DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending, claims 1-2, 11-12 and 20 are currently amended, claims 3-10 and 13-19 are original.
Response to Arguments
Amended claims 2 and 12 overcome the previous claims objections, the objections to claims 2 and 12 are withdrawn.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the examiner does not “identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the claimed invention does”. Applicant further argues that “the Examiner merely states conclusory that it would have been obvious to modify Santana with the teachings of Goodchild "by adding a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit for the benefit of allowing the user to charge an electronic device comprising a wearable electronic device." (Remarks page 9).
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that SANTANA discloses a charging device for a plurality of different user electronic devices. The charger comprises a charging base which receives AC power from an external power source, a rectifier for converting the AC power into DC and a plurality of terminals providing the DC power on the top surface of the charging base. A plurality of charging adapter for charging the plurality of different user electronic devices are placed on the charging base and receive the DC output via the plurality of charging base DC terminals.
SANTANA does not disclose that one of the detachable top units (adaptor) receives the DC and charges a device wirelessly via a built-in coil. The examiner relied on GOODCHILD to address the missing limitations.
GOOODCHILD discloses a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil, the top unit receives power from the charging base either wirelessly (AC) or via a wired connection (DC) and provides AC power wirelessly to an electronic device comprising a wearable device (watch) (See Fig.14 and previous non-final rejection). The coil encircles the charging portion of the top unit which matches that charge receiving portion of the watch (See Fig.11).
The examiner provided a motivational statement for adding a top unit which can receive DC power and provide AC to wirelessly charge a wearable device for the benefit of allowing the user to wirelessly charge a wearable electronic device using the charging base. This clearly increases the usability of the charger by allowing to charge more devices.
Applicant further argued that the top unit receives wireless power (AC) via a wireless receiving coil and not DC power. The examiner however refers the applicant to GOODCHILD (Fig.14) which discloses the top unit can receive power wirelessly, an external power source or from a built-in storage and convert that to AC power to wirelessly charge the wearable electronic device.
Regarding the claims amendments adding the limitation “wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit”. The examiner provided SAMARDZIJA et al. (US 2024/0291319 A1) to address the newly added limitation. Please see new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA III (US 2023/0378780 A1, hereinafter SANTANA) in view of GOODCHILD et al. (US 2021/0218286 A1, hereinafter GOODCHILD) and in further view of SAMARDZIJA et al. (US 2024/0291319 A1, hereinafter SAMARDZIJA).
Regarding claim 1, SANTANA discloses a charging apparatus, comprising:
a base unit comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (See Fig.4, discloses a charging base 10. Par.19 discloses the charging base comprising charging circuitry including an AC/DC converter. It is inherent the components are installed on a PCB as the components cannot just float inside the base), wherein the PCB includes:
an input connector for receiving an Alternating Current (AC) power (See Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19, which includes a port that receives a wall outlet connector 28 that connects to an external wall outlet as a source of electricity for the wall-outlet type power supply 19);
a rectifier for converting the AC power to a Direct Current (DC) power (See Par.19, discloses an “invertor” for converting the received AC into DC); and
a top unit detachably positioned over the base unit and electrically connected with the rectifier for receiving the DC power (See Fig.4, discloses a plurality of charging adapters 14, Par.23, discloses each adapter comprising electrical contacts 17 for receiving DC power from base 10 via base contacts 13).
However, SANTANA does not disclose wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit, wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit.
GOODCHILD discloses a top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1106), wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil (See Fig.14, Item#1412+1414, discloses a wireless transmitter and a wireless transmitting coil. The top unit receives DC power from external power 1430 and power input circuit 1416. Par.69, discloses DC current 1432 is provided to the wireless power transmitter and transmitted to load device 1440) for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1108 and Par.53, discloses the top unit is used to wirelessly charge a wearable device).
SANTANA and GOODCHILD are analogous art since they both deal with electronic device chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA with the teachings of GOODCHILD by adding a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit for the benefit of allowing the user to charge an electronic device comprising a wearable electronic device.
However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not disclose wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit.
SAMARDZIJA discloses a charger comprising a top unit, the top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of a wearable device encircling the top unit, wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit (See Fig.1A-1B, disclose a top unit 104 “charger island” comprising a charging coil 108 for wirelessly charging a wearable electronic device 102 comprising a wireless receiving coil 110. Fig.4 and Par.39, further disclose the wireless charging coil 406A-406D encircling the charger island to charge the wearable device “ring” via receiving coil RX).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD with the further teachings of SAMARDZIJA by using a top unit comprising a coil along the perimeter of the top unit for the benefit allowing the charger to charge a wearable electronic device comprising a wearable ring.
Regarding claim 11, SANTANA discloses a charging apparatus, comprising:
a base unit comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (See Fig.4, discloses a charging base 10. Par.19 discloses the charging base comprising charging circuitry including an AC/DC converter. It is inherent the components are installed on a PCB as the components cannot just float inside the base), wherein the PCB includes:
an input connector for receiving an Alternating Current (AC) power (See Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19, which includes a port that receives a wall outlet connector 28 that connects to an external wall outlet as a source of electricity for the wall-outlet type power supply 19);
a rectifier for converting the AC power to a Direct Current (DC) power (See Par.19, discloses an “invertor” for converting the received AC into DC); and
a top unit detachably positioned over the base unit and electrically connected with the rectifier for receiving the DC power (See Fig.4, discloses a plurality of charging adapters 14, Par.23, discloses each adapter comprising electrical contacts 17 for receiving DC power from base 10 via base contacts 13), wherein the top unit is of variable size (See Fig.4 and Par.17, discloses a plurality of different size adaptors 14), enabling compatibility with different sizes of the devices (See Par.17, discloses the plurality of devices are of different shape and size).
