DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/3/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 states “one of the plurality of floor beams”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the plurality of floor beams”.
Claim 16 states “one of the plurality of frames”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the plurality of frames”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benthien et al (US 20230406513 A1).
For claim 1, Benthien discloses a floor assembly for an aircraft, comprising:
a monolithic floor element 46 including an integral cross strut 50, the monolithic floor element having an upper surface, which comprises a seat rail surface portion configured to mount a seat rail thereon 52; and
at least one support structure 48 arranged underneath the monolithic floor element and configured to support the monolithic floor element at least in an area of the seat rail surface portion 48 supports the whole structure.
For claim 2, Benthien discloses the floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the monolithic floor element further includes a first integral side beam and a second integral side beam having a flange Fig. 3: support 54 on either side, wherein the flange is arranged to bear a first integral side beam of another monolithic floor element thereon supports floorboard 56 (this claim does not require that this “another monolithic floor element” take the same form as the first one, it can be any single floor element).
For claim 3, Benthien discloses the floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one support structure comprises a transverse beam coupled to an underside of the monolithic floor element 48 integrally coupled at bottom of element.
For claim 11, Benthien discloses the floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the monolithic floor element comprises one or more depressions recesses 68.
For claim 12, Benthien discloses the floor assembly of claim 11, wherein a filler is disposed in the one or more depressions Fig. 4: 140 fills the recess.
For claim 13, Benthien discloses an aircraft, comprising a plurality of floor assemblies of claim 1 Fig. 1.
For claim 16, Benthien discloses the aircraft of claim 13, wherein the integral cross strut of each of the plurality of floor assemblies is connected to one of a plurality of frames at least indirectly connected to frames of the aircraft, such as 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benthien in view of Anast et al (US 6554225 B1).
For claim 4, Benthien discloses the floor assembly of claim 3, but fails to disclose:
wherein the transverse beam has a U-shaped or omega-shaped cross-section, and
wherein the cross-section of the transverse beam underneath the seat rail surface portion is wider than a cross-section of a transverse beam at a different region of the monolithic floor element not forming a seat rail surface portion.
However, Anast teaches a transverse support beam under a seat rail Fig. 3-6: beam 30 under 40, the support beam has a U shape at 48 and as shown in Fig. 3, the cross section is wider at rib 50 than at the other ribs.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Benthien by having the transverse beam have a U-shaped or omega-shaped cross-section, and the cross-section of the transverse beam underneath the seat rail surface portion is wider than a cross-section of a transverse beam at a different region of the monolithic floor element not forming a seat rail surface portion as disclosed by Anast. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide structural support to the seat rail in locations where it is necessary without excess weight.
For claim 14, Benthien discloses the aircraft of claim 13, but fails to disclose:
a plurality of frames; and
a plurality of floor beams protruding from a respective one of the plurality of the frames,
wherein the monolithic floor element of each of the plurality of floor assemblies is supported by two or more of the plurality of floor beams.
However, Anast teaches seat rails Fig. 1A: 18 which are supported by multiple floor beams 14 which protrude from frames aircraft frames.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Benthien by supporting the rails with floor beams that protrude from frames as disclosed by Anast. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide structural support for the rails.
For claim 15, Benthien discloses the aircraft of claim 13,
wherein the monolithic floor element further includes a first integral side beam and a second integral side beam having a flange Fig. 3: support 54 on either side, wherein the flange is arranged to bear a first integral side beam of another monolithic floor element thereon supports floorboard 56 (this claim does not require that this “another monolithic floor element” take the same form as the first one, it can be any single floor element), and
but fails to disclose at least one fastener fastening one of a plurality of floor beams floorboards 56 to a first integral side beam of a first one of the plurality of floor assemblies and a second integral side beam of a second one of the plurality of floor assemblies to one another.
Benthien does disclose floorboards 56 which are attached to each integral side beam, but it is not explicitly shown that there are multiple of these.
However, Anast teaches floorboards Fig. 1A: 16 which fasten to a first side of one rail and the second side of the next rail.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Benthien by having a series of floorboards and rails as disclosed by Anast. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide flooring across the width of the cabin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/COLIN ZOHOORI/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642