DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments to the claims filed on 26 May 2026. Claims 1, 4, 7, 8 and 27 – 29 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 7, 8 and 27 – 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Re Claim 1, where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “force fit” in Line 12 in the claim is used by the claim to mean “screw connectors”, “bayonet closure”, “quick-release coupling” (Page 10 of applicant’s specification) while the accepted meaning is “one component is pressed into another with significant force, creating a tight, often permanent connection”. The claim is objected to because applicant has not met the “clarity” and “precision” standard necessary to redefine the term “force fit” to a meaning contrary to the accepted meaning.
In Re Claim 28, the term “closed off in a media sealed manner” in Line 5 is objected to because “media sealed manner” appears to mean a seal that prevents leaking between the connecting element 13 and opening 38, which does not “close off” the opening like a lid would (a seal does not close off an opening). For the purpose of prior art analysis the term will be understood to mean that a seal is present in the opening.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previously made 112 rejections are hereby withdrawn in view of suitable amendments to the claims submitted with applicant’s response.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “connection element” in claims 1 and 28 and “displacer element(s)” in Claims 1 and 28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zieg (US Patent 2,918,878 A) in view of Neyer (US Patent 2,737,896 A).
In Re Claim 1, Zieg discloses a multiple displacement pump (Figures 1 and 2) having a pump housing that comprises a first lid (23) that lies on the outside and a second lid (22) that lies on the outside, and at least one intermediate piece (24) that is accommodated between the lids (22, 23), wherein at least a first fluid chamber (86) and a second fluid chamber (88) are formed between the lids (22, 23) and the at least one intermediate piece (24), wherein the first and second fluid chambers are divided, using at least one displacer element (20; there are two of them each having the same label), in each instance, into at least one propellant chamber (between 22 and 20 and/or between 23 and 20; note “propellant” does not structurally distinguish over the prior art) and one media chamber (between 20 and 24), and wherein the displacer elements (20) of the first and second fluid chambers (86, 88) are connected, with force fit and releasably (via screw/thread 42 and screw 46 (fig. 2) which are releasable force fit elements per applicant’s specification, Page 9, Line 23 – Page 10, Line 3), to at least one lifting rod (48) by way of at least one connection element (46), wherein the at least one lifting rod (48) can extend the at least one connection element (46) through a first passage (hole inside 54) of the adjacent first lid (23), wherein the lifting rod (48) is connected to a first mechanical actuator (52) using releasable connection means (Column 3, Line 19: “disconnected pump”), in such a manner that the drive can be removed and a different drive can be affixed to the lifting rod (48), and wherein the first mechanical actuator (52) is releasably connected to the first lid (23) on an outer side of the first lid (23) as shown in Figure 2, which faces away from a first fluid chamber (88)(Column 2, Lines 15 – 21, 36 – 60, 66 – 69; Column 3, Lines 1 – 20; Figures 1 and 2).
Zieg does not disclose that mechanical actuator is connected to the lifting rod in such a manner, with force fit but releasably (the pin 66 is not necessarily a force fit but releasable connection), wherein specifically either a pneumatic or an electric drive can be adapted (it is a manual drive).
However, Neyer discloses an electric drive (20, 21, 22, 50; Figures 2, 4) that drives lifting rod (“R”) outside the diaphragm pump housing (“P”; 14’) via a force fit but releasable connection (49 which are releasable force fit elements per applicants specification: Page 9, Line 23 – Page 10, Line 3) with motor shaft (22, 50) of the electric drive (Column 3, Lines 1 – 3 and 28 – 32; Column 4, Lines 8 – 10 and 55 – 56; Figures 2, 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to substitute the manual drive of Zieg with the electrical drive of Neyer by connecting the lifting rod (48) of Zieg to motor shaft (22, 50) of Neyer via a screw connection (49) as taught by Neyer because it saves manual labor, and because it is only a matter of substituting one diaphragm drive with another diaphragm drive, so the results of the substitution are predictable (MPEP 2141, Section III, Rationale B), and because automating (via electrical drive) a manual activity has been held to be routine skill in the art – MPEP 2144.
In Re Claim 4, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and it has been held that constructing in one piece an article that has been formerly constructed in various elements (separate housing for the actuator from the lid) joined together would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention – MPEP 2144.04, Section V-B.
In Re Claim 27, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Zieg discloses that the intermediate piece (24) has a common suction line (76) and a common pressure line (74)(Column 3, Lines 25 – 28) for the media chambers (between 20 and 24) of the first and second fluid chambers (86, 88), which are adjacent to one another, in each instance, wherein the suction lines (76) and the pressure lines (74) are blocked off relative to the media chambers (between 20 and 24), in each instance, using valves (130, 92; Column 3, Line 56; Column 4, Lines 18 – 31) that lock in the same direction (when the device to operates as disclosed).
In Re Claim 29, the combined references above disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Neyer discloses that the housing (11) of the mechanical actuator (20) has a support foot (10) that faces away from the intermediate piece of Zieg on one side in the modified apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zieg (US Patent 2,918,878 A) in view of Neyer (US Patent 2,737,896 A) and further in view of MacAskill (US Patent 4,509,904 A).
In Re Claims 7 and 8, Zieg and Neyer disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, but they do not disclose that the electrical drive changes direction of rotation.
However, Figure 3 of MacAskill discloses a mechanical actuator in the form of an electric drive (14) that drives lifting rod (12) outside pump housing (10) via a force fit but releasable connection (depicted bolted connection between 12 and 44 – see Column 3, Line 65 – Column 4, Line 9; which are releasable force fit elements per applicants specification: Page 9, Line 23 – Page 10, Line 3) with motor shaft (44) of the electric drive, the electric drive (14) has a changing direction of rotation (Column 2, Lines 54 – 61) which interacts with the lifting rod (!2), the mechanical actuator is an electric motor (Column 1, Line 42 discloses a servo motor which is an electric motor) that interacts with a ball screw (18) which is assigned to the lifting rod (14) (Column 3, Lines 36 – 48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to substitute the drive of Zieg / Neyer with the electrical motor and ball screw drive as taught by MacAskill for the purpose of providing precise positioning of the lifting rod with reliable repeatability.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zieg (US Patent 2,918,878 A) in view of Hines (PG Pub US 20210301808 A1) and further in view of Scholle (US Patent 4,008,984 A).
In Re Claim 28, Zieg and Hines disclose all the limitations of Claim 1, and Zieg discloses that the intermediate piece (24) has a reach-through opening (in 18) through which the connection element (46), which connects multiple displacer elements (20) to one another and to the at least one lifting rod (48), can be passed, wherein the reach- through opening (in 18) can be closed off.
Zieg and Hines do not disclose that the opening is closed off in a media-sealed manner.
However, Scholle discloses an opening (in end wall/intermediate piece 19 for connection element 14) that is closed off in a media-sealed manner (by seal 41); (Column 2, Lines 63 – 65; Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed the invention to modify the opening (in 18 of Zieg) such that it is closed off in a media-sealed manner as taught by Scholle for the purpose of making the pump suitable for precise fluid metering applications where reproducible flow accuracy is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has argued on Page 11 of Applicant’s Response that “Moreover, the primary reference to Zieg et al. explicitly allows for leakage through the opening and considers it insignificant. Therefore, Zieg et al. teaches away from the solution of Applicant's claim 28 as a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to seal an opening that is intentionally designed to leak”.
Examiner’s Response: There is no disclosure in Zieg that requires leakage as alleged by applicant. Although Zieg functions in spite of the leak, leaks are detrimental if the pump is used in precise fluid metering applications where reproducible flow accuracy is required.
The rest of applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented in this office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/D.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746