DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 11 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 14 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 5, 14 and 20 describe a swivel end not included in the elected Species.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 131, 133, 134 and 138. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 13 appear to provide for unintended alternatives not supported by the disclosure. Claims 2 and 13 include a scenario wherein the first gate end comprises a protruding tab structure and a mating recess. Claims 2 and 13 also include both tab and recess on the hook end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (US 4,920,615).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a base (16, 19) having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the base comprising a first recess (18) extending into the base from the second side, wherein the base has at least one first thickness (Fig. 2 as shown);
a hook (11) integrally formed with and extending from the base on the second side, the hook comprising an elongated rectilinear portion (14) and a curved portion (between 14 and 15) terminating in a hook end (15);
a moveable gate (32) having a first gate end (34) and a second gate end (adjacent to 33), the second gate end arranged at least partially inside the first recess (Fig. 3 as shown), the moveable gate pivotably coupled inside the first recess (Fig. 3 as shown), the moveable gate extending from the first recess with the first gate end abutting the hook end in a closed configuration to form a first interior region of the zipper pull tab (Fig. 3 as shown), the moveable gate pivotable into the first recess and the first interior region in an open configuration (the device shown in Fig. 3 can operate in this manner); and
a zipper pull coupling (13) integrally formed with or coupled to the first side of the base for coupling to the zipper slider, the zipper pull coupling having at least one second thickness, the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one second thickness (Figs. 1-7 as shown)
Aoki et al. fails to disclose wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one second thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoki et al. such that the first to second thickness is in the range of 4:1 and 2:1, so as to allow for a sufficiently robust hook portion while still being sufficiently slim to fit within an aperture of a slider. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Aoki et al. further discloses wherein at least one of the hook end and first gate end further comprises a protruding tab structure (37) and at least one of the first gate end and hook end respectively further comprises a second, mating recess (21).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki et al. further discloses wherein the curved portion of the hook is insertable into a third coupling attached to a carrying bag (the device as shown and described can be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki et al. further discloses a grip (35) integrally formed with the moveable gate, the grip extending transversely from the moveable gate opposite from the first interior region.
Regarding claim 11, Aoki et al. further discloses wherein each of the hook end and the first gate end further comprise one or more mating faces extending transversely, or longitudinally, or both transversely and longitudinally (Figs. 1, 3 and 7 as shown).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burke et al. (US 2017/0156453).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki et al. further discloses wherein in the closed configuration, the moveable gate extends substantially parallel to the elongated rectilinear portion of the hook (Fig. 3 as shown), but fails to specify the gate and rectilinear portion are parallel.
Burke et al. teach wherein a gate (42) is parallel with a rectilinear portion of a hook (40; Fig. 3 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention translate the beam 19 of Aoki et al. in the downward direction shown in Fig. 3 such that the gate would lie in a parallel manner akin to the geometry shown in Burke et al. A parallel gate would increase the overall volume within the hook to allow insertion of a larger pull tab. (Examiner notes Applicant only specifies “parallel” over the original language “substantially parallel” in the amendment filed 26 June 2021 in Application 16/706,700.)
Claim(s) 6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bragg (US 238,209).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki et al. discloses a spring gate (30) but fails to disclose a bias spring arranged in the first recess; and a pivot coupling coupled to the base and extending through the first recess, wherein the second gate end is pivotably coupled inside the first recess to the pivot coupling.
Bragg teaches a device wherein a gate (d) is biased by a spring (g) arranged in a recess (Figs. 1 and 4 as shown), and a pivot (f) coupling coupled to a base and extending through the first recess (Figs. 1 and 4 as shown), wherein a second gate end (h) is pivotably coupled inside the first recess to the first coupling (Fig. 4 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a swing gate with a separate spring arrangement as taught by Bragg in place of the spring gate of Aoki et al. Gates using a separate spring for biasing can be built to withstand greater forces and are commonly used within the art.
