DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 6/23/2026. The previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment. Claims 1-9 and 11-26 remain pending. Claims 21-26 are newly presented. This action is Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 26 recites limitations that are now already found in amended claim 1. The last 8 lines of claim 26 recite the features now found in claim 1, including the base and connecting arms, as well as the details related to each.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites an angle formed between an extension direction of the first hand-held portion and an extension direction of the second hand-held portion being greater than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 180 degrees. It is unclear how some angles provided in this range would be able to occur when, per claim 11, the first and second hand-held portions are positioned on opposite sides of the valve in a radial direction. In other words, if the angle formed per claim 12 was, for example, 1 degree, then the first and second hand-held portions would not be on opposite sides of the valve element in a radial direction as required in claim 11. Claim 12 appears to be broadening the scope of narrower claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20, claim 12 as far as it is definite, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sando (U.S. 2016/0223095) in view of Pansegrouw (U.S. 2010/0043914) and Song et al. (U.S. 7,401,619).
Sando discloses an inflatable product, comprising: an inflatable body (12) provided with a mounting hole (22); and an air valve (10, 100) comprising: a valve seat (14) comprising: a first hollow tube member (26) defining a first air passage (within 26); a valve element (18) comprising: a first opening (the opening leading to the interior 28); and a second hollow tube member (along 30 in fig. 3) defining a second air passage (within 18, in the area of 28), the second hollow tube member being at least partially arranged in the first hollow tube member (Fig. 4E-4F); a valve cap (20) at least partially arranged in the second hollow tube member (Fig. 4F) and connected to the valve element by means of a first connecting strap (104), the valve cap comprising: a first hand-held portion (58) extending outwards along an edge of the valve cap; a valve diaphragm (16) arranged in the second hollow tube member and configured to open and close the second air passage (para. 59-60); and a fixing ring (24); wherein the fixing ring is arranged on the first hollow tube member and is connected to the valve element by a second connecting strap (102) and the air valve is connected to the inflatable body by the valve seat and arranged in the mounting hole of the inflatable body (see fig. 1, the seat is connected to the inflatable body 12).
Sando does not appear to disclose a connecting ring, the fixing ring comprising an annular part (the fixing ring of Sando, while generally circular, does not appear to be specifically annular) and a second hand-held portion extending outwards of the annular part or the connecting ring of the valve seat being connected to the inflatable body or wherein the first hand-held portion and the second hand-held portion are positioned on opposite sides of the valve element in a radial direction of the first opening of the valve element when the air valve is in a closed position.
Pansegrouw teaches it was known in the art to have a similar fixing ring that is annular (see 12 generally being annular and in particular 34) with a second hand-held portion (28) extending from the annular part (fig. 2) at an end that is on the opposite side to another strap portion (30) in a radial direction (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sando by having the fixing ring be annular and have a second hand-held portion extending from the annular part as taught by Pansegrouw in order to provide a shape for the fixing part that is easier and less costly to manufacture and has a handle portion that allows a user to better grip the assembly to install/repair/replace the assembly.
It is further noted the placement of the second hand-held portion would be positioned on an opposite side of the first hand-held portion when closed. As shown in Figures 5A-5C of Sando, when the assembly is closed, 58 will still be in the same general location relative to 14 in Figure 5A. The additional hand-held portion as taught by Pansegrouw would not be able to be placed at this same end due to 102. Pansegrouw teaches the placement on the end opposite to a similar connecting member 30. It flows naturally that, per the teaching of Pansegrouw, the location of the second hand-held portion would be positioned on the opposite side to that of the first hand-held portion in a radial direction of the opening when the valve is in the closed position.
Song teaches it was known in the art to have a valve seat (5) with a connecting ring (such as 51) being configured to connect an air valve (8) to an inflatable product (see col. 2, ll. 49-56, 51 forms seat body 512 which divides the space into an inflating port 513 distal from the inflatable chamber of the inflatable product and a conduit 514 proximate the inflatable chamber, as 512 (and thus 51) is at the point of division between the area within the inflatable product and the area distal (above in fig. 5) the inflatable product (open to atmosphere), the connecting ring is at the point of connection between the valve seat and inflatable body).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sando by having a connecting ring that connects the inflatable body to the air valve (and is separate from the fixing ring 24 of Sando, which connects with a connecting strap in Sando and the equivalent structure in Song being the area that forms the groove that receives similar connecting strap 72 as shown in fig. 5 of Song) as taught by Song in order to provide a surface/area of connection for the valve assembly to the inflatable body that is different or spaced away from the connection area of the fixing ring and connecting strap in order to reduce potential forces on the area of connection of the valve assembly to the inflatable body caused by a user applying force to the connecting strap portion of the assembly (either pulling or pushing) that could otherwise lead to damage or tearing of the area of connection between the valve assembly and inflatable body.
Regarding claim 12, Sando as modified further discloses wherein an angle that is greater than 0 degrees and less than or equal to 180 degrees is formed between an extension direction of the first hand-held portion and an extension direction of the second hand-held portion (see Fig. 5A of Sando which, when modified above by Pansegrouw to have the second hand-held portion, will be located at the end of 24 and thus all the elements are at an angle of 180 degrees, alternatively, see the embodiment of Figs. 6A-6C showing 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 13, Sando as modified further discloses wherein the first hand-held portion comprises a first hole (the stadium-shaped hole at 58 in Fig. 5A), and the second hand-held portion comprises a second hole (the hole of 28 as taught above by Pansegrouw).
