DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toda (US 2015/0343774).
With regard to claim 1, Toda discloses a liquid jet head (100) [Para. 0026] comprising:
a jet module (1) [casing; Fig. 1B] configured to jet a liquid [ink]; and
a coupling member (7) [conductive flat spring; Para. 0031] having conductivity and configured to couple the jet module to a frame ground, wherein at least a part of the coupling member is disposed outside the jet module [Fig. 1B].
With regard to claim 2, Toda discloses wherein the coupling member is fixed outside the jet module [Fig. 5A].
With regard to claim 3, Toda discloses wherein the coupling member is fixed on a side surface in a longitudinal direction of the jet module [Fig. 1B].
With regard to claim 10, Toda discloses a liquid jet recording apparatus [Para. 0028] comprising: the liquid jet head according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US 2015/0343774) in view of Miyakoshi (US 2022/0332113).
With regard to claim 4, Toda discloses wherein the coupling member is fixed with a fixing portion (19) [Para. 0036].
Toda does not disclose wherein the coupling member is fixed with a screw.
Miyakoshi teaches a coupling member (76) [flat spring; Para. 0068] is fixed with a screw (77) [Para. 0068; Fig. 4A]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a screw to fix the coupling member as taught by Miyakoshi for the purpose of positioning the coupling member to the jet module. Therefore, because these two members were art recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute the fixing portion for a screw.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 5-9 is the inclusion of the limitations of a stay positioned outside the jet module, wherein a part of the coupling member protrudes outside the stay. It is this limitation(s) found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853