Regarding claims 8-9, Aoki et al. discloses the invention except for wherein the hook has a thickness tapering from the at least one first thickness to at least one third thickness at the curved portion, the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one third thickness, wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one third thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
Bragg teaches a hook with a tapering hook thickness towards a curved portion (Fig. 5 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoki et al. such that the hook element tapers to at least one third thickness at a curved end as demonstrated by Bragg to allow for easier insertion of the hook within a second pull tab or lock. Providing a ratio of 4:1 to 2:1 would preserve base structure strength and a gradual tapering would optimize easy insertion. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 1, 5-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bragg (US 238,209).
Regarding claim 1, Bragg discloses an apparatus comprising:
a base (base of a including a recess) having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the base comprising a first recess (Fig. 1 and 4 shows a recess holding the pivot f and base of the gate d) extending into the base from the second side, wherein the base has at least one first thickness (Fig. 1 and 5 as show a thickness between the opposed sides defining the recess);
a hook (distal portion of a) integrally formed with and extending from the base on the second side, the hook comprising an elongated rectilinear portion and a curved portion terminating in a hook end (Figs. 1 and 4 as shown);
a moveable gate (d) having a first gate end (extending to the hook end) and a second gate end (h), the second gate end arranged at least partially inside the first recess (Fig. 4 as shown), the moveable gate pivotably coupled inside the first recess (Fig. 4 as shown), the moveable gate extending from the first recess with the first gate end abutting the hook end in a closed configuration to form a first interior region of the zipper pull tab (Fig. 4 as shown), the moveable gate pivotable into the first recess and the first interior region in an open configuration (the device shown in Fig. 4 can operate in this manner); and
a zipper pull coupling (b) integrally formed with or coupled to the first side of the base for coupling to the zipper slider, the zipper pull coupling having at least one second thickness, the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one second thickness (Figs. 1-7 as shown).
Bragg fails to disclose wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one second thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bragg such that the first to second thickness is in the range of 4:1 and 2:1, so as to allow for a sufficiently robust hook portion while still being sufficiently slim to fit within an aperture of a slider. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, Bragg further discloses wherein the curved portion of the hook is insertable into a third coupling attached to a carrying bag (the device as shown and described can be used in this manner).
Regarding claim 6, Bragg further discloses a bias spring (g) arranged in the first recess; and a pivot coupling (f) coupled to the base and extending through the first recess, wherein the second gate end is pivotably coupled inside the first recess to the pivot coupling (Fig. 4 as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Bragg further discloses wherein at least part of the elongated rectilinear portion of the hook is coplanar with the base (Fig. 5 shows wherein exterior walls of the rectilinear portion of the hook are coplanar with the interior walls of the base).
Regarding claims 8-9, Bragg further discloses wherein the hook has a thickness tapering from the at least one first thickness to at least one third thickness at the curved portion (Fig. 5 as shown), the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one third thickness (Fig. 5 as shown), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one third thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bragg such that the hook element tapers to at least one third thickness at a curved end at a ratio of 4:1 to 2:1 as these ratios would preserve base structure strength while still optimizing ease of insertion of the hook end into a secondary device. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Bragg further discloses wherein each of the hook end and the first gate end further comprise one or more mating faces extending transversely, or longitudinally, or both transversely and longitudinally (Figs. 1, 2 and 4 as shown).
Claim(s) 12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bragg in view of Sheng (US 6,694,574).
Regarding claim 12, Bragg discloses an apparatus comprising:
a base (base of a including a recess) having at least one first thickness (Fig. 5 as shown), the base having a first side and a second side opposite the first side (Fig. 1 as shown), the base comprising a first recess extending into the base from the second side (Figs. 1 and 4 show a recess including pivot f and base of the gate d);
a hook (distal portion of a) integrally formed with and extending from the second side of the base, the hook comprising an elongated rectilinear portion and a curved portion terminating in a hook end (Figs. 1 and 4 as shown);
a moveable gate (d) having a first gate end (extending to the hook end) and a second gate end (extending to the hook end), the second gate end arranged at least partially inside the first recess (Fig. 4 as shown), the moveable gate extending from the first recess (Fig. 4 as shown) with the first gate end abutting the hook end in a closed configuration to form a first interior region of the zipper pull tab (Fig. 4 as shown), the moveable gate pivotably coupled inside the first recess and pivotable into the first recess and the first interior region in an open configuration (the device shown in Fig. 4 operates in this manner);
a zipper pull coupling (b) integrally formed with or coupled to the first side of the base for coupling to the zipper slider, the zipper pull coupling having at least one second thickness, the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one second thickness (Figs. 1-7 as shown).
