DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response to the application filed on 25 February 2025.
Claims 1-20 are presently pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/04/2025 has being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0046507 in view of HAN et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0330090.
Regarding claim 1, Krishnan discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, one or more messages comprising a prediction of a change in a load metric of a first cell of the first base station due to load exchange between one or more cells of the second base station and the first cell of the first base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0085] and [0091]; load exchange parameters are received); and sending, by the first base station to the second base station, one or more messages comprising: a prediction of the load metric of a first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of no load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and one or more neighbor cells (see Krishnan, ¶ [0084] and [0088]; mobility change request is transmitted comprising load prediction).
Although Krishnan discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose and a prediction of the load metric of the first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and the one or more neighbor cells.
HAN teaches and a prediction of the load metric of the first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and the one or more neighbor cells (see HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of HAN with that of Krishnan in order efficiently transition user equipment from first based station to second based station ensuring smooth handover.
Regarding claim 2, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the load exchange comprises at least one of: a handover of a wireless device from the second base station to the first base station or from the first base station to the second base station; dual connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; multiple connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; traffic steering of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; or reconfiguration of a coverage area of the second base station, or the first base station, or both the first base station and the second base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 3, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of load exchange comprises a prediction of a change of the load metric (see Krishnan, ¶ [0088] and HAN, ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of load exchange comprises a prediction of a change of the load metric relative to the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of no load exchange (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that one or more wireless devices change to an active state; an assumption that the one or more wireless devices change to an inactive state; or an assumption that the one or more wireless devices do not change a state (see Krishnan, ¶ [0091] and HAN, ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover decision is confirmed by the first base station; or an assumption that the handover decision is not confirmed by the first base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0085] and HAN, ¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover cause is mobility; an assumption that a handover cause is load balancing; or an assumption that a handover cause is traffic offloading for energy saving (see Krishnan, ¶ [0037], [0080] and HAN, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 8, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover is a required handover; or an assumption that a handover is an optional handover (see Krishnan, ¶ [0089]-[0090] and HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Krishnan discloses an apparatus comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, one or more messages comprising a prediction of a change in a load metric of a first cell of the first base station due to load exchange between one or more cells of the second base station and the first cell of the first base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0085] and [0091]; load exchange parameters are received); and sending, by the first base station to the second base station, one or more messages comprising: a prediction of the load metric of a first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of no load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and one or more neighbor cells (see Krishnan, ¶ [0084] and [0088]; mobility change request is transmitted comprising load prediction).
Although Krishnan discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose and a prediction of the load metric of the first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and the one or more neighbor cells.
HAN teaches and a prediction of the load metric of the first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and the one or more neighbor cells (see HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of HAN with that of Krishnan in order efficiently transition user equipment from first based station to second based station ensuring smooth handover.
Regarding claim 10, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the load exchange comprises at least one of: a handover of a wireless device from the second base station to the first base station or from the first base station to the second base station; dual connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; multiple connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; traffic steering of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; or reconfiguration of a coverage area of the second base station, or the first base station, or both the first base station and the second station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 11, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of load exchange comprises a prediction of a change of the load metric (see Krishnan, ¶ [0088] and HAN, ¶ [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of load exchange comprises a prediction of a change of the load metric relative to the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of no load exchange (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 13, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover decision is confirmed by the first base station; or an assumption that the handover decision is not confirmed by the first base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0085] and HAN, ¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover cause is mobility; an assumption that a handover cause is load balancing; or an assumption that a handover cause is traffic offloading for energy saving (see Krishnan, ¶ [0037], [0080] and HAN, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 15, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover is a required handover; or an assumption that a handover is an optional handover (see Krishnan, ¶ [0089]-[0090] and HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 16, Krishnan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform: receiving, by a first base station from a second base station, one or more messages comprising a prediction of a change in a load metric of a first cell of the first base station due to load exchange between one or more cells of the second base station and the first cell of the first base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0085] and [0091]; load exchange parameters are received); and sending, by the first base station to the second base station, one or more messages comprising: a prediction of the load metric of a first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of no load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and one or more neighbor cells (see Krishnan, ¶ [0084] and [0088]; mobility change request is transmitted comprising load prediction).
Although Krishnan discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose and a prediction of the load metric of the first cell of the first base station based on an assumption of load exchange between the first cell of the first base station and the one or more neighbor cells (see HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of HAN with that of Krishnan in order efficiently transition user equipment from first based station to second based station ensuring smooth handover.
Regarding claim 17, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the load exchange comprises at least one of: a handover of a wireless device from the second base station to the first base station or from the first base station to the second base station; dual connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; multiple connectivity of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; traffic steering of the wireless device between the second base station and the first base station; or reconfiguration of a coverage area of the second base station, or the first base station, or the first base station and the second base station (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0119]).
Regarding claim 18, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of load exchange comprises a prediction of a change of the load metric relative to the prediction of the load metric based on the assumption of no load exchange (see Krishnan, ¶ [0036] and HAN, ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 19, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover cause is mobility; an assumption that a handover cause is load balancing; or an assumption that a handover cause is traffic offloading for energy saving (see Krishnan, ¶ [0037], [0080] and HAN, ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 20, Krishnan-HAN teaches wherein at least one of the prediction based on an assumption of load exchange or the prediction based on an assumption of no load exchange is based on at least one of: an assumption that a handover is a required handover; or an assumption that a handover is an optional handover (see Krishnan, ¶ [0089]-[0090] and HAN, ¶ [0058]-[0059]).
Prior Art of Record
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
a. US 20130310043 A1 is directed to a method for performing a handover of a mobile device from a source cell to a target cell in a cellular wireless telecommunication network, the method comprising the following steps: configuring the mobile device to transmit a first handover trigger signal to the source cell, when a difference between a signal strength of the target cell and a signal strength of the source cell as measured by the mobile device is above a first threshold (105; determining (S1) if a cell traffic load in the source cell is above a cell traffic load threshold; if so, configuring the mobile device to transmit a second handover trigger signal to the source cell, when a difference between a signal strength of the target cell and a signal strength of the source cell as measured by the mobile device is above a second threshold (100), wherein the first threshold is larger than the second threshold.
b. 20220104092 A1 is directed to a method includes exchanging, by a base station information with other base stations, the information containing a list of base stations interfacing with the base station and/or load information of cells under the base stations interfacing with the base station; or the information containing load information, the load information being determined partially according to load-related information of cells under the base station and/or load information of cells under base stations configured to establish a dual connection for a terminal and interfacing with the base station.
c. US 20210084558 A1 is directed to a method of wireless communication includes: receiving a handover decision from the first base station, the handover decision determined to be one of positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive at least partially based on path information of a relay for a future time indicating the relay will be within a coverage area of a second base station; and connecting the relay to the second base station at least partially based on the received handover decision being positive. determining, by a relay, a handover decision is one of positive or negative, wherein the handover decision is determined to be positive at least partially based on one of a signal strength of the first base station is below a strength threshold, load information of the first base station is above a load threshold, a signal strength of a second base station is above the strength threshold, load information of the second base station is below the load threshold, or future path information for the relay indicates the relay will be within a coverage area of the second base station; and connecting the relay to the second base station at least partially based on the handover decision determined to be positive.
Conclusion
/Mohamed Ibrahim/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444