DETAILED ACTION
In the Non-Final Rejection mailed 2/11/2026:
Claim 13 was cancelled.
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 were rejected.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 6/11/2026 has been entered:
Claims 13 and 15-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-12 and 14 are active.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mauser (US 1129884), herein ‘Mauser’.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Mauser discloses a firearm magazine (a) comprising:
a magazine tube having an open bottom (Figs. 1 and 4);
a first lateral flange (b) extending laterally out from a first lateral side of said magazine tube proximate said bottom (Figs. 1 and 4-5);
a second lateral flange (b) extending laterally out from a second lateral side of said magazine tube proximate said bottom (Figs. 1 and 4-5);
a base pad (c) having a body (Figs. 1-3) with a front (Figs. 1-3; to the right), a first lateral side (Figs. 1-3), a second lateral side (Figs. 1-3), a back (Figs. 1-3; to the left), and a floor (Figs. 1-3);
said body having a first longitudinal slot engaged to said first lateral flange and a second longitudinal slot engaged to said second lateral flange (Figs. 1-2 and 5; lines 29-32), said first and second longitudinal slots being open to the rear so that said first and second lateral flanges can slide rearward out of said first and second longitudinal slots in order to disengage said magazine tube from said body (Fig. 1);
a cantilever spring (c1-c3) having a fixed end (Fig. 3; right side) and a free end (Fig. 3; left side), with said fixed end being connected to said body (Fig. 3; lines 32-36);
said cantilever spring being longitudinally oriented and aligned with said first longitudinal slot (Figs. 1-2), with said free end of said cantilever spring lying proximate said back of said body (Figs. 1-2; lines 36-41);
said cantilever spring including an upper extreme protruding above said floor and lying to the rear of a trailing portion of said first lateral flange (Fig. 2), thereby retaining said first lateral flange within said first longitudinal slot (Fig. 2; lines 36-41); and
said cantilever spring being elastically flexible so that said upper extreme can move downward sufficiently to allow said first lateral flange to slide rearward out of said first longitudinal slot without causing plastic deformation of said cantilever spring (lines 41-46).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Mauser discloses wherein said cantilever spring includes a vertical portion configured to bear against said trailing portion of said first lateral flange when said first lateral flange rests within said first longitudinal slot (Figs. 2-3; lines 36-41).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Mauser discloses wherein the cantilever spring includes an arcuate segment (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauser (US 1129884) as applied to claims 1-2 and 8-9 above, respectively, and further in view of Shreve (US 9448022), herein ‘Shreve’.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 10-11, Mauser does not expressly teach wherein said cantilever spring includes an angled portion lying to the rear of said vertical portion.
Shreve teaches a magazine (48) to which a floor plate (10) is installed, the floor plate comprising a cantilever spring (30) comprising a vertical portion (32) which limits forward movement of the floor plate (col. 4 lines 31-33) and an angled portion (68) lying to the rear of the vertical portion (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cantilever spring of Mauser to include an angled portion lying to the rear of the vertical portion as taught by Shreve with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate rearward movement of the floor plate during installation (Shreve; col. 4 lines 33-35).
Claim(s) 5 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauser (US 1129884) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, respectively, and further in view of Brown et al. (US 10921075), herein ‘Brown’.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Mauser discloses a vertical portion configured to bear against said trailing portion of said first lateral flange when said first lateral flange rests within said first longitudinal slot (Figs. 2-3; lines 36-41), but does not expressly teach a separate engagement portion attached to said free end of said cantilever spring, said separate engagement portion including the vertical portion.
Brown teaches a magazine (50) having lateral flanges (117) to which is slidably attached a base pad (68) with a cantilever spring (121) comprising a separate engagement portion attached to a free end thereof (Fig. 12; col. 12 lines 8-9), the separate engagement portion including an angled portion (121-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cantilever spring of Mauser to include a separate engagement portion as taught by Brown with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin vs. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauser (US 1129884) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Shreve (US 9448022) and Brown et al. (US 10921075).
Regarding claim 6, Mauser does not expressly teach a separate engagement portion attached to said free end of said cantilever spring, said separate engagement portion including an angled portion.
Shreve teaches a magazine (48) to which a floor plate (10) is installed, the floor plate comprising a cantilever spring (30) comprising a vertical portion (32) which limits forward movement of the floor plate (col. 4 lines 31-33) and an angled portion (68) lying to the rear of the vertical portion (Fig. 5A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cantilever spring of Mauser to include an angled portion lying to the rear of the vertical portion as taught by Shreve with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate rearward movement of the floor plate during installation (Shreve; col. 4 lines 33-35).
Additionally, Brown teaches a magazine (50) having lateral flanges (117) to which is slidably attached a base pad (68) with a cantilever spring (121) comprising a separate engagement portion attached to a free end thereof (Fig. 12; col. 12 lines 8-9), the separate engagement portion including an angled portion (121-1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cantilever spring of Mauser to include a separate engagement portion as taught by Brown with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin vs. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Conclusion
Claims 13 and 15-20 are cancelled. Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Troy Chambers/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3641
/BENJAMIN S. GOMBERG/
Examiner
Art Unit 3641