DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the injection opening axis" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, claim 3 is interpreted as being dependent from claim 2, which provides proper antecedent basis.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the second injection disposed" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, claim 11 is interpreted to be the term "the second injection opening disposed.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-10, 12-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Malpede et al. (US 20200115019 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malpede discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (1, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails typically provide the ship with an auxiliary propulsive thrust which reduces the power requirements of the primary propulsion system') comprising: a hull having a bow and a stern (5, Fig. 1-2 - see hull with top deck 5 having a bow and a stern; ¶ [0128], 'The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'); a sail disposed between the bow and the stern (4, Fig. 1-3 see sail 4 disposed between the bow and stem; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship. provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 1-3 see first/top end of sail 4), a second end disposed on the hull (Fig. 1-3 see second/bottom end of sail 4 disposed on the hull deck 5; ¶ [0128]), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 1-3 - see lengthwise axis extending vertically through sail 4), a central axis (Fig. 1-3, 6 - see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7; ¶ [0129]), a first side (Fig. 1-13 see first/front side with vent 9; ¶ [0129]), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 1-13 - see second/rear side with intake 12; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]), and defining an injection opening (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0129], 'An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0138], 'Air is also ejected from the sail module body through the vent duct 16 and then through the vent 9'), a suction opening (12, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0137], 'the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'), and a channel (14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)"), the lengthwise axis extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1-3 see how the lengthwise axis extends from the first/top end to the second/bottom end), the central axis disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first side and the second side (Fig. 1-13 see how the central axis is disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first/front side and second/rear side), the suction opening disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the first side (12, Fig. 6 see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on the second/rear side and between the top edge of the injection opening 9 and the bottom portion of the first/front side), the channel extending from the suction opening to the injection opening such that fluid can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening (Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (15, Fig. 7-8 see how a compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors').
Regarding claim 6, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail includes an intermediate portion disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the suction opening (Fig. 6 - see how the sail body 7 includes an intermediate portion forming the top body portion of the body 7, said intermediate portion comprising a rear portion disposed on the second/rear side and disposed between the injection opening 9 and suction opening 12); wherein the injection opening is defined on the sail such that fluid exits the injection opening tangentially relative to the intermediate portion (Fig. 6, 10 see how the injection opening 9 is defined on the sail 4 such that fluid exits the injection opening 9 tangentially relative to the intermediate portion); and wherein the suction opening is defined on the sail such that fluid enters the suction opening tangentially relative to the intermediate portion (Fig. 6, 10 see how the suction opening 12 is defined on the sail 4 such that fluid-enters the opening 12 tangentially relative to the intermediate portion).
Regarding claim 9, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail has a main body (7, 14, 15, 16, Fig. 1-8 - see how the sail has a main body comprising the module body 7 and internal body structure 14/15/16; ¶ [0129], 'The rigid sail 4 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3. The sail 4 has a modular construction, comprising seven sail modules 6A, 6B, 6C, 6D, 6E, 6F and 6G stacked substantially vertically on top of one another. As shown in FIG. 4, each individual sail module 6 is formed from a sail module body 7 provided between first and second substantially circular end plates 8A and 8B. An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7, and a trailing edge flap 11 is located adjacent to a second, geometrical trailing edge end 10B of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0137], 'As can also be seen in FIG. 6, the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'; ¶ [0138], 'FIG. 7 shows the internal structure of the sail module body 7 in more detail. An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and wherein the injection opening, suction opening, and channel are defined by the main body of the sail (Fig. 1-8 see how the injection opening 9, suction opening 12 and channel 14/15/16 are defined by the main body of the sail 4; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]; ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 10, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein when said watercraft is traveling through a fluid the sail has a windward side (Fig. 1-13 see windward side defined by the first/front side) and a leeward side (Fig. 1-13 - see leeward side defined by the second/rear side); wherein the windward side faces an apparent wind on said sail (Fig. 1-13 see how the front windward side faces an apparent wind on the sail 4); and wherein the injection opening is defined on the sail such that fluid exits the injection opening about coaxially with the apparent wind (Fig. 1- 13 see how the injection opening 9 is defined on the sail 4 such that fluid exits the opening about coaxially with the apparent wind, as best shown in Fig. 10.)
