Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 10, 12, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada et al. (US App. 20180254010 hereinafter referred to as “Kit”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US App. 20160093248).
In regard to claim 1, Kit teaches a computer-implemented method (see at least Abstract and Para. 28) comprising: identifying an input gray level while a display panel of a device is operating at a first refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-5 gradation determination and conversion after determining frequency); retrieving, from a storage at the device, a corresponding gray level for the input gray level, the corresponding gray level having been selected to lower a difference between a first measured optical property of the display panel (See Fig. 7 and Para. 62 measured luminance) for the input gray level at the first refresh rate and a second measured optical property of the display panel for the corresponding gray level at the second refresh rate (see Para. 38 and 70 correction is done to suppress changes in gradation characteristic/luminance due to changing driving frequency).
Kit is not relied upon to teach adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level; and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data, the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate.
However, Shi teaches adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level (see Figs. 4A-4B and Para. 78); and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data (see Para. 78-79), the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-4B different luminance for same grayscale level across different refresh rates).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi to maintain picture quality even if refresh rate is varied (see Para. 5).
In regard to claim 12, Kit teaches a computing device (see at least Abstract and Para. 28) comprising: a display panel; one or more processors; and data storage, wherein the data storage has stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to carry out operations (see Para. 1) comprising: identifying an input gray level while the display panel is operating at a first refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-5 gradation determination and conversion after determining frequency); retrieving, from a storage at the computing device, a corresponding gray level for the input gray level, the corresponding gray level having been selected to lower a difference between a first measured optical property of the display panel (See Fig. 7 and Para. 62 measured luminance) for the input gray level at the first refresh rate and a second measured optical property of the display panel for the corresponding gray level at the second refresh rate (see Para. 38 and 70 correction is done to suppress changes in gradation characteristic/luminance due to changing driving frequency).
Kit is not relied upon to teach adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level; and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data, the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate.
However, Shi teaches adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level (see Figs. 4A-4B and Para. 78); and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data (see Para. 78-79), the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-4B different luminance for same grayscale level across different refresh rates).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi to maintain picture quality even if refresh rate is varied (see Para. 5).
In regard to claim 20, Kit teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (see Para. 1) comprising: identifying an input gray level while a display panel of a device is operating at a first refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-5 gradation determination and conversion after determining frequency); retrieving, from a storage at the device, a corresponding gray level for the input gray level, the corresponding gray level having been selected to lower a difference between a first measured optical property of the display panel (See Fig. 7 and Para. 62 measured luminance) for the input gray level at the first refresh rate and a second measured optical property of the display panel for the corresponding gray level at the second refresh rate (see Para. 38 and 70 correction is done to suppress changes in gradation characteristic/luminance due to changing driving frequency).
Kit is not relied upon to teach adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level; and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data, the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate.
However, Shi teaches adjusting input display data using the corresponding gray level for the input gray level (see Figs. 4A-4B and Para. 78); and transitioning, based on the adjusted input display data (see Para. 78-79), the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate (see Figs. 4A-4B different luminance for same grayscale level across different refresh rates).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi to maintain picture quality even if refresh rate is varied (see Para. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Shi further teaches wherein the first refresh rate is 60 Hz and wherein the second refresh rate is 90 Hz (see Figs. 4A-4B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the refresh rates of Shi to maintain picture quality even if refresh rate is varied (see Para. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kit further teaches wherein the first measured optical property and the second measured optical property comprise a luminance of the display panel (see Para. 63 luminance or chromaticity measurement).
Regarding claim 10, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kit further teaches wherein the first measured optical property and the second measured optical property comprise a color of the display panel (see Para. 63 luminance or chromaticity measurement).
Regarding claim 18, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claim 12. Kit further teaches wherein the first measured optical property and the second measured optical property comprise one of: (1) a luminance of the display panel, or (ii) a color of the display panel (see Para. 63 luminance or chromaticity measurement).
