DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/05/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(a) because it lacks the appropriate size fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(v). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how small the power consumption needs to be to be considered substantially small. The scope of the term could not be determined and is considered indefinite.
The term “negligible” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “negligible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how small the power consumption needs to be to be considered negligible small. The scope of the term could not be determined and is considered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 12, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. [US 11009908].
As to claim 1. Huang discloses A method for receiving user input from a client device, wherein the client device comprises a sensor, [fig. 1A, col. 3, lines 50-55] MEMS accelerometer 120, a vibration input element, [fig. 1A, B, col. 4, lines 11-24] textured surface 130, and a weight, [fig. 1B, col. 4, line 61 – col. 5, line 14] material 170 with weight, and the method comprises:
receiving sensor data from the sensor of the client device, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 14-23], wherein the sensor data indicates vibrations produced by a contact between the vibration input element and the weight, [fig. 1B, col. 5, line 6-15] vibration due to user input through the surface 130 and the material 170;
analyzing a vibration pattern produced by the contact between the vibration input element and the weight, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 24-29];
identifying a vibration profile based on the vibration pattern, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 29-31] if there is a match, next step is performed;
determining an action to be performed based on the vibration profile with respect to an application executed by the client device, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 47-56] action associated with matched set is determined; and
causing the action to be performed in relation to the application, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 47-56] perform the action.
As to claim 5. Huang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein:
the application comprises a musical application, [col. 3, lines 49-52] device 100 is a smart phone, [col. 8, lines 47-56] input used as input for applications on the device; wherein a musical application is a common application on a smart phone;
the analyzing the vibration pattern comprises determining characteristics of the vibration pattern, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 24-29]; and
the determining the action comprises adjusting a volume based on the characteristics of the vibration pattern, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 47-56].
As to claim 7. Huang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein:
the receiving the sensor data comprises receiving data from a plurality of sensors including the sensor and at least one additional sensor, [col. 3, lines 56-63] accelerometers;
the analyzing the vibration pattern comprises analyzing a combination of the vibration pattern and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 14-31]; and
the determining the action to be performed based on both the vibration pattern and the additional sensor data, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 47-48].
As to claim 12. Huang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the vibration input element is configured as a mechanically driven structure that produces vibrations through a mechanical actuation, [fig. 1B, col. 5, line 6-15] vibration due to user input through the surface 130 and the material 170, and the vibration input element exhibits substantially negligible power consumption during operation, the mechanical movement is produced by the user, and [col. 3, lines 56-59] the input element uses a ultra-low power accelerometer.
As to claim 15. Huang discloses A system comprising:
a sensor configured to generate sensor data indicative of vibrations, [fig. 1A, col. 3, lines 50-55] MEMS accelerometer 120, produced by a contact between a vibration input element and a weight of a client device, [fig. 1B, col. 5, line 6-15] vibration due to user input through the surface 130 and the material 170;
one or more processors, [fig. 6, col. 8, lines 57-62] processor 610; and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations, [fig. 6, col. 9, lines 29-41] memory 620, comprising:
the steps as claimed in claim 1, and c.
As to claim 18, is rejected using the same prior arts and reasonings as to that of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Hwang et al. [US 20110025479].
As to claim 2. Huang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein:
the analyzing the vibration pattern comprises comparing the vibration pattern to a first vibration profile corresponding to a first pattern set and a second vibration profile corresponding to a second pattern set, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 24-45];
the vibration profile is identified based on determining that the vibration pattern corresponds to the first vibration profile, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 24-45]; and
the determining the action to be performed based on the first vibration profile, [fig. 5, col. 8, lines 47-56] action associated with matched set is determined.
Huang fails to disclose wherein the first and second pattern sets are a first and second hold position of the client device.
Hwang teaches an apparatus and method for generating a vibration pattern comprising a spring coupled to a weight, [fig. 12, 0171]; wherein a plurality of vibration profiles are detected based on the position of the input device, [0095], including a button or wheel, [0225].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Hwang so that different patterns can be created using the position of the input device which will provide easily recognizable feedback to the user.
As to claims 16, 19 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Gleeson et al. [US 20190339804].
As to claim 4. Huang discloses The method of claim 1, wherein:
the vibration pattern comprises the contact between the vibration input element and the weight, [fig. 1B, col. 5, line 6-15] vibration due to user input through the surface 130 and the material 170.
Huang fails to disclose wherein the pattern comprises an intensity of the contact between the vibration elements; the identifying the vibration profile comprises at least a strong press and a weak press; and determining the action to be performed based on whether the vibration profile corresponds to the strong press or the weak press.
Gleeson teaches a device and method for interacting with an intensity-sensitive input comprising a vibration input, [0392]; wherein the device uses vibration sensors that detect the intensity of contact between the user finger and the input object, [0392], including a soft click and normal click, [0074, 0075]; and determines the action to be performed based on the intensity of the click, [0074, 0075].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that if Gleeson so that the system can use the same input element for a plurality of input commands.
As to claim 17, 20 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 4.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
As to claim 6. Huang fails to explicitly disclose The method of claim 5, wherein the determining the action further comprises adjusting a secondary characteristic of a note that includes at least one of warble and timbre.
Huang teaches that the vibration input is implemented on a device 100 such as a smart phone [col. 3, lines 49-52]; wherein the input is used as input for applications on the device to modify application settings, [col. 8, lines 47-56]; wherein a musical application is a common application on a smart phone.
Adjusting a tone, and other characteristics of an audio of a musical application is a common setting that is adjusted using the available input methods for the device; wherein one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily implement the available input elements as an input to control any aspect of the settings for the application.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang to implement the vibrational input to control a characteristic of an audio output application as nothing but a simple substitution of one input element with another to obtain predictable result.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11126266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 1 of the patent is within the scope of claims 1 and 2 of the current application.
Claim 13 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11126266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claim 6 of the patent is within the scope of claim 13 of the current application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688