Regarding claim 12, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail Includes an intermediate portion disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the suction opening (Fig. 6 see how the sail body 7 includes an intermediate portion forming the top body portion of the body 7, said intermediate portion comprising a rear portion disposed on the second/rear side and disposed between the injection opening 9 and suction opening 12); and wherein the sail has an outer surface on the first side (Fig. 6 - see how the sail 4 has a bottom outer surface on the first/front side below the injection opening 9); wherein the intermediate portion is recessed relative to the outer surface of the sail (Fig. 6 see how the top intermediate portion is recessed relative to the bottom outer surface of the sail); wherein the sail has a first radius from the lengthwise axis to the outer surface (Fig. 6 - see first radius from the lengthwise axis to the bottom outer surface of the body directly below the opening 9); and wherein the sail has a second radius from the lengthwise axis to the intermediate portion (Fig. 6 see second radius from the lengthwise axis to the top outer surface of the intermediate portion directly above the opening 9), the second radius being different than the first radius (Fig. 6 see how the first and second radii are different).
Regarding claim 13, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail has a circular cross-sectional shape, an elliptical cross-sectional shape, or has an airfoil cross-sectional shape (Fig. 6 see how the sail 4 has a front elliptical cross-sectional shape and a rear circular cross-sectional shape; ¶ [0134], 'The cross-sectional perimeter of the sail module body is substantially elliptical between the geometrical leading edge and a point approximately 75% of the way along the chord towards the geometrical trailing edge. The cross-sectional perimeter of the sail module body at the geometrical trailing edge is formed by a circular arc which extends for 90° (i.e. the arc extends symmetrically over 45° either side of the chord) and whose centre is located at the point approximately 75% of the way along the chord from the geometrical leading edge towards the geometrical trailing edge').
Regarding claim 14, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail has a length extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1-3 see how the sail 4 has a length extending from the first top end to the second bottom end); wherein the Injection opening comprises a plurality of injection openings disposed along the length of the sail (6A-6G, 9, Fig. 1-8 - see how the sail 4 is formed from a plurality of modules 6A-6G, each module comprising an injection opening 9 disposed along the length of the sail; ¶ [0129], 'The rigid sail 4 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3. The sail 4 has a modular construction, comprising seven sail modules 6A, 6B, 6C, 6D, 6E, 6F and 6G stacked substantially vertically on top of one another. As shown in FIG. 4, each individual sail module 6 is formed from a sail module body 7 provided between first and second substantially circular end plates 8A and 8B. An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7, and a trailing edge flap 11 is located adjacent to a second, geometrical trailing edge end 10B of the sail module body 7'); wherein the suction opening comprises a plurality of suction openings disposed along the length of the sail (6A-6G, 12, Fig. 1-8 see how each module 6A-6G comprises a suction opening 12 disposed along the length of the sail 4; ¶ [0129]), each suction opening of the plurality of suction openings disposed on the second side and between an/injection opening of the plurality of Injection openings and the first side (12, Fig. 6 see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on the second/rear side and between the top edge of the injection opening 9 and the bottom portion of the first/front side); wherein the channel comprises a plurality of channels disposed along the length of the sail (6A-6G, 14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8 - see how each module 6A-6G comprises a channel disposed along the length of the sail 4; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0129]), each channel of the plurality of channels extending from a suction opening of the plurality of suction openings to an injection opening of the plurality of injection openings such that fluid can travel through each channel of the plurality of channels (Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and wherein the compressor comprises a plurality of compressors, a compressor of the plurality of compressors disposed within each channel of the plurality of channels (15, Fig. 7-8 see how there is a plurality of compressors 15, one within each module 6A-6G, and see how each compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15 of each channel; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors').
Regarding claim 15, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail has a first portion (7, Fig. 1-8 - see first portion defined by the module body 7; ¶ [0129], 'a sail module body 7') and a second portion (11, Fig. 1-8 - see second portion defined by the trailing edge flap 11; ¶ [0129], 'a trailing edge flap 11 is located adjacent to a second, geometrical trailing edge end 10B of the sail module body 7'), the first portion having the first end, the second end, the lengthwise axis, the central axis, the first side, the second side, and defining the injection opening, the suction opening, and the channel (Fig. 1-8 see how the first portion 7 comprises the first/top end, second/bottom end, the lengthwise axis, the central axis, the first/front side, second/rear side, and defined the injection opening 9, suction opening 12 and channel); and wherein the second portion is disposed adjacent to the first portion (11, Fig. 1-8 - see how the second portion 11 is disposed adjacent to the first portion 7; ¶ [0129]).
