DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2025 and 06/03/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lal et al. (US 2024/0194045 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2023/0168734 A1).
8. With reference to claim 1, Lal teaches An information processing apparatus that displays a virtual space on a head mounted display worn by a user, the information processing apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry (“FIG. 1 shows an illustrative example of a user wearing a VR headset in an area containing obstructions and in which a play area may be defined, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. Area 100 may be a room or other area in which there is sufficient space for user 102 to interact with VR content, such as a game or world simulator, using VR headset 104. When interacting with the VR content, user 102 may move around area 100.” [0050] “FIG. 9 is a block diagram showing components and dataflow therebetween of a system for auto-configuration of a virtual reality play area and avoidance of physical harm of user, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. VR display device 900, using depth sensor 902, performs depth measurements of the area surrounding VR display device 900. … Control circuitry 906 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry and comprises control circuits and memory circuits, which may be disposed on a single integrated circuit or may be discrete components. As referred to herein, processing circuitry should be understood to mean circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), etc., and may include a multi-core processor (e.g., dual-core, quad-core, hexa-core, or any suitable number of cores).” [0063-0064]) Lal also teaches execute a first detection process of detecting position information of the user in the virtual space as a first user position; execute a play area setting process of setting a play area on the basis of the first user position (“This is accomplished by using LiDAR sensing in all directions including the back of the user. The system augments the depth sensing measurements with data acquired or captured by optical sensors/cameras that identify features in the environment. This is accomplished by using cameras for feature sensing in all directions including the back of the user. Augmenting the depth sensing measurements with imaging data in this way results in a more accurate mapping of the area surrounding the user and the user's position within the area. This may enable the HMD to maximize the size of the play area.” [0006] “a center position of the play area is determined by calculating a centroid of the play area. The center position is then established based on the centroid. If the user moves too far from the center point, or too close to a boundary, a visual indicator may be generated for display to guide the user to the center position of the play area. After detecting movement of the user, the position of the user may be compared to the center position and/or the closest point of the boundary to the user's position. If the user is within a threshold distance of the boundary, output of VR content is paused. After detecting a second movement, the user's position is again compared with the center position and/or the boundary. If the user is within a threshold distance of a center of the play area after the second movement, output of the VR content is resumed.” [0021-0022]) Lal further teaches execute an obstacle detection process of detecting an obstacle in a real space in the play area; (“FIG. 1 shows an illustrative example of a user wearing a VR headset in an area containing obstructions and in which a play area may be defined, in accordance with some embodiments of the disclosure. Area 100 may be a room or other area in which there is sufficient space for user 102 to interact with VR content, such as a game or world simulator, using VR headset 104. When interacting with the VR content, user 102 may move around area 100. Area 100 may include obstructions to such movement, such as couch 106, lamp 108, and bookshelf 110. To prevent user 102 from colliding with any obstructions, a play area is defined, beyond which user 102 is not permitted to move while interacting with the VR content. The boundary of the play area may be enforced upon user 102 by displaying, on VR headset 104, an indication of the boundary when user 102 moves too close to the boundary and may guide user 102 back to the center of the play area. … Area 200 may include several obstructions 202, 204, 206, 208, 210 around an open space. Play area 212 can then be constructed in the open space, taking into account the edges of each of the obstructions.” [0050-0051] “imaging sensor 910 captures images of the area surrounding VR display device 900 and transmits 912 the captured images to spatial mapping circuitry 908. Spatial mapping circuitry 908 augments the volumetric representation of the area with the captured images to identify multiple obstructions and visual features such as furniture, walls, etc. that are located in the area.” [0065] “Control circuitry 906 may detect a significant irregularity (i.e., more than a threshold deviation) in the surface geometry of the 3d Envelope and identify any concave portion of the surface (i.e., a portion of the surface that is closer that the surrounding portions) as an object or obstruction” [0080]) Lal teaches execute a search process of searching for a new play area on the basis of a position of the detected obstacle; (“Security system