fixing respective portions (14a-d) of the stator plate (3) to an electrical device (abstract),
wherein the openings are selectable (Figs 1, 13 show them being selectable), dependent on a speed configuration;
the openings including a first set configured for a first speed configuration (any combination of 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80), and a second set configured for a second speed configuration (any combination of 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80),
wherein the first and second sets are different (one may choose any combination to have them being different 12a-f, 13a-f, para 30 and 14a-d, para 80);
wherein the respective portions (14a-d) of the stator plate of the stator plates (3) are aligned and the stator assembly is configured for at least one of:
selectably fixing the first set or the second set of the respective portions to the electrical device (abstract, Fig 13, para 28);
or selectably fixing the first set or the second set of the openings to the electrical device (Fig 13).
Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments. Kimishima does not explicitly teach selecting fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention with fastening holes to enable first and second speed configurations.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 16/15 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of selecting fastening holes (as Kimishima teaches the use of lobes 14a-d, Fig 13) wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention wherein: the first set is configured for accommodating a first rotor; and the second set is configured for accommodating a second rotor having a different number of lobes than the first rotor.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 17/15 Kimishima teaches the invention as discussed above, except, further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configuration.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of (as Kimishima teaches the use of teeth 3T and windings 5, Fig 2) further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configurationr, since it would depend on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kimishima to make applicant’s above claimed invention further comprising: a plurality of teeth for supporting a first windings configuration and a second windings configuration; wherein the first windings configuration is for the first speed configuration and the second windings configuration is for the second speed configuration.
The motivation to do so would be based on available space, cost, weight and cooling.
Regarding claim 18/15, Kimishima teaches wherein the openings include at least one common opening which is included in each of the first set and the second set (Fig 13, opening for rotor).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9,10,13,14 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In claim 9/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…, wherein the openings of the first set are symmetrically positioned, within an angular tolerance, about a virtual reflection plane which is perpendicular to the stator plate and intersects a geometric center of the stator plate and/or an aperture thereof; and the openings of the second set include at least one opening at an intersection, within the angular tolerance, of the virtual reflection plane and the stator plate; wherein the angular tolerance is ±15°, ±10°, ±5°, or ±2° around the center of the stator plate and/or the aperture thereof.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claim 10/9 is also allowable for depending on claim 9.
In claim 13/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…, further comprising: a plurality of fiducial marks for indicating respective portions of the stator plate for fixing to the electrical device; wherein the respective portions, for fixing, are selectable, dependent on a speed configuration; wherein the fiducial marks and respective portions each include: a first set configured for the first speed configuration, and a second set configured for the second speed configuration; wherein the first and second sets of fiducial marks are different.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claim 14/13 is also allowable for depending on claim 13.
In claim 19/15 inter alia, the specific limitations of “ further comprising: a plurality of fiducial marks for indicating respective portions of the stator plate for fixing to the electrical device; wherein the respective portions, for fixing, are selectable, dependent on a speed configuration; wherein the fiducial marks and respective portions each include: a first set configured for the first speed configuration, and a second set configured for the second speed configuration; wherein the first and second sets of fiducial marks are different.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claim 20 is allowed.
In claim 20 inter alia, the specific limitations of “ the stator plates each including a plurality of fiducial marks for indicating respective portions of the stator plate for fixing to the electrical device, wherein the respective portions, for fixing, are selectable, dependent on a speed configuration, wherein the fiducial marks and respective portions each include a first set of fiducial marks configured for the first speed configuration and a second set fiducial marks configured for the second speed configuration, wherein the first and second sets of fiducial marks are different; a rotor, and a windings configuration; wherein, at least one of: i—the stator assembly is fastened by using one of the first set or the second set of openings; wherein the fastened openings depend on the speed configuration of the resolver; or ii—the stator assembly is fastened by using one of the first set or the second set of fiducial marks and respective portions; wherein the fastened respective portions depend on the speed configuration of the resolver.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834