Regarding claim 16, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 15, and further teaches wherein the first portion is rotatable relative to the hull and moveable relative to the second portion (Fig. 1-8 see how the first portion 7 is rotatable relative to the hull 5, and is movable relative to the second portion 11 since the second portion 11 can rotate relative to the first portion 7; ¶ [0010], 'The aerodynamic body may be rotatably mountable or mounted to the aquatic vessel such that the said aerodynamic body is rotatable about the longitudinal axis (or about an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis) when the aerodynamic body is mounted to the aquatic vessel'; ¶ [0099], 'It may be that the at least one (e.g. trailing edge) flap is movable along (e.g. rotates, in use, around) a substantially circular path'; ¶ [0148], 'In use, the angle of attack may be adjusted by rotating each sail about its longitudinal axis. The position of each trailing edge tail may be adjusted such that it is always provided on the pressure surface of the respective sail module body'; ¶ [0149], 'Each sail may be rotated, and each trailing edge flap may be moved, in response to the outputs from the wind-characterising sensors, in order to achieve an optimum angle of attack for maximum lift generation'); and wherein the second portion is rotatable relative to the hull and moveable relative to the first portion (Fig. 1-8 see how the second portion 11 is rotatable relative to the hull 5 and first portion 7; ¶ [0099], 'It may be that the at least one (e.g. trailing edge) flap is movable along (e.g. rotates, in use, around) a substantially circular path'; ¶ [0148], 'In use, the angle of attack may be adjusted by rotating each sail about its longitudinal axis. The position of each trailing edge tail may be adjusted such that it is always provided on the pressure surface of the respective sail module body'; ¶ [0149], 'Each sail may be rotated, and each trailing edge flap may be moved, in response to the outputs from the wind-characterising sensors, in order to achieve an optimum angle of attack for maximum lift generation').
Regarding claim 18, Malpede discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (1, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails typically provide the ship with an auxiliary propulsive thrust which reduces the power requirements of the primary propulsion system') comprising: a hull having a bow and a stern (5, Fig. 1-2 - see hull with top deck 5 having a bow and a stern; ¶ [0128], 'The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'); a sail disposed between the bow and the stern (4, Fig. 1-3 see sail 4 disposed between the bow and stern; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 1-3 - see first/top end of sail 4), a second end disposed on the hull (Fig. 1-3 see second/bottom end of sail 4 disposed on the hull deck 5; ¶ [0128]), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 1-3 see lengthwise axis extending vertically through sail 4), a central axis (Fig. 1-3, 6 see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7; ¶ [0129]), a first side (Fig. 1-13 - see first/front side with vent 9; ¶ [0129]), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 1-13 see second/rear side with intake 12; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]), and defining an injection opening (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0129], 'An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0138]; 'Air is also ejected from the sail module body through the vent duct 16 and then through the vent 9'), a suction opening (12, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0137], 'the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'), and a channel (14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'), the lengthwise axis extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1-3 see how the lengthwise axis extends from the first/top end to the second/bottom end), the central axis disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first side and the second side (Fig. 1-13 see how the central axis is disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first/front side and second/rear side), the suction opening disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the first side (12, Fig. 6 see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on the second/rear side and between the top edge of the injection opening 9 and the bottom portion of the first/front side), the channel extending from the suction opening to the injection opening such that fluid can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening (Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (15, Fig. 7-8 see how a compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors'); wherein when said watercraft is traveling through a fluid the sail has a windward side (Fig. 1-13 see windward side defined by the first/front side) and a leeward side (Fig. 1-13 see leeward side defined by the second/rear side); wherein the central axis divides the windward side and the leeward side (Fig. 1-13 - see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of ¶ [0129]); the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7, said central axis dividing the windward and leeward sides; wherein the first side of the sail is disposed on the windward side (Fig. 1-13 see how the first/front side of the sail is disposed on the windward side); wherein the second side of the sail is disposed on the leeward side (Fig. 1-13 see how the second/rear side of the sail is disposed on the leeward side); and wherein the sail is rotatable relative to the hull such that the central axis continuously divides the windward side and the leeward side (Fig. 1-8 see how the first portion 7 is rotatable relative to the hull 5 such that the central axis continuously divides the windward and leeward sides; ¶ [0010], 'The aerodynamic body may be rotatably mountable or mounted to the aquatic vessel such that the said aerodynamic body is rotatable about the longitudinal axis (or about an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis) when the aerodynamic body is mounted to the aquatic vessel'; ¶ [0148], 'In use, the angle of attack may be adjusted by rotating each sail about its longitudinal axis. The position of each trailing edge tail may be adjusted such that it is always provided on the pressure surface of the respective sail module body'; ¶ [0149], 'Each sail may be rotated, and each trailing edge flap may be moved, in response to the outputs from the wind-characterising sensors, in order to achieve an optimum angle of attack for maximum lift generation').
