DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite the limitations “a three-pin power chord or a two-pin power chord”. The bolded term should be amended to “cord”. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pre-appeal brief, filed 10/13/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 103 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9, 11-14, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA III (US 2023/0378780 A1, hereinafter SANTANA) in view of GOODCHILD et al. (US 2021/0218286 A1, hereinafter GOODCHILD).
Regarding claim 1, SANTANA discloses a charging apparatus, comprising:
a base unit comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (See Fig.4, discloses a charging base 10. Par.19 discloses the charging base comprising charging circuitry including an AC/DC converter. It is inherent the components are installed on a PCB as the components cannot just float inside the base), wherein the PCB includes:
an input connector for receiving an Alternating Current (AC) power (See Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19, which includes a port that receives a wall outlet connector 28 that connects to an external wall outlet as a source of electricity for the wall-outlet type power supply 19);
a rectifier for converting the AC power to a Direct Current (DC) power (See Par.19, discloses an “invertor” for converting the received AC into DC); and
a top unit detachably positioned over the base unit and electrically connected with the rectifier for receiving the DC power (See Fig.4, discloses a plurality of charging adapters 14, Par.23, discloses each adapter comprising electrical contacts 17 for receiving DC power from base 10 via base contacts 13).
However, SANTANA does not disclose wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit.
GOODCHILD discloses a top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1106), wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil (See Fig.14, Item#1412+1414, discloses a wireless transmitter and a wireless transmitting coil. The top unit receives DC power from external power 1430 and power input circuit 1416. Par.69, discloses DC current 1432 is provided to the wireless power transmitter and transmitted to load device 1440) for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1108 and Par.53, discloses the top unit is used to wirelessly charge a wearable device).
SANTANA and GOODCHILD are analogous art since they both deal with electronic device chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA with the teachings of GOODCHILD by adding a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit for the benefit of allowing the user to charge an electronic device comprising a wearable electronic device.
Regarding claim 11, SANTANA discloses a charging apparatus, comprising:
a base unit comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (See Fig.4, discloses a charging base 10. Par.19 discloses the charging base comprising charging circuitry including an AC/DC converter. It is inherent the components are installed on a PCB as the components cannot just float inside the base), wherein the PCB includes:
an input connector for receiving an Alternating Current (AC) power (See Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19, which includes a port that receives a wall outlet connector 28 that connects to an external wall outlet as a source of electricity for the wall-outlet type power supply 19);
a rectifier for converting the AC power to a Direct Current (DC) power (See Par.19, discloses an “invertor” for converting the received AC into DC); and
a top unit detachably positioned over the base unit and electrically connected with the rectifier for receiving the DC power (See Fig.4, discloses a plurality of charging adapters 14, Par.23, discloses each adapter comprising electrical contacts 17 for receiving DC power from base 10 via base contacts 13), wherein the top unit is of variable size (See Fig.4 and Par.17, discloses a plurality of different size adaptors 14), enabling compatibility with different sizes of the devices (See Par.17, discloses the plurality of devices are of different shape and size).
However, SANTANA does not disclose wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit.
GOODCHILD discloses a top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1106), wherein the top unit includes a wireless charging coil (See Fig.14, Item#1412+1414, discloses a wireless transmitter and a wireless transmitting coil. The top unit receives DC power from external power 1430 and power input circuit 1416. Par.69, discloses DC current 1432 is provided to the wireless power transmitter and transmitted to load device 1440) for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit (See Fig.11, Item#1108 and Par.53, discloses the top unit is used to wirelessly charge a wearable device).
SANTANA and GOODCHILD are analogous art since they both deal with electronic device chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA with the teachings of GOODCHILD by adding a top unit comprising a wireless charging coil for wireless charging of the wearable device encircling the top unit for the benefit of allowing the user to charge an electronic device comprising a wearable electronic device (SANTANA clearly discloses using different size adaptors for different size electronic devices, SANTATA as modified by GOODCHILD discloses the adaptor being a wireless charger for wirelessly charging a wearable device).