controller 820 may transmit notifications to VR display device 800 if it detects a door being opened, a window being opened, or movement in another area outside the detection range of VR display device 800.” [0061] “VR display device 900, using depth sensor 902, performs depth measurements of the area surrounding VR display device 900.” [0063] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069] “control circuitry 906 identifies a plurality of obstructions in the area. Using the depth sensing measurements, control circuitry 906 may identify objects in the area that cause changes in depth measurements beyond normal variations. Control circuitry 906 may determine from the depth sensing measurements that the distance from the VR display device to a surface at a first set of points in a given direction is a first distance, but that the distance to a surface at a second set of points in the same direction is a second distance that is closer than the first distance. The boundary of the 3D envelope of the play area may be set at or closer than the detected surface. Control circuitry 906 may detect a significant irregularity (i.e., more than a threshold deviation) in the surface geometry of the 3d Envelope and identify any concave portion of the surface (i.e., a portion of the surface that is closer that the surrounding portions) as an object or obstruction. This may be entirely automatic and require no additional processing beyond depth sensing. At 1008, control circuitry 906 initializes a counter variable N, setting its value to one, and a variable S representing the number of sectors into which the area is divided. For example, the area may be divided into 24 sectors, each 15 degrees wide, covering a 360-degree field around the user. At 1010, control circuitry 906 determines whether there is an obstruction in the N.sup.th sector. If so (“Yes” at 1010), then, at 1012, control circuitry 906 sets the play area boundary in the N.sup.th sector at a threshold distance closer than the nearest obstruction in the N.sup.th sector. If there are no obstructions in the N.sup.th sector (“No” at 1010), then, at 1014, control circuitry 906 sets the play area boundary in the N.sup.th sector at a maximum distance. The maximum distance may be the threshold distance closer than a vertical plane located in the N.sup.th sector.” [0080]) Lal also teaches execute a notification process of displaying the new play area on the head mounted display. (“VR display device 800 may communicate, via communication path 806, communications network 808, and communication path 818, with security system controller 820. Security system controller 820 may transmit notifications to VR display device 800 if it detects a door being opened, a window being opened, or movement in another area outside the detection range of VR display device 800. In response to such notification, VR display device 800 may be configured to enable a passthrough mode, allowing the user to see their surroundings through the VR content. Alternatively or additionally, security system controller 820 may transmit an identification and/or image of the person or object detected to have entered the area to VR display device 800. VR display device 800 may generate for display to the user the identification and/or image received from security system controller 820.” [0061] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069])
Lal does not explicitly teach execute a second detection process of detecting posture information of the user in the virtual space as a first user posture; execute area on the basis of the first user posture. This is what Johnson teaches (“FIG. 5 is a flow diagram illustrating a process 500 used in some implementations of the present technology for setting virtual space configurations based on user posture. … process 500 can determine a user posture. A “posture” is a position or configuration of one or more parts of a user's body. For example, a posture can be seated, standing, lying down, having arms outstretched, a particular hand position or gesture, a head orientation, a torso rotation or angle, etc. In some implementations, a posture can also encompass movement-such as a particular motion of one or more body parts and/or motions in relation to a point or object. For example, a first identified posture can be standing stationary while a second identified posture can be standing and has made a threshold level of lateral movements relative to a central point. … process 500 can determine whether the posture determined at block 502 corresponds to a standing mobile posture. A standing mobile posture can indicate that the user is standing and is in a situation where she may move around laterally (as opposed to standing generally in the same spot). This can be indicated by the artificial reality system determining that the user is standing (e.g., based on a determined headset height, user posture selection input, etc.) and one or more of: the user has indicated a border area for the virtual space, the user has specified an intent to move, a current application is designed for being mobile while standing, or a determination that the user has moved laterally at least a threshold amount from a central point (i.e., determining that they have moved from their standing location).” [0067-0069]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johnson into Lal, in order to provide a play area suited to the user's current mode of interaction and reduce the likelihood of defining an area that is unsuitable for the user's intended movements.