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malpede et al. (US 20200115019 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the injection opening is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis (Fig. 6 see how the injection opening 9 is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis); but does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. While Malpede does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees, it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various engineering design choices could have been used in order to have arrived at the first angle being between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the first angle being between about-5 degrees and about 20 degrees for Malpede’s injection opening axis, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and effective propulsion arrangement.
Regarding claim 3, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the suction opening is disposed on a suction opening axis disposed at a second angle relative to the injection opening axis (Fig. 6 see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on a suction opening axis disposed at a second angle relative to the injection opening axis, said suction opening axis being generally aligned with the horizontal center line of the body 7); and wherein the second angle is between about 10 degrees and about 270 degrees (Fig. 6 - see how the second angle is shown to be slightly under 90 degrees, such that it is between about 10 and 270 degrees).
Regarding claim 4, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and Malpede further appreciates that the injection opening can be disposed at various positions along the length of the body (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0047], 'The at least one air vent may be located in the leading region of the aerodynamic body. The at least one air vent may be located at and/or adjacent to the (i.e. geometrical) leading edge. The at least one air vent may be located within a distance from the (i.e. geometrical) leading edge which is less than 40%, or less than 30%, or less than 20%, or less than 10%, of the straight line distance between the (i.e. geometrical) leading edge and the (i.e. geometrical) trailing edge (i.e. along the chord)'); but does not specifically teach wherein the injection opening is disposed on the central axis. While MALPEDE does not specifically teach wherein the injection opening is disposed on the central axis, it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various engineering design choices could have been used in order to have arrived at the injection opening being disposed on the central axis. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the injection opening being disposed on the central axis for Malpede’s injection opening, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and effective propulsion arrangement.
Regarding claim 19, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 18, and further teaches wherein the injection opening is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis (Fig. 6 see how the injection opening 9 is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis); but does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. While Malpede does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees, it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various engineering design choices could have been used in order to have arrived at the first angle being between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the first angle being between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees for Malpede’s injection opening axis, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and effective propulsion arrangement.
Regarding claim 20, Malpede discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (1, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4.. The rigid sails typically provide the ship with an auxiliary propulsive thrust which reduces the power requirements of the primary propulsion system') comprising: a hull having a bow and a stern (5, Fig. 1-2 see hull with top deck 5 having a bow and a stern; ¶ [0128], 'The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'); a sail disposed between the bow and the stern (4, Fig. 1-3 see sail 4 disposed between the bow and stern; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 1-3 see first/top end of sail 4), a second end disposed on the hull (Fig. 1-3 see second/bottom end of sail 4 disposed on the hull deck 5; ¶ [0128]), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 1-3 see lengthwise axis extending vertically through sail 4), a central axis (Fig. 1-3, 6 see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7; ¶ [0129]), a first side (Fig. 1-13 see first/front side with vent 9; ¶ [0129]), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 1-13 see second/rear side with intake 12; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]), and defining an injection opening (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0129], 'An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0138], 'Air is also ejected from the sail module body through the vent duct 16 and then through the vent 9'), a suction opening (12, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0137], 'the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'), and a channel (14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'), the lengthwise axis extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 1-3 see how the lengthwise axis extends from the first/top end to the second/bottom end), the central axis disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first side and the second side (Fig. 1-13 see how the central axis is disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first/front side and second/rear side), the suction opening disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the first side (12, Fig. 6 see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on the second/rear side and between the top edge of the injection opening 9 and the bottom portion of the first/front side), the channel extending from the suction opening to the injection opening such that fluid can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening (Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (15, Fig. 7-8 see how a compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors'); wherein the injection opening is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis (Fig. 6 - see how the injection opening 9 is disposed on an injection opening axis disposed at a first angle relative to the central axis); and wherein the suction opening is disposed on a suction opening axis disposed at a second angle relative to the injection opening axis (Fig. 6 - see how the suction opening 12 is disposed on a suction opening axis disposed at a second angle relative to the injection opening axis, said suction opening axis being generally aligned with the horizontal center line of the body 7), the second angle being between about 10 degrees and about 270 degrees (Fig. 6 see how the second angle is shown to be slightly under 90 degrees, such that it is between about 10 and 270 degrees); but does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. While MALPEDE does not specifically teach wherein the first angle is between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees, it is well known in the art that routine experimentation and various engineering design choices could have been used in order to have arrived at the first angle being between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the first angle being between about -5 degrees and about 20 degrees for Malpede’s injection opening axis, in order to have allowed for a more efficient and effective propulsion arrangement.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malpede et al. (US 20200115019 A1) in view of Millder (US Patent No. 6817308).