Regarding claims 2 and 12 (claim 2 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the input connector is connected to an AC power source (See SANTANA, Par.19, discloses the base receives power via a wall outlet, Par.22 and Fig.4 disclose a wall outlet-type power supply 19). However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not explicitly disclose a three-pin power chord or a two-pin power chord.
The examiner explains that the three-pin power chord and two-pin power chord are well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD by using a three-pin power chord for the benefit of preventing electric shock by providing a path to ground for any leaking electricity.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 13-14 (claims 3-4 are considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the base unit and the top unit are detachably connected via a magnetic locking mechanism (See SANTANA, Par.18, discloses securement mechanism comprising magnets, clips or similar devices to secure the connection between adaptors 14 and adaptor slots 12. Claim 4 is met by the locking mechanism being magnetic).
Regarding claims 6 and 16 (claim 6 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, further comprises a base plate fixed at bottom of the base unit to cover components of the base unit (See SANTANA, Fig.4, Item#11 and Par.22 discloses a base plate 11 that includes the power supply and other electronic components of the system).
Regarding claims 9 and 19 (claim 9 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, further comprises male connectors configured to engage with corresponding female connectors for electrical connection and structural stability (See SANTANA, Fig.2, Items#13 and Pars.18-19, disclose electrical contact protrusion 13 that transmits power to the adaptor via contact 17. The electrical contact forms a protrusion, and the bottom of the adaptors form a groove that accept the protrusion such that the terminals contact one another).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and in further view of KELLONIEMI (US 2025/0055294 A1, hereinafter KELLONIEMI).
Regarding claims 5 and 15 (claim 5 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not disclose further comprises a light guide beneath the PCB to display a status of charging of the wearable device.
KELLONIEMI discloses a charging device for a wearable device, the charging device comprising comprises a light guide beneath the PCB to display a status of charging of the wearable device (See Par.98, discloses a light 415 to display a ring battery health/charge status).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD and KELLONIEMI are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD with the teachings of KELLONIEMI by adding the disclosed light guide for the benefit of alerting the user to the battery charging status of the electronic devices.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and in further view of FENG et al. (US 2021/0281088 A1, hereinafter FENG).
Regarding claims 7 and 17 (claim 7 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not disclose further comprises a pad fixed beneath the base unit for restricting the slipping and free movement of the base unit.
FENG discloses a wireless charging device comprising a base unit, further comprising a pad fixed beneath the base unit for restricting the slipping and free movement of the base unit (See Fig.4, discloses the bottom of wireless charging base unit 2 comprising a plurality of rubber pads 22 to prevent slipping of the charging base [Par.46]).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD and FENG are analogous art since they all deal with charging of portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD as applied to claim 1 with the further teachings of FENG by adding the rubber pads at the bottom of the charging base unit for the benefit providing slip resistance to the charging base unit.
Regarding claims 8 and 18 (claim 8 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA, GOODCHILD and FENG disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 7 as discussed above, However, SANTANA, GOODCHILD and FENG do not disclose wherein the pad fixed beneath the base unit is made of metal to add extra weight and enhance stability of the base unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA, GOODCHILD and FENG by replacing the rubber pads with metallic ones that add extra weight for the benefit of providing a resilient pad that does not wear out with time.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SANTANA in view of GOODCHILD and in further view of HYUN-JUN et al. (US 2012/0206090 A1, hereinafter HYUN).
Regarding claims 10 and 20 (claim 10 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), SANTANA and GOODCHILD disclose the charging apparatus as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, However, SANTANA and GOODCHILD do not disclose wherein the base unit further comprises pins configured to engage with corresponding slots in the top unit to ensure correct orientation and secure positioning.
HYUN discloses a charger (See Fig.1, Item#200) comprising magnetic pins (See Figs.1and 2, Items#280) to engage with corresponding magnetic slots in the top unit (See Fig.2, Items#180).
SANTANA, GOODCHILD and HYUN are analogous art since they all deal with chargers for portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SANTANA and GOODCHILD with the teachings of HYUN by using the magnetic charging pins and corresponding slots in the base unit and top unit for the benefit of enhancing the security of the electrical connection between the base unit and the top unit.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859