DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 19/045,871 filed on 2/5/25. Claims 1-14 are pending. Claims 15-20 has been cancelled due to a restriction requirement.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species A, in the reply filed on 12/3/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/25 (2), 4/9/25, 7/7/25 (2) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 10/8/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Note: The “Electromechanical design for an electrically powered, actively balanced one leg planar robot” is missing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 13 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 9,752,653 to Yao.
Claim 1
Yao discloses in Figs 1-10,
A gear assembly comprising: a first support (e.g. 3) extending circumferentially around an assembly axis in a first plane intersecting the assembly axis; a second support (e.g. 4) extending circumferentially around the assembly axis in a second plane intersecting the assembly axis, wherein the first and second planes are spaced apart from one another along the assembly axis (see Fig 3 & 4); a first transfer member (e.g. A) including first lobes and first troughs circumferentially alternating in a third plane intersecting the assembly axis; a second transfer member (e.g. B) including second lobes and second troughs circumferentially alternating in a fourth plane intersecting the assembly axis, wherein the third and fourth planes are between the first and second planes along the assembly axis; and pins (e.g. 531) individually extending between the first and second supports along respective pin axes, wherein the individual pins are configured to rotate about the respective pin axes relative to the first and second supports in response to force from at least one of the first and second transfer members during operation of the gear assembly as the first and second transfer members move out-of-phase with one another relative to the assembly axis.
Claim 2
The gear assembly of claim 1, wherein: the gear assembly further comprises: first roller bearings (e.g. 6) at the first support, and second roller bearings (e.g. 7) at the second support; and the pins individually extend between different respective pairs of one of the first roller bearings and one of the second roller bearings.
Claim 3
The gear assembly of claim 2, wherein: the first support includes first sockets (e.g. 32) circumferentially distributed around the assembly axis; the first roller bearings are at least partially disposed within the first sockets; the second support includes second sockets (e.g. 42) circumferentially distributed around the assembly axis; and the second roller bearings are at least partially disposed within the second sockets.
Claim 4
The gear assembly of claim 3, wherein: the first support includes a first plate defining first through holes; the first sockets are at the first through holes; the second support includes a second plate defining second through holes; and the second sockets are at the second through holes (see Fig 3, each support has a base plate attached, which shows thickness in supports).
Claim 6
The gear assembly of claim 2, wherein: the first and second roller bearings individually include: rollers (e.g. 523) individually defining a cylindrical outer surface, an annular frame (e.g. 522) carrying the rollers; and the individual pins are configured to contact the cylindrical outer surfaces of the corresponding rollers directly.
Claim 13
The gear assembly of claim 1, further comprising threaded fasteners (e.g. 20 & 43) individually extending between and in contact with the first and second supports.
Claim 14
The gear assembly of claim 1, wherein: the first lobes and first troughs form a first continuous cycloidal profile through which the first transfer member contacts at least some of the pins; and the second lobes and second troughs form a second continuous cycloidal profile through which the second transfer member contacts at least some of the pins (see profile and shapes in Fig 6).
Claims 1, 2 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 11,168,763 to Chung et al.
Claim 1
Chung discloses in Figs 1-6b,
A gear assembly comprising: a first support (e.g. 50) extending circumferentially around an assembly axis in a first plane intersecting the assembly axis; a second support (e.g. 61) extending circumferentially around the assembly axis in a second plane intersecting the assembly axis, wherein the first and second planes are spaced apart from one another along the assembly axis (see Fig 2a-2d); a first transfer member (e.g. 51) including first lobes and first troughs (e.g. see 511) circumferentially alternating in a third plane intersecting the assembly axis; a second transfer member (e.g. 60) including second lobes and second troughs (e.g. see 601) circumferentially alternating in a fourth plane intersecting the assembly axis, wherein the third and fourth planes are between the first and second planes along the assembly axis; and pins (e.g. 52) individually extending between the first and second supports along respective pin axes, wherein the individual pins are configured to rotate about the respective pin axes relative to the first and second supports in response to force from at least one of the first and second transfer members during operation of the gear assembly as the first and second transfer members move out-of-phase with one another relative to the assembly axis.
Claim 2
The gear assembly of claim 1, wherein: the gear assembly further comprises: first roller bearings (e.g. 80a) at the first support, and second roller bearings (e.g. 80a) at the second support; and the pins individually extend between different respective pairs of one of the first roller bearings and one of the second roller bearings (see Fig 2d).
Claim 11
The gear assembly of claim 1, further comprising: an input shaft (e.g. 2) configured to rotate about the assembly axis; and a first eccentric bearing (e.g. 80a) carried by the input shaft, wherein the first transfer member defines a first central opening (e.g. 513) at which the first eccentric bearing is rotatably disposed; and a second eccentric bearing (e.g. 80a) carried by the input shaft, wherein the second transfer member defines a second central opening (e.g. 603) at which the second eccentric bearing is rotatably disposed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,752,653 to Yao in view of U.S. Patent 4,373,760 to Durham.
Claim 5
Yao discloses in a gear assembly with a first support, a second support, a first transfer member with lobes and troughs, a second transfer member with lobes and troughs and pins extending between the two supports with roller bearings thereon. Yao however, does not explicitly disclose that the bearings are drawn-cup needle roller bearings. Durham teaches, drawn-cup needle roller bearings (e.g. 17). Therefore it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to substitute the bearings of Yao with those of Durham to achieve the predictable result of reducing rotational resistance between the pins and their supports.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 9,752,653 to Yao.
Claim 12
Yao discloses in a gear assembly with a first support, a second support, a first transfer member with lobes and troughs, a second transfer member with lobes and troughs and pins extending between the two supports with roller bearings thereon. Yao however, does not explicitly disclose that an input-to-output reduction ratio is within the a range from 20:1 to 40:1. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims was effectively filed to select the ratio of the input-to-output to be within a range from 20:1 to 40:1, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2D 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,168,763 to Chung et al.
Claim 12
Chung discloses in a gear assembly with a first support, a second support, a first transfer member with lobes and troughs, a second transfer member with lobes and troughs and pins extending between the two supports with roller bearings thereon. Chung however, does not explicitly disclose that an input-to-output reduction ratio is within the a range from 20:1 to 40:1. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims was effectively filed to select the ratio of the input-to-output to be within a range from 20:1 to 40:1, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2D 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Further it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 & 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7 & 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,785. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent full encompass those of the instant application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gu ‘764 teaches a planetary gearbox and robot joint, but lacks a multiple portion pin and a carrier with rods that penetrate all of the transfer members.
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655