Regarding claim 17, Malpede discloses the watercraft of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the sail has a first portion (6A-6D, Fig. 1-3 see how the sail 4 has a first bottom portion comprising modules 6A-6D; ¶ [0129], 'The rigid sail 4 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3. The sail 4 has a modular construction, comprising seven sail modules 6A, 6B, 6C, 6D, 6E, 6F and 6G stacked substantially vertically on top of one another') and a second portion (6E-6G, Fig. 1-3 - see how the sail 4 has a second top portion comprising modules 6E-6G; ¶ [0129], 'The rigid sail 4 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3. The sail 4 has a modular construction, comprising seven sail modules 6A, 6B, 6C, 6D, 6E, 6F and 6G stacked substantially vertically on top of one another'), the first portion having a first diameter (Fig. 1-3 - see how the first portion has a first diameter); but does not specifically teach the second portion having a second diameter that tapers from the first portion to the first end. However, the use of tapered sail masts is well known in the art, and further, Millder discloses a sail (2, Fig. 1; col 2, In 20-29, 'the sailing rig essentially comprises a mast 2') comprising a first end (12, Fig. 1 see first/top end 12; col 2, In 30-47, 'the head 12') and a second end (10, Fig. 1 - see second/bottom end 10; col 2, In 30-47, 'the base 10'), and further teaches wherein the sail has a first portion (Fig. 1 see first bottom portion comprising the bottom half of the sail 2) and a second portion (Fig. 1 see second top portion comprising the top half of the sail 2), the first portion having a first diameter (Fig. 1 - see how the first bottom portion has a first diameter) and the second portion having a second diameter that tapers from the first portion to the first end (Fig. 1 - see how the second top portion has a second diameter that tapers from the first bottom portion to the first/top end 12; col 1, In 49-63, 'the aerofoil sectioned mast is tapered in aerofoil section from the mast base to the masthead to reduce the weight of the aerofoil, sectioned mast toward the masthead to thereby reduce the center of gravity'; col 2, In 30-47, 'The mast 2 is further tapered in cross-section from the base 10 to the head 12'; col 3, In 35 to col 4, In 2, 'has reduced pitching moments because the tapered mast and tapered cross-section reduce the center of gravity of the mast 2'). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the second portion of Malpede’s sail by employing the tapered top section portion as taught by Millder, in order to have allowed for a stronger and more stablesail arrangement due to the reduced center of gravity.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha (US 20210284319 A1) in view of Malpede et al. (US 20200115019 A1). Hereinafter “Zha in view of Malpede1”.
Regarding claim 1, Zha discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (910, Fig. 20-22 - see fluid system 910 capable of being used in a sail of a watercraft; ¶ [0106], 'FIGS. 20, 21, and 22 illustrate a fourth example fluid system 910'; ¶ [0182], 'Examples of structures, devices, and/or systems considered suitable to include a fluid system and/or duct, such as those described herein, include sails, any structure, device, and/or system that uses airfoils, land vehicles, water vehicles, air vehicles, any structure, device, and/or system that is used to generate lift and/or thrust, and any other structure, device, and/or system considered suitable') comprising: a sail (910, 912, 914, Fig. 20-22 see sail 910 formed by the first and second body portions 912/914; ¶ [0106], 'the fluid system 910 has a first body portion 912 a second body portion 914'; ¶ [0182], 'Examples of structures, devices, and/or systems considered suitable to include a fluid system and/or duct, such as those described herein, include sails'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 20 see first/left end), a second end (Fig. 20 see second/right end), a lengthwise axis (911, Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0106], 'a lengthwise axis 911'), a central axis (Fig. 21 see central axis defined by a vertical axis extending through the center of 910), a first side (Fig. 21 - see first/front side with leading edge 938; ¶ [0107], 'a leading edge 938'), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 21 see second/rear side with trailing edge 964; ¶ [0109], 'a trailing edge 964'), and defining an injection opening (966, Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0110], 'an injection opening 966'), a suction opening (968, Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0110], 'a suction opening 968'), and a channel (970, Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0110], 'a channel 970'), the lengthwise axis extending from the first end to the second end (911, Fig. 20-22 see how the lengthwise axis 911 extends from the first end to the second end), the central axis disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first side and the second side (Fig. 20-22 see how the central axis is disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis 911 and is disposed between the first/front side and second/rear side), the suction opening disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the first side (968, Fig. 21-22 see how the suction opening 968 is disposed on the second/rear side and between the injection opening 966 and the first/front side), the channel extending from the suction opening to the injection opening such that fluid can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening (Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0111], 'The channel 970 extends from the injection opening 966 to the suction opening 968 such that the injection opening 966 is in communication with the suction opening 968. When a fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 918, or