However, SANTANA does not disclose wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit, wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit.
GOODCHILD discloses a top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1106), wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil (See Fig.14, Item#1412+1414, discloses a wireless transmitter and a wireless transmitting coil. The top unit receives DC power from external power 1430 and power input circuit 1416. Par.69, discloses DC current 1432 is provided to the wireless power transmitter and transmitted to load device 1440) for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1108 and Par.53, discloses the top unit is used to wirelessly charge a wearable device).
SANTANA and GOODCHILD are analogous art since they both deal with electronic device chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA with the teachings of GOODCHILD by adding a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit for the benefit of allowing the user to charge an electronic device comprising a wearable electronic device (SANTANA clearly discloses using different size adaptors for different size electronic devices, SANTATA as modified by GOODCHILD discloses the adaptor being a wireless charger for wirelessly charging a wearable device).
However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not disclose wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit.
SAMARDZIJA discloses a charger comprising a top unit, the top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of a wearable device encircling the top unit, wherein the wireless charging coil extends along a circumference of the top unit (See Fig.1A-1B, disclose a top unit 104 “charger island” comprising a charging coil 108 for wirelessly charging a wearable electronic device 102 comprising a wireless receiving coil 110. Fig.4 and Par.39, further disclose the wireless charging coil 406A-406D encircling the charger island to charge the wearable device “ring” via receiving coil RX).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD with the further teachings of SAMARDZIJA by using a top unit comprising a coil along the perimeter of the top unit for the benefit allowing the charger to charge a wearable electronic device comprising a wearable ring.
Regarding claims 2 and 12 (claim 2 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the input connector is connected to an AC power source (See SANTANA, Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19). However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not explicitly disclose a three-pin power cord or a two-pin power chord.
The examiner explains that the three-pin power cord and two-pin power cord are well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA by using a three-pin power cord for the benefit of preventing electric shock by providing a path to ground for any leaking electricity.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 13-14 (claims 3-4 are considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the base unit and the top unit are detachably connected via a magnetic locking mechanism (See SANTANA, Par.18, discloses securement mechanism comprising magnets, clips or similar devices to secure the connection between adaptors 14 and adaptor slots 12. Claim 4 is met by the locking mechanism being magnetic).
Regarding claims 6 and 16 (claim 6 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, further comprises a base plate fixed at bottom of the base unit to cover components of the base unit (See SANTANA, Fig.4, Item#11 and Par.22 discloses a base plate 11 that includes the power supply and other electronic components of the system).
Regarding claims 9 and 19 (claim 9 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, further comprises male connectors configured to engage with corresponding female connectors for electrical connection and structural stability (See SANTANA, Fig.2, Items#13 and Pars.18-19, disclose electrical contact protrusion 13 that transmits power to the adaptor via contact 17. The electrical contact forms a protrusion, and the bottom of the adaptors form a groove that accept the protrusion such that the terminals contact one another).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA and in further view of KELLONIEMI (US 2025/0055294 A1, hereinafter KELLONIEMI).
Regarding claims 5 and 15 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA do not disclose further comprises a light guide beneath the PCB to display a status of charging of the wearable device.
KELLONIEMI discloses a charging device for a wearable device, the charging device comprising comprises a light guide beneath the PCB to display a status of charging of the wearable device (See Par.98, discloses a light 415 to display a ring battery health/charge status).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and KELLONIEMI are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA with the teachings of KELLONIEMI by adding the disclosed light guide for the benefit of alerting the user to the battery charging status of the electronic devices.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA and in further view of FENG et al. (US 2021/0281088 A1, hereinafter FENG).
Regarding claims 7 and 17 (claim 7 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA do not disclose further comprises a pad fixed beneath the base unit for restricting the slipping and free movement of the base unit.
FENG discloses a wireless charging device comprising a base unit, further comprising a pad fixed beneath the base unit for restricting the slipping and free movement of the base unit (See Fig.4, discloses the bottom of wireless charging base unit 2 comprising a plurality of rubber pads 22 to prevent slipping of the charging base [Par.46]).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and FENG are analogous art since they all deal with charging of portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA as applied to claim 1 with the further teachings of FENG by adding the rubber pads at the bottom of the charging base unit for the benefit providing slip resistance to the charging base unit.
Regarding claims 8 and 18 (claim 8 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and FENG disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 7 as discussed above, However, SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and FENG do not disclose wherein the pad fixed beneath the base unit is made of metal to add extra weight and enhance stability of the base unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and FENG by replacing the rubber pads with metallic ones that add extra weight for the benefit of providing a resilient pad that does not wear out with time.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA and in further view of HYUN-JUN et al. (US 2012/0206090 A1, hereinafter HYUN).
Regarding claims 10 and 20 (claim 10 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA do not disclose wherein the base unit further comprises pins configured to engage with corresponding slots in the top unit to ensure correct orientation and secure positioning.
HYUN discloses a charger (See Fig.1, Item#200) comprising magnetic pins (See Figs.1and 2, Items#280) to engage with corresponding magnetic slots in the top unit (See Fig.2, Items#180).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD, SAMARDZIJA and HYUN are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD and SAMARDZIJA with the teachings of HYUN by using the magnetic charging pins and corresponding slots in the base unit and top unit for the benefit of enhancing the security of the electrical connection between the base unit and the top unit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859