9. With reference to claim 2, Lal teaches in the search process, the new play area is determined so that the obstacle does not enter the new play area. ("VR display device 800 then constructs a play area based on the vertical and horizontal planes, avoiding any obstruction detected based on the depth and imaging scan of the area. Communication network 808 may be any suitable type of network, including a LAN, WLAN, WAN, mobile network, or the Internet." [0058] “Using the depth measurements, augmented in some embodiments with the captured images, spatial mapping circuitry 908 creates a boundary line on the horizontal plane at the furthest point from VR display device 900 in every direction. In some embodiments, to reduce processing load and/or processing time, spatial mapping circuitry 908 may place boundary points at some locations (e.g., at 5-degree intervals in a circle around VR display device 900) and draw straight line segments between each point. The boundary points may be placed at a minimum distance from an obstruction to prevent the user from harm should they stray outside the boundary by a small amount. The position of a boundary point may be a threshold distance from the closest point in a vertical slice above the boundary point. For example, a floor lamp may have a lampshade that is wider than its base. Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069])
10. With reference to claim 3, Lal teaches the one or more processors and/or circuitry is/are configured to execute a first determination process of determining a second user position that is a position of the user in the new play area. (“This is accomplished by using LiDAR sensing in all directions including the back of the user. The system augments the depth sensing measurements with data acquired or captured by optical sensors/cameras that identify features in the environment. This is accomplished by using cameras for feature sensing in all directions including the back of the user. Augmenting the depth sensing measurements with imaging data in this way results in a more accurate mapping of the area surrounding the user and the user's position within the area. This may enable the HMD to maximize the size of the play area.” [0006] "VR display device 800 then constructs a play area based on the vertical and horizontal planes, avoiding any obstruction detected based on the depth and imaging scan of the area. Communication network 808 may be any suitable type of network, including a LAN, WLAN, WAN, mobile network, or the Internet. … VR display device 800 may use successive images captured by imaging sensor 802 to determine that an object in the area is moving. The distance moved and the time between successive captured images can be used to determine the velocity of the object, and the change in position between successive captured images can be used to determine the direction of travel. VR display device 800 may use image recognition techniques to identify the type of object that is moving. For example, the object may be another person, an animal, an inanimate object (e.g., a ball thrown in the area), or a self-propelled or autonomous device (e.g., a smart vacuum)." [0058-0059] “VR display device 800 may also be configured to alert a user when another person enters the area. VR display device 800 may communicate, via communication path 806, communications network 808, and communication path 818, with security system controller 820. Security system controller 820 may transmit notifications to VR display device 800 if it detects a door being opened, a window being opened, or movement in another area outside the detection range of VR display device 800.” [0061] "Control circuitry 906 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry and comprises control circuits and memory circuits, which may be disposed on a single integrated circuit or may be discrete components. As referred to herein, processing circuitry should be understood to mean circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), etc., and may include a multi-core processor (e.g., dual-core, quad-core, hexa-core, or any suitable number of cores)." [0064] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069])
11. With reference to claim 4, Lal teaches in the notification process, the second user position is displayed on the head mounted display together with the new play area. (“This is accomplished by using LiDAR sensing in all directions including the back of the user. The system augments the depth sensing measurements with data acquired or captured by optical sensors/cameras that identify features in the environment. This is accomplished by using cameras for feature sensing in all directions including the back of the user. Augmenting the depth sensing measurements with imaging data in this way results in a more accurate mapping of the area surrounding the user and the user's position within the area. This may enable the HMD to maximize the size of the play area.” [0006] "VR display device 800 then constructs a play area based on the vertical and horizontal planes, avoiding any obstruction detected based on the depth and imaging scan of the area. Communication network 808 may be any suitable type of network, including a LAN, WLAN, WAN, mobile network, or the Internet. … VR display device 800 may use successive images captured by imaging sensor 802 to determine that an object in the area is moving. The distance moved and the time between successive captured images can be used to determine the velocity of the object, and the change in position between successive captured images can be used to determine the direction of travel. VR display device 800 may use image recognition techniques to identify the type of object that is moving. For example, the object may be another person, an animal, an inanimate object (e.g., a ball thrown in the area), or a self-propelled or autonomous device (e.g., a smart vacuum)." [0058-0059] “VR display device 800 may also be configured to alert a user when another person enters the area. VR display device 800 may communicate, via communication path 806, communications network 808, and communication path 818, with security system controller 820. Security system controller 820 may transmit notifications to VR display device 800 if it detects a door being opened, a window being opened, or movement in another area outside the detection range of VR display device 800.” [0061] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069])
