DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cong et al. (US 10,835,126), in view of McGuire, JR. et al. (US 2014/0155753; hereinafter McGuire).
Regarding claim 1, Cong discloses an implantable micro-spectrophotometer. Cong shows a system comprising: an external device (see 72 in fig. 2; col. 6, lines 43-45 states “External device 72 is provided with an electromagnetic energy source 74) including a controller (col. 6, lines 44-47 states “The external device 72 can include one or more light sources of various wavelengths, as well as circuitry for powering and communication”); an implantable device (see 40 in fig. 1, 60 in fig. 2, or 92 in fig. 3); wherein: one of the external device and the implantable device include a light source (see 74 in fig. 2; abstract; col. 6, lines 52-53 states “the energy source 74 can supply a range of wavelengths of light of known intensity”), and another of the external device and the implantable device include a photodetector (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30 states “the circuits on the microchip 40 can include a photo-detector array 48; col. 6, lines 52-58 states “the energy source 74 can supply a range of wavelengths of light of known intensity, and the microchips 66, 68, 70 can be tuned to measure only a single wavelength. In another illustrative system, the microchips 66, 68, 70 can be tuned to measure a range of wavelengths, and the energy source 74 supplies one or more wavelengths of known intensity, either together or in series”); the light source is configured to emit light through the skin surface (see abstract; fig. 4 shows light source 74’ is emitting light through skin surface 80); the photodetector is configured to output a signal indicative of an amount of the light received by the photodetector after passing through the skin surface (see abstract; fig. 4 shows that photodetector is configured to detect light passing through skin surface 80; abstract) and the controller is configured to determine, based on at least the signal, a presence of irritation and/or a rash on the skin surface (see abstract; col. 3, lines 19-54).
Cong fails to explicitly state an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch.
McGuire discloses a disposable light source for enhance visualization of subcutaneous structures. McGuire teaches an adhesive path configured to attach external device to a skin surface (see 12 in fig. 2, 3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and light being emitted though the adhesive path (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and photodetector detecting light passing through the adhesive patch (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch in the invention of Cong, as taught by McGuire, to be able securely attach the whole external device to the skin of the patient during monitoring and provide monitoring without signal loss. The examiner notes that upon modification of prior art Cong to incorporate the adhesive path of McGuire would prove the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface covered by the adhesive patch.
Regarding claim 2, Cong and McGuire disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Cong shows the light source is a first light source (see 72 in fig. 2); the light is first light (see 100 in fig. 4); the photodetector is a first photodetector (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30 ); the signal is a first signal (see abstract; col. 5, lines 29-30); the one of the external device and the implantable device further includes a second light source configured to emit second light thought the skin surface (see col. 6, lines 44-46); the other of the external device and the implantable device further includes a second photodetector configured to output a second signal indicative of an amount of the second light received by the second photodetector after passing through the skin surface (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30 ); and the controller is configured to determine, based on at least the first and second signals, the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface (see abstract; col. 3, lines 19-54), and McGuire teaches the adhesive path configured to attach external device to a skin surface (see 12 in fig. 2, 3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and light being emitted though the adhesive path (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and photodetector detecting light passing through the adhesive patch (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch in the invention of Cong, as taught by McGuire, to be able securely attach the whole external device to the skin of the patient during monitoring and provide monitoring without signal loss. The examiner notes that upon modification of prior art Cong to incorporate the adhesive path of McGuire would prove the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface covered by the adhesive patch.
Regarding claim 3, Cong and McGuire disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Cong shows wherein the implantable device includes the photodetector (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30) and is configured to convey the signal (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30), and the external device includes the light source and is configured to receive the conveyed signal (see abstract; 40 in fig. 1, 60 in fig. 2, or 92 in fig. 3; col. 3, lines 19-54; also see fig. 8).
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Cong discloses an implantable micro-spectrophotometer. Cong shows method comprising: using a light source of one of an external device and an implantable device to emit light (see 72 in fig. 2; col. 6, lines 43-45 states “External device 72 is provided with an electromagnetic energy source 74; see 74 in fig. 2; abstract; col. 6, lines 52-53 states “the energy source 74 can supply a range of wavelengths of light of known intensity”), and through the skin surface (fig. 4 shows that light source 74’ is configured to transmit light passing through skin surface 80; abstract); using a photodetector of another of the external device and the implantable device to output a signal indicative of an amount of the light received by the photodetector after passing through the skin surface (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30 states “the circuits on the microchip 40 can include a photo-detector array 48; col. 6, lines 52-58 states “the energy source 74 can supply a range of wavelengths of light of known intensity, and the microchips 66, 68, 70 can be tuned to measure only a single wavelength. In another illustrative system, the microchips 66, 68, 70 can be tuned to measure a range of wavelengths, and the energy source 74 supplies one or more wavelengths of known intensity, either together or in series”; fig. 4 shows that photodetector is configured to detect light passing through skin surface 80); and using a controller (col. 6, lines 44-47 states “The external device 72 can include one or more light sources of various wavelengths, as well as circuitry for powering and communication”) of the external device to determine (see fig. 3), based on the signal, the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface of the skin surface (see abstract; col. 3, lines 19-54).
