DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. application No. 17/778,535, filed on 05/20/2022, now US patent No. 12,244,129.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 02/05/2025; 02/11/2025; and 04/21/2025 have been considered and made of record.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 02/05/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strods et al. [US 2018/0124903].
Regarding claim 18, Strods et al., disclose a method for a smart wall-plate system (figures 1-20), comprising:
establishing, by a wireless communications interface (paragraph 0057), a first connection with a local device via a first wireless communication protocol (100, figure 1, paragraphs 0050-0053 and 0063), wherein the wireless communications interface comprises a plurality of wireless transceivers to facilitate communication with one or more wireless devices (102, 104, and/or 106, figure 1), one or more cloud services platforms (114, figure 1), or a combination thereof, via at least the first wireless communication protocol and a second wireless communication protocol, wherein the wireless communications interface resides in a chip package (1034, figure 10) coupled with a printed circuit board (a PCB 1507, figures 15A-15C), wherein a wall-plate comprises an opening (a central opening disposed on the front surface, figures 15B-15C) through front and rear surfaces of the wall-plate (1530, figures 15B-15C), the opening sized and configured to receive a user accessible portion of an in-wall electrical device (1502, figure 15D), the PCB not located within the opening (1507, figures 15B-15C), wherein the PCB is coupled with the rear surface of the wall-plate of the smart wall-plate system;
establishing, by the wireless communications interface, a second connection with a local area network device via the second wireless communication protocol (112, figure 1, paragraph 0058);
establishing, by the wireless communications interface, a third connection with one or more cloud services platforms via the local area network device (110, figure 1, paragraphs 0045 and 0049-0051); communicating with the one or more cloud services platforms to engage services provided by the one or more cloud services platforms (figures 1-4); and controlling local or remote devices in accordance with a predetermined automation activity (figure 13, paragraph 0192-0199).
Regarding claim 19, Strods et al. further disclose the network device comprising a medium access control (MAC, paragraph 0050) address and a basic service set identifier (BSSID, paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 20, Strods et al. further disclose wherein the first communication protocol comprises a Bluetooth protocol (figure 1, paragraphs 0055-0057) that actively seeks a Bluetooth connection with the local device when the wireless communication interface is first powered on and the second wireless communication protocol comprises a Wi-Fi protocol (figure 1, paragraphs 0055-0057).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Closet arts,
Strods et al. [US 2018/0124903] disclose a smart wall-plate device (figures 1-20), comprising a wall-plate (1530, figures 15A-15D) having a front surface (1520, figure 15D) and rear surface (an opposite surface of the cover plate 1530, figures 15A-15C), the wall-plate including an opening (a central opening disposed on the front surface, figures 15B-15C) through the front and rear surfaces, the opening sized and configured to receive a user accessible portion of an in-wall electrical device (1502, figure 15D); and a printed circuit board (a PCB 1507, figures 15A-15C) arranged and configured to couple to a portion of the rear surface, the PCB not located within the opening (1507, figures 15A-15C).
Levante et al. [US 2015/0362164] disclose a smart wall-plate device (10, figures 1-8), comprising a wall-plate (22, figures 1-2 and 7) having a front surface (20, figures 3-5) and rear surface (an opposite surface of the front surface 20, figures 3-5), the wall-plate including an opening (a central opening disposed on the front surface, figures 1-2 and 7) through the front and rear surfaces, the opening sized and configured to receive a user accessible portion of an in-wall electrical device (70, figure 7); and a printed circuit board (a PCB 11, figures 1 and 7) arranged and configured to couple to a portion of the rear surface, and a user input component (50, figure 7) being a separate element than the user accessible portion of the electrical device.
Neither cited references, Strods et al., and/or Levante et al., nor the prior art of record alone or in combination, discloses, teaches or render suggest obvious that a smart wall-plate device includes a user input component mounted on the PCB, the user input component being a separate element than the user accessible portion of the electrical device, the user input component arranged and configured to detect a user input; a processor; a memory including instructions to be executed by the processor, as claimed in the claim 1. Claims 2-10 depend on the allowed claim 1.
Neither cited references, Strods et al., and/or Levante et al., nor the prior art of record alone or in combination, discloses, teaches or render suggest obvious that a smart wall-plate device includes a user input component mounted on the PCB, the user input component being a separate element than the user accessible portion of the electrical device, the user input component arranged and configured to detect a user input; a processor; a memory including instructions to be executed by the processor, and wherein the smart wall-plate is coupled to a mounting bracket, as claimed in the claim 11. Claims 12-17 depend on the allowed claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sembhi et al. [US 6,380,696] disclose multi-scene preset lighting controller; and
Elgayyar [US 2014/0062340] discloses electrical switch device with automatic control.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Patent Examiner, 2841/2800