each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 918, is in an on state, fluid exterior to the fluid system 910 flows into the channel 970 from the suction opening 968, through the channel 970, and exits at the injection opening 966'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (918, Fig. 20-22; ¶ [0116], 'each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 918 is a micro-compressor. Each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 918 is disposed within the channel 970 and is in communication with the injection opening 966 and the suction opening 968'); but does not specifically teach a hull having a bow and a stern; and a sail disposed between the bow and the stern, the second end disposed on the hull. However, Malpede discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (1, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails typically provide the ship with an auxiliary propulsive thrust which reduces the power requirements of the primary propulsion system') comprising: a hull having a bow and a stem (5, Fig. 1-2 see hull with top deck 5 having a bow and a stern; ¶ [0128], 'The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'); a sail disposed between the bow and the stern (4, Fig. 1-3 see sail 4 disposed between the bow and stern; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 1-3 see first/top end of sail 4), a second end disposed on the hull (Fig. 1-3 - see second/bottom end of sail 4 disposed on the hull deck 5; ¶ [0128]), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 1-3 see lengthwise axis extending vertically through sail 4), a central axis (Fig. 1-3, 6 see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7; ¶ [0129]), a first side (Fig. 1-13 see first/front side with vent 9; ¶ [0129]), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 1-13 see second/rear side with intake 12; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]), and defining an injection opening (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0129], 'An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0138], 'Air is also ejected from the sail module body through the vent duct 16 and then through the vent 9'), a suction opening (12, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0137], 'the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'), and a channel (14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (15, Fig. 7-8 - see how a compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors'). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the watercraft of Zha's system by employing the hull and sail structure as taught by Malpede, with the fluid system of Zha employed in the watercraft sails, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient watercraft propulsion system.
Regarding claim 5, Zha in view of Malpede1 disclose the watercraft of claim 1, and Zha further teaches wherein the injection opening is disposed on the second side between the central axis and the suction opening (966, Fig. 20-22 - see how the injection opening 966 is disposed on the second/rear side between the central axis and suction opening 968; ¶ [0110], 'an injection opening 966').
Regarding claim 7, Zha in view of Malpede1 disclose the watercraft of claim 1, and Zha further teaches wherein when said watercraft is traveling through a fluid the sail has a windward side (Fig. 21 see first/front side with leading edge 938, said windward side defined by the first/front side; ¶ [0107], 'a leading edge 938') and a leeward side (Fig. 21 - see second/rear side with trailing edge 964, said leeward side defined by the second/rear side; ¶ [0109], 'a trailing edge 964'); wherein the central axis divides the windward side and the leeward side (Fig. 20-22 - see how the central axis divides the front windward side and rear leeward side); wherein the first side of the sail is disposed on the windward side (Fig. 21 - see how the first/front side is disposed on the windward side); wherein the second side of the sail is disposed on the leeward side (Fig. 21 - see how the second/rear side is disposed on the leeward side); and wherein the injection opening is disposed on the leeward side of the sail (966, Fig. 20-22 - see how the injection opening 966 is disposed on the rear leeward side of the sail; ¶ [0110], 'an injection opening 966').
Regarding claim 8, Zha in view of Malpede1 disclose the watercraft of claim 7, and Zha modified by Malpede further teach wherein the sail is rotatable relative to the hull such that the central axis continuously divides the windward side and the leeward side (Zha - Fig. 20-22 - see how the central axis continuously divides the windward and leeward sides)(Malpede - Fig. 1-8 see how sail 4 is rotatable relative to the hull 5 such that the central axis continuously divides the windward side and leeward side; ¶ [0010], 'The aerodynamic body may be rotatably mountable or mounted to the aquatic vessel such that the said aerodynamic body is rotatable about the longitudinal axis (or about an axis parallel to the longitudinal axis) when the aerodynamic body is mounted to the aquatic vessel'; ¶ [0148], 'In use, the angle of attack may be adjusted by rotating each sail about its longitudinal axis. The position of each trailing edge tail may be adjusted such that it is always provided on the pressure surface of the respective sail module body'; ¶ [0149], 'Each sail may be rotated, and each trailing edge flap may be moved, in response to the outputs from the wind-characterising sensors, in order to achieve an optimum angle of attack for maximum lift generation'). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the sail of Zha's system by employing the rotatable structure as taught by Malpede, in order to have allowed for a more controllable and adjustable propulsion system.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zha (US 20210284319 A1) in view of Malpede et al. (US 20200115019 A1). Hereinafter “Zha in view of Malpede2”.
