DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANG (US 20200274606 A1) in view of RYU (US 20150358129 A1).
For claim 1. KANG discloses (figures 7, 15, [0142], [0169], [0370], [0674]) A method performed by a first communication apparatus, comprising: receiving, from a second communication apparatus, time-related information (figure 7, [0077], [0118], [0142], [0191]-[0196] variation of number of transmission beams, [0393]-[0400], [0416], the reference signal (RS) timing and period setting T_s of RS (or CSI-RS) for transmission beams of the base station in sweep cycle) for beam failure detection and an adjustment amount ([0516], [0517], [0169], [0370], the threshold number N of Beam Failure Instances is signaled to the UE via RRC from the base station; or [0154]-[0156] configured CSI-RS resource set including a periodicity value (adjustment amount)); and performing beam failure detection in the beam failure detection interval (beam failure detection during the threshold number N of T_s intervals), wherein a length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the time-related information and the adjustment amount ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the threshold number N).
KANG does not mention for adjusting a length of a beam failure detection interval.
RYU discloses in Abstract and [0051]-[0055], the mmW base station 704 sends configuration information 722 to the eNB 702. The configuration information 722 may include information indicating a beam sweep period, a periodicity for the beam sweep, and/or a timing offset 766 from the synchronization/timing reference 768 of the eNB 702. The UE 712 may receive the configuration information in system information 736 received from the eNB 702. The anchor node 710 may increase/decrease a number of broadcast periods within each timing cycle 768 for the mmW base station 704, if the UE 712 is in a harsh wireless channel environment, the anchor node 710 may increase the periodicity of the beam sweep 720 so that best beam directions can be determined more frequently for the UE 712 and the mmW base station 704.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by RYU into the art of KANG as to adjust the beam detection interval based on the sweep cycle and the adjustable number of periods (periodicity) within each timing cycle for performing beam detection, for improving beam detection and data communication.
For claim 2. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 1, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a period of at least one beam detection signal, and the period of the at least one beam detection signal comprises a period of a beam detection signal that has a shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 3. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 2, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 4. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 2, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between a preset value and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 5. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 1, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a value associated with a subcarrier spacing; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the value associated with the subcarrier spacing ([0053], [0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 6. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 5, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times the value associated with the subcarrier spacing ([0053], [0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 7. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 2, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between is a preset value and a value associated with a subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 8. KANG discloses (figures 7, 15, [0142], [0169], [0370], [0674]) A method performed by a second communication apparatus, comprising: determining time-related information (figure 7, [0077], [0118], [0142], [0191]-[0196] variation of number of transmission beams, [0393]-[0400], [0416], the reference signal (RS) timing and period setting T_s of RS (or CSI-RS) for transmission beams of the base station in sweep cycle) for beam failure detection and an adjustment amount ([0516], [0517], [0169], [0370], the threshold number N of Beam Failure Instances is signaled to the UE via RRC from the base station; or [0154]-[0156] configured CSI-RS resource set including a periodicity value (adjustment amount)); and sending the time-related information and the adjustment amount to a first communication apparatus, wherein a length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the time-related information and the adjustment amount ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the threshold number N).
KANG does not mention for adjusting a length of a beam failure detection interval.
RYU discloses in Abstract and [0051]-[0055], the mmW base station 704 sends configuration information 722 to the eNB 702. The configuration information 722 may include information indicating a beam sweep period, a periodicity for the beam sweep, and/or a timing offset 766 from the synchronization/timing reference 768 of the eNB 702. The UE 712 may receive the configuration information in system information 736 received from the eNB 702. The anchor node 710 may increase/decrease a number of broadcast periods within each timing cycle 768 for the mmW base station 704, if the UE 712 is in a harsh wireless channel environment, the anchor node 710 may increase the periodicity of the beam sweep 720 so that best beam directions can be determined more frequently for the UE 712 and the mmW base station 704.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by RYU into the art of KANG as to adjust the beam detection interval based on the sweep cycle and the adjustable number of periods (periodicity) within each timing cycle for performing beam detection, for improving beam detection and data communication.
For claim 9. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 8, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a period of at least one beam detection signal, and the period of the at least one beam detection signal comprises a period of a beam detection signal that has a shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 10. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 9, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 11. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 9, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between a preset value and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 12. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 8, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a value associated with a subcarrier spacing; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the value associated with the subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 13. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 12, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times the value associated with the subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 14. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the method according to claim 9, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between a preset value and a value associated with a subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 15. KANG discloses (figures 7, 15, [0142], [0169], [0370], [0674]) A first communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured with processor-executable instructions to perform operations including comprising: receiving, from a second communication apparatus, time-related information (figure 7, [0077], [0118], [0142], [0191]-[0196] variation of number of transmission beams, [0393]-[0400], [0416], the reference signal (RS) timing and period setting T_s of RS (or CSI-RS) for transmission beams of the base station in sweep cycle) for beam failure detection and an adjustment amount ([0516], [0517], [0169], [0370], the threshold number N of Beam Failure Instances is signaled to the UE via RRC from the base station; or [0154]-[0156] configured CSI-RS resource set including a periodicity value (adjustment amount)); and performing beam failure detection in the beam failure detection interval (beam failure detection during the threshold number N of T_s intervals), wherein a length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the time-related information and the adjustment amount ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the threshold number N).
KANG does not mention for adjusting a length of a beam failure detection interval.
RYU discloses in Abstract and [0051]-[0055], the mmW base station 704 sends configuration information 722 to the eNB 702. The configuration information 722 may include information indicating a beam sweep period, a periodicity for the beam sweep, and/or a timing offset 766 from the synchronization/timing reference 768 of the eNB 702. The UE 712 may receive the configuration information in system information 736 received from the eNB 702. The anchor node 710 may increase/decrease a number of broadcast periods within each timing cycle 768 for the mmW base station 704, if the UE 712 is in a harsh wireless channel environment, the anchor node 710 may increase the periodicity of the beam sweep 720 so that best beam directions can be determined more frequently for the UE 712 and the mmW base station 704.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by RYU into the art of KANG as to adjust the beam detection interval based on the sweep cycle and the adjustable number of periods (periodicity) within each timing cycle for performing beam detection, for improving beam detection and data communication.
For claim 16. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the first communication apparatus according to claim 15, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a period of at least one beam detection signal, and the period of the at least one beam detection signal comprises a period of a beam detection signal that has a shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 17. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the first communication apparatus according to claim 16, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period).
For claim 18. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the first communication apparatus according to claim 16, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between a preset value and the period of the beam detection signal that has the shortest period of the at least one beam detection signal ([0142], [0195]-[0196], [0516]-[0517], T_s and the periodicity, figure 16 [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 19. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the first communication apparatus according to claim 15, KANG discloses wherein the time-related information comprises a value associated with a subcarrier spacing; and the length of the beam failure detection interval is determined based on the adjustment amount and the value associated with the subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
For claim 20. KANG in combination with RYU substantially teaches the first communication apparatus according to claim 16, KANG discloses wherein the length of the beam failure detection interval is calculated as the adjustment amount times a maximum value between a preset value and a value associated with a subcarrier spacing ([0073]-[0077], [0636]-[0646] beam detection signal SSB configuration with fewer beams within a period that has the shortest period as compared to CSI-RS configuration with more beams and longer period).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
September 28, 2026
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643