Cong fails to explicitly state an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch.
McGuire discloses a disposable light source for enhance visualization of subcutaneous structures. McGuire teaches an adhesive path configured to attach external device to a skin surface (see 12 in fig. 2, 3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and light being emitted though the adhesive path (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and photodetector detecting light passing through the adhesive patch (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch in the invention of Cong, as taught by McGuire, to be able securely attach the whole external device to the skin of the patient during monitoring and provide monitoring without signal loss. The examiner notes that upon modification of prior art Cong to incorporate the adhesive path of McGuire would prove the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface covered by the adhesive patch.
Regarding claim 6, Cong and McGuire disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Cong shows the light source is a first light source (see 72 in fig. 2), the light is first light (see 100 in fig. 4), the photodetector is a first photodetector (see abstract; 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30), the signal is a first signal (see abstract; col. 5, lines 29-30), and the method further comprises: using a second light source of the one of the external device and the implantable device to emit light through the skin surface ((see col. 6, lines 44-46); and using a second photodetector of the other of the external device and the implantable device to output a second signal indicative of an amount of the second light received by the second photodetector after passing through the skin surface (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30); wherein the controller of the external device determines the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface based on at least the first and second signals (see abstract; col. 3, lines 19-54), and McGuire teaches the adhesive path configured to attach external device to a skin surface (see 12 in fig. 2, 3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and light being emitted though the adhesive path (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and photodetector detecting light passing through the adhesive patch (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053], [0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch in the invention of Cong, as taught by McGuire, to be able securely attach the whole external device to the skin of the patient during monitoring and provide monitoring without signal loss. The examiner notes that upon modification of prior art Cong to incorporate the adhesive path of McGuire would prove the presence of the irritation and/or the rash of the skin surface covered by the adhesive patch.
Regarding claim 7, Cong and McGuire disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Cong shows wherein the implantable device includes the photodetector (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30) and the external device includes the light source (abstract; 40 in fig. 1, 60 in fig. 2, or 92 in fig. 3; col. 3, lines 19-54), and the method further comprises: using the implantable device to convey the signal (see abstract; see 48 in fig. 1; 66, 68, 70 in fig. 2; col. 5, lines 29-30; fig. 8); using the external device to receive the conveyed signal (see abstract; col. 3, lines 19-54; also see fig. 8).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cong et al. (US 10,835,126), in view of McGuire, JR. et al. (US 2014/0155753; hereinafter McGuire) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Brill (US 2017/0303838; hereinafter Brill).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Cong and McGuire disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state wherein the implantable device includes the light source, and the external device includes the photodetector.
Brill analyte sensing device. Brill teaches implantable device includes the light source (see fig. 1; par. [0313]), and the external device includes the photodetector (see fig. 1; par. [0316]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have utilized the teaching of implantable device includes the light source, and the external device includes the photodetector in the invention of Cong and McGuire, as taught by Brill, to be able to determine additional information about the patient such as glucose levels and analyte and provide low signal loss and measurement accuracy.
Response to Arguments
The previous objection to claims 1 and 5 has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/20/2026, pages 7-12, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejection of claims 1 and 5, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above in the office action, Cong fails to explicitly state an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch.
The examiner has relied on prior art McGuire to merely teach an adhesive path configured to attach external device to a skin surface (see 12 in fig. 2, 3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and light being emitted though the adhesive path (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053]), and photodetector detecting light passing through the adhesive patch (see 12 in fig. 2,3, 4A, 8 and 10; par. [0053], [0073]). The examiner notes that prior art Cong does not disclose against using adhesive or not attaching the external device to the skin of the patient. The Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to attach the conforming layer 12 of McGuire to a skin surface having a rash such that the conforming layer 12 covers the rash could worsen the rash on the skin surface, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that all rash does not have same characteristic, and lot of skin rashes would not be worsened from any adhesive that is meant for medical treatment purpose.
Furthermore on page 11, the Applicant provided US PG pub. (US 2009/0318908, Van Pieterson) and NPL (“Medical adhesives and patients safety: state of the science”) to argue that an adhesive should not be used on a wound, however, these publications do not disclose against using adhesive. Van Pieterson discloses keeping LEDs at a distance from the wound, i.e., not touching the wound, to prevent inflammation, however, Van Pieterson does not discloses not using adhesive rather not attaching LEDs directly to the wound. In par. [0061], Van Pieterson even mentions using adhesive. The NPL (“Medical adhesives and patient’s safety: state of the science”) does not disclose not using adhesive, rather disclose safe way of using adhesive and provides different methods of using adhesive and type of adhesive which can prevent any complication from using adhesive. Therefore, the examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have utilized the teaching of an adhesive patch configured to attach the external device to a skin surface, the light source configured to emit light through the adhesive path, and the photodetector configured to detect light passing through the adhesive patch in the invention of Cong, as taught by McGuire, to be able securely attach the whole external device to the skin of the patient during monitoring and provide monitoring without signal loss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dacosta (US 2020/0104998) discuses optical sensor using adhesive to attach the sensor to skin rash (see abstract, par. [0135] and [0224]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797