Regarding claim 1, Zha discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (610, Fig. 17; ¶ [0092], 'FIG. 17 illustrates a third example fluid system 610'; ¶ [0182], 'Examples of structures, devices, and/or systems considered suitable to include a fluid system and/or duct, such as those described herein, include sails, any structure, device, and/or system that uses airfoils, land vehicles, water vehicles, air vehicles, any structure, device, and/or system that is used to generate lift and/or thrust, and any other structure, device, and/or system considered suitable') comprising: a sail (610, 612, 614, 615, Fig. 17 - see sail 610 formed by the body portions 612/614/615; ¶ [0092], 'The fluid system 610 has a lengthwise axis, a first body portion 612, a chord length, a second body portion 614, a third body portion 615'; ¶ [0182], 'Examples of structures, devices, and/or systems considered suitable to include a fluid system and/or duct, such as those described herein, include sails'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 17 - see how the sail 610 inherently has a first end), a second end (Fig. 17 - see how the sail 610 inherently has a second end opposite the first end), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 17 - see how-the sail 610 has a lengthwise axis extending between the first and second ends; ¶ [0092], The fluid system 610 has a lengthwise axis'), a central axis (Fig. 17 see central axis defined by a horizontal axis extending from the trailing edge 640 to the leading edge 638; ¶ [0093]), a first side (778, Fig. 17 see first/bottom side with bottom surface 778; ¶ [0096], 'a bottom surface 778'), a second side opposably facing the first side (684, Fig. 17 see second/top side with top surface 684; ¶ [0096], 'a top surface 684'), and defining an injection opening (702, Fig. 17; ¶ [0098], 'a first injection opening 702'), a suction opening (704, Fig. 17; ¶ [0098], 'a first suction opening 704'), and a channel (706, Fig. 16; ¶ [0098], 'a channel 706'), the lengthwise axis extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 17 - see how sail 610 has a lengthwise axis extending between the first and second ends; ¶ [0092], 'The fluid system 610 has a lengthwise axis'), the central axis disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first side and the second side (Fig. 17 see how the central axis is disposed orthogonally to the lengthwise axis and between the first/bottom side and second/top side), the suction opening disposed on the second side and between the injection opening and the first side (704, Fig. 17 see how the suction opening 704 is disposed on the second/top side and between the injection opening 702 and the first/bottom side), the channel extending from the suction opening to the injection opening such that fluid can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening (Fig. 17; ¶ [0098], 'The channel 706 extends from the injection openings 702, 780 to the suction openings 704, 782 such that the injection openings 702, 780 are in communication with the suction openings 704, 782'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (618, Fig. 17; ¶ [0067], 'Examples of fluid pressurizers considered suitable to include in a fluid system include electric pumps, pneumatic pumps, hydraulic pumps, micro-pumps, fans, compressors, micro-compressors, vacuums, blowers, and any other fluid pressurizer considered suitable for a particular embodiment'; ¶ [0098], 'each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 618 is disposed (e.g., entirely) within the channel 706 and is in communication with the injection openings 702, 780 and the suction openings 704, 782'); but does not specifically teach a hull having a bow and a stern; and a sail disposed between the bow and the stern, the second end disposed on the hull. However, Malpede discloses a watercraft that includes a fluid system (1, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails typically provide the ship with an auxiliary propulsive thrust which reduces the power requirements of the primary propulsion system') comprising: a hull having a bow and a stern (5, Fig. 1-2 - see hull with top deck 5 having a bow and a stern; ¶ [0128], 'The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'); a sail disposed between the bow and the stern (4, Fig. 1-3 see sail 4 disposed between the bow and stem; ¶ [0128], 'FIGS. 1 and 2 show a ship 1 provided with first, second and third rigid sails 2, 3 and 4. The rigid sails each extend generally vertically upwards away from a top deck 5 of the ship 1'), the sail having a first end (Fig. 1-3 see first/top end of sail 4), a second end disposed on the hull (Fig. 1-3 - see second/bottom end of sail 4 disposed on the hull deck 5; ¶ [0128]), a lengthwise axis (Fig. 1-3 see lengthwise axis extending vertically through sail 4), a central axis (Fig. 1-3, 6 see central axis dividing the front half and rear half of the sail 4, as best shown in Fig. 6 as the vertical center line of the sail body 7; ¶ [0129]), a first side (Fig. 1-13 - see first/front side with vent 9; ¶ [0129]), a second side opposably facing the first side (Fig. 1-13 see second/rear side with intake 12; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0137]), and defining an injection opening (9, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0129], 'An elongate vent 9 is located at a first, geometrical leading edge end 10A of the sail module body 7'; ¶ [0138], 'Air is also ejected from the sail module body through the vent duct 16 and then through the vent 9'), a suction opening (12, Fig. 1-13; ¶ [0137], 'the sail module body 7 includes a perforated air intake 12 located at the geometrical trailing edge'), and a channel (14, 15, 16, Fig. 7-8; ¶ [0138], 'An intake duct 14 connects the air intake 12 to an intake side of a fan assembly 15. A vent duct 16 connects a vent side of the fan assembly 15 to the vent 9. The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'); and a compressor disposed within the channel (15, Fig. 7-8 see how a compressor is disposed within the fan assembly housing 15; ¶ [0138], 'The fan assembly 15 houses a fan (not shown)'; ¶ [0058], 'The at least one air flow generator may comprise an air compressor. The air compressor may be arranged (i.e. substantially) horizontally'; ¶ [0060], 'The at least one) air flow generator (e.g. the plurality of air flow generators) may comprise (e.g. consist of) a plurality of fans and/or pumps and/or air compressors'). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the watercraft of Zha's system by employing the hull and sail structure as taught by Malpede, with the fluid system of Zha employed in the watercraft sails, in order to have allowed for a more versatile and efficient watercraft propulsion system.