Bragg fails to disclose wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one second thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bragg such that the first to second thickness is in the range of 4:1 and 2:1, so as to allow for a sufficiently robust hook portion while still being sufficiently slim to fit within an aperture of a slider. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Bragg further fails to disclose a grip integrally formed with the moveable gate, the grip extending transversely from the moveable gate opposite from the first interior region.
Sheng teaches a device wherein a gate (34) includes a grip (343).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the need to include a tactile indicator to a user attempting to actuate the gate without looking directly at the gate. Including a grip as taught by Sheng to the gate of Bragg would indicate to a user where to press and open the gate.
Regarding claim 16, Bragg further discloses a bias spring (g) arranged in the first recess; and a pivot coupling (f) coupled to the base and extending through the first recess, wherein the second gate end is pivotably coupled inside the first recess to the pivot coupling (Fig. 4 as shown).
Regarding claim 17, Bragg further discloses wherein at least part of the elongated rectilinear portion of the hook is coplanar with the base (Fig. 5 shows wherein exterior walls of the rectilinear portion of the hook are coplanar with the interior walls of the base).
Regarding claim 18, Bragg further discloses wherein the hook has a thickness tapering from the at least one first thickness to at least one third thickness at the curved portion (Fig. 5 as shown), the at least one first thickness greater than the at least one third thickness (Fig. 5 as shown), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a ratio of the at least one first thickness to the at least one third thickness is between 4:1 to 2:1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bragg such that the hook element tapers to at least one third thickness at a curved end at a ratio of 4:1 to 2:1 as these ratios would preserve base structure strength while still optimizing ease of insertion of the hook end into a secondary device. As discussed in MPEP 2144.05 (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955)), where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Bragg further discloses wherein each of the hook end and the first gate end further comprise one or more mating faces extending transversely, or longitudinally, or both transversely and longitudinally (Figs. 1, 2 and 4 as shown).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bragg and Sheng as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Beed (US 2008/0083100).
Regarding claim 13, Bragg discloses the invention except for wherein at least one of the hook end and first gate end further comprises a protruding tab structure and at least one of the first gate end and hook end respectively further comprises a second, mating recess.
Beed teaches a protruding tab structure (113) and mating recess (112) on hook and gate ends.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the need to ensure proper gate hook alignment that would also help preserve the overall structural integrity in a closed state. Adding the mating structures of Beed to the hook and gate ends of the combination device of Bragg and Sheng ensures secure interfitting of the hook structures when the gate is closed and prevents displacement of the gate when the gate is subjected to lateral loads.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bragg and Sheng disclose the invention except for wherein in the closed configuration, the moveable gate extends parallel to the elongated rectilinear portion of the hook.
Beed teaches a gate (108) extending parallel to a rectilinear portion (106c) of a hook.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the overall geometry of the hook of Bragg by extending the curvilinear portion of the hook and locating the pivot perpendicular under the hook end such that the gate is parallel to a rectilinear portion. The altered geometry would provide a greater volume within the hook to allow connection to larger pull tabs. (Examiner notes Applicant only specifies “parallel” over the original language “substantially parallel” in the amendment filed 26 June 2021 in Application 16/706,700.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892 and Tang (US 2003/0101548) for a zipper pull with a resilient gate. Nettles (US 10,334,913) for an adjustable zipper pull with an hook with a movable gate.
/MICHAEL S LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3677