DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 contains the language “preferably” in step e). It is unclear whether the limitations following the language “preferably” are required by the claim or merely optional. For examination purposes, these limitations will be considered preferred embodiments and not required by the claim. The dependent claims are likewise rejected as failing to cure the deficiencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pervan et al., WO 2014/109703.
Per claims 1, 7, 10-13, Pervan teaches a process for producing a three dimensional tile (digital print P on a surface (2) (abstract, page 1) (ceramic tile, page 1, lines 10-11), comprising providing a support comprising a surface (page 1, lines 10-11), depositing a solid powder material (dry ink 15) on said surface to form a uniform layer (Fig. 3d, page 40, lines 29-31), printing at least one fixing agent (blank ink 11) in liquid form according to at least one given pattern (Fig. 3d, page 40 line 31 to page 41, line 1), removing the unfixed solid powder material (Fig. 3d, page 42, lines 8-10) (although the limitations following preferably are not required, see above 112 rejection, Pervan teaches a vacuum at page 40, line 10), and subjecting the product to firing (page 33, lines 19-21). It is further noted that steps b) and f) are optional and therefore not required by the claim. Nonetheless, Pervan teaches steps b) and f) of applying a glaze and/or decorating (page 6, lines 18-20).
Per claim 2, Pervan teaches digital printing (page 29, lines 29-30).
Per claims 3-4, 14, Pervan teaches the fixing agent to be water based or solvent based and containing glycol ethers and glycerin (bottom of page 29).
Per claim 17, Pervan teaches that the ceramics are clay which are silicates (pages 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pervan et al., WO 2014/109703.
Per claims 5, 9, 15, Pervan teaches that the fixing agent should have a high density which affects the falling direction of the particles during spraying (page 59) and as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the density of the fixing agent to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Per claims 6 and 16, Pervan teaches the viscosity is an important variable to control due to the viscosity controlling variables in the ink jet printer (e.g., for proper functioning) (page 12). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the viscosity of the fixing agent to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Per claim 8, Pervon teaches that the particle diameter has a direct effect on the DPI printing resolution (page 16). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the diameter of the solid powder material to arrive at the desired results via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718