12. With reference to claim 12, Lal teaches in the obstacle detection process, the obstacle in a two-dimensional space in a horizontal direction is detected. (“Area 200 may include several obstructions 202, 204, 206, 208, 210 around an open space. Play area 212 can then be constructed in the open space, taking into account the edges of each of the obstructions.” [0051] “Several horizontal planes may also be identified, depending on the number of horizontal surfaces present in the area, such as tables and counters, in addition to a floor. In order to identify the horizontal plane from which the play area should be constructed, VR display device 800 may retrieve a height of the user, which may be a close approximation to the height of VR display device 800 from the floor. A user profile containing the user's height may be stored locally at VR display device 800. In some embodiments, however, the user profile is stored in a remote server or database. VR display device 800 communicates, via communication path 806, communication network 808, and communication path 810, with user profile database 812, from which the height of the user may be retrieved. VR display device 800 then constructs a play area based on the vertical and horizontal planes, avoiding any obstruction detected based on the depth and imaging scan of the area.” [0058] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines the closest point in a vertical slice and places the boundary point on the horizontal plane (i.e., the floor) at a threshold distance closer than the closest point. Once a closed shape has been established on the horizontal plane, the play area is extended vertically until another obstruction (e.g., a ceiling or a chandelier) is reached.” [0069])
13. With reference to claim 13, Lal teaches in the obstacle detection process, the obstacle in a three-dimensional space in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction is detected. (“Area 200 may include several obstructions 202, 204, 206, 208, 210 around an open space. Play area 212 can then be constructed in the open space, taking into account the edges of each of the obstructions.” [0051] “Spatial mapping circuitry 908 augments the volumetric representation of the area with the captured images to identify multiple obstructions and visual features such as furniture, walls, etc. that are located in the area.” [0065] “control circuitry 906 determines whether there is an obstruction in the N.sup.th sector. If so (“Yes” at 1010), then, at 1012, control circuitry 906 sets the play area boundary in the N.sup.th sector at a threshold distance closer than the nearest obstruction in the N.sup.th sector. If there are no obstructions in the N.sup.th sector (“No” at 1010), then, at 1014, control circuitry 906 sets the play area boundary in the N.sup.th sector at a maximum distance. The maximum distance may be the threshold distance closer than a vertical plane located in the N.sup.th sector. … control circuitry 906 generates a three-dimensional shape based on the boundaries in each sector. For example, control circuitry 906 may determine a play area boundary for each respective sector at a plurality of positions within the sector, along both a horizontal axis and a vertical axis. The play area boundary for each sector may therefore be expressed as three-dimensional surface, oriented perpendicular to the horizontal plane, and extending from the horizontal plane to a maximum height above the horizonal plane.” [0080-0081])
14. With reference to claim 14, Lal teaches in the obstacle detection process, a space that the user does not enter during game play is excluded from the play area. (“Area 200 may include several obstructions 202, 204, 206, 208, 210 around an open space. Play area 212 can then be constructed in the open space, taking into account the edges of each of the obstructions.” [0051] “in addition to depth measurements, imaging sensor 910 captures images of the area surrounding VR display device 900 and transmits 912 the captured images to spatial mapping circuitry 908. Spatial mapping circuitry 908 augments the volumetric representation of the area with the captured images to identify multiple obstructions and visual features such as furniture, walls, etc. that are located in the area.” [0065] “a closed three-dimensional shape may be generated by spatial mapping circuitry 908 that fills all contiguous open space in the area, resulting in a concave shape, with some portions of the shape extending outward and other portions extending inward as objects within the area are excluded from the shape. If this shape were set as the play area boundary, it would be possible for a user to move into a portion of the play area that extends outward and then accidentally move outside the play area due to the concavity, causing themselves harm by colliding with the object around which the surface of the shape has been drawn. To avoid this, spatial mapping circuitry 908 determines whether the shape is concave. …If the shape is concave spatial mapping circuitry 908 truncates the shape to create a convex shape. … Once the convex shape has been created, spatial mapping circuitry 908 constructs a play area based on the convex shape. If the three-dimensional shape is convex to being with, spatial mapping circuitry 908 constructs the play area based on the three-dimensional shape.” [0070-0071])
15. Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale.
16. Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 1, and thus is rejected under similar rationale. Lal additionally teaches A non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute (“Control circuitry 906 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry and comprises control circuits and memory circuits, which may be disposed on a single integrated circuit or may be discrete components. As referred to herein, processing circuitry should be understood to mean circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, field-programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs), etc., and may include a multi-core processor (e.g., dual-core, quad-core, hexa-core, or any suitable number of cores). In some embodiments, processing circuitry may be distributed across multiple separate processors or processing units,” [0064] “Memory 916 may be an electronic storage device. As referred to herein, the phrase “electronic storage device” or “storage device” should be understood to mean any device for storing electronic data, such as random-access memory, read-only memory, hard drives, optical drives, solid state devices, quantum storage devices, or any other suitable fixed or removable storage devices, and/or any combination of the same.” [0066])
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to either individually or in combination teach the claimed feature of “execute a movement score calculation process of calculating a movement score having a positive correlation with a distance between the first user position and the second user position, and in a case where the movement score is a threshold or more, in the notification process, a notification that there is no play area where game play can be safely performed is provided without displaying the new play area on the head mounted display.”
Claims 6-8 are also objected to for depending from claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to either individually or in combination teach the claimed feature of “execute an obstacle portability determination process of determining portability of the detected obstacle, and in the search process, the new play area is searched for assuming that there is no obstacle determined to be portable by the obstacle portability determination process among the detected obstacles.”
Claims 10 and 11 are also objected to for depending from claim 9.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE CHIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614