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 13-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada et al. (US App. 20180254010 hereinafter referred to as “Kit”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US App. 20160093248) in further view of Ranjan et al. (US App. 20210201732 hereinafter referred to as “Ran”).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 12 respectively. Kit and Shi are not relied upon to teach identifying a rate change triggering event while the display panel is operating at the first refresh rate, and wherein the transitioning of the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate is performed in response to the identifying of the rate change triggering event.
However, Ran teaches identifying a rate change triggering event while the display panel is operating at the first refresh rate, and wherein the transitioning of the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate is performed in response to the identifying of the rate change triggering event (see Para. 8, 10, 12, 22-25 dynamically adjust refresh rate for device usage applications or user can select it as a mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the specified changes in refresh rates of Ran to maintain user experience (See Abstract).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Kit in view of Shi and Ran teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 13 respectively. Ran further teaches wherein the rate change triggering event is initiated by a process running on the device (see Para. 8, 10, 12, 22-25 dynamically adjust refresh rate for device usage applications or user can select it as a mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the specified changes in refresh rates of Ran to maintain user experience (See Abstract).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Kit in view of Shi and Ran teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 13 respectively. Ran further teaches wherein the rate change triggering event comprises a user interaction with the display panel (see Para. 8, 10, 12, 22-25 dynamically adjust refresh rate for device usage applications or user can select it as a mode).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the specified changes in refresh rates of Ran to maintain user experience (See Abstract).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Kit in view of Shi and Ran teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 12 respectively. Ran further teaches further comprising: after transitioning the display panel from the first refresh rate to the second refresh rate, detecting that the rate change triggering event has ended; and in response to detecting that the rate change triggering event has ended, transitioning the display panel from the second refresh rate to the first refresh rate (see Para. 8, 10, 12, 22-25, 30 dynamically adjust refresh rate for device usage applications or user can select it as a mode as well as determine power state of on battery or charging station for increasing or decreasing refresh rate to conserve power).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the specified changes in refresh rates of Ran to maintain user experience (See Abstract).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada et al. (US App. 20180254010 hereinafter referred to as “Kit”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US App. 20160093248) in further view of Ranjan et al. (US App. 20210201732 hereinafter referred to as “Ran”) in further view of Huang et al. (US App. 20160173862 hereinafter referred to as “Hua”).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Kit in view of Shi and Ran teaches all the limitations of claims 2 and 13 respectively. Kit in view of Shi and Ran are not relied upon to teach wherein the rate change triggering event is based on an environmental state measurement associated with an environment around the computing device.
Ran as discussed above does disclose the concept of triggering events. However, Hua teaches wherein the rate change triggering event is based on an environmental state measurement associated with an environment around the computing device (see Para. 121 ambient light sensor to adjust display brightness).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the specified changes in refresh rates of Ran and ambient sensor of Hua to prevent degrading image for the displayed image (See Para. 6). Examiner also notes Kit as modified by Shi and Ran discloses the base product/process of refresh frequency changing based on detected triggered events while Hua teaches the known technique of ambient light as a trigger so as to yield predictable results of changing the display based on ambient light in the device of Kit as modified by Shi and Ran.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada et al. (US App. 20180254010 hereinafter referred to as “Kit”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US App. 20160093248) in further view of Wang et al. (US App. 20160093239).
Regarding claim 7, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Kit and Shi are not relied upon to teach wherein the input gray level is based on determining that the first measured optical property is less than an optical threshold.
However, Wang teaches wherein the input gray level is based on determining that the first measured optical property is less than an optical threshold (See Abstract, and Para. 47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the thresholds of Wang for optimal display quality (See Para. 3).
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitada et al. (US App. 20180254010 hereinafter referred to as “Kit”) in view of Shimizu et al. (US App. 20160093248) in further view of Shin (US App. 20170061934).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Kit in view of Shi teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 12 respectively. Kit and Shi are not relied upon to teach wherein the storage comprises a boot image of the device. However, Shin teaches wherein the storage comprises a boot image of the device (see Para. 161).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display of Kit to include the adjusted data of Shi with the boot image of Shin so as to boot the device with instructions from the image (See Para. 161, 162).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW YEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625