Regarding claim 11, Zha in view of Malpede2 disclose the watercraft of claim 1, and Zha further teaches wherein the injection opening is disposed on the second side (702, Fig. 17 - see how the injection opening 702 is formed on the second/top side; ¶ [0098]; 'a first injection opening 702'); wherein the sail defines a second injection opening (780, Fig. 17; ¶ [0098], 'a second injection opening 780') and a second suction opening (782, Fig. 17; ¶ [0098], 'a second suction opening 782'), the second injection (Note: see Box VIII) disposed on the first side (780, Fig. 17 see how the second injection opening 780 is disposed on the first/bottom side), the second suction opening disposed on the first side (782, Fig. 17 - see how the second suction opening 782 is disposed on the first/bottom side); wherein the channel bifurcates between the compressor and the injection opening and the second injection opening and extends from the compressor to the injection opening and the second injection opening (Fig. 17 - see how the channel 706 bifurcates between the compressor 618 and the injection opening 702 and second injection opening 780 and extends from the compressor 618 to the injection opening 702 and second injection opening 780 via passageway 654 and openings 658 and 768; ¶ [0093], 'a main body 652 that defines a passageway 654, a first opening 658, and a second opening 768'; ¶ [0098], 'The channel 706 extends from the injection openings 702, 780 to the suction openings 704, 782 such that the injection openings 702, 780 are in communication with the suction openings 704, 782, as described in more detail herein. In the illustrated embodiment, each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 618 is disposed (e.g., entirely) within the channel 706 and is in communication with the injection openings 702, 780 and the suction openings 704, 782'); and wherein the channel bifurcates between the compressor and the suction opening and the second suction opening and extends from the compressor to the suction opening and the second suction opening (Fig. 17 see how the channel 706 bifurcates between the compressor 618 and the suction opening 704 and second suction opening 782 and extends from the compressor 618 to the suction opening 704 and second suction opening 782; ¶ [0098], 'The channel 706 extends from the injection openings 702, 780 to the suction openings 704, 782 such that the injection openings 702, 780 are in communication with the suction openings 704, 782, as described in more detail herein. In the illustrated embodiment, each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 618 is disposed (e.g., entirely) within the channel 706 and is in communication with the injection openings 702, 780 and the suction openings 704, 782') such that fluid can travel into the suction opening-and exit the injection opening, can travel into the suction opening and exit the second injection opening, can travel into the suction opening and exit the injection opening and the second injection opening, can travel into the second suction opening and exit the injection opening, can travel into the second suction opening and exit the second injection opening, can travel into the second suction opening and exit the injection opening and the second injection opening, can travel into the suction opening and the second suction opening and exit the injection opening, can travel into the suction opening and the second suction opening and exit the second injection opening, can travel into the suction opening and the second suction opening and exit the injection opening and the second injection opening (Fig. 17 - see how fluid can travel into one or both of the suction openings 704, 782 and can exit from one or both of the injection openings 702, 780, and see how the valves 784, 786 allow for the fluid flow to be selectively controlled through the suction openings and injection openings; ¶ [0098], 'In the on state, each fluid pressurizer of the plurality of fluid pressurizers 618 draws fluid through the suction openings 704, 782, through the channel 706, through the fluid pressurizer, and pushes fluid through the channel 706 and out of the injection openings 702, 780, depending on the location of the valves 784, 786, as described in more detail herein'; ¶ [0100]; ¶ [0102]).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644