Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220185364 A1 ("Kwon").
Claim 1: Kwon teaches an actuator unit for a steering system of a motor vehicle, comprising: a control housing (122; 411, 412) in which there is received an electrical control unit (422), by which a motorized drive unit (130) which is configured with the control housing for mechanically driving an actuator element (140) which extends along an actuator axis (axis of 140) relative to the control housing can be controlled (para. 37, lines 1-7), wherein the control housing has a recess (hole in control housing 122 where 140 goes through) which extends over a circumferential portion about the actuator axis (Fig. 4).
Claim 2: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the actuator unit, wherein the recess extends with respect to the actuator axis over a circumferential range of more than 90° (Fig. 4; the hole where 140 goes into is a circle shaped hole, which is greater than 90°).
Claim 4: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the actuator unit, wherein the control unit (422) has a printed circuit board which extends in a planar manner transversely relative to the actuator axis (the components from 422 of Fig. 4 are shown to extend in the same direction as 140 in the holes of 412 shown in Fig. 2).
Claim 5: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 4 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the actuator unit, wherein the printed circuit board is configured to be adapted to the recess of the control housing (122; 412; Fig. 4) (the components from 422 of Fig. 4 are shown to fit into the housing of 412).
Claim 6: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the actuator unit, wherein an electric motor (130) of the drive unit is fitted to the control housing (122) (Fig. 4).
Claim 9: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the actuator unit, wherein the actuator element (140) can be rotatably driven by the drive unit (130) about the actuator axis (direction A; Fig. 6) (para. 37, lines 1-7).
Claim 11: Kwon teaches a steering system for a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one input unit (110) for inputting steering commands (para. 24, lines 4-7); and an electrical actuator unit (422, 122, 130, 140) according to claim 1 (Fig. 4); wherein the electrical actuator unit has an electric drive unit (130) which is connected to a control unit (422) and which is configured to convert electrical control signals into a mechanical movement of an actuator element (140) (para. 20, lines 1-9).
Claim 13: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the steering system, wherein the actuator unit (422, 122, 130, 140) is operationally connected to a steering input means (110) (para. 20, lines 1-9; Fig. 6).
Claim 14: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the steering system, wherein the steering system is a power steering or a steer-by-wire steering system (100) (para. 20, lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220185364 A1 ("Kwon") in view of DE 102022202556 A1 ("Bachmann").
Claim 7: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 6 as noted above. Kwon does not teach the actuator unit, wherein the motor has a motor axis which is arranged with spacing parallel with the actuator axis.
However, Bachmann teaches the actuator unit, wherein the motor (7) has a motor axis (M) which is arranged with spacing parallel with the actuator axis (Actuator 6 follows along the direction of the motor Axis; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kwon with the features of Bachmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Bachmann teaches "the motor axis is arranged parallel to the longitudinal axis” (para. 10, line 1) and “this results in the significant advantage that the motor and control unit can be arranged next to the casing unit in a space-saving manner" (para. 10, lines 6-8).
Claim 8: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 6 as noted above. Kwon does not teach the actuator unit, wherein the control unit extends between the motor axis and the recess.
However, Bachmann teaches the actuator unit, wherein the control unit (9; 91 and 92) extends between the motor axis (M) and the recess (hole in 63 that 9 goes into; Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kwon with the features of Bachmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Bachmann teaches "the board sections 92 are dimensioned so that the board 91 can be angled or folded to save space and inserted into the control housing 63".
Claim 10: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Kwon does not teach the actuator unit, wherein the actuator element can be linearly displaced by the drive unit in the direction of the actuator axis.
However, Bachmann teaches the actuator unit, wherein the actuator element can be linearly displaced (45, 44, 43; displacement along rack and pinion) by the drive unit (41) in the direction of the actuator axis (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kwon with the features of Bachmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Bachmann teaches "the steering torque is converted via a pinion 43 and a rack 44 into a translational movement of tie rods 45" (para. 30, lines 3-4).
Claim 12: Kwon teaches the limitations of claim 11 as noted above. Kwon further teaches the steering system, wherein there is an actuator unit (422, 122, 130, 140). But does not teach that it has a steering actuator.
However, Bachmann teaches the function of a steering actuator (4, 41; Fig.1; para. 30, lines 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kwon with the features of Bachmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Bachmann teaches "the steering torque is converted via a pinion 43 and a rack 44 into a translational movement of tie rods 45" (para. 30, lines 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the references, either alone or in combination, disclose all of the limitations of the claims. Specifically, with regard
Conclusion
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/JAMES A ENGLISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614