Regarding claim 14, Sando as modified further discloses a first annular flange (at 36 in Fig. 3) arranged on an end portion of the second hollow tube member (Fig. 3); and a second annular flange (at 56) arranged on an end portion of the valve cap (Fig. 2); wherein the first annular flange is connected to the second annular flange by the first connecting strap (Figs. 5A-5C), and the first hand-held portion is attached to the second annular flange (at 102).
Regarding claim 15, Sando as modified further discloses wherein the valve element further comprises a limiting portion (see Details A and B in the annotated figure above) having a limiting space (between Details A and B), the limiting portion being arranged on an upper surface of the first annular flange, and the second annular flange being arranged in the limiting space (Fig. 4E).
Regarding claim 16, Sando as modified further discloses wherein the limiting portion comprises: a first projection (such as Detail A or Detail B above); and a second projection arranged on the upper surface of the first annular flange and spaced apart from the first projection in a circumferential direction of the second hollow tube member (the other of Detail A or Detail B above), the first projection and the second projection jointly defining the limiting space (see annotated figure above); wherein the limiting space comprises a first notch (the notched area at Detail C or Detail D above) and a second notch (the other of Detail C or Detail D above), a first portion of the second annular flange is arranged in the first notch, and a second portion of the second annular flange is arranged in the second notch (Fig. 4E).
Regarding claim 17, Sando as modified further discloses wherein the valve seat comprises a protrusion (see the protrusion portions above and below Detail F in the annotated figure above, similar to the protrusion of the applicant’s device), the protrusion extending in a circumferential direction of the first hollow tube member and being arranged on an inner wall of the first hollow tube member (see the annotated figure above and Figs. 4A-4F); and the valve element comprises a sealing rib (see Detail E in the annotated figure above), the sealing rib extending in a circumferential direction of the second hollow tube member and being arranged on an outer wall of the second hollow tube member (see annotated figure above and Figs. 4A-4F); wherein the sealing rib abuts a lower surface of the protrusion in a radial direction of the first opening (the annotated figure above and Figs. 4A-4F and similar to the applicant’s device, the rib resides in the groove formed by the protrusion in the same manner as the applicant’s device).
Regarding claims 18-19, Sando as modified discloses the claimed invention and further discloses wherein the connecting ring (as taught above by Song) is connected to the first hollow tube member (the connecting ring as taught above by Song, now residing as part of the valve seat, which has the first hollow tube member (11 of Sando), and configured to connect the air valve to an inflatable product (as taught by Song above).
Sando as modified does not appear to disclose the valve seat comprising a third annular flange, the third annular flange extending radially outwards along an edge of the first hollow tube member and being arranged at a first end of the hollow tube member; and the annular part is arranged between the connecting ring and the third annular flange.
Song teaches it was known in the art to have a valve seat (5) with the connecting ring (51) connected to a first hollow tube member (52), and the valve seat comprising a third annular flange (see the radially extending flanges above and below numeral 72 in figs. 5 and 6), the third annular flange extending radially outwards along an edge of the first hollow tube member (figs. 5 and 6) and being arranged at a first end of the hollow tube member (figs. 5 and 6); and an annular part (72, annular fixing ring equivalent to the fixing ring 24 of Sando) is arranged between the connecting ring and the third annular flange (figs. 5-6, between the connecting ring and the annular flange (third annular flange) that is above 72 and forms the groove in which 72 resides).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Sando by having the fixing ring be a separate component from the seat (rather than unitary with the seat) such that the annular part is arranged between a connecting ring and third annular flange of the valve seat as taught by Song in order to have the fixing ring be able to be removed from the valve seat while the valve seat remains in place if a user desires to replace any components (such as the valve element and/or cap) without have to remove the entirety of the assembly and especially as it has been held that making components separable that were once integral has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP2144.04.
Regarding claim 20, Sando as modified further discloses wherein the valve element comprises a base (the horizontally extending portion with circular aperture 44 that receives the projection 46 of the diaphragm 16 in Fig. 4B), the base being arranged in the second hollow tube member; and the valve diaphragm is arranged on the base (Fig. 4B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 21-25 are allowed.
Claim 26 would be allowed if the above claim objection is overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13, the applicant argues that the handle 28 of Pansegrouw provides no additional functionality and is not used to connect a valve element and valve seat. It is first noted that claim 11 recites the air valve connected to the inflatable body by the connecting ring. Further, per the teachings of Pansegrouw and Song above, Pansegrouw teaches the use of a second hand-held portion as part of a fixing ring. Song has been used to teach the use of a connecting ring to connect the air valve to the inflatable body.
The applicant further argues that including the second hand-held device as taught by Pansegrouw into Sando would result in a product in which the first and second hand-held portions are positioned on the same side of the valve element when the air valve is in a closed position. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The placement of the second hand-held portion would be positioned on an opposite side of the first hand-held portion when closed. As shown in Figures 5A-5C of Sando, when the assembly is closed, 58 will still be in the same general location relative to 14 in Figure 5A. The additional hand-held portion as taught by Pansegrouw would not be able to be placed at this same end/side due to 102. Pansegrouw teaches the placement on the end opposite to a similar connecting member 30. It flows naturally that, per the teaching of Pansegrouw, the location of the second hand-held portion would be positioned on the opposite side to that of the first hand-held portion in a radial direction of the opening when the valve is in the closed position.
For at least the above reasons, applicant’s arguments have not been found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R REID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753