DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,221,028, and claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,639,131. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the corresponding claims of the reference patents. In the instances where the claim limitations are not identical, the reference patents nonetheless recite substantially equivalent or otherwise anticipatory limitations (e.g. “a joint first portion and a joint second portion” in the instant application is substantially equivalent to “a first hinged connection” and “a second hinged connection” in the reference patents).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baka (U.S. Patent No. 5,622,214).
Regarding claim 1, Baka discloses an awning assembly [FIG. 1], comprising: a flexible awning material (14); a lead rail (16) which extends longitudinally [FIG. 1], said lead rail having a forward storage section (60) and a rearward storage section (56), said lead rail being movable to extend [FIG. 1] or retract said flexible awning material [FIG. 5], wherein said flexible awning material is configured to be connected near one end to said lead rail (via 46, 48; shown in at least Figure 7) and near an opposite end to an awning roller tube (40); a carriage (144, 136, 134) located in said rearward storage section, said carriage disposed near an axial end of said lead rail [FIGS. 1, 3]; a joint (joint defined by lock bar 136, bore 150, pin 138, and pivot rod 134) defined by said carriage, said joint having a joint first portion (138, 134) and a joint second portion (136, 150); a support leg (18) movable from a substantially vertical position [FIG. 1] to a stored position by pivoting said joint first portion in a first direction and said second portion in a second direction (column 7, lines 6-25); said support leg being a telescoping leg to vary a length of said support leg (the support leg 18 includes telescoping sections 74, 76, and 78, as shown in at least Figure 2); and, a tension rafter (22) being stored in said forward storage section (at least the slide 64 of the tension rafter 22 is stored in the forward section 60), opposite said rearward storage section and said flexible awning material (the forward storage section is opposite the rearward storage section relative to the rear wall 54 as shown in Figure 12; the forward storage section is opposite the flexible awning material relative to the rear wall 54 and the top wall 52; this arrangement meets the requirements of the limitation given a broadest reasonable interpretation, as the “opposite” position is broadly set forth without specifying what it is defined relative to).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Baka discloses that the support leg is movable from said substantially vertical position to an intermediate horizontal position by said joint first portion (the leg rotates about pin 138 of the first joint portion to move from the vertical position to the horizontal position), and said support leg is movable from said intermediate horizontal position to said horizontal position by said joint second portion (the leg is movable about lock bar 136 between different horizontal positions).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Baka discloses a bracket (64) in said forward storage section [FIG. 12], said bracket being actuable to insert or release said tension rafter in said forward storage section (the bracket 64 is capable of being removed from the storage section 60 by sliding it longitudinally out of the slot; this capability reads on the functional recitation).
Regarding claim 8, Baka discloses said tension rafter further comprising a spring (70) and abutment element (pins shown in Figure 13) which is biased by said spring (column 5, lines 16-18).
Regarding clam 10, Baka discloses an awning assembly [FIG. 1], comprising: a flexible awning material (14); a lead rail (16) which extends longitudinally between axial ends [FIG. 1], said lead rail having a first rearward storage section (56) and a second forward storage section (60), said lead rail being movable to extend [FIG. 1] or retract [FIG. 5] said flexible awning material, wherein said flexible awning material is configured to be connected near one end to said lead rail (via 46, 48; shown in at least Figure 7) and to an awning roller tube (40) near an opposite end; a carriage (144, 136, 134) located in said rearward storage section, said carriage disposed at a position near one end of said axial ends of said lead rail [FIGS. 1, 3]; a joint (joint defined by lock bar 136, bore 150, pin 138, and pivot rod 134) defined by said carriage, said joint having a joint first portion (138, 134) and a joint second portion (136, 150); a support leg (18) engaging said joint, said carriage movable from a stored position within said first rearward storage section [FIG. 6], to a substantially vertical position which supports said lead rail in an extended position [FIG. 1] by pivoting said joint first portion in a first direction and said second portion in a second direction (column 7, lines 6-25); said support leg being a telescoping leg to vary a length of said support leg (the support leg 18 includes telescoping sections 74, 76, and 78, as shown in at least Figure 2); and, a tension rafter (22) being stored in said forward storage section (at least the slide 64 of the tension rafter 22 is stored in the forward section 60), opposite said rearward storage second and said flexible awning material (the forward storage section is opposite the rearward storage section relative to the rear wall 54 as shown in Figure 12; the forward storage section is opposite the flexible awning material relative to the rear wall 54 and the top wall 52; this arrangement meets the requirements of the limitation given a broadest reasonable interpretation, as the “opposite” position is broadly set forth without specifying what it is defined relative to).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baka (U.S. Patent No. 5,622,214) in view of Popa (U.S. Patent No. 8,316,910).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Baka discloses that one of said joint first portion and said second joint pivots about a horizontal axis (axis of the pin 138), but does not disclose that one of the joint portions pivots about a vertical axis.
Nonetheless, Popa discloses an awning assembly comprising a joint having first and second portions [FIGS. 18-20], one of which pivots about a vertical axis (534) and the other of which pivots about a horizontal axis (522).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the joint of Baka to have the first and second portions rotate about a horizontal and a vertical axis, as taught by Popa, in order to provide greater variability in the position of the support leg, including angled orientations relative to the vertical and/or horizontal directions. This variability would allow for support of the awning assembly on a greater range of surfaces or structures, and allow for more customized arrangement of the legs.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baka (U.S. Patent No. 5,622,214) in view of Blevins (U.S. Patent No. 6,494,246).
Regarding claim 9, Baka discloses the tension rafter and pivoting of the tension rafter relative to the forward storage section to tension said awning material in an extended position, but does not disclose that the tension rafter is removed from the forward storage section.
Nonetheless, Blevins discloses an awning assembly having a tension rafter (18) that is removable from a respective storage section (34; column 8, lines 45-47 discloses that the ribs 18 may be fully housed in the groove 34; the arms/rafters 18 are removed from said groove when the awning is extended as shown in at least Figures 1, 5, and 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the storage section of Baka to fully house the tension rafter such that the tension rafter operable to be removed from the storage section when the awning is extended, as taught by Blevins, in order to provide addition protection for the components in a fully retracted position, and to ensure consistent retraction of the tension rafter into the same position when the awning is retracted so as to provide smoother and more consistent operation overall.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634